15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

MEDITECH Expanse Reviews

About MEDITECH Expanse

MEDITECH Expanse is the first clinically-integrated, mobile, web-based EHR designed by physicians to support patient-centered care.

Learn more about MEDITECH Expanse

Pros:

It integrates for seamless communication for hospital services, with all chart aspects easily viewable without a few clicks once the patient's chart is opened.

Cons:

Never any customer support. For example in my facility.

MEDITECH Expanse ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
2.9
Customer Service
2.8
Features
2.8
Value for Money
2.5

Likelihood to recommend

5.5/10

MEDITECH Expanse has an overall rating of 2.9 out 5 stars based on 37 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (37)

Sort by

Have you used MEDITECH Expanse before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (37)

Elaine
Hospital employee in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Meditech Software is the best

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall this software gives the user a good experience by it's ease of use and accuracy.

Pros:

Software is easy to learn and use with daily workflow. Software is accurate and aides in accurate medication administration by ability to scan arm bands then medication itself to prevent errors in giving medication.

Cons:

Monthly downtime impacts patient care and requires extra work to print medication lists, document on the lists, then transfer this documentation to Meditech when downtime is finished.

Isaac
clinic assistant in Ecuador
Architecture & Planning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Learning about the management of a clinic thanks to MEDITECH Expanse

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: I am an architecture student and recently entered a new pre-professional project at my university where I was assigned as an intern in a clinic, although my main role was focused on remodeling the facilities, the head of the clinic asked me to learn how to use this software to better understand the requirements of doctors and ensure a smooth integration of infrastructure with information systems. While learning about MEDITECH Expanse, I was able to appreciate its versatility and powerful ability to manage and store clinical data, thanks to this system I was able to quickly access patients' medical records, which allowed me to better understand their needs and design adequate spaces for their care. In short, my experience was a difficult challenge and something new for me, but I liked seeing how these medical systems work.

Pros:

In my little experience of less than a year using this system, I must emphasize the following positive points: it is a comprehensive and efficient system that facilitated access to medical information and how, thanks to this, it speeds up administrative processes. Another very good point is its real-time data integration between different departments and services, thus optimizing coordination and collaboration between medical personnel.

Cons:

The only negative point that I found about this system was that when using some functions I could not do it correctly because they required more training and familiarization to use them optimally, so it could be improved in this aspect to do more. Intuitive all the functionalities in general.

Amanda
Continuous Improvement Specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Meditech Expanse

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: I have used Meditech with a variety of versions (Magic, 6.07, 6.15, Expanse) and have found each iteration to improve with the needs of the HealthSystem.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to navigate in Meditech. I can find the information I am looking for and is in a format that is useable for my work.

Cons:

I feel that the things I like least are due to items that were pulled over when it was upgraded from a previous version. Using some upgraded functionality of the system would have made searching for orders and interventions better.

Charles
Doctor in US
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Cumbersome, slow, unintuitive, dysfunctional

1.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Nothing. According to our administration, the system cost millions of dollars for our small community hospital. Yet our IT dept. had to build the system. I was very involved in this process. But there are many inherent limitations of this software. The company did send there people to our hospital for support, they were good, but they frequently said 'it can't do this' or 'it can't do that' when asked why/what can be done to streamline or expand any specific screen or template for any given item.

Cons:

It is inherently slow. It takes many clicks to accomplish a single step. We have a very good IT dept. and we built the software customized to our hospital. But the system is inherently dysfunctional. There area many examples including very limited number of characters that can be entered by free text in there small box space, then it may unexpectedly delete any of this info. The med reconciliation is cumbersome and inflexible, looking up old records is slow and difficult, and the whole system in unintuitive. We were forced to use the system in my department, but some staff Dr's refused to use it. I used this software at 2 different hospitals and both were bad. There was universal agreement of our med staff that even after a couple of yrs of it being in place, nobody liked it.

Kerry
Kerry
Physical Therapist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good EHR for hospital-based healthcare, but not efficient for integrating into outpatient operations

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We upgraded to Meditech EHR from the old Meditch "MOX" software, which was simple and very limited in its capabilities as far as integration, ability to access the entire medical chart, orders, etc. Meditech easily allows for better communication between providers to improve patient care and allow for decreased lengths of hospital stays over all.

Pros:

It integrates for seamless communication for hospital services, with all chart aspects easily viewable without a few clicks once the patient's chart is opened. All orders, vitals, lab results, notes, progress reports, etc. are easily accessed.

Cons:

We also use Meditech as our registration software for our patients for outpatient rehabilitation and all of our patient orders for therapy are housed in Meditech. It's not an efficient way to use this EHR system, as it takes something like 12 clicks to access a patient's scanned outpatient PT order if that's all you need to find.

Michele
Director of Compliance, Quality Improvement and Nursing
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Meditech Magic vs Client Server

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have used both Magic and Client Server and find the latter much more intuitive. Meditech Magic looks like a bare bones version of Client Server. I worked in the IT department at the Magic hospital, and the report writer was able to create new reports very easily on the fly. The hospital was constantly changing various screens since it was so easy to do (not necessarily a good thing). I was an end-user at the Client Server hospital so I don't have the same level of knowledge of the IT side. Customer support seemed fair at both locations.

Pros:

Meditech Magic is easier to build onsite and report options are good; Client Server is more user friendly and visually appealing.

Cons:

Meditech Magic screens are more difficult to understand and navigate; client server can be overhwhelming in terms of the number of tabs and amount of information on the screen.

Mary
Regisered Nurse in US
Medical Practice, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

When bad software won't die

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have worked with numerous other EHR's and Meditech is by far the worst.

Cons:

Seriously after 2 years I am have yet to discover any advantage to using this software, even after our hospital rolled out the newest version of Meditech 6.15.No functionality of the system, you have to hunt for the critical information you need, the software is not intuitive for example if you scan a medication that the patient has a documented allergy to the program doesn't pop up a text box or an alert. My biggest complaint is that it does not appear that Meditech consulted with clinicians when building the documentation software. It is extremely troubling and in our litigious society I am not sure how they justify the lack of descriptors.

Zachary
Clinical Director of Integration in France
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cheaper than Epic but much less user friendly

3.0 last year

Comments: Overall, MEDITECH is sufficient for my EMR charting needs but is severely less functional than others I have used

Pros:

The software works (which is better than other EMR softwares) and is highly HIPAA compliant.

Cons:

The features are "clunky" and don't seem to be updated for the 2020's software standard most are used to. In particular, the lack of "click-ability" of most inputs and instead having to use the arrow keys is quite old-fashioned

shelly
Owner
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Difficult to use

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: I am not a fan and the reports were long and wasted paper.

Pros:

I believe it is customisable and may be good for smaller hospitals. The company trained the hospital staff

Cons:

I used it in an er setting and hated it. It would not let you move on with a triage until all area are addressed. I felt it jeopardized my patients health on my very sick patients. I heard some of the same complaints from other floors.

Michael
Physician in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Cumbersome and poorly designed

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: Horrible

Pros:

Availability of previous records. Nothing else……..

Cons:

Multiple clicks for simple and frequent tasks. Prescription writing and sending complex. Can’t easily see patients who are next to be seen. List of my patients doesn’t drop off discharged patients even for days. Too long of a list to write

Caitlyn
yoga instructor in US
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for Clinical AND B/AR users; redundant if you only use one or the other

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love that it combines billing (front and back end) AND clinical documentation. It makes billing and coding, compliance audits and claims review SO much easier than other software.

Cons:

Since Epic came out, Meditech lacks a lot of features, like insurance verification, faxing charts, etc. Meditech also forces all processes to be entered repetitively, and for those who are strictly clinical or strictly b/ar, it seems tedious.

Sarah
Credit Balance resolution specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Old School with easy understanding

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience with MEDITECH, was slow to warm up to but once learned how to navigate I could do anything I needed to do in order to find the information I needed.

Pros:

It's not flashy but it gets the job done. It doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles and therefore also rarely has times when the system doesn't work properly

Cons:

There are somethings that this program doesn't do that for my job I need to have. However you can export all the Information you need to an excel spreadsheet and from there I can customize my data to do what I needed it to do.

Tm
n in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Never use this software.

1.0 12 months ago

Comments: No benefits to using this software. I would avoid this product.

Pros:

nothing. I like nothing about this software.

Cons:

At least 4-5 steps needed find out simple information ie lab trends. Previous d/c summary or H and P. Exists no option to link EMR different facilities. Never any customer support. For example in my facility. Charts need to be signed, IT or help desk takes over 2 weeks reply. Never seen anything like it.

missy
Office Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

very archaic program

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: I would think after all these years it would be updated by now.

Pros:

I dont really have anything good to say about this product. I have used it off and on for 10yrs and I dont think there has been any changes made.

Cons:

It is very frustrating to have to use the arrow keys only for navigation, if you mistakenly hit the wrong key you have to start all over again.

Andrea
Physician Support Coordinator
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great product overall and get compliments that it's better than some othe EHR competitors.

Pros:

Easy to use and user friendly. Very competitive application. We are able to customize too which makes it more adaptable to our workflow.

Cons:

Updates seem to cause issues for some time. We find several bugs after each update but that comes with the territory.

LARRY
Physician Assistant in US
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Limited EHR

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Used this EHR in medium sized hospital for rounding and care of orthopedic patients. Mostly was good at allowing access to information both within and outside of the hospital. I didn't like not being able to finish my rounding from the office though due to no ability to write a progress note directly into the system. Paper notes got scanned after patient discharge.

Pros:

Simple windows for accessing information Remote access is possible if setup by administration Images accessible from within the program without needing a separate PACs system.

Cons:

Inability to write or dictate a note directly in the system. Discharges seemed to take a long time with extra steps and multiple clicks (this could more hospital issue vs EHR).

Heather
Office Manager in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Love Meditech!!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very user friendly and allows you to navigate and complete work tasks fast and efficiently. I would highly recommend this software!!

Cons:

Seldom freezes but not very often and that tends to occur with any software I've ever used. Overall no complaints and love this software

Sunil
Physiotherapist in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Medical Records and Charting Made Easy

4.0 last year

Pros:

Important and favorite feature of Meditech is all the medical records are readily available. Easy to chart.

Cons:

Sometimes, when charted on wrong patient by mistake it is impossible to correct that.

Angela
Administrator in US
, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Meditech EHR

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I have used Meditech in 2 hospital systems. I am very used to it's menus and how to navigate. The labels are very user-friendly for healthcare

Cons:

I would really like to be able to use more of the custom fields; the documentation is difficult to understand.

Gina
Office Manager in US
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Can be difficult to understand at first!

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: I didn’t have a great experience with this program. I had a very hard time learning all of its functions. Based on conversations between myself and coworkers, they weren’t too fond of this program either.

Pros:

I liked the simplicity of its layout. There wasn't a lot of distracting features that this program presented

Cons:

Very hard to navigate through the program There was a very long learning curve before I was comfortable using this program

missy
Office Manager
, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

very old school program

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It didn't take long to learn the program, it's pretty simple. It is straight forward and gets the job done

Cons:

It seems archaic, could use some updates. a lot of screens to go through to get to what you need. didn't like using the arrow keys so much.

Jordan
Imaging System Administrator
, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Has potential

2.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Purchased prior to my arrival of job. Looking forward to the newest update of Meditech 6.16 when it arrives.

Cons:

Worklist are not customization or prioritizing patients. And does not allow a hard stop if needed.

Ash
Insurance Verification in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Better for urgent and emergency rooms

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Better than Epic

Pros:

Blocks off rooms for ambulances, has the ability to update information without causing system issues, multiple departments can be on same chart, notation was easier

Cons:

Not accessible by other hospital systems which limits how much info you can share

Leonardo
IT Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use, one software to manage everything

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is a very useful software where you can manage all departments in one full suit. You can enter a lab for a patient, or you van open a work order to get a light bulb swapped. just great.

Cons:

Very Expensive, support is very expensive as well, this platform will keep your data hostage if you discontinue support...

Shelly
Attenidng ICU Physician in US
Medical Practice, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

0 out of 10 recommend

1.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I see nothing that is a Pro of this EHR - I have absolutely no compliments. I mean I guess it is electronic?.

Cons:

The layout is by far the worst I've seen! These days you should be able to easily modify your home screen to your preference (organize by bed versus name versus attending physician, etc) ... this is easy to do but yet this EHR does not even do this! The orders are by far the least intuitive I've worked with (allergy warnings do not pop up when medications are entered, etc). This system is so archaic it is dangerous.