Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Splunk Enterprise

Trusted by 92 of the fortune 100, Splunk helps you investigate, monitor, analyze, and act on all of your organizations data.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Showing 134 reviews

David B.
David B.
Production Support Clan Manager in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Offers more than you think

5 4 years ago

Comments: We've used the software to detect layer 7 attacks, unearth issues we didn't realize were happening and gives us end to end insight into our stack.

Pros:

The system is highly intuitive to use. It is faster than other solutions I've used on the market and has a huge library of 3rd party plugins to get more from the system. It is easy to create scheduled searches, dashboards, reports etc. but there are a number of additional plugins (at an extra cost) to help with security, single pane of glass and metric collection.

Cons:

It offers challenges for a decentralized working model. Where Splunk is centrally managed, it is easy to ensure that best practices are maintained. Where the system is opened up for an entire department to utilize and on-board their logs, it becomes more difficult. However, with some creative thinking and good process, this issue can be overcome.

Verified Reviewer
Security in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A tool which is one for all

5 last year

Comments: Splunk has made me realize the ability to correlate different data from different realms altogether and generate valuable insights.

Pros:

The ability to use this software for security operations, data analysis, creating dashboards, generating tickets and everything else

Cons:

Splunk uses its own SPL, which is not very easy to learn. However, there are lots of documentation that Splunk provides to its customers. There is paid training available which is useful for beginners to learn.

Thomas Z.
Management Reporting and Business Analyst in Zambia
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk an Enterprise Business intelligent user tool

5 9 months ago

Comments: Is a robust and intelligent management tool that enables everyone with user computer knowledge to navigate in real-time, consolidate vast data into a visualized report of dashboard features , reliable and web based, no major equipment required for setup, user need a smartphone or compute to access the platform through the web, you can navigate the system as long as you have computer knowledge without any training required(user friendly) .

Pros:

It an intelligent business tool that provided me an opportunity to customize and build report from large volume of data from different departments within the 13 Africa countries in telecommunication sectors. The platform allows data to be consolidated accordingly to the organization need and produces visualized reports of dashboard features. I also noted that the system can analyst unstructured large volume of data speedily and is reliable and web based allowing for user flexible accessible from any part of the world if you have internet. The systems have been reliable and secured from the time (2 years) I started using it without any system intermittent, system errors and cyber-attack.

Cons:

The system is built and use-able with structured and unstructured organization though the price in foreign currency could hamper small and medium organization to use it especially in most Africa country where the local currency has depreciated against the major trading foreign currency.so the Forex pricing is a challenge. The navigation of the platform will require minor training though if the user is computer proficient, they would management with minor challenge and interpretation of the data. So, first time user it can be difficult to use it It will depend on internet for access and internet tend to be pricey in most African country and therefore could increase the business cost for small and medium enterprise. It can increase business cost if not fully used

Verified Reviewer
Senior Security Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great, wholistic centralized monitoring solution

4 7 months ago

Comments: I've been using Splunk for over 8 years. I've seen it constantly improve and change a lot. I do enjoy it. Cloud is getting better and much better parity with on-prem

Pros:

We use this as our SIEM. The ability to have the data ingest, visualization, alerting and correlation all in one product is very important to me from a security standpoint. We're cloud-first so having that ability with large cloud providers is important to me (AWS, Okta, GCP, etc)

Cons:

The cost can be a little concerning and htere is a bit of a learning curve when you first get into Splunk. User groups, their forum and pro serv all help with that.

Devaun F.
software consultant in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Query your log statements for your production apps in REAL TIME to triage and monitor performance

5 4 years ago

Comments: XRAY vision on your production instances. Every day we code our applications so that we will be splunk friendly with our app log statements. For example "featureX=value" allows you to query for every customer that engaged with featureX.

Pros:

Splunk allows us to see exactly what is going on in production! I work on commerce for a fortune 100 company, and we use Splunk to monitor our apps in real time. Splunk gives you the ability to perform queries like you would with SQL against your log statements in real time. You will learn that you can place strategic log statements in your code that allows you to identify situations in production and be proactive at solving them. For example, you can log your customer's session cookie ID, and track any given customer's activity on your website via your app logs. It gives you dials and charting capabilities to monitor even the slightest drops in customer activities due to flaws in code or slowing network calls.

Cons:

PRICE. The software is so powerful, and they seem to leverage this in the pricing of the licenses.

Joevanne V.
IT Security Engineer in US
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very cool but pricey

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Cons:

Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

Gaurav M.
team Lead in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great insights from system logs

4 2 years ago

Comments: We are using extensively to monitor production jobs and production server. We have setup splunk Jobs to continuously monitor space , files on our server. Automatic emails are triggered if space is not available as expected. This helps to take proactive action and avoid production failures. Splunk is also used to monitor files received from various sources. Our jobs requires multiple files to run the process. We have setup splunk jobs to monitor the files and if any file is not available we are alerted using emails

Pros:

Various insights are derived from otherwise neglected system and process logs. Library of functions is readily available to read the logs , perform string operations and scan the file. Information can be represented using numerous charts , bars and graphs. Very useful in production monitoring and alerting using email option

Cons:

I feel debugging is difficult. drop down or drag and drop functions should be made available because it's difficult to keep track and remember syntax of functions and it's usage.

Carlo T.
IT Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk Review

4 3 years ago

Pros:

The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Cons:

At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

Harmandeep singh S.
Graduate Assistant in
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Perfect for huge infrastructure

5 4 years ago

Pros:

1.Ease of use 2.support ad-hoc query and then analytic. 3. defining field extractor is simple and you can use it to search again. 4. It's a powerful ecosystem

Cons:

1., it's slow and maybe make system unresponsive when you search data over long time range, or large amounts of data 2. there are too much CPU cost when index too much items on Windows machine. 3. price becomes high as you scale.

James C.
CEO in US
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Wonderful Log Server Software

5 4 years ago

Pros:

This software puts all your logs and events in one centralized location making managing logs easier to manage.

Cons:

When they first started they had awesome plans and options but it has changed since the beginning. Still great

Janne M.
Janne M.
Technical Product Manager in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very advanced log storage and analyzer

5 8 months ago

Comments: For the log retention and analyzing purpose, it's the tool #1 in the market right now.

Pros:

Splunk is first of all reliable from stability and information security perspective, which is a must. Second, it has one of the most advanced feature sets in analyzing, manipulation, anomaly detecting and processing log data residing in its database. Even AI/ML options are on the table, and it's possible to start implementing AI/ML with Splunk immediately.

Cons:

For certain types of use, licensing structure can hit you in your face relatively quickly.

Abhay T.
Cyber Security Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk Review

4 2 years ago

Comments: We have good experience. we are using this tool to forward the logs of servers.

Pros:

A log forwarder tool which you can use free upto 500MB. No Development work required to provide value. You can create your own queries and event based alerts.

Cons:

The software is very powerful but to use those feature you will have to buy the license then you can get all those feature that it has.

Verified Reviewer
Director IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

So easy to find my data

5 3 years ago

Comments: It makes troubleshooting network issues so much easier. In a matter of seconds you can find all of the data you need to diagnose most of your network issues.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use and to find my data. The search engine is so fast and intuitive.

Cons:

This is a powerful tool and it can prepare very detailed graphs and charts. The con is that it takes more training and time to perfect your skills to create these graphs.

Verified Reviewer
IT Security Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk is the go to SIEM software

4 2 years ago

Comments: Splunk is our key resource and first line of defense for our security team when looking at our intrusions against the organization.

Pros:

The amount of information and data that you can organize with splunk is it's best feature.

Cons:

It will take some time getting used to how create dashboards and reports so that can pull the relevant data out of splunk.

Edd P.
Edd P.
Senior Analyst in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Easy way to review multiple log files and check for errors

5 3 years ago

Comments: Better visibility of application errors

Pros:

Very useful for combining log files from multiple sources and setting up predefined reports to check for errors.

Cons:

Free version of splunk light doesn't allow automatic notification by email of log errors. However as I have paid nothing I can't complain too much!

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great crawling software for data and visualization software

4 8 months ago

Comments: Quite content and satisfied and a recommended product

Pros:

1. Awesome data crawling and retrieval 2. Great search repository formed 3. Excellent visualization charts created 4. Graphs, dashboards, charts and various options supported aiding in effective business decisions

Cons:

1. A bit expensive to use but worth it with the features it provides 2. Secure but analytics options can be further enhanced

Guillermo R.
Guillermo R.
Security Analyst in US
Telecommunications, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great SIEM tool

4 2 years ago

Comments: good, still learning. It would have been great if training from splunk were cheaper.

Pros:

Very easy GUI that can be familiar just in a few days, Gathering data in simple stepts makes everything much easier.

Cons:

The docs about the product sometimes are confusing, and to learn more on google is harder because there is not much material like for example cisco, palo alto, etc.

Ryan S.
IT Manager in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome Syslog Solution

5 4 years ago

Comments: Huge Splunk Fan!

Pros:

I really like the overall feel of Splunk, it integrates with many other products very well. Even has independent add-ons for Cisco and Microsoft Products.

Cons:

Pricing of Spunk can get very expensive. I have experience with the windows version of splunk and sometimes it can be difficult to troubleshoot.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Incident Response Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best of class SIEM / Data Analytics

4 2 years ago

Pros:

I really liked how easy splunk made it to search vast amounts of data in a short amount of time. The dashboards were pretty useful as well.

Cons:

Splunk is very expensive to deploy on premise. This can be a limiting factor for customers that do not want to host sensitive data in the cloud.

Rohit V.
Student in US
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product with an intuitive user interface

4 7 years ago

Pros:

The product installation is simple and easy to understand. The configuration of this product for a multi-node cluster is intuitive and easy to learn. Automatic suggestions popup while filtering over indexed data.

Cons:

In case of analytics, there should be at least 2000 entries.

Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Extremely Powerful Log Aggregator

5 2 years ago

Comments: We aggregated security logs and transnational data into Splunk to combat fraud to much success. Highly recommend trying it out.

Pros:

The best part about Splunk is that it is incredibly flexible. Any type of log can be aggregated and its awesome to build correlation. Any thing you want to know from your data can be found with Splunk.

Cons:

The ability of Splunk comes at a cost, literally. There is a free edition but if you are using it in an enterprise environment, especially if there is more than one department uses it, it will be pricey. However given the functionality its still a good value for many enterprises.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Consultant in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Historical data search

5 3 years ago

Comments: I use Splunk at work place to track log files and investigate Production issues.

Pros:

I like the speed and ease to search contents.

Cons:

i think cost is a factor for some organizations

Anindita B.
Anindita B.
Software Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good analytical tool

5 3 years ago

Pros:

It gives us proper logging data for any product and also the fact that it shows data on a timely basis. Also can import data.

Cons:

Nothing to be specific, it can be made for interactive maybe

Juan N.
Consultant in
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Another powerful option for BI

3 5 years ago

Comments: In general I think is a powerful tool but a little confusing to use at the beginning although I really enjoyed the fact that I was able to installed it in Linux, not every BI tool that I've tried will let you do that.

Pros:

The charts and visualizations that you can create in general have a good look and it has the minimum functionalities expected as a user (export, filtering, search, etc), I spent some time trying to understand the interface and functionalities but once I started to load some data and use the search I was able to see the capabilities of the product.

Cons:

I did not like the limitations of the free version like the size of the data you can upload but I guess is still fair to be able to use it for free.

Shabbir S.
security analyst in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete Security operations with Splunk

5 2 months ago

Comments: Splunk data visualization and its analytics handling chunks of data is exceptional.

Pros:

Data visualization, Analytics skills with AI-powered and can handle data in TB/per day without any interruptions in services. Live dashboards, developing use-cases and their capabilities (correlation).

Cons:

complex architecture and efficient skills are required, financial is also not feasible for small and medium customers. no inbuilt query builders for beginners to understand the platform.