Track-It! Reviews

by BMC Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1/5
  • Customer Service
    4.2/5

About Track-It!

Fully integrated Help Desk system for small to medium sized companies that is affordable to own and easy to install, configure and use.

Learn more about Track-It!

Showing 68 reviews

Miguel N.
Information Technology Project Manager & Quality Assurance
13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018

"Solid option for companies seeking a home grown solution !"

Comments: Control of all my IT department, Assets, ticketing, workload, licences, puchases and knowledge base!

Pros: This is a product that will satisfy your needs, but you have to configure it to do so, all the modules are based and linked among them so this will be a easy to use tool!

Cons: there's no service Catalog, but you can cuastomize one in the categorization and schedule module!, I also think that the module regarding to Training could be a bit more rich in terms of having the course materials in there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Richard R.
Customer Sales Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015

"The Price Vs Functionality ratio still separates Track-It! from the rest of the SMBs solutions"

Comments: To summarise; if you are on limited budget but looking for a feature rich product that is going to transform your IT Maturity from chaotic & reactive to proactive, then look no further than Track-It!
I've been associated with Track-It! for over 15 years since version 2. I was part of a small team in the UK that grew the business Track-It! in the UK, using - of course - Track-It!
The pros about Track-It! is that it is a product that is pretty much out of the box, easy to install & configure, with a getting started guide that is prescriptive & can get you up & running in days as oppose to weeks & months. Ultimately when managing a small help desk, you want to know what you are supporting, who is using what you are supporting & then having the ability to communicate with your end users via a number of methods. The when managing the ticket, the ability to categorise, prioritise, assign, notify & escalate. Track-It! allows you to do this all this. Change Requests, Purchasing, Software Licencing & naturally strong reporting capabilities. Track-It! really does have a lot to offer.
From the founding company Blue Ocean Software to BMC Software, the product team is still pretty much in place & very customer centric utilising the in-built communities & customer led feature requests to further develop the product. The model has not really changed since day one that you are able to download a fully functional 30 day demo to evaluate. Trust Track-It! has been a brand backed by it's delivery & it's no surprise that at over 50,000 customers it is the world's most widely installed helpdesk system.
So if you are looking for an integrated help desk & asset management solution, then definitely consider Track-It!
Where Track-It! will be limited is if you are looking for a flexible, fully customisable solution. If this is what you are looking for, then Track-It! is not the right product & BMC offer products such as Remedyforce, FootPrints, Remedy & Remedy onDemand to cater for this requirement.
InfraVision are an elite BMC partner & have witnessed over the last 18 months a significant growth in Track-It! with the UK & Irish markets, which would suggest that companies are looking for simple, out of the box solutions & not implement process for process sake!
We are more than happy to back our words of this review & prior to evaluating, if you would like to receive a Track-It! overview to enhance your evaluation experience, then contact us at [email protected]

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015
Paul G.
VP of IT
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2018

"TrackIT is an average product that has not changed much in 10 years"

Pros: The locally installed sql database is handy for customizations and integrations. Trackit allows for nested work orders, which I've noticed several other products do not have this feature...

Cons: Lets be clear - Trackit is late 90s early 2000s style thick client app. The web client design is very similar to the thick client. Very little thought put into software quality attributes such as speed or usability. The asset inventory client is bug ridden. We could never get the service to inventory the last 15-20% of computer assets. The server side inventory service would routinely crash as well. The limits on custom work order fields were a problem. The global search across work orders is slow (several minutes) and routinely never returns results. Robust search capability is critical in my opinion. Trackit support has somehow convinced itself this is an unsolvable problem. Overall, it is apparent that BMC dev team is focused elsewhere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2018
Italo P.
Supervisor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018

"I have worked for more than 4 years with the application and it is very useful to classify incidents"

Comments: Good control of the Helpdesk department management and reporting

Pros: The knowledge database is very broad, it is very good to classify types of incidents and to measure the productivity of the work team.
Its cost is not very high

Cons: Apparently there is no version for Android or IOS, sometimes I think the application is a bit slow and the design is a little outdated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Amanda W.
Applications Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2020

"Track-It Helps Me Stay Organized"

Comments: Our experience has been great! Helps delegate and track issues in an easy way.

Pros: Track-It Helps Me Stay Organized. I love being able to see all my assigned tickets in one spot and see the updates to the issues. The e-mail notifications are useful, too!

Cons: I don't really have any complaints about the software. We uses it daily and will continue to do so.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2020
Sarvesh G.
Manager
Biotechnology, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018

"GUI"

Comments: Great

Pros: interface is overall good and user friendly

Cons: performance is poor over the time need so optimization techniques for DB

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018
Migdelia meriyela M.
Acount Specialist
13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018

"It has been nice, the self-service and audit modules I like and the support is excellent"

Pros: what I like the most is support attention, they are always available to attend cases, really excellent

Cons: what I like the least is the complexity to issue reports is difficult to use, it would be nice if they improve this part easier, much more management

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018
Laura N.
Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019

"Track-It"

Comments: Ultimately we migrated off of Track-It as we needed a better interface with our customers and with our Agile Software Support team.

Pros: The product was very stable, we never experienced any outages.

Cons: Customer Support was very helpful. The client interface was difficult to use. The user interface was not user friendly and dated.

Vendor Response

by BMC Software on 07/11/2019

We are sorry to hear you moved to another product. The entire user interface was redesigned when the new Track-It! 2018 version was released on the new Track-It! platform. The product now uses an all web based client which includes Form Customization so you can design the Ticket form to look how it best suits your needs and also supports multiple form designs so each department using Track-It! can customize the look and feel of their interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019
Lamar Y.
Online College - Training and Technical Support
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2016

"Help desk made simple"

Comments: Our company finally decided to leave our homegrown help desk system and purchase a professional system. It was one of the best decisions we made. I managed the help desk at the time and we could never seem to get a handle on things with our self-developed system. Track-It offered everything we needed in an easy to use system. We could track inventory and help desk requests in one system.

Pros: Ease of use, simple interface, great customer support, great reporting, single sign-on.

Cons: Interface is easy to use but looks like it could use a little updating. Seems like they could combine a few screens to reduce the number of clicks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2016
Geraldine S.
Gerente general de proyectos
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"Good Product Needs More Custumer Support"

Pros: * Trackit allows to create task inside work orders wich its nice
* It manages several types of notifications regarding SLA´s

Cons: * Doesn't have an app for android or ios
* Configuration can be sometimes difficult and not easy to understand

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Jacquie H.
sr system analyst
Utilities, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2016

"Track-It, The Best Helpdesk software I have used"

Comments: I have used Track-It for a many years during my tenure at four different companies. Track-It is a solid product that will increase the efficiency and effectives of your Helpdesk. The Self-Service module saves our Helpdesk time from interruptions by calls and walk-ups. Users can solve many of their issues with the Self-Service Module. The Module can help users with changing their own passwords after authentication, looking-up common solutions to problems, or fill out a detailed help request form. Track-It can prioritize your work orders and distribute to correct person based on the incoming Work Order Requests. Emails are automatically sent to users if status updates and the resolution are desired. The Assets Tracking module has helped account for all the hardware and to who has been assigned. The discovery option will automatically find the hardware on the network. The License Module helps the organization stay in compliance by tracking the authorized license count. It is a wonderful system and I recommend that you try Track-It.

Pros: Ease of use
Functionality
Cost
Support
User Advocate Web Site
Innovations

Cons: purchasing module

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2016
Alex R.
President
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2015

"Excellent and Economical entry level and small business Help Desk tool"

Comments: I have been working with Track-It! for over five years now, happily watching how it continues to develop and evolve with each new iteration.
Track-It! is incredibly easy and intuitive to install and configure, and it comes out of the box with all the features that most small organizations need to get going with a Help Desk tool. It is best suited for organizations that are taking their first steps to go from a manual to an automated Help Desk system, organizations that have outgrown a basic, home-made help desk system, and any organization that requires a full-featured, solid and easy to use help desk system at an affordable price.
Pros:
* Very easy to install and configure
* Very easy and intuitive to use
* Mature and very stable software (Version 11.4 as of this writing)
* Excellent technical support
* Excellent tips and tricks support from a very active users and developers community (through BMC's communities site)
* Economical, starting at under $1,000
* All-included, full-featured software. Includes Help Desk, Asset and Software License Management, basic Change Management, a Self Service Portal, and a Mobile Interface, among its many features.
* Includes the powerful Crystal Reports as its main built-in reporting engine.
Cons:
* Limited customization options - may not be suitable for organizations with highly specialized needs.
* Does not support compartments / separate workspaces / multi-organizations configurations.
* No Cloud version available at this stage.
* Report Customization requires knowledge of Crystal Reports. This is fine for organizations that have CR experts on board, but requires some learning effort if no one is familiar with CR.
Altogether, this is an ideal and very affordable tool for its target market. There are tools available that offer either more features or more flexibility, but either at a considerably higher cost, or at the expense of quality, stability and/or level of customer support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2015
Joseph Z.
Technology Support Specialist
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018

"Track-IT by Numara"

Comments: For the most part, it's a good experience. Their support portal is a little confusing at first but once you're in, their support is very good. I've had to call them a couple times and had my issues resolved quickly.

Pros: The stability of the product. The customization aspect...adding fields. The options seem limitless.

Cons: The user interface for the on prem version is dated. It needs to be updated to look more modern. That's more on me then them. I just don't like the view(s).

Vendor Response

by BMC Software on 30/10/2018

Hi Joseph, thanks for the feedback. You should take a look at our new Track-It! 2018 version. It has some great new features, a new modern web interface and is a free upgrade to customers on support. I think it may be exactly what you are looking for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Tyler F.
Business Intelligence Officer
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2016

"Great product for our organization"

Comments: Track-It was in place when I came aboard, but not used consistently. I helped to re-implement the software and we have seen a great deal of adoption from all of the team members and it is bringing valuable visibility to the management team...enough so that they have hired two additional team members since. It's easy to use and helps us keep track of everything we are working on.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Inability to assign more than one Technician or Requester. Also only being able to create routing on 3 levels if categorization. Needs event based functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2016
Bob D.
Database Administrator
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2019

"BMC Track-It keeps track of our users incidents"

Comments: Generally good. The user experience can be difficult with updates that are not particularly helpful but from a technician perspective, the software does what we need. Reports are hit and miss at times when incidents do not get properly classified, so overhead is a little higher than I would have expected.

Pros: Allows me to manage user requests and keep track of outstanding issues easily.

Cons: Once a classification category has been used, it does not seem to be able to be deleted, which makes changing the classification of incidents a challenge having to scroll through a large number of setup criteria that are no longer used.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
LAN / Web Development Specialist
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019

"Good asset management software"

Comments: We manage several hundred computers, users, software licenses and a solutions database in our IT department. We use track-it to automatically audit all devices that connect to our network and keep track of where the item is and who it is assigned to. We also keep track of software licensing and help desk requests and tickets.

Pros: Track-It automates tracking your assets, and help desk tickets easily. It is nice to be able to see what computers we have and what software is installed on them and who is using them.

Cons: The Track-it audit function is sometimes a little buggy with older operating systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Ryan G.
Administrative Assistant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2017

"Excellent after training."

Comments: Completely revolutionized our Help Desk and brought the level of staff knowledge up another level.

Pros: The application does so much. It allows you so many options for customization. The ability to not only track the asset, but also see a record of service desk requests is efficient and beneficial.

Cons: What's not to like? If I had to pick something I'd say that at times it can be a little sluggish, but that could be our network and not the application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2017
Jason R.
System Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2016

"Track-It - An excellent all around ticket traking application ."

Comments: We're a medium sized Community Hospital and have used Track-It for several years now with minimal complaints. The product has always been rock solid.

Pros: Ease of use is high on our list. We have several teams using it all with different needs.
Software license tracking is a nice feature.
Great community support around the product.

Cons: No real cons. We understand what the software is and don't try to make it do things it's not made to do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2016
Dave M.
ICT Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2016

"Track-it review"

Comments: I have been using track-it for over a year and what can I say it's an amazing product.
' Very easy to install and configure
' Track-it inventory is great it's scan the entire network and reports back
' Track-it auditing is one of the best features as you can audit hardware and software, which in turn help you keep track of software licencing
' Track-it support is fantastic , very helpful and quick to resolve any issues
' The calling logging feature is great for keeping track of ICT queries and running reports
' Overall it's a great product, you get value for money and it's easy to use

Pros: The Auditing feature

Cons: More reporting functions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2016
Verified Reviewer
Contact Center Analyst
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018

"It does the job without much problems"

Comments: Simple to use

Pros: It allows you to customize the ticket forms based on the business requirements, giving us the opportunity of making ticket forms designed for different departments

Cons: The ticket forms cannot be formatted to match the business look and feel, it does not offer the option to alert support reps about outstanding tickets

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Brian L.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018

"Using for year"

Pros: Cost the software is not overly expensive for the number of users we have. Ease of use is very nice as well. Active directory Integration of requests is nice as well

Cons: I wish it had a friendly IOS or android App. Better costume reporting. Unless your an expert in crystal reporting you will be forced to use included reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Brad M.
I.T. Endpoint Administrator
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2016

"Great off the shelf product"

Comments: Primary use is for helpdesk ticketing but very capable for asset management and inventory, change management, knowledge base, license management, and purchase management

Pros: Great ticket management and asset management.

Cons: Could use more customization options (coming!).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2016
Stephen C.
MIS Supervisor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018

"Very pleased with Track-it"

Pros: Been a customer for 10+ years with Track it. Very easy to use. Like the view when looking at work orders. Has a nice Excel type grid format.

Cons: Lacks a mobile app and not web based. The change management module also needs some work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Marsha G.
Operations Support Officer
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2016

"Great product, we have used it since 2005! Eleven years and will continue to use it!"

Comments: We have used TrackIt since 2005 for mainly help desk tickets and now we are going to expand and utilize more of the features such as TrackIt Web, Inventory, Assets, Reporting,Solutions and many more great options available to us! The price is great and customer service is fabulous ! I would highly recommend this software!

Pros: Awesome!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2016
Dan A.
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017

"Great product with lots of great features"

Pros: The software is easy to use,. It has a client and web-based version, so that it can support all different platforms.

Cons: The full version (client) is very slow at times, especially when searching. This needs to be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017