15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Workday HCM

Cloud-based human resources solution that helps businesses streamline workforce planning, talent management, and payroll processes.

Learn more about Workday HCM

Pros:

It also is useful to keep track of pay as well as money being taken out for insurance and taxes.

Cons:

Their expensive user training courses are absolutely appalling for adult learners - 4 days in a classroom flicking through a 500 page bound workbook, anyone.

Workday HCM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Workday HCM has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 1,380 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Workday HCM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,380)

John
John
Financial Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best HR tool a company can use

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

My favorite aspect of Workday is the User Interface. The software is very easy to navigate for any user, and requires almost no training. I also love the personnel reports I can pull through Workday with our HRIS specialist.

Cons:

The Workday implementation took a long time. It took months before the Workday team could implement this software for us to go live.

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to inspect, edit and access payroll information

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent human resource management is made possible by Workday's integrated platform. Insights and statistics regarding employee preferences are provided, allowing for more informed decision making.

Pros:

Workday is flexible software that facilitates many different aspects of human resource management. Workday HCM has user-friendly data analytics. By collecting and analyzing this data, we may gain useful understanding and improve our approaches to workforce management.

Cons:

Workday does not offer a lot of room for user input. It also has trouble merging with other programs on occasion. In addition, there are sometimes technical difficulties. I think the user interface could use some work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources (HR) Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Workday is the best tool for HR

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Very recommendable! Mainly for managers and HR have been a great tool

Pros:

1. Unified - combines HR, payroll, talent management, and workforce planning in one system, providing a seamless and integrated experience for users. 2. User-Friendly Interface- making it simple for employees and HR professionals to access and manage their information. 3. Mobile Accessibility. 4.Continuous Innovation hearing the needs of HR professionals and organizations.

Cons:

Sometime gave me problems with integration challenges, I believe that Integrating Workday with other systems and processes can be time-consuming and may require additional resources to ensure seamless connectivity.

Kate
Marketing Manager in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Workday HCM

3.0 last month New

Pros:

I liked how easy it was to learn. I also liked how there was an app for my phone so I could check while not at work

Cons:

It lags, rarely lets you sign in on the first try and it never remembers your password

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday HCM, an exceptional Tool for one stop HR solutions

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Its a must try software for matrix organizations. It can solve all the problems but need someone specialist on products. Heavy training is required for advance features.

Pros:

1. Excellent interface 2. Looks posh and advanced 3. Can work in less bandwidth 4. No downtime

Cons:

1. Too complex features, highly categorized 2. Very expensive 3. Not very flexible for product level changes

Jon
BSR in US
Insurance Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Workday, it's a usefull HCM

4.0 last week New

Comments: Workday is intuitive to use. There are some features that take some getting used to, such as finding your benefits and end of year tax info, but once you figure it out, it's easily found again. Overall it's a great tool!

Pros:

Workday is relatively easy to navigate.

Cons:

Initially, you have to go through several steps to find benefit summaries for my benefits. But once you figure out the route, it's much easier than most I've used in the past.

Edward
Lead infrastructure engineer in US
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Workday Review

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: It has been good - it is far superior to previous applications we have used

Pros:

It is very easy to set up incident queues and manage tasks

Cons:

The reporting tool sort function took time to adjust to

megan
pet hotel manager in US
Veterinary Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

workday review

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: everything is easy to use / easy to find

Pros:

everything in one spot ./ tax /hours / pay

Cons:

Nothing everything has been super easy to use

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Workday, an all rounder for all TA related stuff

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

1. Fabulous interface 2. Multifunctional dashboard 3. Smooth navigation 4. Supports quick self troubleshooting

Cons:

1. A bit heavy tool 2. Hard to integrate external software

Chris
Business graduate program in UK
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Straight forward but bleak

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I liked that it was straight forward to use and wasn’t ever complex

Cons:

I didn’t like how bleak their pages are for companies to accept applications. It’s discouraging for candidates applying to jobs

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strongest HCM we were able to identify

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Very satisfied with Workday as a tool, we have recently conducted an internal assessment of how satisfied we are with the tool and it has highlighted very few areas where the tool is not meeting our needs. We see the tool as a long term solution for our organisation.

Pros:

All requirements in one place, and more. Meaning we were able to centralise and transform (in an agile way) our HR processes as we implemented. Alerts allow for end users to engage and be engaged with using a sensible approach. All data in one place allows for reporting and budgeting to be easy.

Cons:

Implementation was sticky for us. We had a number of requirements which we thought were typical however had to create significant work-arounds in order to meet our needs. This was resource heavy from our perspective and elongated the implementation (we used an implementation partner and not Workday FYI)

Nadezhda
Report Developer in Bulgaria
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Outstanding Experience with Workday HCM

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, I have had a great experience with Workday HCM. It provides a comprehensive and powerful platform to manage employee data and gain valuable insights from analytics.

Pros:

Workday HCM provides an incredibly user-friendly and intuitive interface which makes it easy to navigate and manage employee data. Its powerful analytics capabilities allow us to gain invaluable insights into our workforce.

Cons:

Workday HCM can be slow and unresponsive at times, and it can be difficult to troubleshoot issues.

Chakkrit
People Technology Junior Analyst in Thailand
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Workday is probably the best human capital management too in the world right now.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Every big organization needs a human capital management program. Without Workday, this wouldn't have been possible. Especially in big companies like Agoda, where there are many requirements from stakeholders such as GDPR, Data Privacy, and Security, these are things that many of the competitors couldn't do.

Pros:

Workday is probably the best human capital management in the world right now. Learning Workday opens wide opportunities to various jobs. As a Workday HCM beginner, it might be overwhelming, but after one training course and a month of practice, Workday HCM can easily become a simple thing. Workday HCM is important as it is the core of other Workday modules such as Workday Security and Workday Business Process Architecture.

Cons:

Workday is definitely an expensive tool that is only utilized by big companies. It is going to be rare for small to medium size company to use Workday. It means that, if you are going to quit a company that uses Workday and would prefer to find a job in a similar fashion, it has to be a large size company. Workday training is also kind of expensive, yet it is not a one-on-one training but a group course instead. Workday Support is very technically useful, however, it might take some time for an issue to resolve and they don't provide live chat support. Workday Learning is something that my company has issues with the most.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revolutionizing HR and Payroll: A Deep Dive into Workday HCM

5.0 last year

Comments: from my experience, I found that One of the key strengths of Workday is its user-friendly interface, which enables employees and managers to easily access and manage HR and payroll-related tasks from a single platform. Workday is also known for its mobile accessibility, which allows employees and managers to access HR and payroll-related information on the go.Another strength of Workday is its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which provide me with detailed insights into HR and payroll-related metrics such as employee engagement, performance, and turnover. These insights can be used to inform strategic decisions and improve overall business performance.Workday also provides strong customer support, including a dedicated customer support team and a community of Workday users who share best practices and provide support to one another.the only negative feedback with workday HCM, is its relatively high cost, particularly for small and mid-sized organizations. Additionally, some challenges with customizing certain aspects of the system to meet specific needs.Overall, Workday is a powerful and user-friendly HCM system that provides a comprehensive set of tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks. Its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, combined with strong customer support, make it a popular choice for organizations looking to streamline their HR and payroll operations.

Pros:

One of the key strengths of Workday is its user-friendly interface, which enables employees and managers to easily access and manage HR and payroll-related tasks from a single platform. Workday is also known for its mobile accessibility, which allows employees and managers to access HR and payroll-related information on the go.Another strength of Workday is its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which provide organizations with detailed insights into HR and payroll-related metrics such as employee engagement, performance, and turnover. These insights can be used to inform strategic decisions and improve overall business performance.Workday also provides strong customer support, including a dedicated customer support team and a community of Workday users who share best practices and provide support to one another.Overall, Workday is a powerful and user-friendly HCM system that provides a comprehensive set of tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks. Its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, combined with strong customer support, make it a popular choice for organizations looking to streamline their HR and payroll operations.

Cons:

One potential weakness of Workday is its relatively high cost, particularly for small and mid-sized organizations. Additionally, I have challenges with customizing some aspects of the system to meet my specific needs. While Workday offers a range of features and tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks, I have found that certain features are not customizable or flexible enough to meet my unique business requirements. Finally, Workday's complexity and depth of features may require significant training and onboarding for new users, which could result in a longer learning curve and potential productivity loss. However, once users become familiar with the system, Workday's comprehensive set of tools and advanced analytics can provide significant benefits for HR and payroll operations.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally getting away from PDFs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best part of about Workday Performance Management is the ability to get away from manual processes. Previously at our company, we had to write our self-evaluations in a PDF document that was submitted to our managers. Then the manager could choose to write something completely different or utilize what was already written by the employee. Ultimately, the manual process left out information. With Workday Performance Management, everything is included. The self-evaluation is maintained within the performance review, as is the manager's review. That way anyone can compare and contrast what the manager had to say vs. what the employee had to say about themselves. All of this can be custom created per company so that an organization can keep whatever fields work best for them. It also can maintain goals, as well as milestones throughout the course of the year so that employees aren't just touching their reviews once a year, but actually working on them throughout the entire year. Sometimes it is hard to keep up with all that I have accomplished at the end of the year, unless I have written it down in a Word doc. But now you can add things to your review as it happens and then do one final edit at the end of the year.

Cons:

The biggest con for me is the lack of stating what can be improved. This could be a customized field that my organization failed to incorporate. If that's true, then maybe the improvement could come from WorkDay itself on best practices. But every employee wants to shine a light on all the good they did throughout the course of the year. It is just as important for each employee to shine a light on the things they could do better, or improve upon for the next year. Another con for our organization was the length of time it took to implement WorkDay within our systems. It was far from an easy task that took thousands of man-hours to implement. However, now that it is implemented and people are using it, it seems to have been worth the effort.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources (HR) Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

‘A platform for employees to speak-up’

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: comparatively, ‘workday’ is an efficient, effective and affordable system for an above average organization.

Pros:

Many companies lose their talented employees due to failures by the top management to recognize the contributions made by certain employees for the growth of the organization, which goes unnoticed by the hierarchy which creates a negative opinion towards the management by those employees. HCM tool makes a positive impact as a go-between the employee and management and WORKDAY has made substantial developments with this regard. ‘Workday’ HCM has given the employees all the freedom to put on record their contributions/ achievements, goals, training requirements, etc which has almost totally brought to halt human ignorance/negligence of appraisers during evaluations and give due recognition to each employee according to the employee value to the company. ‘Workday’ has many features that help both the management and employees to know each other better and make justifiable decisions. With an advanced HCM such as ‘workday’, it is not only the HR head, but the whole top management is aware of the positives and negatives of the members of the organization which strengthens the transparency of the decision makers. With ‘workday’, the management doesn’t need to wait till the due period for performance appraisals, but identify ‘real-time’ the value of certain talents and apply sensible decisions to recognize such employees. ‘workday’ comes with an attractive UI which is a pleasing plus point. Additionally, it supports multiple devices which are useful on the go.

Cons:

so many beneficial features are incorporated in the system that it takes a fairly big effort to familiarize. As this is a HR centered software with access to each member, we find difficulties in getting the full potential due to cultural diversities by way of language barriers (non-English speakers).

Tiffany
Practice Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very User Friendly!

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Workday is very easy to maneuver through, you can self-teach yourself pretty much how to do anything in this software. The categories are self-explanatory, its easy input/output for reports, great for payroll and timecard management. I highly recommend Workday to all businesses.

Cons:

At this point in time, I cannot think of anything that I didnt care for with this product.

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Why Workday HCM is the Future of HR Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Workday HCM is a powerful HR management solution that offers a wide range of functionality and integration with other business systems. While there are some challenges associated with using the software, it is an excellent choice for businesses that require a comprehensive HR management tool.

Pros:

Workday HCM is an enterprise-level human capital management software that provides various HR services. As an admin user of the software, I found several advantages to using it. First and foremost, it offers a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate. This makes it simple to access and manage HR functions such as payroll, benefits, and performance management. Additionally, the software has strong reporting capabilities, providing access to data on everything from employee demographics to compliance data. Another major advantage of Workday HCM is its integration with other business systems, such as accounting software and time tracking applications. This integration makes it possible to streamline HR processes and reduce the need for manual data entry. The software also has a comprehensive mobile app, allowing users to manage HR functions on the go.

Cons:

However, there are also some drawbacks to using Workday HCM. One of the biggest concerns is the complexity of the system. While it offers a lot of functionality, it can be overwhelming for new users.

Shannel
Shannel
Climate Change Analyst in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Think Tanks, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday HCM, a victory in managing workforce.

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Generally the experience with Workday HCM has been so beneficial to the entire organization both the employees and to the performance of our organization. It allows us to have well managed and orchestrated workforce which leads to us getting optimum results from all our work especially matters community awareness and development.

Pros:

A valuable aspect about Workday HCM that we have really benefited from is how flexible it is as this allowed us to set it up in way that it perfectly matched with our nature of work. It allows us to get more productive results from individuals by aligning someones capabilities with the right kind of work roles. It has very reliable insights about workers which makes it easy to offer excellent work conditions which benefits both the company and the employee.

Cons:

Despite Workday HCM being such an important product for managing workforce, all this comes at a cost. Also the user interface could be improved to get more intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful, but cumbersome

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Powerful tool, but there is a huge middle ground between basic and pro users that need to understand how the platform works that have no access to training materials and little support from Workday itself. Has a lot of potential, but marred by clunky and antediluvian UX

Pros:

Reporting - almost limitless functionality in terms of getting reports on salient information. Can pull just about anything, and as long as the data is clean at point of entry, it will come out in an Excel file very readable and easy to read Linear Process Maps - particular processes are very well laid out and structured if done right the first time around Employee landing page - bright, vibrant, presentable

Cons:

Cumbersome - quite slow. Redundant graphics slow down page transitions, reports take a long time to pull if you are looking for a fairly normal size file, some processes can turn into roundabouts Navigation - back buttons for some, but not all pages, which doesn't make sense (have to go back to home page if you click through to the wrong area). No real logic to how hyperlinks work in platform, leading to rabbit holes while trying to follow a papertrail to its conclusion

Jonny
Jonny
SEO Executive in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Clunky staff software that makes work a chore

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Whilst I haven't experienced much software of this type, I can't help but feel there must be far better options than this out there. The clunky design, awful interface, frustrating processes and overall lack of thought into user experience makes WorkDay an unfortunately poor solution for workplace administration.

Pros:

There are a lot of features in Workday, if you can find them, and the detail that can be stored and accessed across multiple users is good for things like procurement and staff administration. Being browser based as well means that there is no need to install anything on individual user devices.

Cons:

There is next to no user experience. The journeys to do simple tasks are confusing and there are often seemingly multiple paths to do any task but only one that actually works. Error messages for not filling something in perfectly will often take you back to the start of the process. If you are using the procurement features, the notifications are sporadic and you will often be left to chase people in your company manually to find out what is going on. The design and interface is straight out of a warehouse inventory screen, like you'd see on an old beat up computer in the back of a massive warehouse of boxes. Not good and really uninviting to use. Having to do anything with this software feels like a huge chore.

Ryan
Ryan
(Former) Head of Comp Team in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for managing Comp workflows, but not for analytics/reporting

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

1) Ability to audit change logs: who made what change when, who was it approved by, was it later edited or rescinded, etc. 2) The ability to mass rescind changes is a lifesaver; you can filter by data input date range, specific input files, individuals / business units, etc. 3) Quick learning curve to get familiar with the interface, new comp team members can get ramped up in no time.

Cons:

1) While reporting within the tool does exist, I always found it lackluster compared to what we could build on top of it with Tableau or custom dashboard tools. 2) Doesn't do a great job of interacting with equity data, particularly vesting data. We always created custom tables in SQL and fed them into Workday for reporting purposes, didn't trust using it as the system of record for equity. 3) Difficult to make corrections to a comp change record without manually rescinding and updating subsequent comp changes (which can be VERY tedious).

Michael
Senior Manager, Operations in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Workday is the best HRIS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's been an incredibly positive experience. It's intuitive, efficient, and gets the job done quicker and more accurately.

Pros:

I was in HR for a long time and have a lot of experience with HRIS systems. Workday is far ahead of the rest and it's so simple, intuitive, and organized to help me complete tasks faster. In a previous role, I used ADP and the system is incredibly archaic. It would take me 10 minutes to find an employee's compensation, you weren't able to change an employee's manager without submitting a form to the HR Support team, etc. Workday is a gem in the HRIS world. I also love that it's an all-in-one tool that enables me to focus on the full lifecycle of the employee - from the job application through termination of employment. Leaders are also more self-sufficient due to the ease of use, which saves a tremendous amount of time.

Cons:

The only issue I have is being able to update goals throughout the year to keep track. When I do that, it goes back to my manager for approval and I'd love to avoid that.

John
Senior Recruiter in US
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Workday Recruiting will slow down your recruiting and confuse you. Not Intuitive

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've been a recruiter for 14 years and this is the second company that I have worked for that has WD Recruiting. I thought I could give it another chance, you know, maybe it would be better than a couple of years ago. Unfortunately, it is worse!

Pros:

None that I can speak of. I guess it integrates with back office systems, but don't they all. Reporting function is useless.

Cons:

Workday is over-engineered, Not intuitive, obviously designed by people who have not recruited! It is confusing for applicants. Simple things like finding an applicants email address require vast navigation. I'm not sure who the people are who rated this product in this article, maybe an outsourced WD office overseas? But, this product will slow down your recruiting team with screen after screen of clicking and unnecessary work-flow. It has it's own Mailbox and notification box that will confuse you and your team even more. Training for the fortune 500 company I work for was a 200 slide deck presentation. After the training we were all just as confused. Stick with Taleo or any other system. Don't listen to people/experts who are not recruiters who think this is a good tool. Take the advice of someone who actually recruits, has used other systems and avoid this piece of crap.

Shaun
Entrepreneur in US
Fund-Raising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday will make your day go more than okay!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Workday I am so glad it is becoming a lot more common in the industry and I love the convenience that the product provides to the consumer. It expedites the process of applying to positions on a lot of major corporations' websites.

Pros:

I love the fact that you can upload your file onto their platform and everything is already prefilled in for you with great accuracy. Yes, other sites do offer that same kind of service but I do notice when applying the file onto the form to prefill, most other sites aren't as good in entering data in the correct fields. The interface is easy to use as well and does not take a long time to load.

Cons:

The only thing that I don't like about the product is the fact that depending on the carrier using the product, your account may or may not be saved. Which is no big deal, you just create another account for each consumer's page you are visiting and wish to register on.