15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Y42

Y42's platform offers data practitioners a unified solution to build, monitor, and maintain data flows for analytics and AI.

Learn more about Y42

Pros:

Quick time to set up with preconfigured data connectors for my webstore. Easy to use reporting that was fast.

Cons:

Visualization and output works well but is still limited in terms of capabilities.

Y42 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Y42 has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 16 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (16)

Sort by

Have you used Y42 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (16)

Maximilian
Maximilian
Founder in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Impressive speed, scaling abilities and reliability

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are using y42 to handle the Data of over one hundred sources. The probability of errors and failures happening in our processes of transforming and cleaning data is relatively high and there have been many issues with other tools we used for this task before. With y42, there were no system issues or bugs that stopped our pipelines from working. This is really the game-changer for us.

Pros:

Speed: The tool is incredibly fast, since it is running on BigQuery Data and Data previews are calculated with a sample. Most previews are ready in less than 10 seconds. I was also able to build the above flow while traveling by train, using only my iPhone hotspot. Quality of Data: The Data I am getting for Facebook Ads is exactly what Facebook provides. So I can just use the Facebook documentation and also got access to a lot of information that Supermetrics e.g. does not provide. Although this information is not critical, it is quite nice. Really easy handling of JSON Objects: They even got an integrated JSON visualizer so you don’t need to copy and paste the Objects somewhere. Also there is a JSON flattening option for the Import and a really handy way of extracting and transforming Information from JSON Objects.

Cons:

Since the software is being developed so fast, there are some minor bugs from time to time. However, none of those caused the data to be off, because most of them were only happening in the user interface. This makes y42 one of the most reliable tools that I have ever used in this area.

Jonatas
Data Specialist in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product and support/dev team

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Brilliant and ongoing support from the team, who is always interested and on top of any requests. The tool itself is quick to set up, update, and refresh. Although I'm familiar with data, y42 made the process of integrating, modelling, and visualising data a lot easier and faster.

Cons:

Some integrations for our specific needs were missing - but the support team was brilliant and implemented promptly. Also, we had one or two glitches, but these never caused the data to be off as they happened in the user interface. It would be good to have more case studies and pre-built models.

Elisa
Analyst in Germany
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Almost like Plug and Play

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very happy with the solution, as an early stage company you need to be mindful where to hire and with Y42 we have a good solution to start right away with data modelling and can skipt the part where we look for an full time engineer to programm all connectors.

Pros:

Easy to set up data connectors and import various sources. As a total beginner to modelling and ETLs it was super easy to create the first joins and multiple transformations. The support is helpful and responding quickly.

Cons:

Some nodes and features still need some finetuning when it comes to namings and how to's (eg. unpivot). Really looking forward to more alerting options for data quality checks and auto exports to email or gdrive. This is so far still rather manual.

Viet
Viet
Investor & Tech Lead in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Management Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

God-sent product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It helps me a lot in gathering all financial information gathered from all portfolio companies, normalize them, and put them in one place

Pros:

They had all the integrations I needed to craft my financial reports. Furthermore, I had a visual workflow tool that could display where my data come from, get transformed, and then sent to, which helped me a lot in building pipelines and debugging.

Cons:

I wish they had more application where I can send some alerts too, especially Slack triggering was missing

Daniela
Founder & Creative Director in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Perfect to scale up my E-commerce shop

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We uncovered a lot of opportunities after using y42 that not only improved the experience for customers but also reduced costs by finding spots of inefficiency. Some of the direct results that came that increased the LTV from the reports that came from y42 were:
- Reducing costs in fulfillment and sourcing
- Product streamlining by eliminating low satisfaction low ROI products
- Adding more revenue streams with payment options, relevant products, cross sell opportunities based the reports provided by y42
I feel for many larger e-commerce companies, this maybe quite routine but as a scale up I was having a hard time finding these insights from Google Analytics and other tools I was using. Other tools seemed convoluted or limiting. y42 seemed to hit the sweet spot.

Pros:

Quick time to set up with preconfigured data connectors for my webstore. Easy to use reporting that was fast. Ongoing support from the y42 team.

Cons:

I would like to see some dashboards that come preconfigured with the software rather than me working with the team to configure them.

Patrick
Patrick
CEO in Slovakia
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Executive friendly

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I now have the ability to create custom reports within seconds - basically instantaneously by just drag and drop. I then can look at the analysis results, think about them, and do the next report which answers the questions which arise from the first report. By repeating this numerous times I get an in-depth understanding of the complex system of our business, something which would be impossible through reports which are set-up. But I also use the tool for standard KPI reporting but here other tools also work well and that is not the key value-added of the tool.

Pros:

That I can get Sales and Operational reports from my team and drill into more detail easily. I was constantly reliant on my data team for even the smallest changes creating lag time. We also have a variety of data pools from ERP’s to custom data lakes. I liked that we were able to get the data in y42 quickly.

Cons:

I need to get used to the visualization style as I was using Microsoft Power BI. But I think it is normal when switching to a new tool.

Courtney
Director of Operations in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Multiple Source Integration --> Reporting Visualizations Seamlessly

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great customer service that cares about overall goals and project success.

Pros:

Easy source integration plus plethora of visualization abilities for any business needs.

Cons:

Overall learning curve as someone who does not code, but customer service success team helped the whole way.

Yenal
COO/CFO in Germany
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

highly flexible data lake tool with great customer service

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

broad & easy integration of various data sources, data cleaning, modeling, analysis & automation. Customer Service goes above and beyond to help!

Cons:

visualization and output works well but is still limited in terms of capabilities

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Helps to generate insights on the fly without additional manpower

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: very good service and dedication by the customer team!

Pros:

Transparency across the entire data flow

Cons:

alarm system not very user friendly yet.

Alexander
CPO in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product and great support

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Being able to easily organize and stitch together multiple data sources. Also being able to automate scripts for updating data and to export data to a google sheet!

Cons:

The UI-building and querying interface is daunting at first but after being familiarized with is very easy to use!

Felix
Founder in Germany
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Easy to use BI software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I had a very pleasant experience with my customer success manager who helped me setting up my first daily revenue report. Great service on top of a very complete no-code software.

Pros:

The intuitive and powerful visual interface definitely helps me transform and model my data much faster than before. Although I’m familiar with data, I got faster in my processes because I rarely have to fix a broken table and can execute all production steps in a single tool (integration, modelling, visualization).

Cons:

Online product documentation should be extended in my opinion. Not all features have detailed help center articles you can find on Google. Customer success always helps out quickly though

Jelle
Head of Data & Analytics in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Nice all round solution

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The best feature is the interface itself. It works quite intuitive and feels seamless.

Cons:

Not much to complain, they are still developing a lot of features. Missing a few integrations for instance before we can say this is the only data transferring tool we need. I know they are working on it.

Daniel
Head of OPS & IT in Germany
Cosmetics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

y42 improved our daily reportings greatly

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, no coding knowledge needed.

Cons:

Some visualization for our specific needs were missing, but things like this can vary greatly from company to company

Jonas
COO in Germany
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent for my portfolio companies

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Helps my portfolio companies to become data-driven organizations. Enable them to have a full-fledged data set-up at a fraction of the cost hiring 4-5 data engineers.

Pros:

I have invested in many start-ups and recommended all of them to use y42. With y42, my portfolio companies are able to deliver a standardized investor reporting which helps them internally to be much more data-driven as well. Most of my portfolio companies are in the range of 20-100 employees and some of them don’t have the financial means to invest into a big data-engineering team to build out the data-infrastructure. Y42 has been a true game changer for these companies.

Cons:

The product itself has many features but documentation is still lacking in some areas. Hence, my portfolio companies rely heavily on the customer success team of y42 if they get stuck

Marc
Marc
Marketing Data Analyst in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sandbox Tool für Daten Nerds

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Wir haben zahlreiche leistungsstarke Dashboards für alle Bereiche unseres Unternehmens erstellt und konnten die Transparenz und die allgemeine Verfügbarkeit von Informationen von unserem CEO bis hin zu den Praktikanten verbessern.
Darüber hinaus haben wir mit Y42 ein Attributionsmodell entwickelt, das wir zum Aufbau einer Customer Prediction Platform nutzen, um intelligenter zu investieren, unseren ROI zu steigern und unseren Kunden die bestmögliche Erfahrung zu bieten.
Wir sind mehr als zufrieden.

Pros:

Y42 funktioniert für uns, weil es uns alle Möglichkeiten bietet, unsere Daten genau so zu modellieren, wie wir es wollen. Es beseitigt die Hürde, alle Datenpipelines zu erstellen, stattdessen kann man direkt mit der Erstellung von Modellen beginnen, die echte geschäftliche Auswirkungen haben. Und das Tolle daran ist, dass der Fantasie keine Grenzen gesetzt sind, auch nicht für Teammitglieder, die nicht so viel Erfahrung mit SQL oder anderen Datenprogrammiersprachen haben.

Cons:

Das Einzige, was ich mir noch wünschen würde, ist die Möglichkeit, Abfragen, die man in BigQuery eingibt, direkt in Y42 einzugeben. Denn im Moment gibt es ein paar Funktionalitäten, die BigQuery bietet, die in Y42 nicht vorhanden sind. Ansonsten habe ich bisher nichts gefunden, was mich davon abhalten würde, es zu benutzen oder zu empfehlen.

Arne
Business Analyst in Germany
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Super einfach bei der Implementierung und ideal bei der täglichen Nutzung!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ich löse damit alle Datenprobleme, außer die finale Visualisierung und das täglich und mit großer Effektivität.

Pros:

Ich nutze y42 täglich und bin absolut davon überzeugt, dass es aktuell nichts besseres gibt. Von der Integration, über die Modellierung und Orchestrierung bis hin zur Bereitstellung für ein BI Tool funktioniert alles absolut reibungslos. Dazu noch als komplette No-Code Lösung ideal, um nicht von teuren Data Engineers abhängig zu sein.

Cons:

Der Visualisierungsteil ist nicht ausgereift genug, um ihn täglich zu nutzen. Da gibt es bisher besseres am Markt.