15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Substly

Save time and money by managing all your SaaS, Users & Costs in one place.

Learn more about Substly

Pros:

The fresh and easy interface. The always updated graphs.

Cons:

The way we have been using it I really don’t have anything to complain about. Solid experience throughout.

Substly ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.7/10

Substly has an overall rating of 5 out 5 stars based on 25 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Substly before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (25)

Emanuel
Emanuel
Founder & CTO in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Getting the overview we didn't know we lacked but don’t want to be without

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With Substly we've got a better process in place for managing our software licenses. The overview has helped us make better decisions and save money. The offboarding feature has made offboarding employees much easier than before.

Pros:

The overview we are getting.The offboarding feature is great.The simplicity of the system and the ease of use has been key to us to get started and continuing using the software.

Cons:

Not much I dislike.The usage surveys are a good idea but I feel our company is still a bit too small to get any major benefits from using them.The integrations I have used so far have been helpful to us but I would love to see more integrations.

Henrik
IT / Support in Sweden
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

License management made easy, for real!

5.0 last year

Comments: I had fantasised about a tool that would make it easy to manage a multitude of software licenses and other subscription services. And when I saw Substly, they had literally taken my wish list and made a product of it. The easiest buy I've ever done.

Pros:

The fact that they focus on managing recurring license cost in a super easy and understandable way sealed the deal.

Cons:

It's not really Substly's fault but every service has their quirks, and it's just sad that such a tool have a hard time integrating into other services systems. That said, Substly have a lot of super useful automations in this regard.

Jonatan
CEO in Sweden
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy way to get an overview of all our SaaS tools

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Fast to get started and gave me the overview I needed. I especially like the shadow IT detection, as it's hard for me to follow-up on all usage, even though we are a small company. We use Google Workspace and that made the integration and implemetation easy. The product is pretty self-explanatory, but I had some questions and the customer support was great! I use this service on a monthly basis.

Pros:

I'm getting the overview of our SaaS license cost and usage that I need with very little effort.

Cons:

I would have liked to be able to track desktop usage as well, but it's not a deal-breaker as most of tools are SaaS.

Substly Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your business and kind words, Jonatan! We're happy to hear that you find our product easy to grasp and use, as we have put a lot of energy and resources into it.

Vlad
Program Manager in Australia
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Get alerted on your subscription expiry

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Professional team, well-packed product, quick support response.

Pros:

Well-structured and designed UI, helpful support.

Cons:

Lack of integrations with external systems, Zapier or similar is a must have nowadays. Pricing structure and subscription cost.

Rory
Advisor in Sweden
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Get control over costs and risks

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Super helpful team! Easy to get started and very responsive with any questions.

Pros:

Simple to set up and get some quick wins. Reduce risks with employees leaving as we know what accounts need to be closed.

Cons:

It's not 100% automatic, it does take a few hours work to get set up if you haven't got a good spreadsheet already. But really it's not so painful.

Substly Response

2 months ago

Thanks for your review, Rory! We're glad to hear that you like our product. Many aspects of the onboarding have been automated since you started using Substly. Nowadays, it takes about 30 min to get started.

Krister
CIO in Sweden
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Quickest way to get your CFO in love with a licensing system

5.0 last year

Comments: We went from a super advanced Excel document with about 10 tabs. Pivot tables, imports from finance to supply users. Endlessly scrolling and making filters for tens of thousands of lines. From that to Substly just showing what we want.

Pros:

The fresh and easy interface. The always updated graphs. How quick we got started.

Cons:

Lack of SCIM, but it's on the roadmap and we look forward to it as integration to our directory will complete the journey.

Jens
CIO in Sweden
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, yet powerful

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: It was easier getting started with Substly than we thought and the team at Substly has responded quickly to our questions. We discovered more SaaS apps being used than we thought we’d do.The off-boarding feature wasn’t something we had thought about beforehand but that has been really helpful as well.

Pros:

It has given us a more structured way to work with saas management. It now feels like we are more in control. The overview makes it easy for me to keep our [sensitive content hidden] happy (informing him about how much we are spending in each department has never been easier). I really like that I don’t have to chase down our department heads when it is time to do our IT budget anymore. Off-boarding employees is much easier than before

Cons:

Overall, it’s been a great experience so far. The renewal alert function is good but I would like to be able to receive the alerts in other ways than email. Adding custom fields would be helpful for us when we set up the GDPR module. I also feel that the system lacks some integrations for enterprise businesses, like ServiceNow.

Filip
CTO in Sweden
Human Resources (HR) Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes my life as CTO a bit easier

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Been a user for a few years now. As the CTO I’m responsible of managing all our apps and licenses. Using Substly has made that a lot easier for me since it lets me involve other billing owners without having to manually follow up on them.

Pros:

I really like that it allows me to have the rest of the team working with me to keep an updated overview of all our subscriptions and user licenses.

Cons:

Earlier I lacked som automation but with the updated integration to Google Workspace that was launched recently there is nothing I mislike.

Richard
Sales Manager in Sweden
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best way to spend money, to save money!

5.0 last year

Comments: Using Substly has given us a better understanding of how we use our SaaS-apps and improved our ability to manage software licenses, resulting in better decision-making and cost savings. Substly's overview feature has been particularly helpful in this regard. Additionally, the offboarding feature has streamlined the process of removing software access for departing employees.

Pros:

The short learning curve, the intuitivity of the UI and being able to share the same information with other stakeholders in our company.

Cons:

Lack of usage information from our AD in Substly. According to the team it is on the product roadmap and I look forward to trying it out once implemented.

Jonas
CEO in Sweden
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Substly is easy to use and you get a great overview of our SaaS cost and helping us to save money.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: The way we are getting the understanding on how much we actually are spending used to a hard work. The overview we now getting from using Substly has been really helpful and has helped us to save lots of money.

Pros:

Easy to get started and helped us to save money on unused SaaSthat we didn't know we still hade.

Cons:

Integrations to more accounting software.

Martin
CEO in Sweden
Oil & Energy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to get complete control of SAAS-licences and costs!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Amazing tool!

Pros:

The ease of use and to get started. The low costThe great overview of the company's software licences

Cons:

I can not think about anything I do not like right now.

Niklas
CEO in Sweden
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Substly review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Higher security within our team and can manage all the accesses to our different service providers.

Pros:

Helped our company to manage all of our subscriptions, save money on subscriptions that we stopped using and keeped track of which of our employees that had access to specific services.

Cons:

Overall I don't have much to complain about, I think Substly have nailed it and are geeting better day by day. Highley recommend Substly to manage all your companies subscriptions.

Jack
CEO Office in UK
Textiles, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Only Solution to Manage All your SaaS Spend!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software has been life-changing for me and my company. It allows us to stay in control of all our SaaS spend and track who is using what and at what price. Such a life-saver!

Cons:

There is nothing that has not lived up to our expectations so we cannot complain about anything!

Manolo
Business Coach in Sweden
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

How did I ever live without it?

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Visibility of the spending has provided fundamental to us.

Pros:

Really easy to use and understand. The value is clear since the first minute. Thanks to the visibility of the data, we have been able to save a lot of money!

Cons:

Tax integration would be super useful and I know they are working on it.

Tobias
Owner in Sweden
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Keeping track of all subscriptions just got (much) easier

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: We have a ton of Saas tools. Before using Substly they were scattered around. Now everything is in one place which has made it much easier for us, especially when we are off-boarding someone.

Pros:

Substly has made the offboarding of employees and consultants much easier for us.

Cons:

Didn’t know what to expect from such a product but so far there isn’t much to complain about.

Magnus
Marketing in Portugal
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Better control of our SAAS spending

5.0 last year

Comments: we have got a better overview of our costs and we feel more at ease after we have gathered everything in one place to cooperate more easy within the organisation.

Pros:

Overview - gather everything in one place have improved the visibility of all our subscriptions, quick implementation, improved cost control, User friendly,

Cons:

so far it has been an overall positive experience

Mårten
CEO in Sweden
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Seamless and easy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Substly take away my headache of not knowing how much we pay for the subscriptions we're using in my startup.

Pros:

Really easy to get started with seamless onboarding! Helpful support as well!

Cons:

Can't say something particular, everything is good.

Ben
Ben
Developer in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

No brainer

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great, time saving and easy to use

Pros:

Getting automatic updates with better prices is feature for us. It helps us focus our time on other stuff thats more important.

Cons:

Right now what Substly offer is perfect for us

Linus
Linus
Business Developer in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Awesome SaaS management and user survey tool

5.0 last year

Comments: I think it is a greay product, with Substly you can get an overview of both spending and user satisfaction of the SaaS we buy.

Pros:

I really like the graphical user interface and the user survey function!

Cons:

There is some manual administration, but I guess it is necccessary depending on how our company is actually buying the SaaS.

Fatlum
Fatlum
IT/Support in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Get an overview of all services

5.0 last year

Pros:

That it is easy to get an overview of all services 😎

Cons:

First time use can feel a little overwhelming, but eases out when everything is set

Kristoffer
Software Developer in Sweden
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

World recomend

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The fact that I can now group all my subscriptions, and manage them in an easy way

Cons:

Have nothing to comment here

Per
CEO in Sweden
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great value for money :-)

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Great value for money! The dashboard gives you an overall control. You do not miss any contract renewal or termination

Cons:

We are very pleased with Substly and need to work longer with the product.

Niklas
UX Designer in Sweden
Program Development, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great overview

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Clear and easy to use interface that let us identify unnecessary costs. Great to have everything in one place that otherwise gets forgotten about.

Cons:

The way we have been using it I really don’t have anything to complain about. Solid experience throughout.

Daniel
Business Development & Founder in Sweden
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A simple and smart system that gives us a great overview of our license costs

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Easy to get a clear overview of all the services and licenses we buy, as well as their costs.Feels good that we have a better routine for managing licenses for the consultants who contribute for a shorter period of time.Great onboarding experience and attentive support.

Pros:

Easy to use and easy to get a clear overview.

Cons:

Would like to be able to receive more notifications from the system!

Jens
Jens
Developer in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great insight!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

To see what we, as a small start up company, spend our money on is invaluable

Cons:

Would like a prizing plan for a small team with a lot of subscriptions, as a small team with a lot of different services there isn't really a super fitting prize plan for us.