15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Microsoft Project Reviews

4.4 (1,884) Write a Review!

About Microsoft Project

Microsoft Project is a simple, yet powerful tool to manage work from quick projects to more complex initiatives.

Learn more about Microsoft Project

Pros:

As a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it’s hard to integrate with externals apps.

Cons:

Simple error in typing the dates or days of activities can lead to complications if not caught immediately.

Microsoft Project ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Microsoft Project has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 1,884 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Project before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,884)

Syamir
Syamir
Administrative Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Planning and executing project easily

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, i am still satisfied in using this software to managing and managing our collaborative project and it really helpful for us to tracking and finish our project in the allocated time. It has increase our effectiveness in planning and executing a project.

Pros:

Microsoft Project is really good in planning and executing my project that my team and my colleague collaborate. It let us to distributing task among us and be clear which member are responsible for the task and avoid confusing while executing the project. The Gantt chart really helpful in planning the project time of completion.

Cons:

You will need quite a considerable time of training to properly get expert and get comfortable in using this project management software to the maximum usage. Some of the feature or tools is quite hard to be understand the usage and the manual is not explaining the tools in details.

Norzihan
Norzihan
Recruiter in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Saves time in planning and collaborating project

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: This software has help me and my colleague to create shortcuts to planning, creating and deploying project.
The task can be marked with time frame and the system will send notification if the task is still not completed before the due date.

Pros:

I really like template that are provided by Microsoft Project, it is highly customized to my project objective and my liking. The feature that i use the most can be pinned on the dashboard interface and keep it organized. Most of the user are using it, and there are no issue to shares the project file to my other colleague and they can open it without any compatibility problem.

Cons:

Microsoft Project is quite pricey as we can't subscribe only the Microsoft Project itself, we have to buy all the software on the Microsoft suite to use it. If only they can let user to separately subscribing it, more user can will use it. Other thing that i dislike is, no video tutorial provided to teach user how to use the feature in the software.

prasad
associate manager in India
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easiest project management tool

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

One of the best project management tool i have ever used, its very easy to leaarn and doesnt requires much time to learn when you are a new bee. I like two main features like Gantt chart and WBS, this makes project planning effective.

Cons:

At times sync betwween central server is slow and it takes time to reflect on other systems. One more thing , it misses the compare feature , for example i want to migrate my existing project maually to a new system. Then i will perform a export function and save a .mpp file. When this file is imported to new system , i would expect two windows of the project, to compare and cross check that import has been performed correctly.

Claude Real
Business analyst and graphic designer in Canada
Graphic Design Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Project Management tool but very expensive!!!

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Good project management tool and user friendly, but it has too much automation which cause false values, especially in tasks management. Also, it is a very expensive and licensed limited software, therefore, unless your company is a multinational corporation, I don't recommend it since there are a lot of less expensive project management tool on the market that have the exact same features.

Pros:

Microsoft Project fully integrates with all Microsoft 365 tools and it is super user friendly to use.

Cons:

Not good if your clients need to collaborate on the tasks progress because it requires your clients to have an MS Project license which most don't have. Also, MS Project auto-calculate realisation time by the amount of days you set for a task which doesn't reflect the real time in hours for the task. Finally, it is an insanely expensive tool, there are far more less expensive project management tools that have the same exact features.

Navin Kumar
Navin Kumar
Marketer in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review for Microsoft Project

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: As a user of Microsoft Project, I have found the software to be a robust and comprehensive project management tool. Its features for planning, scheduling, and tracking have been instrumental in keeping my projects organized and on track. One of the key advantages of Microsoft Project is its integration with other Microsoft tools such as Excel and SharePoint. This has allowed for seamless collaboration and easy data exchange among team members. The ability to import and export data between different Microsoft applications has been particularly helpful in streamlining workflows and ensuring consistency across project documents.

Pros:

1. Comprehensive project management tool with features for planning, scheduling, and tracking. 2. Integration with other Microsoft tools like Excel and SharePoint for seamless collaboration and data exchange. 3. Robust reporting and data visualization capabilities to track project progress and communicate updates. 4. Scalable for projects of various sizes, from small tasks to large-scale initiatives. 5. Extensive customization options to tailor the tool to specific project requirements.

Cons:

1. Steep learning curve for beginners due to the complexity of the tool's features and interface. 2. Expensive licensing costs, especially for smaller teams or individual users. 3. Limited cloud-based capabilities compared to other project management solutions. 4. Compatibility issues with non-Microsoft software and challenges in data exchange with external stakeholders. 5. Requires regular updates and maintenance to ensure optimal performance.

Andrés J
Andrés J
Director in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good alternative, but a bit pricey

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As an experienced user, I've never had any major issue. The bottom line is that it works, and it does its job. I just wish they will upgrade the experience, in regards to interface design.

Pros:

For many years, it was the de facto software for project management and if you were in the field, you had to use it. So many older users like me, use it mostly because of this reason. Besides that, it's well designed and a solid alternative. For experienced users, is one of the best tools in the market. And in this case, it's quite easy to start a new project.

Cons:

It looks like Microsoft Project got stuck in time. Newer alternatives are easier to use, and the design is prettier. Microsoft Project like other Office apps, are just to boxed into the Office style apps. In other words, it lacks innovations and doesn't help the users' creativity.

Antony
Antony
Planning Engg in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy and Comfortable Planning Software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Project Planning , Cost Calculation, Cost Control , Optimizing resources to optimize project output ,

Pros:

Task Adding Feature of ms Project is very Easy and We can Easily Edit order Without Any Problem, simple planning and scheduling

Cons:

Cost Of resources Added Feature is Less also there must be option for creating Some regulate chart like planned progress vs Actual progress , Sn Curve Etc

Vivian
HR Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PPM Tool with Resource Application & Planning Capabilities

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Project portfolio management and resource planning and allocation.

Pros:

Microsoft Project automates project planning, tracking and management procedures which saves time.

Cons:

Kudos to Microsoft technical team for ensuring zero errors on Ms Project.

Giacomo
Trainer in UK
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Advantages & disadvantages of Microsoft Project

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

First of all, It has a large storage of documents and datas in order to be updated on the development of your activities. Furthermore, It has many feature to be applied and preferences to adjust.

Cons:

I personally think the price is a bit out of hand for people who start their own project and beginners might face adversities due to the high quality of tools. Additionally, you have to keep up with the developments in order preserve good outcomes

Darren
Recovery coach in US
Mental Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My review on Microsoft Project

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Was actionable in managing A variety of projects by my team.

Cons:

My team had difficulty retaining info on analyzing workloads.

Joshua
Process Optimization Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Printing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.

Pros:

The greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.

Cons:

Project is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.

Ahmed
Planning and project control engineer in Jordan
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The ideal solution for project management and calculating completion rates

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Microsoft Project Help in the proper planning of projects, as after adopting the plan, you will be able to use Microsoft Project to follow it in a correct way, as it will work permanently when updates are made by giving you a comparison between the actual and planned implementation, and through it you will be able to find activities that are not being implemented according to the plan , so that you keep it under surveillance permanently, which increases the chances of the success of your projects and finish them on time.

Pros:

It is one of the best programs for project management, and to complete the scheduling and planning processes in the correct contractual ways, which allows the preparation of an integrated work program that includes all activities within the scope of the project. The integration of Microsoft Project with other Microsoft programs, especially Excel, facilitates the processes of entering activities directly from Excel tables, which facilitates the process of building work programs. Linking activities to each other according to priorities is very easy, and also allocating resources. Microsoft Project enables you to find the critical path of the program, and also filters that can be customized as needed, among the distinctive things that benefit from Microsoft Project. The update processes are easy, and also the calculations of completion rates for the activities and for the project in general are very simple, and you can also filter the delayed activities and know the exact amount of delay by using Microsoft Project.

Cons:

There is nothing worth mentioning, I have used Microsoft Project daily for many years, and I did not find any technical problems in it, and all the results that I get by using it, are considered accurate and reflect the reality of the work in the project.

Anurup
Senior Engineer Cost Control in Jordan
Construction Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

best tool for design work schedules, monitor project % completion, and maintain control.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Microsoft Project helped us develop and approve a base schedule, and link it to later versions to compare the actual and expected progress of all project work, and it protects the team, especially when preparing claims and calculating delays.

Pros:

Microsoft Project has the capabilities to create an integrated project schedule so we can track project expenses, manage human resources, calculate delays, and manage time claims. The development of Microsoft Project and the addition of cloud storage capabilities set it apart from similar applications, simplified the process of sharing updates and engaging additional members to collaborate on setting and tracking schedules. I like the fact how powerful the calculations that Microsoft Project does, especially with regard to Total Float and Free Float, which are great tools to help understand the behavior of different activities, as well as calculations of actual progress against planned progress and other tools that always help in decision-making the appropriate. Because it is integrated with MS Excel, it saves a lot of time and enables us to export and import data easily. I enjoy how easy it is to present resources, costs, and activities, and how the most recent dates appear automatically.

Cons:

With proper training and practice, I believe users will be able to easily develop and update software and extract achievement percentages. It's worth noting, that sometimes when you make updates in Microsoft Project with tampering with base table activities, it can be difficult to notice these changes due to the limited capabilities that Microsoft Project provides. To unravel that process, which produces biased analyzes. Microsoft Project reports are, in my opinion, too simplistic and require more improvements to be added.

Mohammad
Marketing Manager in Bangladesh
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Project Management Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, my experience with Microsoft Project has been positive. As a project manager, it offers a comprehensive set of features that have helped me manage complex projects effectively. However, the steep learning curve and high cost may not make it a suitable option for all users. Additionally, for my programming needs, I am happy using Pycharm as my Integrated Development Environment (IDE) as it offers a range of features and customization options that meet my requirements.

Pros:

Comprehensive project management features: Microsoft Project offers a wide range of project management features, including task scheduling, resource allocation, budget tracking, and more. This makes it a powerful tool for managing complex projects.Integration with other Microsoft tools: Microsoft Project seamlessly integrates with other Microsoft tools, such as Excel, SharePoint, and Teams. This makes it easy to import and export data, collaborate with others, and share project information.Customizable templates: Microsoft Project offers a variety of customizable templates for different types of projects. This can save time and effort in setting up a new project, as you can start with a template that already includes the necessary tasks and timelines.Visual representation of data: Microsoft Project offers various visual representation options, including Gantt charts, timelines, and task lists. This makes it easy to see the progress of a project and identify any potential issues.

Cons:

Steep learning curve: Microsoft Project can be complex and overwhelming for users who are not familiar with project management tools. It may take some time to learn how to use all the features effectively.Expensive: Microsoft Project is a premium tool and can be expensive for small businesses or individual users. The cost may not be justified if you only need basic project management features.Limited collaboration features: While Microsoft Project offers some collaboration features, such as sharing project information and assigning tasks to team members, it may not be as effective as other collaboration tools like Asana or Trello.

Neelakshi
Neelakshi
Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Microsoft Project

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: As an IT company, our experience with Microsoft Project has been positive. It offers comprehensive project management tools, integrates well with the Microsoft ecosystem, and has been particularly valuable for managing complex projects. The Gantt chart visualization, customization options, and scalability have all contributed to our project success.

Pros:

Comprehensive project management features Effective task management and Gantt chart visualization Resource allocation and management Seamless integration with the Microsoft ecosystem Robust reporting and analysis capabilities Collaboration features in Project Online and Project for the Web Customization options for tailored project management Scalability for small to large projects Cloud-based solutions for remote work Mobile accessibility for on-the-go project management.

Cons:

Steep learning curve, especially for beginners. Costly, especially for the more feature-rich versions. Overwhelming for simple projects. High system requirements. Compatibility issues when sharing files with non-Microsoft users. Limited native Mac support. Less support for Agile methodologies without customization. Some collaboration features are restricted to higher-tier editions. Expensive upgrades to access advanced features. Limited portfolio management capabilities compared to dedicated tools.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best project management app so far

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Being an experienced user, I have gotten hold of all technicalities involved in its operation and this app has always been highly resourceful in all my project management tasks. It has further helped my team in seamless planning and deployment of projects.

Pros:

Managing a project is centered on service delivery as at when due and this software allows to keep track of all projects and schedules of all tasks. The Microsoft project is a very easy to use application even for beginners and its capacity for collaboration is seamless especially when working and viewing projects with other teams.

Cons:

Time allocation to projects while working with multiple teams is a setback to the app. Some of the features are sophisticated but also requires a high level of technicality to operate them, it should also be noted that the Microsoft Project doesn't perfectly integrate with other project management apps. This should be attended to by the developers.

Thuffail
Thuffail
Engineer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Basic Project Management Software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used Microsoft Project for small to medium level projects . The different tools were used for the proper planning of projects. Also the ongoing projects progress was monitored and assessed by the software. About 3-4 weeks were taken to familiarize with the software.

Pros:

It is a software used worldwide by middle level and top level managers. It can be easily integrated with other Microsoft products and applications. This software can be used with or without internet. It has developed and improved its features over the years . The software has many tools for the effective management of projects. The tasks related for the projects can be tracked with responsible persons. The resource and budget allocation for each task can also be depicted. The progress of projects can be monitored when necessary. The responsible departments for tasks can be given access to the project, so that they can update the progress and changes related to their tasks. This can also be accessed from any place and it can be viewed and edited through the mobile application. It also supports the uploading or linking of documents needed for the project. Also it provides the ability of generating basic reports to be presented to the top level management.

Cons:

This will not be compatible in complex projects. Its integration and collaboration is limited to Microsoft 365 based applications. It is not focused on a particular industry and its features may not be compatible with some industry based projects. The communication is limited as it does not support any third party communication tools. The project files can not be opened without the availability of the software. The mobile application is hard to be used in editing.

Dario
Dario
CTO in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is the reference for Project Planning but you might find better options

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used this product at a large bank and they used this to keep track of every.single.thing. developers did, so it was really time consuming updating everything on a daily basis. PMs had a nightmare maintaining everybody's schedule and making little changes to the plans so they would adjust to minor variations and unexpected stuff. The bank had build an automation engine for Project so every file was crunched by it and used to calculate everything from bugdet updates to productity bonuses. It was really a grim time when some tool told you the bonus wouldn't be available to you in the current quarter.

Pros:

Microsoft Project is the 200-pound gorilla that most enterprises use, mainly because their companies already have all the Office bundle and this software might come included. Make no mistake, this is a compelling and thorough piece of software, but sometimes it's a little overkill for simple, quick tasks (like sketching a project while it's being pitched) and it really focus on being a good-for-everyone without much emphasis on usability or friendliness. Other newer options have emerged in the last years, so there's a big possibility that you could find exactly the software for your needs on a cheaper, even free option. On the plus side, MS Project supports really giant plans, as well as collaborative efforts and automation. The fact that it can be automated through code written in C# might be its more appealing feature for enterprises and large companies.

Cons:

Like most MS software lately, this can be a memory and CPU hog. It really has tons of features so finding the right tool can be time-consuming. The usability could be much better, especially for my use case which is quick prototyping of projects in order to create budgets and proposals.

Gio
Technical Trainer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to access project tool.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I use Microsoft's Project to track the individual items that I need to manage for a major project. The best parts of MS Project are that it evolved into the easiest to use Gant chart generator out there. My personal business calls for me to track several programs at one time and as an Instructional Designer/Architect, I tend to "chunk" projects into smaller, easier to accomplish bites. The Project lets me do that and helps me track my progress in completing the chunks of the larger project that I have to complete. I like that the interface allows me to enter the data about the project into what looks like a spreadsheet. The software then generates a Gant chart and helps me track where I might have finished ahead of schedule or where I might slip if I don't pay attention. My main gripes about MS Project involve a lack of flexibility. I can't easily rename column headings because they're locked into Microsoft's view of what a project should look like. This is only a minor annoyance. That said, at times I often expect MS Project to behave more like MS Excel where I can manipulate and edit cells with ease, which you can't because the columns are locked to function only one way. Finally, I would like to have row separators that let me know where one project ends and another begins. I do this because I'd like to have a tool that lets me view all my projects in one place. Changing dates is also an annoyance because the date fields always default to the point in time in which you started the project and so if you expect the date fields to default to "today's date", you might have to make adjustments. It would be nice if the date defaulted as expected (today's date). Tips:
1. You can roughly rename the titles of cells, but the contents will always function according to the locked nature of the cells.
2. If like me, you want to track multiple projects in one MS Project file, simply color code the different projects with the cell highlight function.

Pros:

1. Ease of use 2. Fast data entry 3. Visible Gant chart

Cons:

1. Columns are locked to function only one way 2. Date fields don't default to today's date 3. No means to separate one project from another

Merve
BUSINESS ANALYST in Türkiye
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Navigating Project Excellence

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: My journey with Microsoft Project has been a mixed bag of triumphs and challenges. The software undoubtedly shines in terms of its user-friendly interface, robust planning tools, and resource management capabilities. It has significantly improved the precision and efficiency of my project management endeavors. Microsoft Project has the potential to become an even more integral part of any project manager's toolkit.

Pros:

Microsoft Project boasts a user-friendly interface that simplifies complex project management tasks. The software's layout and navigation are designed to facilitate a seamless workflow, ensuring that both beginners and experienced project managers can quickly grasp its functionalities.

Cons:

Microsoft Project's licensing costs can be quite significant, especially for smaller businesses or individual project managers. While the software does offer a comprehensive set of tools, its price point might be prohibitive for those operating on a tighter budget.

Lance
Freelancer in Canada
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project is a Manager's Life-support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've used Microsoft Project on more than a hundred projects over the years - from 5 to 7 figure budgets. This tool will reward the small time investment you supply with a level of control and tracking that will keep your projects running, accountable and 'on time'. Your customer (internal or external) will be impressed with the time, budget and resource management that you can achieve with this tool. It may take a few videos to bring you up to speed on the features you want, but it is well worth the time!

Pros:

Microsoft Project has basic functionality that is straightforward for setting up projects and managing progress on your project. It has an interface that is a "what you see is what you get" with visual representations of your project timeline, dependencies and progress to-date. It is powerful and can be expanded to handle the biggest and most complex projects, or provide easy over-views for smaller projects.

Cons:

Like any software, it has its eccentricities. One of the challenges is that the functionality is so deep that you can get lost with features that you do not need for the level of project you are undertaking. The software is more expensive, but you get what you pay for and the functionality and level of control you can achieve is worth the investment.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Relations, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PPM is a powerful tool for program management

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

As a Program Manager I used MS Project and Portfolio Management full suite of product quite extensively. I managed multiple projects ranging from small to large projects. Our network spanned across multiple groups domestic and global. Our initial project only used MS Project in the early stages until the full suite of PPM was available. Projects were easier manage and it helped us stayed within budget. The tools were not as easy as I anticipated to integrate, however with the right planning I’m sure it can be integrated fine. It’s important that the program team is knowledgeable about all the capabilities so it can be used in their projects. We used the entire portfolio in all our programs.

Cons:

Setting up the entire system is not as easy as I had hoped. It took several iterations in order to get the right process in place and to make sure the program team are properly trained to utilize all the features that are available with all the tools. All tools must be integrated correctly. It’s best to plan and take your time setting it up right.

Laila
Civil engineer in France
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project Online is a great tool for project planning

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Microsoft Project is very good for making projects' plans.I enjoy using MS Project in my work and it fulfills your requirements and it is a great tool for organizing the project tasks.
I feel that it's an important tool for every engineer as it saves time and give a clear idea about the project progress.

Pros:

With this great software, you can create milestones, WBS, time schedule and many other project management tools. MS Project can give you a clear view of your tasks and the way you are going to do it right, so that you are properly able to compare planning vs actual performance and make tracking. With MS Project you will feel easy tracking your tasks and take the required corrective action when needed.

Cons:

I have used Microsoft Project for many years and had no problems, but it would be good to watch some tutorials before using it.

Quratulain
Project Head in Pakistan
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Organise projects, manage portfolios and projects

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: If you need Planning Software that gives you visibility into real world timelines, then you cannot go wrong with MS Project. It plans for you as you add in resources, deadlines, holidays, etc. The more information you provide, the better it will be.

Pros:

This is my go to tool for project management. I love how easy it is to plan projects within it. I can interconnect other projects so they will update accordingly and do combined reporting. Project scheduling is the best in the industry. The reports are still a little clunky however, they give the information you need for senior management and/or decision making. I can add some of my own programming to it to get desired visuals etc.

Cons:

Its not easy to integrate this into sharepoint or to make the software email other team members on tasks due on them. I know its there but i havent done this as yet. The KB and/or training is not easily available. I also wish there was an easy way to do cost management within the project(s)

Craig
Craig
Director Of Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Track your progress with MS Project

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We use MS Project for progress tracking and scheduling. MS Project allows you to set timelines, track schedules and view/add items that need to be completed before you can move on to the next phase of your project. As things slip, you can adjust your project schedule to accommodate for those changes. Without MS Project, our company wouldn't be able to function without knowing where each project is at and we wouldn't be able to make the informed adjustment decisions as a project schedule slips or speeds up. Also, the ability for us to create project templates helps us get a project off the ground and we can adjust as needed. There is also functionality of a MS Project server and if you are doing multiple projects/schedules and concurrent accessibility and change management is needed, that might be your way to go with this application.

Cons:

There are an abundance of features and options that are not at first intuitive, so having some dedicated MS Project Training is a must. There are some things that MS Project is lacking and from what I have seen the only other option out there to complete some of these lacking tasks is Primavera. When evaluating software, best to compare them both before making your decision.