Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.3 /5

About MYOB Essentials

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing 25 reviews of 81

Joe B.
DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2020

"Manual System Converted into Digital"

Comments: MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros: - Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons: - Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2020
Lee P.
Chief Financial Officer
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2017

"The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information."

Comments: For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros: Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons: Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2017
Matthew K.
Director
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2020

"Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!"

Comments: Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros: Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons: Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2020
Chris F.
Tech/manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2017

"This is great accounting Software thank you"

Comments: I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros: And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons: The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2017
Kate L.
Accounts Administrator
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"Accounting software to begin with"

Comments: Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros: Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons: The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Liam G.
Electrician
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018

"I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree"

Pros: I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons: What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018
Jason P.
Director
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019

"Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting"

Comments: A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

Pros: It didn't fail on install... that's about it!

Cons: I paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete. Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again. And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Mark R.
director
Maritime, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2020

"Absolutely disgraceful back up service."

Comments: A very unprofessional company. I have been using MYOB for over 5 years and have found the service disgraceful. The service is the worst of any company I have ever used. They take forever to answer a phone call and quite often after waiting u to an hour for hepl, the phone is disconnectred. I need to call them agaion and try for help.
I did not leave hoping for MYOB to improve its service. Also the work to find an alternative. Just now i spent 3/4 hour and they hung up after the wait.

Pros: Nothing. Very bad service. No service. The software was very hard to use. I accepted and learned more. No ease of use.

Cons: The complete usability and back up service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2020
Andrew K.
Financial Planner
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2019

"Cloud based computing"

Pros: Could based software makes it easy to log into from any computer and phone to make changes or reconcile transactions. Really like MYOB Essentials

Cons: Moved from a once off payment for the desktop version to a monthly subscription based system which costs a lot more to maintain.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2019
Martine H.
Principal
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2016

"MYOB Accounting and Payroll Software"

Comments: Bookwiz Bookkeeping has been operating since 2000 and over the years we have used many accounting software products. MYOB is hands down the best Accounting & Payroll Software solution for our clients and we highly recommend it. We now have nearly all of our clients online and with features like Bank Feeds and Pay Super we have been able to really streamline the bookkeeping and payroll process for our clients which they love as it saves them money. We also love that MYOB caters for the very small business operators out there by have a very affordable and easy to use solution for them which is MYOB Essentials.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2016
Janet G.
Owner
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/01/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/01/2017
Zoe W.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019

"Could be more functional"

Comments: Overall is an asset

Pros: Does the job and can track incoming and outgoing accounts

Cons: Multiple windows and lack of auto-fill function for repetitive entries.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019
Les W.
CEO and Lead Consultant
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2018

"A good accounting program for small business"

Comments: running a small business is easier with this program.

Pros: Very traditional, easy to use accounting package that is easy for non-accountants to use.

Cons: It costs a lot, considering its simplicity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2018
Les V.
Director
Chemicals, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2020

"Unmotivated by others"

Pros: Great templates, works well and the logic seems functional.

Cons: It no longer supports submission to the ATO and is no longer used by the ATO for reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2020
Nigel B.
Program Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018

"Beginners and advances users both like MYOB"

Pros: Simple to generate a quote or invoice. Creating customers while creating quotes or invoices is good to keep you moving easily. Good integration features, such as cards.

Cons: When theres an error, sometimes its not clear what the source of the problem is. This can be frustrating and better error message text would be on the advice to developers list.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018
Katrina R.
Senior Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2018

"Solid product for small business"

Comments: Has been around for a long time. Tried and tested and is a great product. Starting to price a little higher but still competitive - especially if you have employees.

Pros: Easy to use and well laid out for the end user. Is great for small operations without complex needs.

Cons: Whilst bank rules are very handy - the auto reconciling of transactions can cause problems if rule set up incorrectly. Would be great if there was an option to make bulk transaction changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2018
Nicole G.
Personal Assistant/Administration/Accounts Administration
Staffing & Recruiting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"One of the top software for bookkeeping"

Pros: I enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.

Cons: glitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Karen H.
accounting consultant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018

"Sold a dummy!"

Comments: I have been a business user of MYOB for other companies using bigger MYOB packages for over a decade and find it fairly good although it has serious bugs which are reported by the truckload by all the accountants I know and they are NEVER fixed even after a decade. Like how the excel file download makes all the numbers text and the "manual calculation" field is auto set meaning you have to reformat each and every download twice (format numbers and turn on auto calc) to use the spreadsheet to add up. Designed and run by non accountants

Pros: Nothing. completely useless. Doesn't comply with ATO requirements unless you have no employees and what business has no employees? Misleading advertising and advice.

Cons: I am a small business with single employee. Noting that one touch payroll was becoming mandatory next year I decided to put my accounts on a basic package to comply. I rang up and they sold me MYOB essentials telling me it would fully comply. After upteem dozen attempts to create a single employee which failed I ring up and they tell me well actually this entry level despite having all the menu structures and appearing online to do payroll does not do payroll at ALL and I need to pay almost double. I found the set up very very nonintuitive in its coaching. You start one entry set up the field, then it takes you away to a whole different menu you need to complete and then doesn't take you back to where you were. There are heaps of bugs and going online you see everyone else having the same problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018
Arslan R.
Head Manager
Banking
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"The Software helps me to evolve in my career my much ."

Comments: The benefits are countless. I am really happy and exceptionally relaxed with using this software. By far, its the most reliable and efficient software that I have encountered.

Pros: The systematic features really helps to sort out the accounting issues. I am always leading the task upto the standards and mostly efficiently only using this specialized software.

Cons: The complications of finding a specific set of files is really hectic. I have to go through the whole bunch of files and reenters the balance whenever I have to made some ammendments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Marilyn K.
Office Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"Processing"

Comments: The background of MYOB needs to be updated to keep up with the updates

Pros: This software is easy to use . It has all the modules you need to run a small to medium business in todays environment.

Cons: Processing is slow and will freeze the screen Myob does not like large files which is a huge problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
'kim's A.
Registered BAS Agent
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2019

"MYOB Essentials"

Comments: Keep clients complaint!

Pros: This product makes the day to day task of a business owner more professional!

Cons: the Cost of the software could put a few people off!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2019
Jade B.
Office manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2018

"Good basic accounts system"

Pros: Simple in most cases to use and looks good, integrates with our hire software well , if any issues the help section normally answers the query so no need for customer service.

Cons: I have found it to be slow and sluggish at times, some of the processes are over complicated and difficult to understand/process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2018
Dan F.
Bookeeper
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Easy to use Accounting Softeware for SMB"

Comments: I have used MYOB for many years and have not felt the need to change. We are currently able to solve all our accounting with the software. If the company was to expand then we would consider Xero instead.

Pros: I think MYOB is a good product and it does mostly what I need. It's very easy to do most accounting tasks. I do prefer the software versions rather than the Live/Cloud versions. though.

Cons: The customer service can take some time to get through to. and limited use of 3rd party payment gateways.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Yvonne A.
Finance Management
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2019

"MYOB uses visuals to explain the numbers"

Pros: MYOB uses visuals to explain the cash in and cash out of the business in a way that makes it easy to see the big picture of what's going on. This makes it easy to explain the information in a way that my clients can understand

Cons: It can take some getting used to set up all the accounts you need to run a business. But that’s the same for any accounting software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2019
Ricki475
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2013

"MYOB problems"

Comments: MYOB has been the main software package in my business for over 18 years I would have to say that this is the slowest version I have ever come across and am very disappointed, between the not being able to create a new customer in the invoice to having timed out when Im not in cloud it is very frustrating to work with, MYOB you were once good is this the sign of the future?????. there may be bugs but really for the cost of the software I would have thought you could afford better software engineers or are you cutting corners.

Pros: Better reporting (though you have to wait longer)

Cons: Slow operating system,Timing out, New customer only by card file

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2013