15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Twilio

Twilio is a trusted and reliable partner for businesses looking to improve their communication capabilities.

Learn more about Twilio

Pros:

The documentation of Twilio APIs is very clear, and the pricing is easily understandable. Their services are reliable and easy to integrate into your own projects.

Cons:

It can be difficult to find your way around the website. Even with documentation, setting up functions can be confusing.

Twilio ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Twilio has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 448 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Twilio before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (448)

Sebastian
Sebastian
Owner in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very useful but getting more and more expensive

5.0 last year

Comments: You have to build your own interface to use the Twilio API. Or pay for a software that can use the API, which is easier and cheaper. The Twilio interface only allows you to monitor usage, create reports, billing management, and program IVR. It doesn't provide an interface for your sales team to use.

Pros:

I like how complete it is and all the API possibilities. You can achieve so much if you know what you're doing. You can create a call center and monitor everything, including recordings. SMS marketing, ringless voicemail, etc..

Cons:

As you scale, it gets very expensive (no discounts at all for loyalty). Zapier is losing its market share to Make, Pipedream, and Pabbly. Soon the same will happen to Twilio.

Ajay kumar
Full Stack Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

First class SMS API Platform for developers

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I have been using Twilio for three years. Actually this is a very suitable Platform for SMS. This is the Platform I recommend to all my clients.

Pros:

I am Ajay Full Stack Developer. Basically I'm using Twilio for SMS. Two things motivate me to use Twilio one is, compare to other SMS Platform it's very easy to get the payed API Key and and minimum of code. Second thing is, They provide very good costumer care support.

Cons:

Features wise no drawbacks in Twilio but compare to other platform littlie bit more cost.

John Epok
John Epok
Regional Platforms Lead in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customer Experience Done Best Through Twilio Voice Automations

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall a pleasant experience with Twilio as i has done wonders for us on number hosting and seamless integration of our voicemail platform being used across SEA and Australia.

Pros:

- less intimidating interface - seamless integration between internal voice platforms and other VoIP sub tools - top-up mechanism to effectively manage cost

Cons:

- it would require deep technical knowledge to deploy

Clancy
CEO in Australia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Do not use this company

1.0 last week New

Pros:

Their service does work and its fast and comprehensive

Cons:

Twilio abruptly turned off the service without any warning leaving people unable to sign up to the app. The timing was terrible as a number of affiliates had started promoting. Whats even more insulting is that our pleas for support just went ignored and 4 days later we havent had a response. This company does not deserve your business. They allowed our start up to get scammed via toll fraud then when we disputed the payment they abruptly paused our account a month later without warning purly as an act of revenge. Absolutely unconscionable unethical unprofessional conduct.

Rongen
Rongen
Digital Developer in Brunei
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Twilio SMS feature never fails and never over charges

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Great experience with the app from UI/UX perspective and customer support.

Pros:

I like the pay-as-you-go subscription model the most. The API integration is also smooth and easy. The knowledge base has all the steps/guide we need to implement and roll out.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of or have experienced.

Fernando
CTO and General Manager in Mexico
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Service, for experienced users

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: The experience has been really good over the years, we don’t see ourselves switching to another service anytime soon.

Pros:

It works really well, they are good at making sure users are compliant with relevant regulations.

Cons:

Customer service is slow, their system is not the friendliest.

Manuel
Manuel
Business Office Manager in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing programmable number service

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been able to deploy a whole Marketing Center, phone automation with payments systems. Call recording for training, conferences and waiting lines.

Pros:

The service has many good features, the guides are easy to use and you can start deploying from day one. The Studio flow helps a lot if you do not have knowledge of programming, the customer service is also great. There is a lot you can do with Twilio no matter the size of your business.

Cons:

It can be overwhelming because the tons of features, is it much better if you at least know for sure what you want to start

Suzi
Suzi
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Twilio is an excellent tool in relation to quality and price, I recommend it.

5.0 last year

Comments: In generally, companies of any size may stand to gain a significant amount by putting Twilio's powerful communication capabilities into action.

Pros:

Twilio allows programmers to effortlessly create and release new forms of communication. Twilio provides a number of application programming interfaces (APIs), software development kits (SDKs), and libraries for adding telephony functionality to software. It also offers a variety of ways to get in touch, including phone, text, video, and electronic mail, so that each user's experience can be tailored to their own needs.

Cons:

Until now, I haven't been able to find a single drawback to using Twilio. My interactions with Twilio have always been positive.

Nikita
Nikita
Marketing Manager CRM in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great and Reliable Call Center Tool

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

We used Twillio as our primary phone tool to manage and distribute contacts between a large group of sales managers. Each sales managers operates in their own market and language, due to this setup many other tools were skipped and Twilio actually solved this issue for us.

Cons:

It is really techy and not everyone from every team can be involved in setting it up. Sometimes reliability issues arise, the pricing felt jumpy too.

Zachary
Operations Support in US
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Consistent Partner

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy to use and integrate into our system and have not had many issues.

Cons:

Somewhat costly for higher usage customers.

Shravya
QA in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good cloud communication software

4.0 last year

Comments: Reliable platform

Pros:

I have been using Twilio for our project for more than 2+ years and it offers a great range of API's for integrating video calls, voice calls and translation services, scheduled SMS and emails and many more.

Cons:

Developers should carefully understand their system before making modifications.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Twilio's services and tools are reliable, easy to configure, easy to manage, and inexpensive

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use Twilio trunking for our multi-location PBX, and SMS messaging for customer communication. Twilio has worked out very well for us and I would strongly recommend them to other businesses. It's easy to set up, inexpensive and reliable.

Pros:

So far, we use Twilio SMS messaging and SIP trunking. Our experience with was excellent. Everything from creating an account, setting up services, integrating with other systems (PBX and CRM), funding and managing services has been nearly perfect. We did not have a lot of experience with any of these technologies, and we had very little trouble getting it to work the way we want. They have done an outstanding job of designing the services and interfaces so you can put together systems exactly the way you want, without a lot of trouble for spending a lot of money.

Cons:

The one negative that we have encountered so far is that Twilio's SIP trunking does not support T.38 faxing. We do have a couple legacy fax machines set up with ATA's, but they are unreliable both sending and receiving, so we had to supplement this with efax service from another vendor. This setup works, but it would've been nice to have everything together from one vendor. I understand that fax is outdated, but it's still the standard in the medical industry.

Joel
Tech Lead in US
Online Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Outstanding Platform for Businesses Using WhatsApp

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been positive so far. We are launching our software globally now and so far they have been a solid partner in the countries we have been going to.

Pros:

We used Twilio to be the backbone of custom cross-platform messaging software we built that connects people in different countries around the globe. We used it to send automated messages alerting the users that someone in their area wants to talk to them and then to continue to facilitate the conversations through our software and the WhatsApp API protecting the user's identities. The API was very easy to use. The hardest and most challenging part was getting set up and approved by Facebook to get our WhatsApp numbers. The system tracks if messages were delivered which is great and we can see responses come back in as well, not the message content itself mind you, but that a response was sent. We also leverage their email platform which added another communication platform to our system. All in all, we are excited about our partnership with Twilio and look forward to continuing to work with them.

Cons:

The only challenging issues we had really involved WhatsApp and getting them to verify our Facebook Business listing, then approve us for a WhatsApp number and finally approve our message templates so we could use Twilio to send messages through their platform. I wouldn't say any of that was Twilio's fault and their staff was excellent at doing everything they could to help us. The only thing I would like to see is a better more laid out navigation on their admin dashboards. You have to click into menus to get to a sub menu to then scroll around and try to find what you are looking for. It would be nice if they had a master link tree like Amazon does on their AWS dashboard.

Necati
Marketing Manager in Türkiye
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Its ok...until you have to deal with the support.

3.0 last year

Pros:

We used Twilio since 2018 (an eternity in the software world). Good API and mostly without any big technical issues.

Cons:

There was a big fraud/spam issue on our account. We are pretty sure it was not our fault. But things happened and we lost about 900$ due credit card charging (still no refund from Twilio). Contacted the support but we got only some general advices and they insisted that it was our fault. And apparently it was more important for them that we "Confirm that you will not be disputing the charges with your bank" then finding a solution. After 2 months without any progress, we decided to Switch to Amazon. Our first impression: great support from Amazon!

Ahmed
Ahmed
Founder, Biomedical Engineer & Data Scientist in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Twilio: The Ultimate Communication Solution for Businesses

5.0 last year

Comments: Twilio is a reliable and effective communication solution that helps us improve our customer engagement and communication strategies.

Pros:

The most positive aspect of Twilio is its flexibility and scalability, Twilio offers a wide range of communication services, including SMS, voice, video, email, and chat, which can be easily integrated into any application. This allows us to create personalized communication experiences with our customers. Twilio's pay-as-you-go pricing model allows us to scale usage based on our needs, without any long-term contracts or commitments. Twilio's platform also provides a variety of features such as call routing, message personalization, 2-way messaging, contact management, online voice transmission, call monitoring, call recording, MMS, automated responses, reporting and analytics, shortcodes, voicemail transcription, access controls, mobile keywords, call conferencing, SIP trunking and unified communications, all of these features are very useful and make the communication process more efficient and convenient.

Cons:

Twilio is that it may not be as user-friendly as other similar products, You may find the platform complex and difficult to navigate, which could make it challenging for fully utilize all of its features. Even though Twilio's platform offers a wide range of communication services, it may not have some specialized features that other products offer.However, these cons are not unique to Twilio, as any software has its own set of pros and cons.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Good features, but terrible support service

3.0 5 months ago

Comments: Twilio: good features, terrible support service! Pray you never need their support! I opened a ticket almost a week ago asking for a simple thing: deactivate 2FA to be able to migrate the WhatsApp Business Account (WABA). Until today, they haven't resolved it. They take a long time to respond and send stupid questions. So far, they haven't done what I asked. I'll miss a perfect time to migrate because of them.

Pros:

Telephone number, WhatsApp Sender, and SMS with a good API integration.

Cons:

The support service is terrible. There is no chat support for all customers (you have to pay for this support type in addition to the contracted service). The ticket response time lasts an average of 24 hours. If it's an important issue your company will suffer the consequences. I opened a simple ticket asking to turn off 2FA on my account to migrate the WhatsApp Business Account (WABA). It has been almost a week of messages exchanged and passed from one team to another without any solution to the case.

Brandon
Brandon
Creative Strategist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful Control of Marketing & Data Analytics For Text, SMS & Video Sending

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Wonderful people, always replay within a few hours of my late-night support emails. Reducing the bills is fantastic, and the tool plugs and plays with everything else nicely. Super happy with them for sure!

Pros:

Love their COSTS... Some of the lowest in the industry, gives better control of budget. Utilizing Twilio we were able to navigate away from other tools that were costing us hundreds of dollars a month in per minute or per text overage fees. Provides more numbers at a cheaper cost per month by far, the whole system is powerful, inclusive, integrative of all tools and solutions through zapier and webhooks, and just a powerful system.

Cons:

The UXI is a little heavy, when creating sub accounts and viewing the analytics, it is so powerful you can get lost, but that is a very minimal issue for I am sure someone with more knowledge can fly through the site and know what they are looking for much faster.

Kurien
CEO in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Super Scalable & Great Value

5.0 last year

Comments: Happy with it, but call flows can be improved upon and simplify the integration process.

Pros:

Great value for the pricing and options provided.

Cons:

Some options are not easy to integrate or use, especially the call flows.

Rick
Rick
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Twilio fills a niche for us

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall we like and will continue to use Twilio. We used it for a small side business and was easy to work with. My developer liked using it though it seemed like the only option out there at the time.

Pros:

Simple to use product (as an end user) that seems to usually work and has the options we need.

Cons:

It's still a VOIP phone service so every so often the sound quality is perfect and it's gone down like any phone service can.

David
David
CEO in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good product with one major problem that won't affect a lot of people.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's working for us, and I don't think I'd move, as I assume we would have similar problems with other text message vendors and they'd have less clout than Twillio would when it comes to solving the problem.

Pros:

A powerful telephony software that only charges you for resources you use. This works great for us, as we don't currently need a massive amount of resources. It powers all our text message needs on our internal software platforms.

Cons:

The only problem we've faced is several carriers have started blocking non-standard TLD links. No failure, not message, the text messages disappear into the ether. Twillio has been less than useless in helping solve this (I suspect because our usage is so low they don't really care) I feel like this is a really niche problem that won't affect a lot of potential users, so I've still rated them fairly high and would probably recommend them too.

Lydia
Lydia
Blow Mold Operator in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Plastics, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Twilio is the tool to get it right with customer engagements

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Twilio has helped us reach our customers more effectively and easily by building a complete communication workflow where they can easily reach out to us through sms, video, audio or email.

Pros:

Twilio offers all the resources needed to build a complete communication and customer support platform with multiple support channels like video and audio calls and instant messaging. It allows us to collect our customer data and analyze them so as to achieve a better understanding of our customers at a more personal level.

Cons:

Twilio is not an easy to use product and training is always a necessity especially for beginners.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tyranny of the 2FA gods!

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: Authy by Twilio is a run-of-the-mill 2FA app. There's nothing special about it. It works when you're not switching your hardware.

Cons:

Customer Support is only available by email, not by phone, and it takes 1-3 days to hear back from them. I was in the process of integrating their OneTouch functionality into a software program I'm designing, and I finally found out why no one else integrates it. It's busted and when you go to click the "Accept" or "Reject" buttons, it gives you an error. Authy support said to reinstall my Authy app, and now I can't get back into the app until 2 days later because of their overbearing security. They refuse to get me out of the bind, and I'm unable to access any of my accounts until they lift the hold. I've learned my lesson and I'm going to use LastPass so they can't hold my accounts hostage anymore for their nefarious purposes.

tomer
tomer
Natural health Bag in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

okay not that great

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

can replace ringcentral which is way more expensive solution

Cons:

their support is not really good they don't really know whats going on

Steve
Ast. VC Enrollment Systems & Analytics in US
Higher Education Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Solid for Salesforce integration

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: generally speaking very happy we haven't had any significant issues with twilio and it's allowed us to accomplish our texting needs seamlessly in Salesforce.

Pros:

Super easy for our team to use. We actually use a third party UI called Mogli. Twilio is the back end for our tool though.

Cons:

It was a bit of a pain to set up a tool like this on an invoice basis instead of a charge as needed basis.

Ariel
Ariel
.Net C# Developer Sr. in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to integrate with any platform

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I was able to create a driver with LUA, and integrate SMS feature to Control4 Home Smart System.
I wanted to receive messages every time certain events occurred, and Twilio is really accurate and helpful. I had to minimize the amount of messages so I could spend less money per month.

Pros:

- It has an API Rest and a 5 minutes to implement rule, which is quite true. - They have a quick start for many platforms / languages. - SMS Feature was exactly what I needed, fast send/receive messages. - Besides having excellent docs, they have something called TwilioQuest, which I found really funny and entertaining.

Cons:

- Price per SMS seems to be high, at least in my country. I guess it depends on what are you building, and the value you give to this feature.