JumpCloud Directory Platform Reviews

by JumpCloud

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About JumpCloud Directory Platform

The JumpCloud Directory Platform reimagines the directory as a complete platform for identity, access, and device management.

Learn more about JumpCloud Directory Platform

Showing 87 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2021

"Poor Customer Service"

Comments: Poor customer service and would not recommend for anyone!

Pros: I was looking forward to testing this tool as a possible solution a while back. Created my account and and started looking at the product.
Not long after I received a phone call from someone at Jump Cloud asking me about how I was going to use the product. I have explained that I was planning on doing a small test by using it on one of my personal test VMs.
I got out of the call and shortly after my Jump Cloud account stopped! It got disabled! Plain rude and that alone is a good reason to not even consider their product ever again.

Cons: I was unable to test the Jump Cloud as a solution as my account got disabled shortly after being created.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2021
David F.
David F.
Partner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019

"Great AD alternative"

Comments: With end users using G Suite for file storage and sharing, we are able to manage PCs and end user credentials without needing to deploy Active Directory.

Pros: Easy to manage web interface with clear categories and policies.

Cons: Client installation on PCs was more complex than I would have liked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019
Robert R.
IT Manager
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020

"Great functional product that tackles most of the Central management and directory functions"

Comments: Jumpclouds offering has great features and helps simplify the central user management issue we had. Importing users from Gsuite which was the main system that housed all our users centrally was simple, albeit lacking granular import options (such as ignore mailgroups etc)
Systems (which are devices) is the inventory of all your systems running the jumpcloud agent - the greatest feature here is being able to set MFA for logging into your mac, which is very useful if you'd like to bring that security practice in.
Actioning user changes is pretty quick and straightforward but there are some caveats on some of the more everyday features that could be laid out in a slicker fashion. For example resetting a users password cannot be done from a click of a button - you have to go into the account and manually set a new one, or invite the user to reset it themselves, but if you've integrated JC and Gsuite, and they cant get into their email, which partly breaks our self serve functionality we're tyring to bring to the company.
The idea of being able to deploy and manage the admin account when a mac is managed via the agent is a helpful addition taking away the need to implement one through various other means.
Policies as they stand are a little different to what your typical "mdm polices" are. So theres a bit of a distinction to pick up with that.
The Agent & account tis a less forgiving implementation and requires that the account names on the macs match the JC directory.

Pros: Support right through the demo to the purchase, to the implementation. Success criteria are agreed between yourselves and them.
They're improving the product almost daily and have the ability to use web-hooks to monitor service status'
The ease in which you are able to integrate Gsuite (as well as multiple ways to import users from your existing central directory) It also gives you the ability to tailor the input for mass imports to limit the need to get users involved in this stage. The ability to simply submit Ideas to improve the UI. The communication from their design team and being involved in user testing so early on.
The resource and Knowledge base is extensive and easy to read - one of the best Ive used from a company in this space.
The interface is also simple to use and navigate through without being buried under complex sub menus
Straightforward email notifications from the system.
Being able to simply reimport users youve deleted without having to wait for a sync or overlapping the account when reimporting.

Cons: A few tricky bits around JC > Gsuite integration wording that take some time to get your head around when integrating and activating accounts once imported. The admin vs user console login is dynamic and handled via one URL making it a little frustrating to see what the user profile looks like as you have to log out/open a new window to log in as a user - they should be separate logins URLS/Pages or have dropdowns within the admin page in order to switch between. The lack of global settings to apply around Security means for both user login and System security - you have to apply MFA individually to users
When removing/disabling users there isnt an ability to change what happens to their email account - they will be disabled/suspended immediately.
Not able to tailor the automated emails that come from the system to your users as it stands Importing users via OUs inside Gsuite isnt possible (its everyone or needing to know user by user who to import (not the end of the world but worthwhile noting if you have more than 200 users + copious amounts of group emails) Currently no ability to assign users to OUs from within JC to Gsuite. We utilitise divisions and Departments as sub groups for organising our employees and use this hierarchy in another solution. Youre currently not able to nest groups so we had to flat out create ever department as top level inside the "system of users" section. Again a little niche for us, and shouldnt mark this awesome product down

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
IT Supervisor
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2019

"Great Application Getting even Better"

Comments: My overall experience has been nothing but positive. Now that all passwords are sync'd across both local and web services, our users rarely need password resets anymore. Their technical support has been very helpful and responsive in the few (maybe two times in two years?) I've needed to call them.

Pros: I love its ease of use. Getting started using it was effortless as a single tech doing the work. Its ability to serve as a directory server for G Suite, PowerSchool (LDAP), and WiFi (RADIUS) makes my life so much easier. And it's even great that for G Suite it can be user-specific. We have some accounts that we don't tie into JumpCloud simply because they only need email. JumpCloud can "pull" G Suite Accounts if they already exist, and I love how it can "push" accounts as well for creating new users.

Cons: There are a few niceties that they haven't implemented yet. Extensive logs can easily be pulled via their API, but they aren't available via the web-gui. They also haven't yet managed to implement the ability to manage Google Groups through their interface yet (but that's supposedly coming soon).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Jeffrey B.
Senior Tech
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019

"Solid way to manage users"

Comments: I use jump-cloud for my own business and my clients primarily to help with user management and to manage access to the various services that are used. It jump make all this easier.

Pros: It solves a bunch of problems all at once. You can have Jumpcloud handle your G Suite/Office 365 password, then use that same password for your computer logins and well as for your office's WiFi. A lot of people miss that last one. Small business rarely change the WiFi password, so every exemployee knows how to log in. With Jumpcloud Radius service, everyone uses their Jumpcloud password to log in. If someone is no longer with the company, you disable their Jumpcloud account and they no longer can log in.
If you are a Linux admin, Jumpcloud's system agent can handle password, or even better ssh keys with two-factor authentications. This really take security up while making all it easy to manage.
They keep adding features as well, like recently added management of Bitlocker.

Cons: I only have minor grips. Like to manage LDAP, you have to create an LDAP bind user. No big deal, but that is the only thing I'm going to use that account for. The fact that it shows up as an option for G Suite or for system log ins is unnecessary. Seems like that should be a special user locked away under LDAP tab somewhere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019
Aaron G.
Founder
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2020

"Directory as a service the next generation"

Comments: It has been awesome to know I can track staff, device but not use active directory. It's only took a few days to learn the software and the documentation has been awesome.

Pros: Not having to use Microsoft domain management. Less on prem expense and more focus on daily needs. Easy to use and deployment.

Cons: I haven't really had an draw backs from using this software it has really help to go domain less for me as a MSP owner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2020
Ernesto C.
IT Manager
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020

"Best DaaS and MDM ever"

Comments: Absolutely love it

Pros: Ease of use and deployment, reliability and visibility.

Cons: At first it was a lack of features, but you guys stepped up the game fast!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020
Moises C.
Moises C.
Senior Web Application Developer
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019

"Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers"

Comments: I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros: I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons: Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019
Christian H.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"Jumpstart your directory service with JumpCloud"

Comments: Having SSO (Single-Sign-On) across all our systems (mostly Linux) and Google G Suite (Google Drive, Gmail etc) has made systems administration much less painful for both, users and administrators.

Pros: The setup is relatively easy, and major operating systems are supported. It allows single-sign-on (SSO) across a variety of systems. For me, of particular interest was having Linux and G Suite SSO, for which JumpCloud provides an excellent solution.

Cons: I wish Linux SSO would work by an LDAP proxy cache instead of a patch to /etc/passwd /etc/shadow /etc/group /etc/gshadow files. An LDAP proxy cache just appears more secure to me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Javier V.
CTO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2020

"A very good platform"

Comments: We are very happy to select jumpcloud platform, we are a startup company and jumpcloud helped us to deploy it very faster. I recommend it 100%. The services are very good and I only remember one incident that directly affected me, but the jumpcloud support resolved it quickly I hope that new jumpcloud company services include without modify the price, for example System Insights.

Pros: Very easy to deploy, configure users, devices, radius

Cons: May be de command function is not easy to deploy

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2020
Jarred W.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"Great for DaaS!"

Comments: GREAT! This service has been FLAWLESS!

Pros: I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!

Cons: Wish there were more options that we didn’t have to customize via the powershell API. I don’t remember all of the cmdlets and have to look them up every time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Felix L.
IT Lead
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2020

"A simple yet effective Cloud based management system"

Pros: The free 10 first users really helped me do my proof of concepts with the applications I wanted to integrate. The interface is simple and everything you need to manage users and associated systems and applications are easy to find.

Cons: Policies to deploy to systems are a cool feature, however, there are too few policies for Linux. A community driven for policies could be very interesting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2020
Bill B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2020

"Free for ten users makes this very applicable to most small businesses"

Comments: The small businesses that I work with have from 3 to 10 PCs, but usually no server. JumpCloud provides the missing centralized user account control. Fairly easy to implement once you understand the model. Their documentation is good and fairly complete, sufficient to learn and utilize the product. Once set up, it has been trouble-free.

Pros: Multi-platform! It uses and modifies local machine settings, so even if a laptop leaves the LAN or the service is down, everything continues to work.

Cons: The Samba integration is complex. This is more about Samba than JumpCloud, however. I needed a few different pages to pull together the whole picture on how to implement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2020
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2020

"It works well"

Pros: Ease of deployment and manageability from cloud

Cons: SAML v2 support is limited. Had to go over hoops to get stuff working.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2020
Michael B.
Michael B.
IT Manager
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"Good solution for MSPs"

Pros: Integration with G Suite
Replacement for AD in small office environments
Adds needed security and management for clients that have never implemented AD

Cons: The pricing model has improved but can still be cost-prohibitive for small IT budget clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Andreas P.
Director
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2019

"Central Directory mgmt"

Comments: system user management without AD!

Pros: one user management,
ability to use as system users

Cons: price raises rapidly when using more then 1 service and more then 10 users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Christopher C.
Engineer
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"A suitable replacement for a DC in a small environment"

Comments: Very good low-cost replacement for a domain controller for small businesses.

Pros: Very easy to use. Great support. Works as advertised. Able to use on Mac and Windows

Cons: Wish they had more functionality, and two-factor authentication.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"Revolutionary"

Pros: Running a small business , this sort of thing is the last thing on your mind. JumpCloud has helped us on/off board staff members easier, quicker and more securely and has allowed us to unbind from expensive hardware that required painful maintenance!

Cons: I'd love to be able to white label the login screen, but thats a selfish desire. I'm only really putting that there though because the cons is a mandatory field. JumpCloud is great!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Peter C.
IT Consultant
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"Would recommend to any organization"

Comments: We are solving issues with applying group policy and adding users to small busiensses that do not employ AD

Pros: The product is quick and responsive. Streamlines and adds AD like features to small businesses with no need or desire to implement AD

Cons: Need more policies added. The permissions and systems menus can be convoluted, but with a bit of use it gets easier.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Support
Media Production, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"Platform which has all in one solution for IT needs"

Comments: Replacing Active directory with jumpcloud.

Pros: Directory as service, Radius server,Full disk encryption management

Cons: OpenID support, Need more applications for SSO, AWS role based access need more improvement

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2019

"Secure Login"

Pros: Once you're set, it's easy to use. Easily get your security code on your phone and log in.

Cons: Can be awkward to set-up or re-set up if you get a new mobile device where you get your access code.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2019
Marty C.
Senior IT Security Operations Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020

"Replace your old on-prem AD server with Jumpcloud"

Comments: Even without a global pandemic going on, our company is at least 60% remote. Solving the issues of users working remotely is what Jumpcloud specializes in. Cloud first was my philosophy when I began down this road, and JumpCloud definitely fits that model. No longer do you have to maintain on-prem servers and figure out how to securely allow remote access to them just so your users can log into their systems. JumpCloud handles all of that for you and frees you up to focus on more important issues. Its not "Active Directory in the cloud", but its close! What sets Jumpcloud apart from other solutions is their cross-platform support. Their support for MacOS is fantastic, and even linux workstations have some support!

Pros: Jumpcloud offers 10 users free, forever!

Cons: Without paid support, it can be difficult to adapt to using Jumpcloud if you're not familiar with Active Directory and Group Policies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2020
Carl S.
Head of IT
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2020

"Excellent Solution for User and Device Management, Directory and Security"

Comments: We are using JumpCloud as central directory, for SSO, for device and user management and partially MDM functionality. We love the support service, their incredibly enthusiastic and helpful staff. Support is brilliant! They are response time is sometimes hard to believe. The speed with which they have implemented features they mentioned in phone calls a few days before... we are well impressed. The end user experience is simple and assigning users to devices is lightning fast. JumpCloud helps us leverage zero touch deployment as well. We love that it has so many SSO integrations, too.

Pros: Great UI, self explanatory, fast and works in almost any browser (desktop and mobile). The ease of use is incredible. Basically no learning curve at all.

Cons: It would be great to have even more MDM functionality, especially for Mac and mobile devices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2020
Kyle R.
IT Manager
Cosmetics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2020

"A great solution for a cloud-based business"

Pros: JumpCloud solved a number of issues for us as we needed a cloud-based identity management and also a system management tool for our distributed workforce. The product has constantly been improving over the 2 years we have used it. Set-up is fairly easy and it was pretty simple to roll-out.

Cons: There are some limitations that I hope are improved as the product develops. MDM is currently limited in functionality, and the System Insights still require command-line input to gather detailed information. It doesn't not have commands that can run on a system automatically when joined which would be nice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
IT Consulting
Food Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"Great option as cloud directory as service"

Comments: Works just fine as a cloud-based domain service, ideal for spread organizations.

Pros: Easy to use and deploy for different OS options

Cons: Cost can become considerable for large number of users

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019