15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About TUIO

#1 FREE School Management System. Optimize your tuition, enrollment, waitlisting, reporting, and get same day payouts- only with TUIO!

Learn more about TUIO

Pros:

First, there's no monthly fee. This is a major bonus for schools with a conservative budget.

Cons:

The setting up of my account was a bit confusing at first. Was shown an invoice date that I though was the day the payment will come out and that confused me.

TUIO ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

TUIO has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 192 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TUIO before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (192)

Dori
Dori
Copyeditor and Proofreader in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The TUIO interface is really clean and simple, which makes it really easy to navigate (a welcome change from the last payment system which, as I said previously, looked like it was built in 1998 and left that way). When I did run into questions, TUIO got back to me right away and took care of the concern for me immediately, and they were very personable and professional about it.

Cons:

The time I spent looking around and then calling customer service could have been avoided with some simple explanatory text and (potentially) making some options available to users. I would have liked to have the option to choose either the payment plan that was set up for me, OR to pay the fee in one lump sum (note: when I spoke to TUIO about this, they processed the lump sum for me, but being able to do this without a call to customer service would have been nice). Additionally, both my credit card and my bank account are in the TUIO system, yet for this particular payment I was only offered the option of using my bank account. I normally use my credit card for everything in order to take advantage of its perks, so again, just a little explanatory text as to why I didn't have the choice would have been nice. No one likes being left with questions, especially when it comes to our money!

TUIO Payments Response

2 years ago

Thank you for the review Dori, great to hear how you enjoy using the system as a parent! You could contact us directly through the help beacon in your TUIO account anytime you need. The school may only be giving the option for bank account payment on the Tuition only, but if you ask them they may have accommodated you to use credit card (and of course we could have assisted from support). For other payments you should be able to use the credit card and take advantage of those convenience points. You should be able to change payment plan before confirming payment, next year I am sure the school will give that option to select it as parent.

Josh
Business Manager in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great automatic payment processing

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Our organization has been using Tuio for several years now, and everything has been great. No problems. Excellent customer service. Straightforward product. Everything works as it should.

Pros:

Great for processing automatic monthly tuition payments. Simple setup. Affordable fee structure

Cons:

No option for on demand pay option, no partial payment option.

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Josh! As an admin you can process payment on demand for any invoice(s). Partial payments automation is in our development roadmap, slated for a future release.

Susan
Head of School in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not intuitive or easy to adjust for our needs

3.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Not thrilled. The system meets our needs to a degree but has needed a lot of attention from our administrator to overcome the shortcomings. Some features that are integral to the function of a school are not offered at all with TUIO at this time.

Pros:

Direct and immediate deposit of funds. Options for payment for our customers.

Cons:

Editing and changing things that have been entered is not possible. We have to redo everything. The system only allows us to connect the account to one email address when a number of our clients have 2 emails associated with their account. This is ridiculous. For students with divorced parents it makes ZERO sense. We have had a lot of time and energy spent on making this program work for us, and we are frustrated with the experience overall. If someone wants to adjust a payment method they have to redo the entire enrollment document.

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Susan, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Flexibility and customization is a core component of the TUIO system. You can edit invoices, payment plans, and forms at any time for instant changes, individually or in bulk. For students with divorced parents who are paying separately they can have their invoices split up on separate accounts so each parent can manage their own payments independently, without having access to the other parent's account and information. Payment methods and enrollment documents are separate items in TUIO. A payment method change would not impact the enrollment document, and vice versa. Parents can change their payment method at any time, and likewise they can easily resubmit an enrollment document with updates, since the system pre-populates their previous responses. You are welcome to reach out to our support team - [email protected] - for assistance to help make your operations more efficient on TUIO.

Robin
Assistant Head of School for Finance and Operations in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Customer Service

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: We are pleased with our partnership with TUIO - from the integration to the day to day operations - they have been with us every step of the way.

Pros:

The TUIO team is very responsive and able to answer or resolve questions within 24 hours if not sooner. They always provide resources to help guide us in the right direction.

Cons:

Some of the reports in TIOU are quite lengthy with lots of fields. It would be nice to be able to streamline the reports option so you can select the fields you need to see.

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thank you for the detailed review Robin. A custom reports feature is coming with our attendance update that is coming this year.

Billie Jo
Director of Elementary in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

GREAT COMPANY

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, we love it and for our needs it works perfectly.

Pros:

The ease of use for both parents and school. It's cost effective. TUIO is very helpful and gets back to me with in the hour during business hours and with in 24 hours after hours.

Cons:

The only things our staff notice, is when we print the application, the subheadings are very light in color. Thats it!

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Billie Jo! I'm glad you appreciate our service level agreements we have in place for support. I'll take your feedback back to our engineers and I'm sure we can adjust the font to make printing the documents that much better.

Jake
Co-Teacher Leader in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Promising but Not There Yet

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: There are some aspects that are not as intuitive as they should be (such as resending an activation email or the fact that an "active" parent does not mean that they are fully onboarded), but setting up payment plans and enrolling students was fairly easy.

Pros:

The onboarding was quite easy and the platform is pretty easy to use.

Cons:

We were devastated to learn that TUIO doesn't allow families to set up multiple payers for an enrollment. For families who have split households or get help from relatives or subsidy programs, etc., this adds an undue burden which feels discriminatory. It might seem like a big deal to the folks at TUIO who have made a promising platform, but the implications for our school culture and relationship with our families are significant.

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback Jake. We have always provided support for split households and family members getting help from another payor. TUIO was made to be as inclusive and robust as possible for any school/daycare organization's Tuition Management needs. TUIO provides the flexibility to enroll students under multiple payors who each receive a portal to manage their payments. Parents can change their payment method at any time within a single enrollment, so different family members can set up payment for a given invoice. Regarding the parent onboarding and activation, we just added a new filter option for Parent Account Status so you can filter out active vs inactive parents, and send the appropriate automated notifications.

Justine
Owner in US
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

After One year

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: TUIO has been very easy to use and introduce to families.

Pros:

Customer Service was excellent. They made the setup process very easy and made it easy for parents to contact outside help instead of going through me.

Cons:

I wish there were an app to make it easier to communicate with parents.

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, Justine!

Aghadir
Financial Administrator in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

TUIO Support is Amazing!

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

The support staff at TUIO is amazing, they are quick and very helpful.

Cons:

The only 2 thing that I would like to see developed is to have a conversation to happen if a stop payment occurs before it happens. Sometimes the student is still enrolled in the program and they do a stop payment and that results in a charge. but if a conversation could occur before that would be better. The second thing that i would highly suggest to be improved is how withdrawals show up on parent's statements. since it is a series of numbers some people don't recognize what the payment is for.

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review Aghadir! I'll have support get in touch with you about changing the descriptor you have for payments that process.

Gikonyo
HR Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Power Of TUIO

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

With TUIO, payment processing is easy and the software is easy to setup and use.

Cons:

I haven't encountered issues yet with TUIO

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks for the awesome review Gikonyo!

MARISELA
ADMIN. DIRECTOR in Canada
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

CUSTOMER SERVICE, OPEN TO RECOMMENDATIONS AND IMPROVEMENT IN THE SYSTEM.

Cons:

RESTRICTIONS IN SETTING UP DIFFERENT PROGRAMS AND OPTIONS

TUIO Payments Response

2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Marisela! Programs and payment plan options are customizable, and you can create those one by one or by duplicating an existing set up. If you have any questions about the set up please reach out to [email protected] for assistance.

J Lee
Principal in US
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, snappy payment system

5.0 last year

Comments: So far, we have only used it as a payment system, which is what it started out as. Next, we plan to add a registration piece, where parents and students will fill out their registration information directly into the system, something we don't currently have. After that, we would like to use it more for student information, and if it works out well, we would then ditch Zoho. (We really like Zoho as a database, but it wasn't made for schools and is not ideal in that regard.) The biggest thing Tuio would have to improve before we leave Zoho is its communication piece. In Zoho, we can make attractively designed mass messages to send to parents; there is no such capability yet in Tuio.We have been quite satisfied with Tuio's software and especially appreciative of their customer support. A couple of years ago, we did a total re-do of all of our software systems. We have been happiest with Tuio.

Pros:

We love Tuio! It was fairly easy to learn, the interface is attractive and generally easy to use, it is has a very quick response time, and the customer support is stellar. I like that it's a small company, so we know the people who support us. They always try to help us when we don't understand something, or help us to make something work when our company's round peg doesn't fit well into their square hole (not unique to Tuio -- we have that problem with lots of software -- but they are eager to help us find workarounds). They are also open to suggestions, particularly since the product is fairly new and they are working on building it.Also, a huge plus is for us is that there was no setup fee, and instead of a monthly charge, Tuio charges by the transaction. It is affordable for our small school, and doing it by transaction means that we have to pay less when we have fewer transactions (and less money to pay a monthly fee).

Cons:

--We have students in many countries, but there are some issues with Tuio in that regard. Part of that is their payment processor, which doesn't work as well with payments in some countries, a problem we didn't have with our previous processor. Also, their parent/student contact information fields are rigidly set to (XXX) XXX-XXXX format, which does not fit our foreign customers. So, for schools that only have customers in the US or Canada (Tuio is from Canada), neither of these would be issues at all. --We are subscription based, but Tuio is designed around defined payment plans. This has created some headaches for us. They have said they are working on creating the ability to have subscription plans, so once that is done, this will no longer be a problem for us.--We do a substantial percentage of our payments through PayPal, but they don't have a way to incorporate PayPal, so we have to enter PayPal transactions as cash, which is not convenient.--While Tuio is mostly easy to use, some things here and there are not intuitive.

TUIO Payments Response

10 months ago

Thank you for the 5 star review J Lee, it's extremely detailed and helpful. I'm confident we can have you fully onboarded to TUIO and away from those cumbersome platforms in no time. With regards to the communications piece, we are going to expand on what we have currently and add the ability to make templates and do more broadcasting. In the meantime, you could send mass messages on TUIO with a pdf attachment (that was attractively designed), but I understand where you are coming from. We are working on a global search, support for international phone numbers, and we still have the "payment clock" in our development pipeline. So glad that you are happy with TUIO and made that decision.

Lori
PRINCIPAL in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Daily use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the experience with TUIO has been exceptional.

Pros:

The attendance feature is very simple to use. The added Covid-19 Screening feature was an absolute life saver this past 18 months. The payment program is very helpful to see what monies are coming in and who is behind with their payments. The TUIO staff handle any NSF problems, so there is no need for awkward conversations with your clients. The support staff are amazing and answer and solve all of our questions usually the same day. My staff are very happy with this product and we would recommend it to anyone looking to streamline their daycare or private school operations.

Cons:

I wish that there was a way to merge the spreadsheets with our Quickbooks accounting program.

TUIO Payments Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the kind review Lori! We hear your wish and are looking to integrate more fully with QB for accounting purposes.

Sheryl
Finance Manager in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Could be better

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Great, friendly customer service, great product knowledge.

Pros:

Fast payments received from customers, who can see their payments and state of account.

Cons:

Bank reconciliation is cumbersome. Partial payments of invoices would be very helpful. More visual aid (Flow charts) to help with problem solving make be of more use.

TUIO Payments Response

7 months ago

Thanks for the review Sheryl! I'll have support reach out to you as the bank reconciliation should be very easy to do using our TUIO export. Usually we are hearing about that as a great pro. Flow charts is a great idea, I would like to hear more about your thoughts on those.

John Marc
Pastor in Canada
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tuio

5.0 last year

Comments: Tuio has worked great for collecting tuition payments for our learning centre. The yearly cost is reasonable and the fee charges are on par with other companies. We pass on credit card fees to our parents so the only fees that we are paying are for ACH transfers. Overall I have enjoyed using Tuio, as an administrator as well as a parent paying tuition.

Pros:

Tuio is easy to use and their customer support is great! I really like having the option of ACH payments as well as credit card payments. It cuts down on the fees and allows people to pay directly from their bank account.

Cons:

Sometimes finding the right option or setting is a little difficult.

TUIO Payments Response

last year

We really appreciate the detailed review John Marc.

Cheryl Lynn
Communications/Marketing/Tech Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TUIO's Customer Service is Stellar and Their Software is Fairly Intuitive!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience has been very positive. We enjoy the professional and friendly rapport we've established with TUIOs support staff.

Pros:

I love the fact that customer service is easy to access when needed. They have been quickly responsive and attentive to our needs. Plus, their tech team is always pleasant to work with. The features and functionality that might have been lacking when we 1st started using TUIO have been greatly improved. These new features have been immensely helpful to the staff who use the software AND for parents who pay their tuition/fees. I truly think they listen to their customers when it comes to adding new features.

Cons:

The initial training was a slightly difficult as it was too fast paced for a 1st time learner and difficult to understand the French-Canadian accent of the trainer.

TUIO Payments Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the helpful review Cheryl Lynn! Our initial training is much simpler now and we are able to launch the software for you and your families in 30-60 minutes max. None of our sales or support staff have an accent anymore.

Melanie
Owner/Director in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Makes Our Jobs Easier

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We love it! I recommend it to all my fellow childcare owners/operators.

Pros:

As a childcare owner, I am no expert in accounting and always struggled with record keeping and yearly tax receipts were a nightmare and so time consuming. This year, with Tuio, I issued all my tax receipts in under 15 minutes. They looked professional and were accurate and there was no corrections needed. What a time saver and a professional-looking service to offer our clients.

Cons:

A lot of parents comment or panic when they set up their account and see the “total amount of all the invoices” on the first page. They don’t even bother to open the invoices, they immediately contact us wanting to know why their invoice is so high. We spend a lot of time explain it to parents. Also, there should be a mention in the sign up email(or in a more prominent spot) that is sent to new clients to alert them that the link expires in a set time. So many have needed to be resent, because they expired.

TUIO Payments Response

3 years ago

Thank you very much for the review Melanie. Happy to hear about the time savings you are taking advantage of. When the parent clicks a link that has expired, there is a self-serve option to resend a new link. I will add that language to the new parent letter from now on to make it more clear. Yes there is a clear distinction in the payment set up between any amount "due now" and any due in the future. I can understand if it's often overlooked (if they don't click to expand view of all the invoices) and can look to add ways to make it more clear what is due now versus what is scheduled to come due in the future.

Jesse
Owner in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

EA Academy - TUIO Review

5.0 last year

Comments: I am happy with TUIO so far and look forward to continue to work with the team. I also am looking forward to the continued improvements I know I can expect.

Pros:

The customer support is one of the best features. When emailed or called, the staff responds promptly and with information that solves any problem.

Cons:

Some of the features are not as user friendly as they could be. We have had some parents miss the account creation step and then have trouble registering their student when the next enrollment comes around. It's also a little tricky to see the details of each family without diving deeply into their information.

TUIO Payments Response

last year

Thanks for the review Jesse! I heard from my support team that there was a step being missed when enrolling the students and that this has since been resolved using the bulk notify feature (re: sending the parent the notice- we give an option to enroll without sending in case more work needs to be done on the enrollment customization). Stay tuned for upcoming new releases and notes.

Virginie
Owner in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super satisfied with my TUIO's experience!

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I am super happy with TUIO since my schools started working them in 2019. The support team is really reactive and very flexible with my multiple requests, I wouldn't want to change to another program.

Pros:

ease of use and does everything I need, the support team is amazing

Cons:

to have to create the programs every year

TUIO Payments Response

7 months ago

Thanks for the amazing review Virginie! We have a relatively new duplicate programs feature that will make life easier when creating the reenrollment programs on TUIO. We will be sending a TUIO insider email soon that details the feature again if you haven't tried it. I'll let support know to reach out as well about it :).

Kevin
Volunteer in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic app for managing our multi location schools

5.0 last year

Comments: Our schools (Saturday mornings only, aligns with the K-12 school year) are mainly run by volunteers (myself included) so we do not have much time or resource to spend on school software. During the recent pandemic, our 5 schools (15+ years each) suddenly could not run classes out of the local secondary schools and we needed a solution for online registration and payments to accommodate the new Zoom classes we started offering. TUIO's entire package of Enrollment Management, Student Information System, and Payments was especially appealing because we never had to accept credit or debit cards. TUIO Support is friendly and responsive, and we have seen several of our own feedback be added as enhancements to the product.

Pros:

The intuitive design and overall flexibility to configure TUIO to meet our needs.

Cons:

The accounting export requires more massaging of spreadsheet output, and the difference in time zones also made it more confusing for some of our less tech savvy users.

TUIO Payments Response

last year

Thanks for the thorough review Kevin! Glad to hear about the specific reasons you went with us, and always happy to support your account. The accounting export is currently undergoing a redesign and we hope to have that live soon to make the inputs into accounting software easier.

Christine
Office Manager in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you're looking to switch, make the switch to TUIO.

5.0 last year

Comments: TUIO is just amazing to us and our families. My experience has been nothing short of great! They are constantly making TUIO better and better each year, always adding more helpful tools.

Pros:

I have nothing but good things to say about TUIO. We went from using another company and being on paper, to switching to TUIO, and all online platform that has helped up with enrollments, tuition, and forms. This program is also super easy for our parents as well. Since having TUIO we have happier families and happier staff because of the ease of TUIO.

Cons:

The ONLY thing i can think of would be not having more options to make a more customizable form for parents.

TUIO Payments Response

last year

Thanks for the review Christine, TUIO has unlimited custom fields to make the form as customized as you would like. In case I'm missing something, please email [email protected] to help.

Michelle
Head of School in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great customer service

3.0 last year

Comments: It has been okay. It was really difficult getting everything set up and then we ran into this problem, but [sensitive content hidden]
has been wonderful throughout the process.

Pros:

I work with [sensitive content hidden] , and he is amazing at being responsive and helping clean up the mess left from the other person we had.

Cons:

I am frustrated that all my families got under-billed and are now having to pay this money back. It does not look good for the school.

TUIO Payments Response

last year

Hi Michelle, this is the first occurrence of a client on our available account management service having an error like this. The account manager that you previously had setting up your account for payments is no longer with the company. I'm sorry for that, and wish it was recognized by someone earlier. I'm glad you are resolving it and receiving better service now.

Mary
Business Operations Manager in US
Higher Education Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommend

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: The experience has been excellent and exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

The customer service is outstanding. My bookkeeper and I are extremely helped by the ability to run any report that we would like to. For the most part, it is a very intuitive system to use. The transaction fees are reasonable. The ability to use both a registration and an enrollment is helpful to our audience.

Cons:

The only thing I would change is adding the ability to create a group, say the "1st grade" group of 14 students, so I can select that group and send an invoice to all 14 at the same time, instead of having to enter their names individually.

TUIO Payments Response

11 months ago

Hi Mary, you can use programs and filter enrollments to accomplish what you are looking to do. Please reach out to [email protected] if you would like us to walk you through it. I will add your feedback to our development plan document. Thanks for the review!

Sara
Administration in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Satisfactory

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

That we do not need to 'collect' money, your platform does that for us

Cons:

That when payments don't go through or aren't approved there isn't a way to ensure we receive those monies

TUIO Payments Response

7 months ago

Hi Sara, thanks for the review. With regards to failed payments or payments that need to be auto approved, feel free to contact [email protected] to get involved or to help reach out to parents. We have features you can use as admin to initiate the payment and approve invoice-I'll have support contact you soon.

Laura
Admin Coordinator in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The TUIO support team is superb!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The onboarding process with the representatives, the support offered and the experience with the TUIO staff is exceptional. TUIO is continually making improvements and listens to the needs of its customers.

Pros:

The TUIO support team is responds to requests in a timely manner. They go above and beyond to assist admin and parents with any questions or issues that may arise. They also provide exceptional support to admin in payment collection from families for past due payments. The support they offer is unlike any other comparable software.

Cons:

At the time, parents were unable to utilize more than one payment method. That may have changed since then.

TUIO Payments Response

3 years ago

We really appreciate the thorough review Laura. Your parents can have more than one payment method on TUIO and are welcome to change it invoice to invoice. If parents ever need the payment split for multiple payment methods we can accommodate that as well.

Michelle
Head of School in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Thankful for Tuio

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: I have been pleased with Tuio and would recommend it to schools who are looking for an online Tuition management system.

Pros:

We are a very small school that can't afford much extra but Tuio has been affordable for us and also very useful in managing our tuition payments. I no longer have to deal with checks or cash payment but there is a place to take care of that if it happens.

Cons:

It can be a little overwhelming as one is onboarding but the team is great to answer questions. There are still things I don't quite know how to do such as run reports but it doesn't keep me from using Tuio.

TUIO Payments Response

6 months ago

Thanks for the review Michelle! Support will reach out to you how to run reports, it's so easy.