15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Azure Synapse Analytics Reviews

About Azure Synapse Analytics

Azure Synapse Analytics is a cloud data warehouse that provides limitless analytics and accelerated time to insight.

Learn more about Azure Synapse Analytics

Pros:

It has awesome data ingestion & preparation quality.

Cons:

It is a very costly and less known service. It is least marketed product.

Azure Synapse Analytics ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Azure Synapse Analytics has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 32 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Azure Synapse Analytics before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (32)

Shaunak
Shaunak
Data Platform Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Awesome implementation of Data Warehouse and Apache Spark Capabilities!

5.0 last year

Comments: We are using Azure synapse to build out data pipelines. There are a lot of activities and templates available for no-code data movement setup. You can migrate from Databricks if you want.

Pros:

Azure Synapse Analytics, according to me is very easy and convenient implementation of spark, SQL and data warehousing technologies.- You get notebooks to write ETL code and run it on distributed spark clusters.- Ingesting data to SQL pool is very easy.- Awesome and dedicated support via technical staff.- East US region now has Hardware Accelerated Spark Pools available for Deep Learning Capabilities. - All artifacts can easily be created via ARM templates.

Cons:

There are no cons, but there are few difficulties that I have faced:1) In Pipelines, when notebook activities are being triggered it should have a flag that makes2) When a notebook job is submitted to spark pool, session takes too long time to be spin up. Can't they move it to Kubernetes instead of traditional VMs?

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Stable, cloud-based data warehouse service that continuously evolves

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Azure simplifies the creation, testing and management of cloud assets for us. It is relatively easy to use and offers full features for hosting web applications, websites, APIs, and a ton of others. It has good compatibility Windows and has been a fairly stable space in all the time we have worked with it. The ability to scale the services according to our needs is great especially for SME who may not have a physical office because we can eliminate the need to set-up physical servers. We can work from anywhere and access our files in the cloud which is very convenient.

Cons:

For people who aren’t very big fans of Microsoft, working with this program might not be their cup of tea either. But for those who live and breathe Microsoft, this is sheer heaven. The sheer number of functions, services, apps make it hard to identify what the most effective solution is, but they try to compensate for this by coming up with pre-packaged solutions.

Joseph
Cashier in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Azure Nightmare

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: It wasn't the best I have dealt with better softwares in the past honestly

Pros:

The match and merge was amazing and the data integration was really good as well

Cons:

It was way too expensive for something that still had quite a few bugs in its software that needed worked out

Joseph
Joseph
Technical Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Warehousing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Azure SQL Data Warehouse

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Implementing a DW without the added cost and support issues of an on-site DW implementation.

Pros:

As a cloud-based product, Azure SQl Data Warehouse is ready to go - no implementation headache. You can start to design your DW structure right away. Clear, easy to understand online instructions and a great user interface.

Cons:

A bit of a learning curve understanding the Azure environment if you are not used to it.

Brent
Brent
Director Of Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy cloud based SQL hosting

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We can spin up/down our SQL dbs and adjust their speed dynamically. It partners with Azure to offer other things like automation scripts to dynamically scale DB tiers as needed to save on costs.

Cons:

You have to download a SQL studio to do any visual data editing. The DBs themselves are able to be adjusted up/down in speed or on/off or restored... but you can't edit data online apart from running a SQL command.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Azure all in one

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's a good all in one tool with all sql capabilities and we can use spark.

Pros:

We can integrate a lot of service in single portal and access management is easy. We can use ADF also in this. It also supports git integration. Ability to see all the running queries and kill them is good.

Cons:

Desktop software, which is SSMS is worst, web UI is so good but it gets refreshed so unsaved progress get erased, otherwise features are good.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Data Mart solution in Azure

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

1. Very easy to use 2. Good support 3. Useful for Big Data Marts

Cons:

1. Features customization is little difficult 2. New features are rolling out slowly

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My take on Azure Synapse

4.0 last year

Comments: A nice analytics platform which is a tool or a service that does multiple work so we need not download external softwares or use other services for each of the task.

Pros:

Nice for data analysis even when it is at a large scale. Synapse has good user and data management capabilities with indexes that can be defined to the data in the platform. Also it integrates seamlessly with GIT so we can access anything from it with the help of few commands. Data management at all levels are accessible be it the table level or schema level, can import large datasets from various sources like Data Factory, Power BI and various other sources.

Cons:

Finding out and debugging errors can sometimes be clueless and takes a lot of time for the queries to run and execute at times.

Moises R.
Moises R.
Enc. Monitoreo y Computos in Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The importance of DWH

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use it from Monday to Friday for all the company's strong reporting.

Pros:

For each company, the DWH is extremely important and more so for the reporting of the areas of operations.

Cons:

For this system I like everything, it helps us minimize the use of resources in the main systems, azure is the best.

Charles
Charles
Data engineer in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Create pipelines with a lot of features

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The screen is very functional and we can do a lot of activities like read data from external servers, use a linked server from premisses and much more.

Cons:

The native database is limited to SQL Server.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for a great price that you can scale up or down as needed.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Finest experience I've had with any Microsoft product. Best of all it is Virtual and you can shut it off and not pay for it any time you want.

Pros:

The simple plug and play into your environment was well received. I also liked the ability to scale your DW units up or down as needed and even found a way to schedule it to save money during non-peak times.

Cons:

While better at managing views, the storage speed was a little slower than a simple SQL DB. We ended up winding it down in favor of a standard SQL DB as the speed was better for our need.

Johan Andres
implementor in Colombia
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

azure welcoming the future.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love it in general, when one hears Azure's name he gets scared, but he does not know how easy it is.

Pros:

What I like most about this application is its ease of use, it is not that complicated and, due to my study, I must use it every day. It is very complete and I dare say that every day I learn new things and new features.

Cons:

nothing is a very complete application, as I said every day I learned new things from her.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Clean and responsive tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great tool for those used to clunky old software. It is clean and easy to work with. Responsive too.

Pros:

To me Azure was a great alternative to other applications I used like SQL server. It feels more light weight and responsive. The interface is intuitive and you can do so much through shortcuts and the command pallet, however you never feel overwhelmed with features like SQL server sometimes do.

Cons:

The setup process felt like a lot of steps I had to go through. At any given point I did not want to walk away due to the fact that i will loose all the work I have done. But it is generally easy to navigate and clear steps. So far i really like it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Quickly moves data

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: A good solid data warehouse. Quick analytical info at your fingertips.

Pros:

We tend to write a lot of SQL queries and data in house. Having a way to quickly move this data from the source to an analytical store is key. Enter Azure...saving the day for us. Also gives us ability to control compute load. We can even pause it if needed.

Cons:

I think they could make it a little easier to learn. It was slightly confusing when I first starting working with it years ago. Doesn't seem much has changed to make it more user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Low Costs Data Mining

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

To host the resources that create high costs when hosted within the company on the cloud, to process them and to reach the desired reports.

Cons:

There is no negative side except that many data are outside the company due to its nature.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very easy to use and to implement

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is good for my part, because I used it to execute queries specially for our API.

Pros:

This software have Great tools and great implementation support. I like this software's ability to make queries many times faster than SQL DB it also handle large volume data with massive storage and it has no storage limit.

Cons:

Until now I don't experience any negative on using this software, but based on my research this software only support 32 concurrent connections and 1024 active connections. But still our company didn't reach this limit , so this software is still good for us.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good data control and workload

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Microsoft SQL has allowed us to keep good track of all our information. In this way we have been able to keep a good track of our invoices and hours work every month. Whatever is your field of expertise, SQL will be able to help you

Pros:

We have been able to set up SQL to work with Power BI and Power Apps. The data interchange goes smoothly and all our data can now be automated whatever we want it.

Cons:

The set up for an SQL server is really important, and I think it would not be bad to make it a little more user friendly.

Amit
MS Systems Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

High performing solution with security , a limited exposure though.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were able to mitigate issues that were arising from frequent requirement change and space constraints.

Pros:

We moved to Azure when we were constantly struggling to maintain on premise hardware. It is so easy to scale out or scale up in Azure. Analytics can never be better than this.

Cons:

Administrating process is little bit tedious and lengthy. plus it comes with lot of additional one time overhead owing to its limitations over traditional in house warehouse.

Prabhu
Prabhu
associate projects in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Thanks to massive parallel processing(MPP) architecture

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have worked over 3 years in Microsoft native Sql server Data warehouse. I know how much difficulty to transfer the data to Data warehouse and also need to optimize the query for high throughput.
Now with help of Azure Synapse analytics it provides 10x speed than native data transfer and also with right implementation we able to provide high throughput and low latency to customers.

Pros:

1. Efficient polybase architecture for massive parallel processing(MPP). 2. separate billing for storage and query transactions(DWU). 3. Manual and automatic pause for DWU when service not in use (helps to manage cost).

Cons:

1. Need to decide proper monitoring and alert methods. 2. Need to Choose perfect partition key to implement the DW or else it will cost a lot of DWU. 3. Storing logs and analyse it will charge you an extra amount.

Mallikarjuna
Lead consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Review on Azure synapse analytics

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I would strongly recommend to use and explore your project needs

Pros:

It’s translating detailed requirements into data structure that are scalable,resilient and sustainable.Also it’s very ticketing process

Cons:

It’s very flexible to analysis of existing reports and key performance indicators also very flexible for data mining needs

Jason
Jason
Supervisor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Data freedom

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: overall i think its a great platform and they put a lot of energy into it

Pros:

Azure allows us great access to our data. it allows us to make decisions with accuracy and knowing that what we are seeing is accurate

Cons:

i think they need to improve the UI of the product. it allows us to get the data but takes time and patience

Chris
Chris
owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

More people using

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We couldn't have completed our task without it. Very helpful!

Pros:

This software from Microsoft does not disappoint like most of its other software. I had used it in my last larger business that has since been sold, but is still in use today with that team.

Cons:

I never noticed anything that stood out, but you are the type of person that knows more about computers than the average Joe if you are using this.

Ryan
Developer in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent DBaaS solution for businesses

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Incredibly robust features set; easy to use; includes machine learning capabilities

Cons:

Best for structured data but cube database was tough to work with

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MS Azure SQL Server DW

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Don't have to setup an infrastructure to use it.

Cons:

There are not options to pick other database engines...you can only do MS-SQL

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SQL Data Warehouse

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to scale and store data. Provides most of the functionality as the normal MSSQL value.

Cons:

Could have better indexing functionality.