15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About IT Glue

IT Glue is documentation built for MSPs. Track, find and know everything in under 30 seconds.

Learn more about IT Glue

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to share information inside our team.

Cons:

They just added the one thing i always complained about.

IT Glue ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

IT Glue has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 248 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used IT Glue before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (249)

Chris
Chris
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ITGlue

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Very good has added efficiency to our business.

Pros:

Integration and automation of our documentation and platforms we use.

Cons:

Integration challenges every integration comes with its own issue, but often we need to jump thru hoops to make the information appear congruent, and avoid duplications.

Brian
Systems Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Consolidating systems into one with IT Glue

5.0 last month New

Comments: Combining all of our IT documentation that has been saved over the years in personal folders, network share folders and invidvidual application knowledge bases into one go-to location. This saves a ton of time when onboarding new technicians so they don't have to learn where all the varied locations for help.

Pros:

The biggest value we have gotten out of IT Glue is gathering all of our documentation, vendor contacts, assets and passwords into one platform. We no longer have to scour multiple network share folders to find support documentation on a particular application or send out a message to the team about who has the contact info for XYZ vendor. We have also seen a reduction in our budget spending by eliminating the need for a separate asset management tool, password vault and knowledge base platform. All 3 of those functions have now been consolidated into IT Glue for one go-to location for all of this information.

Cons:

Importing existing data into IT Glue has been the most challenging piece in two ways. Because it is cloud based, the amount of time it takes to upload data by csv for example can vary greatly depending on where your upload lands in their "queue". I have had a single csv with 2 total lines of password data take upwards of 20 minutes to get the confirmation that it has been uploaded but then a second csv with 50+ lines upload within seconds. There hasn't been a way to import passwords directly into a user's personal password vault. We first have to upload them to the shared password root folder and the user has to modify them to be visible to only themselves. This leaves their personal data to be briefly open to anyone with access to the password module to click on those entries until they are moved to their private folder.

Joel
Joel
Founder in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Overall disappointed

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is regrettable that there is so little competition in this area. Because of this the product is expensive and the service poor. If there were more options we likely would have gone with a different solution. Hopefully there will be other players in the game by the time our agreement is up. Overall, we are disappointed in the value of this product.

Pros:

The main feature of the product is document storage and it does this well. For storing configurations about your client's technology, expiries and passwords, I do give it high marks. The permissions are very granular so you are able to allow many users (and even clients) appropriate access. Whatever information you have for your client, there is a spot to store it. The offer a lot of integrations with RMMs, PSAs and other IT vendors.

Cons:

The granular permissions come at the cost of a learning curve in understanding how the permissions work. IT Glue tries to incorporate a lot of functionality to make it a more useful and all-in-one tool, but much of the functionality is just not good. For example, you can create checklists that can be reused on different sites but it is very basic. We use Process St for checklists and couldn't imagine moving to such an inferior product for a bit of convenience. The password manager is about where other mainstream password managers were 10 years ago. We were embarrassed to offer it to our clients. The website is not aesthetically pleasing and the app has only limited functionality. I have found the customer support to be terrible.

Iana Crystyn
Product Expert and Knowledge Base Specialist in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ITGlue: Multifunctional and Very Easy to Use

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

ITGlue is so multifunctional that it can help centralize the storage of your documents, SOPs, Passwords and such. It also helps in storing asset and vendor info. Collaboration is also simplified in this platform so even if your colleagues is from another country, you are sure that you will be able to share with them the info they need in a very secure manner.

Cons:

The platform can do better when it comes to personalization such as letting the admins personalize the welcome email they send to their new users. Access permissions can be expanded to have a much customized access delegations to every user.

Rick
NOC Tech in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Blah, blah, blah... IT Glue... blah, blah, blah

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: again, overall it's been great. No significant downtimes or outages, yet. that was the biggest problem w/ PP - that, and they'd lose our documentation from time to time.

Pros:

I generally like the overall ease of use of IT Glue. I like also that I can open several customers in different browser tabs so as to effectively work on several devices at one time. I copy/paste passwords from IT Glue a lot because I'm running updates on servers/devices at night on weekends and, unlike PassPortal, i can open multiple customers and still copy/paste the correct passwords where needed. the other product would mix passwords, etc. Searching documentation is also a breeze in IT Glue.

Cons:

One thing I liked about PassPortal (our previous tool) was that we'd implemented a password plugin into ConnectWise ScreenConnect. I know IT Glue offers something along those lines but my company has yet to implement it. Not really a negative for IT Glue - more my company.

Alex
Cloud Solutions Manager in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Never looked back after switching to IT Glue

5.0 last month New

Comments: IT Glue has been a tremendous add to our stack.

Pros:

- Integration with our RMM and PSA works seamlessly - Flexible assets that are ready for import have a great amount of coverage. - Reputation offers a way to motivate employees to engage with documentation

Cons:

- There is not much I don't like about IT Glue, but if I had to choose something it would be the ability to have a templatized environment for different typed of clients.

Paul
Snr Ops Engineer in UK
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform

5.0 last month New

Comments: ITGlue is a fantastic tool that we truly haven't had many issues with. We are an MSP, so we rely on the platform for keeping device configs, passwords, user docuemtnation, company SOPs etc for each and every client. Its really easy to find everything, update and share. It also integrates with a lot of the other Kaseya / Datto products, so this combined it all into an 'almost' single pane of glass.

Pros:

Its a straightforward interface, easy to navigate and update. Every aspects can be secured and shared with only those who need access.

Cons:

Support is OK, could be better in terms of knowledge and speed of resolutions

Nick
Customer Success Specialist in Canada
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

IT Glue helped us manage our documentation

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The integrations with other tools and documentaiton

Cons:

The amount of time it took to import our data from SharePoint

Craig
Service Manager in New Zealand
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Glue-ing IT together

5.0 last month New

Comments: Really good - consistent documentation templates are available, standardising customer info for the engineering and service teams.

Pros:

Brings all the critical info together into intuitive and easy-to-use screen. Easy to setup users. Integrates well with the suite of products.

Cons:

Little bit tricky to configure the customers into groups when they require higher authorisation of staff accessing the information. MyGlue pricing is quite high.

Micheal
Marketing Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

IT Glue Is a Reliable IT Documentation Software

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

This IT documentation system has been so reliable. I like the efficient features of IT Glue.

Cons:

No cons about IT Glue. IT Glue has amazing features.

Chris
General Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

IT Documentation and credential management

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easily handle large amounts of customer documentation, credentials, and other IT information. Our customer accounts are automatically added by integration with our CRM, further reducing time spent on data entry. Credentials for new clients are easy to import.

Cons:

There have been a couple of outages which affected our business the the past few years, but overall service is highly reliable. As with any online service you should have an offline backup kept up to date just in case.

Ewan
Senior Solutions Consultant in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic object to object documentation

5.0 last year

Pros:

The key selling point of IT Glue when we came onboard in 2018 was the fact that any object can be linked with any other object. This means that we can have a configuration for a server, with a linked password, a linked knowledge document, a linked flexible asset explaining the SLAs. The fact that all knowledge can be linked to other relevant knowledge without having to search constantly has been a revelation.

Cons:

There are certain inflexible things in IT Glue - the core assets have always been this way. One example of something that is more complicated than it needs to be because of legacy code is the Documents area. There is great potential here to have something similar to Sharepoint document storage with links to live documents in Office Online. It's definitely improved since we came onboard but it's not quite there yet. You are unable to delete non-empty folders as an example.

Aaron
IT Technician in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Useful tool needing minor fixes

4.0 last year

Comments: IT Glue allows us to save our clients' passwords, SOP, and site information. Because of it, the console is an essential tool in our product lineup. When a user forgets a password, when we need an admin password, or looking up procedures for specific problems, IT Glue is the first place we look.

Pros:

The most valuable part of ITGlue is its intended function. It stores passwords, documents, and other mission-critical information. Their competitors' products are similar. However, some of them have been suffering from security compromises.

Cons:

There are a couple of things that have hindered my experience:-The quick search text input does not clear when switching between different searches (specifically from password quicksearch to organization quick search).- Searching in the documents only searches the documents in the current folder instead of the content in all the folders. Because of this, my company does not use the folder feature.- Password quick search results menu needs improved user feedback. When clicking the copy field button, there is no pop-up like when using the usual console. It leaves the user unsure whether the button worked.- The copy button takes a while to apply the copied field to the clipboard. I have experienced the copy failed message much more than I would like using this product.

Aaron
Systems Consultant in Jersey
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Glue that holds the team together :)

5.0 last year

Comments: We have managed to combine a central area with clear documentation and asset and password access. Before we were busy fools hunting for information and saving information in lots of different ways. IT Glue has streamlined this providing ease of use and consistency for our day to day operations and helped to support clients quicker and more efficiently.

Pros:

IT Glue is a breeze to implement. The most beneficial aspect of the product is the integrations by far. Being able to sync information and map key aspects of data to both devices and contacts is key for the day to day success of our support. Before using the product technicians would spend too much time on tickets hunting for information. Now all the information they could possibly need is at their fingertips. It really is the Glue that ties these portals together.

Cons:

The fact that documents do not have versioning. Users of the documents if edited have no way to roll back a document or see what attributes have ben changed and by which user.

Alex
Systems Engineer in UK
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Safe storage for all your important passwords

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Having a safe offsite location that we can all access at different levels of access for all our critical passwords, contact data, disaster recovery planning and more is such a fundamental key part of any IT infrastructure. IT Glue provides exactly that, and does it very well.

Cons:

It is not the cheapest solution but its the best for a reason and you'll be glad you used it if the unthinkable happens and you find yourself in disaster recovery scenario

Jeremey
Operations Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Documentation system with tons of integrations

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall we are super happy with the product. Now that we have a better idea of the best way to use it, we can get our team onboard, and everyone will be happy and able to work more efficiently.

Pros:

We made an intentional push at the end of 2022 to make ITGlue the one truth in our organization. By doing this, we created a naming standard for documents and configurations which is making searching a breeze for our team. We also are using more of the built in integrations which is really helping automate some of the documentation that we need to create

Cons:

It seems like Kaseya is really just starting to put some more love into ITGlue, so some of the integrations have some challenges and their documentation does not really tell you much on how it all works.

Logan
Director of Automation and Managed Technology in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent product and it continues to grow!

5.0 last year

Comments: We have been using all the parts of IT Glue that we can and love it.

Pros:

The Documentation and keeping track of password including MFA tokens is great.

Cons:

The fact that we cannot have it run on a server inhouse to protect the data.

David
Director of Service Delivery in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Game changer

5.0 last year

Comments: IT Glue has completely changed how we document clients' business environments, the information is easily searchable and at our fingertips so much quicker than previous solutions that we used. Before we'd have to search spreadsheets, notes within a CRM program, or manually review documents (guides, photos, etc.) for updates.

Pros:

IT Glue has completely changed how we document clients' business environments, the information is easily searchable and at our fingertips so much quicker than previous solutions that we used.

Cons:

I haven't encountered any negative aspects of the solution. When issues do arise, support is quick to help or make sure that our suggestion is passed on to the development team.

Randy
IT Systems Adminstrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy Use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Over this product is a game changer with the kind of data that we have to track and keep up with.

Pros:

Software is easy to get around in and find things as long as you take the time to set things up correctly that works for you

Cons:

Some times the searches are a little slow, but not all the time.

Brayden
System Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

IT Glue - Putting the IT in "It Just Works!"

5.0 last year

Comments: Phenomenal. The search feature among folders may sound harsh, but that is truly the ONLY gripe I have had with IT Glue. I never heard of it before I started using it, but now I don't think I will be able to work anywhere else without it. It is that important to my daily workflow.

Pros:

The encrypted password storage and the features of this storage are impeccable. Truly couldn't ask for a more efficient and easier-to-user tool that makes my organization's work processes significantly easier to manage. The search functions among tenants and passwords make using this tool necessary, rather than "just another option amongst all the other password storage software."

Cons:

I've mentioned it previously in my review, but I will mention it again here. Searching Documents by their name/title - specifically if those documents are within folders for organizational use - is next to impossible. Since the search function is so key to the ease and efficiencies we have found by using this product, the fact that folders complicate this feature has forced us to remove any and all folders. Why spend time paging through folders trying to remember what categorical property we assigned it, when we can use the search bar and narrow the options down to 10 or less options?

Nathan
Nathan
NOC Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ITGlue has transformed our ability to accurately document our clients' IT infrastructure.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ability to tag different items and configurations within ITGlue allows us to document all of the impacted components in an IT system. For example, we can document the virtualization environment for a client by tagging the physical hypervisors, the virtualization license, the VMs that are hosted on the hypervisors, the credentials used to access the hypervisors and the virtualization environment, etc. This has greatly reduced the time needed to support our clients. I also like the integrations with ConnectWise and Kaseya.

Cons:

There isn't much that I can say about ITGlue that is negative. I would like the ability to export a runbook for a client into PDF. I know they are working on this feature but it isn't available yet.

Steve
Steve
Marketing in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Documentation is Essential

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, we've been happy with IT Glue. The service desk use it daily, and it's a product I'd recommend to startup IT companies who need a documentation solution in place.

Pros:

Being able to segment customers' documentation of assets has been extremely useful for all departments within the company. It's helped with our productivity and customer satisfaction to retain the information when/ if requested quickly.

Cons:

The ability to sync customer products or the ability to pull them from agreements via 3rd party PSA's doesn't seem to be there. We had to manually create a checklist of what they have and don't have from our stack, but it's not manageable as we continue to grow.

Chris
Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product Overall

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

I love everything from the big features like being able to integrate other products with APIs from simple buttons that help me work quickly and efficiently.

Cons:

Exporting data and runbooks include archived data and I'd prefer it not sometimes. Would be nice if there was an option, unless there is and I missed it.The search isn't as good as it used to be. I've searched for things within an organzation before and it says no results, yet I can manually go find it.

Jessy
Systems Analyst in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ITG is great!

4.0 last year

Comments: overall everything is great!

Pros:

It's easy for us to keep track of important information from our customers and be transparent with them with the help of MyGlue

Cons:

I'ts not easy for engineers on site to take notes. It takes time for them to have to build out the documents. They're still using onenote for this purpose so we are missing a lot of information

Eric
Cloud Support Specialist in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ITG For The Win!

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I use this daily and would not be able to efficiently work without it, I am very pleased with the ease of use and support.

Pros:

Centralizing info, intuitive interface, customized structure, seamless collaboration, integrations – all in one place. Streamlined workflow, boosted productivity, enhanced data security.

Cons:

Initial setup effort, especially data migration. However, the long-term benefits overshadowed the challenge.