15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Apache OpenOffice Calc Reviews

About Apache OpenOffice Calc

Powerful spreadsheet tools for data presentation, analysis, and calculation. Provides scenario management and multiple users support.

Learn more about Apache OpenOffice Calc

Pros:

So easy to use even a newbie can feel like a pro and the interface easy to understand.

Cons:

The only thing that is a con on this is that there is no real-time collaboration.

Apache OpenOffice Calc ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Apache OpenOffice Calc has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 50 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Apache OpenOffice Calc before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (50)

Sara
Sara
Management in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Free Spreadsheets with a lot of potential

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Used in Linux operating systems (such as Ubuntu) and in the most recent versions of Windows. Very good alternative to the Microsoft Office suite,

Pros:

It meets our current needs in the company in terms of writing documents and creating and presenting reports in spreadsheets and because it is open source you can use it without restriction allowing you to save money on the purchase of licenses; its key point is that it is multiplatform and besides being lightweight you can use it without consuming many resources.

Cons:

When saving you have to use the MS Office format to be able to share a document, the user interface needs a good update as it is not as striking, it does not have the option to save to the cloud as MS Office does, it lacks integration with the MS Office suite so that when you migrate a document it does not lose any functionality.

Barry
General Manager in US
Shipbuilding, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

OpenOffice Calc - The Best Features of Excel - Without the Cost!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Using OpenOffice Calc has been a very good experience overall. Though the interface is a bit different than Microsoft Excel, it is easy to learn, and the price is right.

Pros:

File type compatibility, cost (free), advanced features comparable to Excel, ability to save files to Microsoft native formats such as PPT and PPTX.

Cons:

Lack of templates compared to Excel, and the interface is bit less "polished" than what you would fine in Microsoft Excel; lack of export cross-support from accounting software

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Was the go-to spreadsheet app, but ceased being developed and become unstable

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: OpenOffice Calc helped us avoid spending on purchasing commercial software for which this was a suitable replacement for quite some time.

Pros:

Calc has been great for importing various file formats and can also handle importing CSVs in a very flexible manner. It was easy to use and the forums often got me out of trouble when seeking support or a how-to guide.

Cons:

Instability of the desktop app cost us a lot of time and eventually forced us to move away from it. All the while, it wasn't able to export .xslx files, even if it could open them, which was a handicap and concerned me that our reputation would be affected because it appeared we were using outdated software if only able to export as .xls.

Tigran
Owner in US
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Same as Excel but free

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great, switched once and still using it. Nice functionality and compatibility.

Pros:

I am using Open Office spreadsheets daily. I like that it has almost exactly the same functionality as Microsoft Excel, but is a free product. I started using it back in 2009 when switching from Windows to Linux and continue using to this day, now on Mac. It is really nice that the content can be exported in XLS format for those using more traditional products.

Cons:

It is a little frustrating that I cannot copy-paste the spreadsheet content into Google Spreadsheets without losing formulas. Also the formatting is usually lost. I use Google Spreadsheets to share the numbers with my colleagues and prospective clients.

Sharon
Sharon
Owner | Lead Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Does everything Excel does

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use this daily in my business by creating spreadsheets and other forms like timesheets, invoices, purchase orders...

Pros:

It's free. I use it to replace Microsoft Excel and I have not run into anything yet that I can't do. However I only use it for time sheets, invoices, purchase orders and estimates with auto calculations.

Cons:

Sometimes it can be hard to find out how to do something I want, but with a little perseverance I can usually find the answer.

Harsh
Harsh
Software Development Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best alternative for Microsoft excel

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Best and cheapest alternative for microsoft excel.

Pros:

It has all that a person needs for his/her personal use when he/she cannot afford Microsoft excel's subscription. You can choose what you want to delete.

Cons:

Sometimes formulas working in excel which is provided by someone doesn't work in open office calc. Calc has less chart options as compared to excel.

Rafael
Rafael
Jefe del departamento de Oceanografia in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is the best option, in terms of spreadsheets, that I have used as an alternative to excel.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The biggest benefit that OpenOffice has brought me is associated with its wide compatibility with different operating systems (Linux, Windows, Mac, etc.), unlike other similar programs (like Microsoft), designed only to operate with only one type of operating system.
That, added to the fact that it is free, makes its handling and installation in a good number of PC, very versatile.

Pros:

Both in the case of OpenOffice and excel, I have notified the developers very specific problems with which I have found. In the case of OpenOffice the developers once they verified with the information that I sent, that the problem really existed, not only made the necessary adjustments to the program, but they contacted me back thanks for my contribution. In the case of Microsoft, that has never happened and when I have seen new versions I have verified that the problem I reported is still valid. It consumes far less machine resources than Microsoft software. (approximately half according to my estimates).

Cons:

Accepting the reality that most of the users (including my person) use mostly Microsoft software, it is necessary a period of adaptation to use the program, since the buttons, functions and general structure are presented with menus sometimes quite different from the excel, although we are fair: whenever you change the program, or version thereof, you need a period of adaptation to use it again efficiently. For me it is more important the fact that it "hangs up" from time to time, especially when you import and modify a document from Office. I have not asked why it happens, because it could be that it was even done on purpose, simply so that each time you use less the program of the competition, a strategy that is otherwise valid.

Maryelis
Maryelis
Jefe del Departamento de Análisis Social in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is the best free spreadsheet software! It has everything I need for my job. It's free!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is the best free alternative that can be found, with OpenOffice Calc you will not have problems when making your works in spreadsheets and do not worry about the compatibility with other software, it can be highly compatible. And the best thing about this is that it's free!

Pros:

It works on different Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems. It's assistant functions is quite friendly and similar to other softwares, you can also pivot table with a friendly assistant. It has advanced functions such as VLOOKUP and conditional formatting. Read different types of files including xls, xlsx and csv.

Cons:

The visual interface I do not like, it is not updated to new trends. It has been installed with the OpenOffice suite. The graphics that are generated are of low quality. There is not much documentation of the problems, when one appears it is hard.

Hesandu
Hesandu
Manager in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A better open source spreadsheet software...

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Apache OpenOffice Calc is a good free spreadsheet software. We used it for more than 8 months. And we switch for Microsoft Excel. We used Apache OpenOffice Calc, create for financial statements, salary statements and etc. A good free software.

Pros:

We used Apache OpenOffice Calc for more than 8 months. Excellent open source spreadsheet software. Easy to use and small in size. Apache OpenOffice Calc is an absolutely free software. And this software does work on Linux systems too. A free good software.

Cons:

The UI doesn't look so pretty. Sometimes hard to find what we want. Must need to become familiar with the design. But a good spreadsheet software for free.

Michael
Michael
Interim MPD Team Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

free alternative to Microsoft Excel

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My computer sometimes has issues where Microsoft Office fails to load (especially Excel) or be recognized by my computer, and I can easily keep working by using OpenOffice. Sure, the issue with Office clears up later, but I'd rather not have to wait to keep working.

Pros:

The fact that it's free is huge, and can read files that you'd normally need paid software (whether Microsoft of Apple) to view.

Cons:

It lacks as many features as the paid softwares, which is to be expected. Some of the features it shares with Excel aren't in the same place, so there's a bit of a learning curve if you switch, or if you use both.

Jane
Administrative Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and easy to find answers

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Calc can do everything that Excel does. Sometimes it takes a little research to figure out how to do things but the community that supports it is awesome!

Cons:

It took me a while to get used to the way of doing things that are different than Excel.

Sandeep
Qualtiy Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best and free alternative for Microsoft Excel

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Openoffice calc is free and open-source making it more technically efficient for automation scripts. But for regular usage, it needs to cope up with Excel features and functionality. Overall its a great app for handling all our spreadsheets works.

Pros:

Openoffice calc is an efficient tool to open or edit spreadsheets. We use this tool especially for writing automation scripts in robot framework. It is free, open-source and loads files with lot of data instantly. It rarely crashed unlike excel or other such tools. We get the option to choose formatting of the file while launching the app every time. It easily integrates with Zephyr to export the scripts into JIRA.

Cons:

It doesn't have all the features like excel. Copy, paste isn't as smooth as compared to MS excel. It works great on open-source OS such as Linux or Ubuntu, but doesn't work good on MacOS. It hangs a lot on MacOS.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Office Software that competes with the different worksheets existing in the market

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is an alternative to solve the needs of office in the company, although it lacks much improvement to obtain greater performance. Very low cost, provides a robust security for the company, giving it peace of mind and confidence

Pros:

It is multiplatform and totally free, the software plugins are fully compatible with private packages, it has a large number of formulas, it arranges data with great ease and it is possible to work with dynamic tables, you can create graphics in an easy way, the sheet Calculation has a visual basic editor where you can adapt the program to the needs of the user, you can export the files to PDF very quickly.

Cons:

It is a bit slow, sometimes it hangs, its environment is not attractive, it consumes much more resources than other office automation packages, it is not reliable to handle very large spreadsheets, when opening the documents in a package different from the openoffice damage the equations, the files are saved by default under the .odf format which can not be opened in proprietary software, the support for the application is mostly in the forums.

Mauro
Developer in Italy
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A valid alternative to excel

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is very good for making calculations quickly. It opens in an instant and it's not heavy at all and that's a very important thing

Pros:

It is very similar to Microsoft excel but it is free. The features are very similar and I use it daily

Cons:

There are additional features that maybe Microsoft Excel does not have, but this is to do better than Microsoft, the software is already very good

Christine
Freelancer in Greece
Translation & Localization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best tools

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Open Calc gives me the opportunity to enter data as a part of my job. Each working sheet can be saved in the format of odt, that is the open office format, or MS Excel, etc. I find it very easy to use. I would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

It is easy to learn and use, free to download and can be easily installed.

Cons:

There isn't anything that I do not like about this software. Instead, I would definitely recommend it.

Michael J
Michael J
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent free spreadsheet software solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Does what I need it to do, supports very large spreadsheets without any performance problems.

Pros:

Let's me create and edit my spreadsheets with ease. Great import functionality for CSV and Excel file formats.

Cons:

The graphing and visualization features are not as well developed as the most recent versions of Microsoft Excel.

Daniela
Daniela
Agronomy engineer in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Free your imagination

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The first thing is this software is free and a powerful tool. It's an alternative to the private software and in the same way you can open the file of a private software with OpenOffice Calc.

Cons:

The truth, I don't have any disappointment for this software. I think it's easy for use and very complete for make whatever calc.

Ben
E-commerce Consultant in UK
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A fine spreadsheet tool for most, but you may as well use LibreOffice Calc

3.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Works fine for the most part, and does import all the usual web file formats for organised data

Cons:

It doesn't open the latest MS Office .*x files, and it's much more out of date then the equivalent LibreOffice Calc

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good alternative to Microsoft Excel

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall good option if you don't want to pay for Excel licence and willing to learn to use it.

Pros:

Almost all features used by average Excel user are available in Calc. Works on both, windows and Linux. Free licence.

Cons:

User interface is basic and seems outdated. It takes time to get used to after migrating from excel.

Ebert
Full Professor in Venezuela
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is a free way for calculating

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I most like it is its functionality, because, I can do any mathematics calculation by using OpenOffice Calc, even I can draw any graphic from any set of data. It is very east to learn using it.

Cons:

I least like OpenOffice Calc is the way to install any complement apps, which are quite difficult to include at the icon menu of the tool bar. At least for me, it is no easy. I have to spend time for including any new apps at the tool bar of my OpenOffice Calc.

Delbert
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does everything I need and more

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Love that this is a free spreadsheet software that can do so many different calculations.

Pros:

First I have to say I love the fact that this is free. It is a great alternative to the other spreadsheet software. This does everything I need and is pretty easy to learn how to use.

Cons:

It does not have all the features and functionality of some of the other spreadsheet software but I'd say about 90% the same.

GIANNA
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spreadsheet tool for all

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love how much I can do with the spreadsheet. It has all sorts of different calculations built in and can be used by novice on up. I also really like that this is a free program but offers the same as most paid spreadsheet tools.

Cons:

The only thing that is a con on this is that there is no real-time collaboration. Other than that this software is amazing.

Matthew
Matthew
Administrative Aide in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Excel Knock-Off, and Free!

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use this at home, where I do not have MS Excel, and it is a very satisfactory replacement 95% of the time. What more can you ask from FREE software? Kinks and all, I love OpenOffice.

Pros:

It's free. It does 85% of what MS Excel can do. And it's free.

Cons:

The program is comparable to Excel, but more clunky and hard to operate in certain ways. The fluidity and set-up of the UI is not as good.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Basic Spreadsheet Application

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Basic, free spreadsheet application.

Pros:

It functions as a very basic spreadsheet. You get some of the basic functions and calculations. If you are a very basic spreadsheet user, OpenOffice Calc will be fine for you. Also, it is free.

Cons:

It lacks so many features and built-in functions that I need and use on a regular basis with my preferred spreadsheet application.

Zyren Christian
Zyren Christian
IT Support Specialist in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

OpenOffice Calc Review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

OpenOffice Calc really helps a lot when when dealing with my spreadsheet files, even if I'm outside the office I can easily manage to check what files I need through this software. OpenOffice calc is very flexible to use and it has stable version unlike its early versions. And it is free.

Cons:

Just like OpenOffice tools, some of the contents may get blank or corrupted when converting/importing to MS of