15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Webroot Business Endpoint Protection Reviews

About Webroot Business Endpoint Protection

Multi-vector protection against viruses and malware offering full protection against all of today's sophisticated malware threats.

Learn more about Webroot Business Endpoint Protection

Pros:

I haven't had any virus infections since installing the software. It's easy to navigate through the different functions and set up specific parameters.

Cons:

Mac integration has been difficult since Catalina. Sometimes endpoint updates have adverse effects on performance.

Webroot Business Endpoint Protection ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Webroot Business Endpoint Protection has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 214 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Webroot Business Endpoint Protection before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (214)

Steven
Steven
Operations Support Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best of the best, but you pay for it

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I continue to use the software at home and recommend to anyone out there to include Webroot in their list of vendors to evaluate. Do not let the technology get to you. Just because the software does something different than what you are used to, try it out before disregarding Webroot as a solution. We found Webroot easy to deploy with a light footprint which more than made up for the additional cost.

Pros:

Webroot does an amazing job of removing and detecting threats to computers. We also found it very simple to install with a very light footprint on the computer. Users never complained about computer slow downs due to virus scans when we had Webroot deployed.

Cons:

We faced two issues with Webroot. Their technology is impressive, but complicated. We never were able to really wrap our heads around how their technology worked compared to other antivirus / antispyware solutions, but it did work, and was quite successful at it. The other concern with Webroot was its price. It is the best software out there we have found for computer protection but it is among the most costly.

Rob
Senior Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple, light weight, and effective antivirus

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We were a large enough deployment that we had assistance in our initial installation from a Webroot Engineer to setup the different policies for workstations, servers, and remote desktop servers. The understanding of the setting in the policies and having someone guide us to making the right decisions was key to making sure that we were protected and that Webroot did have any performance impact especially on our servers.

Pros:

We use the software daily and find that it is easy to use and do not get any complaints from users about it slowing down their systems. Deployment and licensing is simple and can be done by sending an email with a link, group policy, or manual installation. We get alerts in near real time of any threats found and while we sometimes have to do additional remediation we have not had a serious outbreak.

Cons:

We get false positives around generic Trojans that need to be whitelisted. The whitelisting of programs in by the MD5 hash of the files contained in the programs. The method for identifying and whitelisting the MD5 hash of files in the programs is not intuitive and is done by what Webroot sees as unidentified files. Since Webroot does not have the traditional whitelist a folder so it doesn't scan the folder for viruses that other AV systems use we are often having to explain and butt heads with software vendors who blame the AV for issues. Technical support is knowledgeable, but we had issues getting a hold of technical support and response to tickets is often 24 - 48 hours.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Thank you for all of the valuable feedback!

Robert
ITO in US
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webroot helps ease the mind about endpoint security. Great software.

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Webroot is very easy to install and manage. Virus signatures are updated in real time automatically through their cloud based signature platform. Very good software and great value.

Cons:

There really are no cons to Webroot. Easy for users and administrators. We have also never had any issues, so thank you Webroot.

Nathan
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Speed, but with sacrifices.

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: I've used Webroot Endpoint Protection for a little over two years. I've found every aspect of the product to be excellent except (and this is a big except) actual detection of threats, and client speed on OS X systems. Webroot allowed several common worms through at my client's location, and did not detect them on a standard Windows 7 installation, even on repeated scans, after I was able to confirm that the infected downloads and compromised .dll files were within the scope of protection. Needless to say, this did not inspire confidence. I wound up using a Kaspersky live stick to remove the infections, and installing a realtime threat detection system using Suricata and ClamAV to meet the data security needs of our clients and ensure we were meeting the obligations of our contracts.

Pros:

Very easy to use and deploy, administrative console allows excellent granular controls of client privileges, scope of protection, and endpoint groups. Integrates with Windows server products for deployment (though I use Samba instead, so this was not an option), and provides a centralized point for administrator notification and action when compromised/infected systems are detected. Client seems relatively fast and works on multiple platforms, though see below re. OS X.

Cons:

In my experience, Webroot, though the exposed end is fast and well-designed, does not reliably block or detect common threats. This is obviously a Big Deal in a product billed as enterprise-grade antivirus/antimalware. One employee at the affected client's office was able to download three separate third-party software installers containing malware payloads on a Saturday, install them, and work for a full weekend before I arrived back on Monday to complaints that her machine was being "slow and weird". I discovered that Webroot, though fully deployed and set to monitor downloads, warn on browsing, and scan the affected directories, simply had not alerted on anything. At that point, it doesn't matter how beautiful the interface may be: antimalware software which lets common malware through is essentially useless. Also, while there is an OS X client, it's buggy and slow. It causes problems with network browsing and network virtualization with both VirtualBox and VMware Fusion, and it results, for some reason, in systemwide UI slowdowns, which suggest to me that there may be some elemental problems with the codebase: use of deprecated APIs, memory leaks, etc.—not usable.

OpenText Response

7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, Nathan. All threat related matters need to be handled by our Threat Team directly. You can open a ticket or contact our Team by phone for immediate assistance. Open a Support Ticket: http://mysupport.webrootanywhere.com/supportwelcome.aspx?SOURCE=ENTERPRISEWSA Business Technical Support: Call 1-866-254-8400 Regards, Josh P. Digital Care Coordinator

Anthony
Sr Systems Admin in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Clear Winner in a Crowded Field of Protection

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it is very easy to find antivirus protection but when it comes to minimal false negatives and no resource hogging clients this is the clear winner.

Pros:

Webroot is a thin, non-system resource intensive anti-virus and malware protection suite. We have tried countless renditions of protection but none offer the amount of protection and ease of use as Webroot. We deploy the client from the web panel and each user is managed in groups with group policies set within our management console. All viruses, malware, and other threats are reported and handled by the client and admins are notified of the threat. The good thing is that the deployment talks to our cloud based management whenever internet is accessed. Users can't disable the client either without our administrative overview.

Cons:

The only con I can see is we have had a couple clients that appeared twice in the management and with no rhyme or reason. This was fixed by removing both an reinstalling the client on those particular clients. The good news is that it only happened once or twice.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Antivirus software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience has been positive, I have no issues with this product and I use it for all of my customer which is almost 100 at this time.

Pros:

Simple interface, easy to use, no update necessary, streaming definition, easy to install, and takes seconds to deploy

Cons:

I wish the firewall was more advance and has more customization, I believe they need to work on this.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the honest feedback!

Carl
CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webroot found the virus & kept my computer protected well !!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used many computer security companies but Webroot overall gave me and my friends our monies worth in virus protection alone. Almost everyone I suggested Webroot to bought & installed it, they were quite impressed at how much better their computers & other devices ran so much smoother.

Pros:

The first initial scan found a virus that another security software couldn't detect. I also like how I and my friends could use this software on multiple devices for free.

Cons:

The price escalating about ten dollars or more per year subscription but still a great value. The password protection needs to be more user-friendly.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Appreciate your feedback about our need to make things more user friendly!

Nathan
IT Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and setup

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Quick setup, runs well in the background

Cons:

more reports/alerts on clean scans, what was scanned

OpenText Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback!

Robert
Robert
IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great low noise AV

4.0 last year

Comments: This has been a great product for the lower priced AV out there.

Pros:

It's very non-intrusive on the desktops. It only lets you know it's working when it finds something. I like the low overhead vs some of the others out there.

Cons:

It's not as full featured as others with AI detection. Not sure how zero-day detections are with this vs higher end products

Gary
Gary
Public Information Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Keeps computer secure

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've had no issues with Webroot to date, so it seems to be a pretty good security suite that runs unobtrusively.

Pros:

We got this security software package when purchasing computers and support package from Best Buy/Geek Squad. The program runs in the background with minimal CPU usage and hasn't allowed any suspicious malware, viruses, etc. on the computers (as far as I can tell). It also has a web browser app that keeps you secure when browsing the internet on your phone.

Cons:

There's not much reporting with this software. I like to see what it scanned, what it discovered, and actions taken, but in more detail.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webroot, a powerful antivirus to keep your computer safe.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Currently I am administrator of a Webroot console in which I have the management of several organizations and it has been a good experience when you compare the behavior of the endpoint in different equipment, complies with that is due to find threats, generate reports and prepare exceptions. In the latter the exceptions merit a little time to get more out of it, it is not easy to elaborate them if you do not have knowledge of how Webroot works. The deployment of commands facilitates progress to perform some activities.

Pros:

I have been working with Webroot for more than 2 years and has covered part of our needs. Your database is kept up to date for any threat, the management of the console is attractive and the documentation is very helpful. The control of policies is worth highlighting because if you have a large organization you can set parameters for different sectors and with different configurations that are very useful, even the notifications via email for the followers of the console serves as support.

Cons:

Webroot has many nice things in its projection as antivirus, but has some things to adjust, for example the generation of report endpoints without updating after a certain time. In mobile devices I have had little experience but it has happened that the update must be done manually. I think they should improve it.

Tammy
Business Manager in US
Medical Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Cost effective Antivirus Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I like Webroot. I had a lot of problems with other antivirus software causing some programs not to function properly so I will continue using Webroot for now.

Pros:

The software is easy to use and seems to do a thorough job of scanning all files. I haven't had any virus infections since installing the software. It's easy to navigate through the different functions and set up specific parameters.

Cons:

There are some programs that Webroot blocks and will not let me access. This has caused me to have to access these programs on a laptop instead of the desktop it's installed on which is cumbersome. I think it's a firewall issue but I haven't found a work around yet.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Thanks so much for leaving a review for Webroot! Regarding the blocking of certain files/programs, this can be resolved by using the whitelist functionality within Webroot. If you need assistance using this feature, please see this link: https://docs.webroot.com/us/en/home/wsa_pc_userguide/wsa_pc_userguide.htm#ManagingQuarantine/BlockingOrAllowingFiles.htm%3FTocPath%3DManaging%2520Quarantine%7C_____2

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keeps us safe!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It provides a safe environment for our online activities.

Pros:

Webroot is always running in the background, and updating me when needed, about the status of our online security. It's an affordable and reliable product.

Cons:

I haven't experienced any aspects that I would want to improve, so I would have to say that there is nothing to report here.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Thanks so much for the glowing review! Stay safe out there!

Luis
CEO in Portugal
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webroot

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Low CPU use, with high efficiency and simplicity

Cons:

Everything works, but when the computer don't report, reinstall is the solution.

OpenText Response

2 years ago

Thank you for leaving us some feedback - have you tried working with our support team to resolve your "non reporting" issue? They can be reached here: https://www.webroot.com/us/en/business/support/contact

nyeisa
facilities assistant / sales in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Why i choose Webroot over other antiviruses

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Webroot is a all around simple antivirus that keeps all your devices safe from harmful files and viruses. You can cover up to 5 devices under one membership

Pros:

Webroot is fairly priced in my opinion and not only that but you are allowed to have up to 5 devices per each membership. So you could cover your cell phone, labtop, desktop PC and whatever devices under the same membership. It runs smooth and it hardly ever slows up your PC or device while it is running, sometimes it will a little bit when you are scanning with it, but not slow enough to complain about unlike other antiviruses.

Cons:

There are certain options it has that I have been trying to figure out and has been time consuming for example It took me forever to figure out and set up the password manager it offers, but it is something I really needed in my life. It has system optimize and system analyzer with it but it should have more options such as defrag or uninstall apps etc etc.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Maybe the best antivirus solution for a MSP

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Webroot SecureAnywhere its fits so well we our business, allowing us to secure all our costumer’s network with a minimal footprint agent installed on every endpoint. Is an easy deployment solution and even easier to manage, because it’s a cloud-based solution that allow us to monitor every costumer easily in a few minutes. And because it’s a cloud based solutions, we don’t need additional software or hardware installed to start to secure the network. Another AV solutions offer different kind of licenses according to what kind of device you want to secure, but with webroot one license work with workstation and servers the same.

Pros:

The small footprint of the agent, because it help with an easy and faster deployment

Cons:

Dosn't support Linux distribution and that is something that make you thing if is the right solution when you have many linux endpoints

Rich
Owner in US
Telecommunications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent program at amazing price

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The problem my customers want to resolve are false positives and a high impact on computer response. With Webroot, customers are no longer required to shut down their AV software to access internal website that do not have security certificates. Additionally, they arne't waiting 10 minutes for a computer to be ready at bootup while the software scans. This software scans in the background with no noticeable impact on performance.

Pros:

I love the price of the software. It is easy for me to sell to my clients and easy to promise virtually no impact on their computers processing speed. For those system I have this installed, I have seen a dramatic reduction in malware.

Cons:

It's hard to figure out what I like least about the software. I suppose it would be having to purchase password security.

Janae
COO in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worst Customer Service I have ever encountered.

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been in the Industry for a long time working successfully with 100's of vendors and I can't remember a time that I ever filed a bad review. I do not take this lightly. Our experience with Webroot has been one of the worst that I have ever experienced. Their customer service is absolutely terrible. You will get nothing but generic responses and reasons why they won't or can't help you. Their product is subpar at best. I would never recommend them and have had a terrible experience from consistently inaccurate bills that you have to follow up on multiple times to get them corrected to an absolutely terrible experience from their management team. I am sure they will respond to this review if given the chance with some generic response that they have tried to assist us and have been in contact with us. I can honestly say, they have done everything to NOT assist us, have been zero help and have offered no value whatsoever.

Pros:

I would not be able to list any pros at this time.

Cons:

Cons are everything from customer service to a product that is subpar in the industry.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Hey there Janae, I'm sorry to hear you've had a poor experience. I'd love to help escalate your case within support if that's something you want to pursue. Please reach out via [email protected] - thank you!

Adil
Principal Manager, Cyber Security TP in Türkiye
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Stable and solid security

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Never let you down in terms of security. It is an app that deserves its money, if you don't feel safe surfing the internet, you should definitely use it.

Cons:

I had an excellent experience, but your internet may slow down for security reasons, remember that.

Beth
Managing Partner in US
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works in the background and doesn't screw up our system

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Lack of malware.

Pros:

Webroot runs on our business platform and works and plays well with others. In the past we've had anti-malware software that conflicted with other virus protections and brought things crashing to a halt. Webroot runs in the background and does it's thing without bothering anyone.

Cons:

I understand it can't do anything once the computer has already been attacked and gained certain types of access. That said, we are using this as part of a suite of products to keep our data secure and safe. It's not as cheap as some others, but it is designed for the business environment.

Tahseen
Resident Physician in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice and Trustworthy Security Program

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would recommend using Webroot to anyone, especially new computer users with less knowledge of security.

Pros:

Webroot has been around for a while and is trusted by many. I have used it since it often comes free with new computers, and I have never had any issues with viruses or malware.

Cons:

The interfaces is a little outdated, but, as I always say, if it ain't broke - don't fix it! Online web-browsing protection could be expanded.

OpenText Response

4 years ago

Appreciate the constructive feedback about our UI. We're actually in the midst of a total UI overhaul which will release in the near future - keep an eye out for that!

Demarco
Financial Professional in US
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Webroot - Fast Consistent Virus Protection

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It allowed for quick PC diagnostics prior to the expiration date on the software.

Pros:

The software conducts regular scans on your PC to ensure everything is in working order. This is extended past viruses to include spyware and malicious software and Ad's. For those who need an automatic scan done occasionally, this software is recommended.

Cons:

After the purchase period, the software needs to uninstalled or renewed. However, the software cannot be uninstalled from your PC if needed. If this happens to be the case, keep it disabled while your new scanning software is active.

OpenText Response

5 years ago

Hey there, Thanks for your review of our Endpoint Protection product! I would love some more specific feedback regarding what was mentioned in the "cons" section. I'm having a bit of difficulty understanding what your concern here is. Did you have trouble renewing or uninstalling? Happy to help in any way I can! Would you mind sending an e-mail to [email protected] with some more specifics?

Racey
IT Operations Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy deployment, minimal footprint, and excellent protection

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Webroot is literally "fire and forget". I deployed Webroot to more than 100 endpoints by myself. The process was quick and easy, and now I do two things: enjoy not dealing with infected machines and renew my subscription each year. I do layer this with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, but since I deployed Webroot in my environment I have a not had a single infected endpoint in the more than three years we've had the solution in place. As in zero. As in nada, zip, zilch.

Daniel
IT Coordinator in Canada
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webroot has a fresh new way of looking at anti virus.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This product is every easy to deploy, administer and maintain.

Pros:

Webroot is a very effective and fast reacting anti virus program that is light on resources and a breeze to install, configure and maintain.

OpenText Response

6 years ago

Hi Daniel, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Webroot SecureAnywhere Endpoint Protection. We pride ourselves on making it as easy as possible to setup, deploy, and install. Glad that you feel the same way we do! Thanks again for the review and if there's something that you think we can do to improve, please let us know.

Ronald
GM in US
Construction Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webroot

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Webroot SecureAnywhere Endpoint Protection has been a very positive one

Pros:

What I like most about Webroot is that I can rest assure knowing that my computers as well as my documents are safe.

Cons:

What i like least about Webroot is that there really is nothing that I really don't like about this software

OpenText Response

4 years ago

I'm glad that Webroot is helping you feel safe while you're online! We will continue giving you the service you've come to know and love. Thanks so much for the review, Ronald!