15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Retail Pro

Retail Pro is complete retail management solution for POS, inventory, customer and store ops management across channels and devices.

Learn more about Retail Pro

Pros:

Customer support has always gone over and above the call of duty to solve my problems in a friendly, efficient, and cost-effective manner.

Cons:

V9 is significantly slower. One other big downside to the RPro software is it limits your third-party options.

Retail Pro ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Retail Pro has an overall rating of 4.0 out 5 stars based on 79 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Retail Pro before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (79)

Robert
Retail Pro Administrator in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro 9

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have been a Retail Pro Admin now for years. I know that if I ever have an issue pop up, I can call my RPro business partner at any time of the day, even 2 am, which I have done. I get the same high quality and knowledgeable support I need at the time.

Pros:

It’s ability to provide a one-stop shop. It has everything a business needs to succeed as software goes. Along with it knowledgeable business partners is an excellent choice to support your retail business

Cons:

New more knowledge based support. When I access my portal, the limited amount of user information is disappointing

Jose Miguel
Jose Miguel
Software Development Team Manager in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Full Stack Retial Software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I install Retail Pro for several Clients in America, with different requirements and Retail Verticals, but one common requirement is allow software to connect with thier ERP, and with the Retail Pro strong API, you can accomplish this. So, my experience has been mostly very positive.

Pros:

I've been using Retail Pro since version 8 and now We are on Prism, which is a huge update and change of mind for Retail Pro user... but for the good. Retail Pro Prism its a store distributed web application now, with this I mean that you can have one Retail Pro server per store, in a multi store chain kind of business. As a web application, it uses AngularJS as a front end, allowing a incredible flexibility to customize the User Interface, so you can create your own look and feel for the system, not only for the Cashier view, but for all the modules. About that, you have: - Inventory - Vendors and Purchases - Transfers - Customers - POS - Physical Inventory - Inventory Adjustments - Customer Loyalty So, you see... It is the full package. One more thing: their global support with their partners around the globe will give your peace of mind for your multi store chain in almost any country, to name a few (Full North/Central/South America, Full EU, Some EMEA, Full ASIA, some Africa).

Cons:

Cost, period... But you are paying a Porsche for a Porsche, you know what I mean. This is a serious Retail software, for serious Retail business. You can use it in small business as well, as its perfectly scalable. So, If you foresee a bright future in your Retail Business, you can bet on Retail Pro.

Sharon
Owner in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro 9

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: We pay for the software assurance and don't seem to get any benefit from the program. We haven't had our system updated anytime recently, since we have so many features that are custom we always run into issues right after updates and it requires us to have down time and constantly figure out what caused the issues. We also seem to have a problem with the follow through on projects from Granite/Retail pro. Once we contact granite with an issue it seem like it's either pushed to the side or forgotten about. When Granite is reminded of the issue multiple times through emails and phone calls they will fix the issue, it seems like we are constantly reminding them about any issue we are dealing with. We are currently trying to update our system so we are compliant with the tls from Cayan. The process started well over a month ago and the updates still haven't been installed. Yesterday we were affected by the brownout from Cayan for over 45min and lost multiple sales because of the software not being updated even though we are trying to be proactive on our end.

Pros:

Customization of inventory screens, printing inventory, jewelry tags customization of checkout screen. Granite Info Sys has done great work for us in the past and continue to always follow through when reminded of issues. A lot of the custom pieces of our system make our store more successful because of the features & functions Granite created.

Cons:

When using central gift cards, scanning cards always creates a "?" after the last number. Retail pro has done nothing to fix this issue, we have had the system for almost 4 years now and still deal with this issue daily. Granite Info Sys informed retail pro about this issue days after implementing our new system and still the bug remains. Applying updates to the software isn't easy and requires us to pay our software provider each time an update is available. Reports function, reordering capability, inventory alerts, speed of processing gift cards all lacks. Lack of customization for loyalty programs, we had a lot of custom work done by our service provider, anytime we have an issue it costs money to figure out what's wrong because it's something that wasn't available in retail pro. Lots of bugs still in the software that haven't been addressed.

Dale
Co-owner
Furniture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We purchased over 15 years ago when we first opened and it was very expensive. We use a very limited amount of what it is capable of doing. POS and limited inventory control. One reason is because the report feature is not very user friendly and every time you pick up the phone with a question you get a bill. For example, why can't I run a report on my inventory balance for a previous day? Overall I am happy with it I just think I bought more than I needed.

Pros:

Easy to navigate and does what I need it to do. Minimal issues with the software. When we first started using it and issues would arise the support staff was always available.

Cons:

Needed more hands on tutorial classes up front. There are a lot of things the software is able to do, I just don't know how to use it. "Reports" feature is not very user friendly. Support staff or sales person should follow up each year with updates and latest technology and no one does. They did the first few years but not any more.

Alberto
Sales Support in Italy
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We are still trying it

4.0 last year

Pros:

Retail Pro is a user-friendly software that fulfills all my requirements effortlessly. I encountered minimal issues, and whenever there were any, the support staff promptly resolved them. What sets it apart is its comprehensive range of features, making it a one-stop solution for any retail business. The software, combined with knowledgeable business partners, ensures success in the retail industry. The intuitive interface facilitates easy navigation for both admins and users, with a well-organized layout that maximizes options and optimizes space for processing and displaying items.

Cons:

Retail Pro offers improved and informative support that is focused on knowledge-based solutions. However, I found the user information available on the portal to be lacking, which was disappointing. Additionally, the software's database recovery process, particularly on the main server, can be time-consuming. Upgrading from an older release to a new one, especially when dealing with numerous stores and POSs, can also be a lengthy process. While the software generally functions well, there is room for improvement in making certain basic features more user-friendly.

Dawne
IT Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro ver. 9.4

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

After using Retail Pro ver. 8 for 13 years, version 9.4 does have some extra features that make getting needed information inside the program without running reports. You can customize screens and documents. The software is fairly intuitive. Conversion from version 8 to version 9 went smoothly without loss of data. The check in/out function of the software is improved in 9.4. Maintenance of data is much easier in this version and corrections can be done while users are using the software.

Cons:

Retail Pro version 9.4 is VERY, VERY slow. The Purchase Order piece of the software has many bugs and the company is not responsive to fix them. The reports are inadequate and no customization is allowed without purchasing third party software. Even with third party software, the average user would not be able to sit down and customize a report, let alone create a new report. Basic information is unavailable in the reports delivered with the software.

Mohamed
Project Manager in Egypt
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

i'm working with retail pro since 2013, it was wonderful experience.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: i got the knowledge that gave me the chance to implement and support our customer in the market, very important thing is that i learned how business operate with one of the biggest retail solution ever

Pros:

very powerful inventory management solution, full of function and features. the second thing is the scalability and durability the solution can support large number of stores & POSs in one big database "oracle database".

Cons:

it takes much time to recover database especially in the main server, 2nd thing when upgrade from old release to a new one with large number of stores and POSs.

Brian
US
Sporting Goods
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I'm a managing partner and CIO.

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

It does 90% of everything we want & need. Frankly, that other 10% is probably unrealistic without custom programming. We get awesome tech support when needed, and I especially love the live chat feature that lets us ask quick questions. The product is very quick and easy to train an employee on and setting up levels of permission is awesome. We're able to delegate job duties easily with the different features. Receiving is a perfect example. That workstation is set up to be used completely differently than our cash registers. For example, we have three cash registers our of eight total machines running Retail Pro. Each has a unique function, and the software works well in supporting those varied functions simultaneously.

Cons:

Some of the more intricate details of the software take quite a while to learn. It's easy for an average sales associate to use the main functions, but some of the higher level features get complex. The software can be "quirky" with some old features that were added on to, so there are features that are not intuitive. An example is polling: some things happen automatically and others require initialization. Like every time we add an employee to the system, it's a process to get them into other locations and requires higher-level knowledge.

Dave
Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5.0 11 years ago

Comments: We are Unlimited Skate and Snow in Banff/Canmore Alberta - a snowboard shop with a different attitude. We wanted a point of sale system that was easy to use. It needed to be reliable and also multifunctional with its reporting. Before Retail Pro, we had a non friendly DOS program!

We have been with Retail Pro for 10 years. The implementation was incredible. Their help with the changeover was wonderful. They were friendly, courteous, humorous, and efficient. It took them about 2 days to finalize everything, which was pretty incredible.
Honestly, when we train new people for our team, it takes less than 15 minutes to get them to understand how to use most of the sale portion of the program. The customer support is great. All of the techs are really helpful, friendly, and patient!
We always receive the help we need.
Benefits have included:
-quicker transactions
-ease of creating customer accounts.
-endless reporting options; you can pretty much create any report that you can think of

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

functional not flash

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Still in use as it functions well, just needs an update

Pros:

easy for the admin and user to navigate, layout allows for maximum options to be displayed while allowing for processing or item space

Cons:

The skins or designs of this software still look like they're from the early error of POS, it's easy enough to remove the windows xp look

Ronald
Owner in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

V9 is horrible. V9 reports are total disaster.

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have built two business' using Retail Pro reports. I recommended it to every retailer I met. I could change reports to get all the information I needed to make good decisions. With V9, reports seem to be pretty much be in stone, unless I want to pay an exorbitant amount to have each one created. In V8, I could create whatever I needed in minutes. I don't comprehend how with all this new technology, we went so far backwards from where we were. V9 reports have cost me dearly. If not corrected, I will have to find a better option.

Pros:

I have used Retail Pro for about 15 years, so I am very familiar with it. Rtech customer service reps are knowledgeable and easy to work with. V8 was awesome. Wish I could go back!

Cons:

V9 is slower and harder to get around in. Reports are the biggest downfall. There is not even a simple sales tax report, nor any type of customer reports for companies.

Laura
Owner in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Stay away

2.0 last year

Comments: It’s been terrible all around.

Pros:

Detailed reports are very good. A lot of options.

Cons:

Customer Support is non existent. Stay away, too many times in 15 years we’ve been left high and dry with absolutely no help from our RetailPro partners and RetailPro customer service.

Steve
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3.0 12 years ago

Comments: We have been using Retail Pro for over 12 years when it was a DOS system. We have 9 retail tobacco stores and I purchased the system for it's multi-store functionality. It is great when it comes to receiving product and distributing out to the stores. I can see what each store needs, and distribute to all stores in one screen. However, for five years I've been trying to get it integrated with my accounting package, QuickBooks, and it doesn't work. They will tell you is does, but it doesn't. The poll display is a waste of money. We paid thousands of dollars for their yearly registration fee and got nothing for it. Then we were told we needed to go from version 5 to 8 if we wanted support. They made no effort to tell us about bugs or upgrades to the system each year and they are still like that. I can't tell if it's the reseller/support company, Data business systems or if it is Retail Pro. I have called Retail Pro directly to try to get issues resolved and they never got back to me. Gift certificates are very difficult to do, you need to remember to put in a negative when you sell and positive to redeem. I don't understand how over 30,000 companies can use this program. It's good but not great!

Brian
Account Executive Team Lead in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

straight-forward POS

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

A cloud-base POS that helps all transactions, including an "offline" mode in case you do not have internet at that exact time of need. You can print or store your transactions so you are in control of your own accounting.

Cons:

I'd like to see customer support a bit faster ( we are dealing with money after-all), and although the system is customizable, I think it lacks with information in some of the reporting.

Marc
Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4.5 11 years ago

Comments: We own a retail clothing store in northern British Columbia, Canada and have been using Retail Pro for 5 years now. We have always been very satisfied with its ease of use, intuitiveness and overall user friendliness. Their techs have been responsive, available for consult every time I've had to call. They've always fixed or helped develop reports tailored to our needs. I tested many many different POS software programs before finally deciding on Retail Pro from our Canadian Vendor; Canadian Retail Solutions. Implementation was as painless as using a brand new software could ever be! I would recommend Retail Pro to any retailer, big or small.

Jacob
US
Health, Wellness & Fitness
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Enterprise power for small businesses

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

The software is packed with features that I have yet to find in other software on the market, including multiple ways of handling employee compensation (eg.-SPIFs, different commissions for different employees), fully customized screen layouts, and most importantly the ability to do quick mass edits using the CTRL+F2 function on the inventory grid.

Cons:

Sometimes the software can slow down when too many users are logged in at once.

Spencer
US
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Point Of Sale Software

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

They OneStep team is thorough with a capital T. The product is extremely robust, putting all the important metrics a click away.

Cons:

The biggest downside to V9 vs V8 is the speed. V9 is significantly slower. One other big downside to the RPro software is it limits your third-party options. We are stuck using only one CC processor, which ties our hands and limits our ability to get the best possible deal/rates.

Brian
US
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Happy Retail Pro Customer and One Step Retail Solutions Client

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

The biggest change was having tighter control on inventory, needing less inventory, and generating more sales on a smaller inventory value. That’s pure profit! As our store really began to take flight, we built a great partnership with One Step Retail Solutions and have been going strong with them since 1994.

Cons:

There isn't much I don't like about the product. It is very user-friendly.

Nancy
US
Sporting Goods
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

We love Retail Pro

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

Retail Pro is easy to use at Point of Sale and in the back office. New employees learn the system quickly because it's very user-friendly. The customer service and tech support is outstanding.

Cons:

The only thing we wished our version of Retail Pro had would be better statistical analysis. It is available on the new version, but we would have to do a complete switch over.

Reid
US
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro and Big Hairy Dog are best in class!

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

Retail Pro is well developed, from an end-user standpoint. We don't experience system problems, and they continue to update and enhance routinely. Big Hairy Dog's support is fast, friendly, and - most importantly - knowledgeable!

Cons:

We have been exceptionally happy with both for 11 years!

Randolph
US
Luxury Goods & Jewelry
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro v9

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I find it very user-friendly and very visual with the layout. The vendor always responds to questions and is always willing to help.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of currently. The product is very easy to use, and the vendor is always there to support and provide whatever is needed.

Yvonne
US
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Big Hairy Dog Supports Lingerie

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

The program is very user-friendly. Features are very helpful. Our support is through Big Hairy Dog team, and their team is always ready to provide service just a phone call away.

Cons:

No complaints! I'm very happy with my investment.

Loren
US
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have been using Retail Pro since 1991

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

Retail Pro continues to be updated with time. My vendor, BHD Information Systems, is proactive about their customers being happy with Retail Pro.

Cons:

Some basic features could be easier to use (e.g.-Sales Orders/Gift Cards).

Rebecca
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Crafty Kids Review

3.5 9 years ago

Pros:

Very user friendly and easy to use. Plus online support is very helpful.

Cons:

There's limited functionality for our products, which are homemade specialty retail items.

Michael
US
Retail
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Retail Pro Review

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I've been using Retail Pro for over 15 years and would not be able to run my business without it.

Cons:

I would like the reporting to be a little more robust.