15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

GameMaker: Studio Reviews

About GameMaker: Studio

Multi-platform game development system with drag & drop capabilities, built-in shader editing, user engagement and real-time analytics.

Learn more about GameMaker: Studio

Pros:

The community is highly active and many users keep on posting what they are currently making in gamemaker.

Cons:

GameMaker is very limited on what you can do. It is a place to start making games, but once you want to move onto other ideas, it makes the transition to other engines hard.

GameMaker: Studio ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

GameMaker: Studio has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 94 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used GameMaker: Studio before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (94)

Andrew
Andrew
Camera Operator | Gaffer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

GameMaker has its niche and does that very well!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, GameMaker is the easiest for simple games and it lets anyone who has a computer able to make a game!

Pros:

If you are trying to make a simple game like an 8-bit or platformer, this is the video game engine for you. It is simple and to the point making it easy to use this software for absolute beginners in the industry. You don't need a lot of schooling or experience to make a game. I really like how much of this can be sprite based as well. Anyone can edit images and make characters, items, etc based on sprites.

Cons:

With any niche software, there are some downsides. GameMaker is very limited on what you can do. It is a place to start making games, but once you want to move onto other ideas, it makes the transition to other engines hard. I also wish GameMaker had a common coding language instead of using its own. This helps prepare for the transition to other engines.

Adnaan
Game Director in Germany
Computer Games, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Review of GameMaker: Studio

5.0 last year

Comments: GameMaker: Studio is a powerful and feature-rich game development engine that is easy to learn and use. With its drag-and-drop interface, it’s easy to quickly get up and running. However, its steep learning curve and lack of certain features can be a challenge for newcomers and experienced developers alike.

Pros:

GameMaker: Studio is an incredibly powerful and feature-rich game development engine that allows developers to rapidly create and deploy games for multiple platforms. Its drag-and-drop interface is easy to learn and use, allowing beginners and experts alike to quickly create engaging, visually stunning games.

Cons:

Despite its powerful features, GameMaker: Studio has a steep learning curve and can be difficult to get the hang of for newcomers. Additionally, the lack of certain features, such as networking, can be a hindrance for more complex projects.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Program Development, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

GameMaker: Studio is a great way to get a foot in the door of game design!

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall GameMaker: Studio is a fine tool for new developers, but it will eventually leave you wanting more, since it is quite a simple engine compared to its competitors.

Pros:

GameMaker: Studio was my first entry into the world of game making. It's drag and drop programming interface makes it easy to make simple games, while also having the skill-ceiling to create magnificent 2d-games. It's simple interface makes it easy for new developers to dapple in game making. It utilizes it's own programming language that is a form of simplified javascript, that features simple syntax.

Cons:

The ability to create 3D projects is lacking, and it's hard to recommend it over Unity, unless you are a complete novice to programming and game design. It does not provide the same capabilities as its competition, but maybe GameMaker: Studio 2 can make up for that.

mohamed
mohamed
video editor in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

my experience in GameMaker studio

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: In my general view, it is a solid program, and it contains many powerful tools for making and using games in more than one programming language. There are ready-made projects that you can practice with or use as a game and modify.

Pros:

From his point of view, GameMaker Studio is a wonderful program in the game industry because it contains a large amount of tools that greatly help in creating games for the Internet or for mobile, and it also contains more than one programming language that helps game makers choose the appropriate programming language for them, and the She has ready-made game projects. Use and modify them to make it easier for novice game makers.

Cons:

The price is not good for some people and the interface of the program looks difficult.

Janet
Game Developer in US
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great engine for light 2D projects

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall positive experience, it's great and lightweight if you know you're mostly going to be focused on smaller 2D projects, so it's great for indies and fast projects for game jams.

Pros:

GMS is great for an indie developer. You have the choice of a more visual approach to coding if that's not your stronger side, but GML is also quite intuitive to learn.

Cons:

Moving to a subscription instead of a one-time purchase might turn off people that considered GM as an alternative to something like Construct.

David
Developer in US
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Once the gold standard for 2D, though no longer a clear a leader

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's fine as an introductory software for game development, but it's no longer the best choice even for that.

Pros:

Cross-platform functionality works quite well. Though somewhat counter-intuitive, development paradigm can work well for a limited set of game genres. The YoYo compilers are good.

Cons:

It's too expensive for the best features, and the switch between GameMaker Studio and GameMaker Studio 2 was not handled smoothly by YoYo Games.

Georg C.
Georg C.
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly & Rich Community

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I got into GameMaker as a hobby, and find it very enjoyable, perhaps one day I'll upgrade to Unity or Unreal Engine, but for just learning and building for your own enjoyment, it's a great little software. There have been some super successful GM games released, so don't let it's limitations deter you.

Pros:

For an absolute beginner, this is a great tool to learn game design and coding language. Although it's GameMaker own language, GML, it shares a lot of similarities with other more universal coding languages, and is a good introduction to programming. Even if you have no desire to program, you can use GameMaker's built in drag-drop code features, that let you make simple interactions between objects. Using GM1.4, I successfully created a simple "balloon pop" app for android, so my daughter could play. IT had a lot of polish and GM made it relatively easy to build, and launch on the Android Play Store. I've since upgraded to GM2, and am working on a more robust game, and find the whole process very enjoyable.

Cons:

It is a very limited software, as it only handles 2D game applications, and the modules for launching on other platforms (iOS, android, etc...) are not cheap. There's also been some nvidia bugs, that cause it to crash occasionally, but GM2 has a decent auto-save system, and I've never lost any progress. Using repository services helps as well.

Jonathan
Jonathan
Game developer in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Game Maker is awesome

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience with Game maker has been great, using it ever since I was 12 years old, stopped making games for some years and when I came back Game maker changed its landscape totally different, but for the better, with so much more cool features.

Pros:

Game maker is one awesome engine to make games, has tons of support, very easy to use and just start making games but also, it has a very big community, they host a game jam each year, which is also one of the biggest, you'll see so many creative and amazing games that you'll just love using game maker.

Cons:

Probably the only con would be the cost for exporting your game to other platforms, but it isn't really much of a con, basically its very affordable since it’s a onetime payment for life, which I love, you just have to be willing to make that initial investment.

Linwood
Linwood
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect for Independent Game Developing

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I definitely recommend this software if you are looking to start somewhere in the indie game industry and are familiar with a little coding or still learning. A lot of professional programmers on our team love it and we have produced a couple of very well-received titles using it.

Pros:

GameMaker: Studio is very easy to learn and use without extensive knowledge of programming and there are plenty of in-software guides that provide information regarding the tools available within the software

Cons:

The only thing we would have preferred is a more simplistic layout, however, once you get the hang of where everything is, there is rarely any confusion.

Alvaro
Software Engineer in Peru
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Gamemake maybe is a little better now but still lacks features

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: its a good and intuitive for a beginer engine is really good , but it lacks other features that other engines already provide.

Pros:

- The GML language is really easy to understand. - The UI is really intuitive - The pricing has improved since i last try it , now only requiring one payment of 99$

Cons:

- When i tried the networking features i notice that you need a server with a GUI to use it correctly, now exists other solutions but at the time i dropped it mostly because of this issue. - No 3d is also an issue if you are going for something with that. - GML is exclusive to Gamemaker so you cant use it in other engines

Abhishek
Leader in India
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Another fine game engine

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It was pleasant to work with gamemaker. And openly speaking I would surely recommend it to others also. But they should work little bit more on 3d sector also

Pros:

I have used many different game engines and like others,it is also quite different from others. The best thing which I like about it is ease to arrange assets for the games(for example like in Gdevelop if you disturb the main folder where the assets were kept then assume that you almost lost your source code. But it does not happen here) Also there are inbuilt many features (especially for 2d game development) which I love from the core of my heart And last thing which simply blows my mind away is their community ( you can simply check on twitter) . The community is highly active and many users keep on posting what they are currently making in gamemaker

Cons:

The biggest issue is its cost . The thing which makes me furious is that one has to pay for different platforms ( different payment for mobile platform and different payment for desktop platform) And going ahead their own developed language-GML is not something which I really approve. In my opinion they should have used other language like lua etc Also the thing which sometimes scare me is its future. They have rarely talked about their roadmap for the game engine. And I strongly believe that they should do it And also they never focused on 3d sector (but their 2d sector is awesome)

Justin
Animator/Editor/Instructor in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

As an animator/instructor I've both used and review courses on Game Maker Studio

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Hands down, Game Maker Studio is one of the top development packages for making 2D games, and pretty good one for 3D games as well. In addition, as a beginner developer, you really cant beat the tools set offered in Game Maker Studio. Their visual scripting system couldn't be any easier and will allow you to piece together a game with little (or no) programming at all - a really awesome feature for those who are intimidated with learning a programming language. Fortunately, as expected, you can program within GMS as well, so the option is there if you need to go beyond what is offered with their visual node system. In addition, GMS is arguably the best bang for your buck when it comes to development engines. Hands down it beast the competition here, and this alone makes it stand out above any of its competitors.

Cons:

Sure, some of the 3D gaming features aren't as robust as other engines, but everything you need is here. Also, as strong as the visual node-based script system is, there are times where it cant do everything - no necessarily a con given how powerful and amazing this system is, but it is worth mentioning. Overall this is a great engine and should be considered by any beginner or indie developer.

Julian
UX Consultant in UK
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use for beginners and experts alike

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Put together new prototypes in hours or days rather than weeks or months.

Pros:

Drag and drop allows even novice programmers to get started. Those with more experience can quickly learn the programming language and throw together fully-functional prototypes in a matter of hours rather than the days or weeks it would take with other software.Easy deployment to multiple platforms including desktop, mobile, and more.

Cons:

There are a few smaller issues with the IDE, and some quirks to get used to. Once you overcome these, GameMaker: Studio is a valuable tool.

Robert
Graphic Designer in US
Graphic Design Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for beginners!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, GMS was a great software for beginners. It certainly can do great things as long as you have the patience to learn how everything works.

Pros:

GameMaker Studio was the first DND (Drag-N-Drop) software interface I ever used. It took a little getting used to before I built up enough trust to use the feature without hesitation. It is very easy to set up a game and see what the end result will look like.

Cons:

In the version that I began with, sprite editing could be a little tricky and time-consuming. I was told there were better ways to do than what I was doing, but at that time most of the tutorials were in Japanese and I could not read them.

Sean
Software Dev in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for build games cheap and can do a lot in this engine

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Well made a lot of games in the software for personal use, it is easy to use and a great little engine to start with as some of the bigger engines can seem very hard to understand.

Pros:

I like the fact you can add your own assets and objects with the level design editor in gamemaker. The programming is easy and can be picked up by anybody really and the power you can put into some of your games are great some amazing titles on the gamemaker showcase at the moment.

Cons:

Nothing bad to say really the ui could do with a bit of work and maybe the add ons could be cheaper but all round a great product.

Caleb
Wireless Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Wireless, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for learning how to make games.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I messed around with this software when I was thinking of getting into game development. The interface was pretty easy to navigate. Lots of tutorials on the web and Youtube to help learn. You can definitely learn how to make games using Game Maker.

Cons:

Licenses are expensive and if you want to make mobile games, which my aim was, then you gotta shell out a little more. Just kinda lost interest in mobile game development and stopped using.

Andrew
Managing Partner in US
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our company has used Game Maker and it is the best and easiest way to build 2D games or apps.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Fast and easy way to create 2D games and apps.

Pros:

One the surface, Game Maker is a very easy to understand and use without knowing much about programming, and entire games could be made on this level. But there is also a deeper level where programmers can add any type of custom code to do make the game or app do whatever they want.

Cons:

The only cons I have come across so far with Game Maker is that it uses .pngs for the final art files, which can be quite large. This means you need to be really smart with what images you use and how you use them, or your apps can start getting quite large.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's nice but it has been outsmarted by some simpler and more powerfull engines

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: It helped me out figuring how to start ing gamedevelopment but i found other options to be more reliable

Pros:

This is great to getting into game design and figuring out your best workflow when you are starting out, specially with the help of tutorials

Cons:

The no code and code systems are a little tricky a the beginning and some things aren't as easy to use as they say, for example exporting projects is a little confusing and not intuitive without the help of external tutorials

Surya
Surya
Director & CEO in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good game engine for making 2d games without programming.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Game Maker is very easy to use and provides features to create game with no coding. Making 2d games with Game Maker is very easy for beginners and it supports multiple platforms like web, Windows, Android, iOS.

Cons:

As an experienced game developer, I really feel that 3d or at least 2.5D support is mission in the Game creator. We can only make simple 2D games.

Michael
Video Producer in US
Motion Pictures & Film, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy Choice for developing 2d Games

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been learning GameMaker: Studio as an alternative way to tell immersive stories through technology.

Pros:

I like that it's easier to use and has the ability to accomplish professional level game design at the 2d level. Powerful and great tool.

Cons:

You cannot make a 3d game in it. That isn't a problem because there are many options for that type of game.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for hobbyists and professionals.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Needed a good entryway into developing. This does it well and it's professional still.

Pros:

It's fun to use and helps you understand the principles of gamification while developing games as well. It's straightforward and has a strong online community that shares tips and ideas and workarounds.

Cons:

It's not as fully featured as any kind of full-on coding would be, but the ease of use more than makes up for it and the online communities help.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for beginners.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This product is an amazing beginner's tool and for experienced users can be implemented to create amazing games.

Cons:

Graphics and user interfaces are very limited. Cannot do 3D games.

Dainius
cng in Lithuania
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great 2D creator

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: great created some games with it

Pros:

Great engine to create 2D games ,easy and powerfull.

Cons:

great software i dont have bad words for that

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

easy to use, tons of depth

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like the choice between traditional coding and drag-and-drop options for creating your work. There's a great resource in the program itself for looking up functions.

Cons:

It can be a bit overwhelming for a novice user, especially someone who has never coded before.

Kristina
Kristina
Junior technician in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Making simple games is fun with Game Maker

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is a fun beginner program for making simple games

Pros:

if you want to make a simple game without having background in coding, or if you are at beginners level. Its fun to play around and make small projects.

Cons:

If you want to make something bigger I recommend other apps- Unity Is one of the most popular one as well as Unreal engine