15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Stax

Stax by Fattmerchant is a subscription-based payment technology company offering unlimited credit card processing at direct cost.

Learn more about Stax

Pros:

Software is straightforward and they offered competitive rates.

Cons:

BEWARE!!! Their fees are completely misleading. Been processing with them for a few months now & besides the $99 monthly fee be prepared for.

Stax ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Service
3.1
Features
3.4
Value for Money
3.2

Likelihood to recommend

5.4/10

Stax has an overall rating of 3.4 out 5 stars based on 36 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Stax before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (36)

Matt
Matt
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We save $1,000's on fees with FattMerchant

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Their support is great. I've had dozens of questions and they always get back to me. And they send your payments super fast. Great experience overall.

Pros:

Flat rate pricing! Oh man, this is a breath of fresh air. After using stripe and square to process payments we have absolutely loved the simplified pricing structure that Fattmerchant uses. Only paying interchange fees and a fixed monthly rate saves us $100's each month.

Cons:

The integrations are weak. We've had to build a few workarounds to get fattmerchant to work with our tech stack but it's been worth it.

William
GM in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The price is good but it has been a change for me now that they are getting more popular.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It started out as a pleasant surprise but the last year has not been as good. Their business is expanding at a serious pace and they are adding features for the price increases but I do not find value for me or my business in the new features.

Pros:

The costs are good and the billing is straightforward. The customer service has been very good but has been slipping the last few years. I referred about 4 other local businesses in my area to Fattmerchant over the years.

Cons:

The price keeps going up and I am a 4-month seasonal hospitality business that has been seriously affected by the pandemic. I also know that all prices go up, however, I was told in the beginning that I was in early for their company and my price would stay the same. Whether or not that was a sales tactic so I would give them a chance 5 years ago I do not know. I remembered that statement. A few months ago I got blindsighted with a big increase in my monthly cost. They are working on it but it is 3 months and it is still not resolved. It still is a low-cost merchant provider compared to others but I have a regional restaurant buying club alternative that has been begging me to give them a chance so I may because of this issue.

Kevon
Admin in US
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Don’t use stax

2.0 2 months ago

Comments: Twice a year I think about looking for a new company but stay because sometimes I’m too lazy to do the work transition to a different company. Customer support when you reach them is OK PCI‘s terrible.

Pros:

It’s as good as some of its competitors.

Cons:

Customer support and PCI mostly PCI customer support is not convenient though

Alex
Owner in US
Commercial Real Estate Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Terrible customer service

1.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I signed up with Payment Depot over 10 years ago with my first business and they were great. I have had multiple companies that utilized payment depot however since Stax bought Payment depot the customer service is non existent. Holds can be hours with no resolution for minor issues that should take 5 min to resolve. Customer service agents have to communicate via email with each other from remote locations. Highly ineffective business model.

Cons:

Non existent customer service. Being left on hold for hours at a time.

Randy
Owner in US
Chemicals, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use - Customer Service On Point

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Being able to keep cards on file and charge them after my lawn services are complete is a lifesaver. It keeps me from having to bill each customer, or chase my money down from now on. Also, the way they charge you for accepting credit cards is extremely clear and one reason I went with them. The larger I get, the more affordable FattMerchant will be as well, since the main cost each month is the flat monthly fee that will never change for you once you sign-up with them.

Pros:

Fattmerchant is so easy to use, even to me who has never really used a credit card processor to speak of. The software hasn't been without flaw, but what I like is anytime an issue has come up I email the small team at FattMerchant and they get back to me quickly and work to fix the problem and then update me on their progress. Maybe someday when they get really big this won't be the case, but for right now I am really impressed with their response and customer service. I've already recommended this to one of my friends and will be recommending it more in the future. Plus they give incentives for recommending them, which is nice.

Cons:

I wish they had a way where I could send someone a form and not an invoice to collect a card number. I wouldn't even need to be able to see the entire number, but if it could just collect it to be charged in the future. Right now the only way I have to collect a card number is either have the customer pay the first invoice, or have them call me and collect it over the phone, which I don't like. This is really the only thing I wish they would find a solution for though.

Jeff
CEO in US
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Worst with dealing with Chargebacks

3.0 7 months ago

Pros:

It works for payment processing works for the most part

Cons:

Customer service, especially chargebacks, is horrendous. They use IQ for support which is offshore and they give bad information, don't know how to handle and the system is junk as you cannot respond

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mental Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Worst customer service experience

1.0 11 months ago

Comments: We switched to Stax Payment in sometime in the Spring, attracted by their competitive rates and promising software. But shortly after commencing transactions, our account was put under review, initiating a weeks-long process of supplying requested business documents via email. This froze the majority of our collected funds, causing significant cash flow issues for our small business. We were finally approved after a phone conversation with a representative.Two months later, while I was on vacation, our account was flagged. Despite numerous attempts to contact Stax, including leaving voicemails for the representative who had previously helped us and reaching out to our initial sales rep, we received no response. Ultimately, they terminated our account. This has caused us to scramble to set up another payment processing system. If we were not in a position to have some flexibility in the matter of payment processing, I cannot imagine how we would continue to run our business at the moment. If you are a smaller business that values customer and account support, look elsewhere!

Pros:

Software is straightforward and they offered competitive rates.

Cons:

Customer and account support. Lack of communication.

Pam
owner in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ripped us out of $20,000

1.0 6 months ago

Comments: Terrible. Can't talk to anyone when you call other than an answering service who creates a ticket.

Pros:

Nothing good to say about it. They were good until they weren't

Cons:

Still withholding funds from 11 days ago. Didn't warn me or tell me why until I left multiple support tickets. They needed me to do something to update THEIR new bank info and didn't tell me in advance. Still owe me $20,000 saying it will fund "early next week"

Rebecca
Executive Director in US
Veterinary Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Company

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We went from 1 owner to the next. They made the transaction from 1 to the other easy. And the fees are great. My CPA was impressed with how much we saved.

Pros:

Easy to use. Customer support was great.

Cons:

I Dont have one. No complaints, even when it was a minor issue they fixed it.

Cobren
Office Manager in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Professional

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The software is amazing; But more than that it is the customer service I have received. the last thing I wanted in a merchant was someone that was inefficient, ineffective and hard to reach. I got NONE of that from Fattmerchant. They treat me like they have a huge privilege in handling my money. That is pretty much unheard of in this industry.

Pros:

This software is great. Easy to use, intuitive, and comprehensive with information that matters to you. The thing I like the most about it is the ability to send customers a link to pay there invoice to there phone or email. Great Software

Cons:

I have had no issues with this software at this time.

Allen
CFO in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bad customer service, sneaky company

2.0 last week New

Comments: Very bad experience with Stax. We started with a company called payment depot in 2021. In 2022 Stax bought payment depot, and our nightmares began. The fees went up from 1.9% to 2.4. Then in 2023 it was 3.2%. They changed our fees despite sending us email at time if their merger that everything would stay the same. When we asked for some discounts, they dragged their feet but keeping our hopes up by saying specialists would reach out regarding special discounts. Nothing happened. When we finally decided to close our account and called about the timing and process, they told us it was pretty immediate - that it would be a one at most two day process. When we finally set up our new merchant processing abd contacted them about closing it now he one a 10-15 day process plus a 30 day notice - so 45 days we have to pay their monthly fees of hundreds of dollars. Stay away from this unethical business. We are so sorry we did business with them.

Pros:

Ease of use; nice when the company was still payment depot until Stax took over

Cons:

Uncaring, incompetent customer service; high costs; stealthy increases in costs

Steve
President in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Horrible Customer Service - Stay Away!

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Negative -100

Pros:

10 years ago when we wet up the account it was the price structure.

Cons:

They surprisingly increased our monthly fee structure without warning from $49 per month to $199 for 6 Merchant Accounts. No communication back with concern over this matter. No call back no emails back. I tried to cancel and they still charged me for 4-6 months after wards. Still battling to get a refund 7 months after the fact.

Don
President in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Some Ease of Use but to many problems

2.0 11 months ago

Comments: Converted from an existing system. Was clear that we needed daily batches and had to work with our current POS system, pricing was Stax Monthly Membership Fee and Wholesale Merchant fee's plus fee per transactions. Stax confirmed in writing yes to everything. Never worked with our POS, Fee's are significantly higher than quoted, batching does not at all match daily transactions processed, dates are intermixed so hard to reconcile. = No support, people will not even talk to you.

Pros:

The Stax on line terminal seams to function well. The employees who use this feature have been pleased.

Cons:

Reporting is poor, trying to get batch reports and data to reconcile with is horrible (multiple dates and devises are mixed together.). No body wants to work with you to solve problems.

Steve
VP in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

FALSE pricing structure for processing

1.0 last year

Comments: Customer service is horrible! For example I called twice today to speak with a rep about issues. On hold for about 20-30 mins each time. You are the 4th caller in line .. followed by 2nd caller in line .... followed by your next caller & then ........ NO Representatives to take your call. Please submit your issue online. Which I did 3 times before.

Pros:

The processing is supposed to be straight forward & provide a free card machine BUT .....

Cons:

BEWARE!!! Their fees are completely misleading!! Been processing with them for a few months now & besides the $99 monthly fee be prepared for ... Chargeback service fee, Monthly Location Fee ...PCI Compliance Fee & something called Minimum Bill Adjustment. We process an $45-60K per month. Look somewhere else in my opinion as I am doing right now.

Doug
Sales in US
Insurance Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Fort @ Exit 18 LLC

1.0 last year

Comments: Your company uses very sly business practices and you should be ashamed of the way your procedures are marketed. You provide a quote and then proceed to start the business without consent of the consumer!!!! I would say that that would be FRAUD in ANY STATE !!! Not to mention that you can't even get ahold of the person that originally quoted the account and get an answering service!!!! I will mention your company to many of my businesses to stay clear of your company!!!

Pros:

The woman that quoted us was very nice and upfront and provided us with a competitive quote.

Cons:

The company literally moved forward without even our consent. We were upfront with the person who provided the quote and were still gathering additional quotes. I called the number on the e-mail and you get an ANSWERING SERVICE!!!! Noone EVER called me back and got an e-mail stating they will remove our business from their company!! BE VERY AWARE THIS COMPANY HAS LOW MORALS AND VERY UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO MY WORST ENEMY!! TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BUSINESS ETHICS AS A WHOLE!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!

Shivani
ceo in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

worst payment processor

1.0 11 months ago

Comments: I would never use or recommend this company. So dishonest.

Pros:

GREAT SALESPEOPLE who give you a song and dance, BUT so very dishonest

Cons:

The fee structure was grossly misrepresented. I was told my account was closed in April 2023. They keep taking funds out of my account despite their associate sending me an email stating that my account is closed. Total liars and so dishonest.

Jonathan
CEO in Brazil
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Terrible service, fraudulent billing

1.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Nothing since Staxx payment took over, this used to be a better service before.

Cons:

Terrible service and literally fraudulent billing, they're refusing to refund us thousand of dollars after an explicit cancellation request.

Lin
Manager in US
Restaurants, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Terrible system, worst client support

1.0 last year

Pros:

Not even the fee for the payment we lost.

Cons:

No account representative, no Client support

Michael
Owner in US
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Poor customer service

2.0 11 months ago

Comments: Their staff does poorly when following up with customers. I will switch with in the next week as soon as I find a suitable replacement.

Pros:

The terminal is average. It has performed all the necessary functions, even with poor customer support.

Cons:

Poor customer service. The customer service amounts to calling representatives numerous times with no results.

David
Chef/Owner in US
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A relief...

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: After dealing with numerous companies for credit processing, I came across Fattmerchant. What a relief.... the fees are a fraction in comparison to competition. My company is able to get faster deposits than before. So, not only am I getting paid sooner, I am making more money because of Fattmerchant. Thanks so much for being a company that is pleasurable to work with.

Pros:

The software is effortless on setup and overall operation. No issues on my end and no missed expectations.

Cons:

No issues. No complaints. The setup and operation was easy.

Jessica
Executive Assistant in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Blown away by the ease of use!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We were using SAGE before switching to Fattmerchant. I was concerned that the transition would be difficult. I was wrong! My account reps helped me every step of the way! No matter how silly the questions seemed they took time to help. I LOVE the VT! It is so easy to navigate. I would recommend (and have) Fattmerchant to anyone.

Pros:

The ease of use for the mobile app & the quick customer service response.

Cons:

Nothing

Fattmerchant Response

7 years ago

Hi Jessica! Thank you for this kind review - we are so pleased to hear that your transition was smooth and our team was helpful. No question is silly - we are always happy to help!

Lauren
Executive Director in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I love this company. All merchant fees are expensive, this company is very affordable and easy to us

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This software make my company work so much smoother. We now have one place to go to track all credit card payments, physical and virtual. I love it!!! Thank you

Pros:

My favorite aspect of this software is the dashboard. They make it very visually ascetic, it's easy to find reports and see what's happening. I really like the company too! Very nice people :)

Cons:

The only downfall is the credit card machine is expensive to buy, but they allow a rental option.

Steve
Owner in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Thank you to Fattmerchant and the entire team!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The customer support is second to none.

Pros:

Fattmerchant was a lifesaver in getting our business set up. We talked to many companies in this process who exhausted us by their lack of customer service skills or willingness to help effectively . Thank goodness one company made this process so smooth!

Cons:

None so far! We just started running this company in Jan 2019 and have run into zero issues this far.

jason
landscaping in US
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Fattmerchant Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was super amazing nothing else to say they are amazing

Pros:

Everything its all you need and more they have so many options to help with whatever you need no questions asked

Cons:

Nothing just want to make sure they get paid for the other hand and that you are not being used as well

Richard
President in US
Machinery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New User

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Been with them about two months. So far things have worked out fine.

Pros:

Web based software that makes it easy to process credit card transactions. Pricing is much better then other processors, especially the bank.

Cons:

We have two companies and you need to remember to change the company when posting. Not hard to do, just an added step.