15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Sage 100

Sage 100 is an ERP platform for growing and medium-sized sales and manufacturing companies.

Learn more about Sage 100

Pros:

It can integrate with other products easily and is easy to use once trained.

Cons:

You'll notice lag in the system regardless of the hardware resources assigned to it.

Sage 100 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.7
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.2/10

Sage 100 has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 322 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage 100 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (322)

Onur
Onur
Co-Founder in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 Review

5.0 last month New

Comments: My overall experience with Sage 100 is very positive.

Pros:

Sage 100 really helped us on our ERP operations with its powerful features.

Cons:

The customer support service flows can be more efficient.

Blake
Blake
Ecommerce & Consumer Products Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Huge improvements over earlier Sage products

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've been able to greatly improve how our manufacturing processes across various locations are reflected in our budgets and accounting practices. It's saved us thousands of hours per year in terms of extracting the data, manipulating it, and putting it back into Sage for final reporting. You can now do that within Sage 100.

Pros:

Our organization moved from Sage 50 to Sage 100 and wow, what a difference! We thought Sage was the issue, but really the business had just outgrown the more base version of the software. Sage 100 can fully handle complex costing and processes present in a modern day manufacturing business. It can collect data at various nodes in the process and roll them up for budgeting and forecasting.

Cons:

We use a lot of agile software platforms on our sales and ecommerce side of the business, and Sage 100's API catalog doesn't really keep up with what's needed to move quickly in 2020.

Renee
Senior Accountant and Head of Office Administration
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fortunately this version has been upgraded

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I work in the manufacturing industry, specifically a foundry in Chicago.
Several factors bias my experience with MAS90/Sage 100. I was introduced to the software with no training or reference guide because the woman before me left suddenly and without any documentation. In a certain perspective that speaks well of this product in that simply by internet research and experimentation, as well as a few call to our highly paid "Sage" support line, I have been able to work with the system adequately.
I would love to upgrade to a new version of this Sage product and imagine that it is very likely a much cleaner and straight forward operating system
For instance, the difference between reversing a check and simply reversing the G/L transaction are two different procedures and a third procedure to void a check that has never been issued is a different procedure entirely from voiding a check that you have placed a stop payment on. In a sense, these five distinctions would be ideal for a precise audit trail if the procedures themselves were not extremely complex and vague to distinguish.
The General Leger reports are clear and are in themselves user friendly in offering the opportunity to easily make accrued and adjusting entries.
I would certainly encourage anyone to investigate the newer versions of Sage in consideration of their industry specific needs.
We have not created a direct interface between our receivables data base "Exact" directly into MAS 90 due to the particular need to maintain specific Alloy/Customer information and our small company simply lacks the time and technical understanding to do so.
Again my situation is severely biased due to my particular circumstances and I believe a newer version of Sage may very likely be an excellent ERP.

Pros:

If I can figure out a highly antiquated version of their product without internal direction and assistance, I suspect the newer versions of Sage can only be fat superior.

Cons:

A complete mire of ambiguity when it comes to the Accounts Payable component in this ancient version by Sage:MAS 90

Hailey
admin assistant in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect software for any business

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

I think the thing I like most is that fact that everything pertaining to the specific job is kept all together and easily accessible.

Cons:

When using job cost, only one person can access at a time unless we purchase another license, but its not a huge deal.

Stosh
owner in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

To many steps to do simple daily process

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage works, support companies and eide bailey sold it to us did not do there due diligence in my opinion selling us the software we needed that would handle what we do. Integration problems and being told to use a certain card processing that did not work without a bridge with fusion costing us more money and have had it out 4 times in the last week.

Pros:

The accounting portion is probably the most complete.

Cons:

To me there is several cons we have found after the purchase. My biggest complaint being the amount of time it takes to do simple process. Example: when we have price changes and adjustments to make, it can not be done from a central place. As a dealer that is retail and wholesale both, we have to change retail in one screen, wholesale on another, and finally cost in a completely different location. When you have 30k items this takes 4 times longer than other systems. My other major complaint is dealing with several different companies to get everything you need to support sage for daily operation. We have experienced finger pointing back and forth from the support companies of whose problem it is and nothing gets corrected for months. As I say we are over 2 years from our sign up and it has been a multitude of issues and we are still not complete. Delays on large orders put into fusion portion are a time killer.

Jim
CFO in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 100 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We migrated from QuickBooks Enterprise to Sage 100 in 2015. We have had no regrets on this migration and believe we have much better control of our inventory which drives our financial results.

Pros:

Sage 100 has all of the features that our small business needs. We require inventory management with bills of materials and work orders. Sage does an excellent job handling this.

Cons:

It is not a case of dislike but more of under optimized. The general ledger system is not fully developed for drill down capability. All of the information is in a relational database but accessing inquiring type information is more cumbersome than it needs to be. We have written Crystal reports to accommodate this need.

Shawn
VP in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 Love Hate Relationship

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has been a mixed bag. Having used since Mas 90 4.05. We are "comfortable withe the software and it does the job for us. Currnetly running Sage 100 2019. Upgraded from 2017 because we had to due to payroll module support. For a small business this is very expensive software and I often feel that we could do what we need with less expensive software. For what we pay annually to Sage and what we pay every 2 years to a Support company for basically mandatory upgrades, I am not sure we get our moneys worth. This will probably be the last upgrade we do for a Sage product. Will start looking for an alternative, more modern feeling cloud based solution with plans to rollover in 2022 unless something changes with our current platform.

Pros:

There are a lot of features that help us run our business

Cons:

Many of the features are inconsistent in the implementation. Lack of standardization in reports.

Kathryn
Acctg & Benefits Mgr in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

waiting for many enhancements Sage 100 Contractor

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: been a struggle and had to create many manual systems outside the software to operate and manage the business

Pros:

covers all the basic functions

Cons:

missing many key functions, has too many restricted areas that need to be more user-friendly, that were not designed by real life users

Chris
VP in US
Facilities Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long Time User

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Customer support is usually goo

Pros:

The day to day use of the software works well

Cons:

Every time we update the software or move to a new version, we have glitches and have to call for support. It's also harder now to make custom reports for payroll (since it is a stand alone module)

Tracy
Controller in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 -

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

All the modules are set up the same. We have 8 modules and the set up is the same style.

Cons:

Reporting could be easier. They are moving to crystal reports and being able to export from each module but they are not there yet. Attaching tables is a pain to deal with.

Kenneth
Vice President in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100c 2017 - 2019 review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Company replaced Platinum for DOS which had been in place for 20+ years. So moving to Sage 100c and having the ability to drill down into the data is a great feature. Being able to email invoices/purchase orders have improved the productivity of employees (they no longer have to go look for hard copies).

Pros:

First off is the User Define Fields (UDF), if a field is not in the software or you have something unique that needs to be captured, as an end user you can add the field without custom programming or use of a VAR. The next feature would be Visual Integrator (Import/Export utility), this feature is great for either uploading data into Sage or exporting data for analysis. Memo Fields are great! Paperless Office is great along with the ability to email invoices, purchase orders, etc. Sage Intelligence is a love/hate relationship: Very easy to build reports, but the runtime for running reports takes a long time (i.e. most of my reports 1-2 minutes) versus the standard Sage financial reports of 10-15 seconds.

Cons:

The Extended Description for inventory items. For the life of me, not sure why Sage still uses the Extended Description in inventory. This makes it very difficult for data imports or exports. If your company does drop shipments then really understand how it works. On the inventory side you end up with a black hole. Moving invoices from one batch to another is limited utility due to no one can be in the batch, so we end up moving invoices after hours. When running the Period End process for a module locks users out, so this normally has to be done during none business hours. Sage is weak in the inventory physical count area (i.e. cycle counting).

Bill
Controller in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Software that is easy to customize to fit your exact needs

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: All in all, this is a good product with options for growth as your business needs change.

Pros:

Sage 100 Advanced ERP allows you to create data fields that are unique to your business and have the data flow through the various processes and data files. We have added over 100 fields to our invoicing forms, and the data flows from the sales order to the invoice, to the accounts receivable history. The data entry screens are easily modified to add any custom fields you need. The forms for printing documents are also easily modified via Crystal Reports. We utilize Crystal Reports to perform error checking at the order entry point to alert the order entry and billing clerks if there any issues with the order that needs to be corrected. We check to see if purchase orders are required. If they are, is one on the order? We check to ensure the sales tax code is correct for the shipping address. There are easily a dozen things we check, all utilizing the tools built into Crystal Reports. We have been using this software since the mid-1990's and have upgraded year after year. The upgrades are much easier than they used to be and the features that have been added over the last few years are great additions to the software.

Cons:

Some of the processes are more complicated than they need to be. Recording pre-payments on A/R or A/P invoices is a prime example. The process for both should be re-evaluated, and the process should be the same for any pre-payment that needs to be recorded. Some of the module pricing doesn't make any sense. The asset module is way too expensive when compared to other options available.

CHERRY
OFFICE ADMIN in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EXCELLENT SOFTWARE

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: ALOT

Pros:

EVERYTHING EASE OF WORKING .. BALANCING BOOKS

Cons:

PAYROLL - YOU HAVE TO RUN 2 DIFFERENT PAY PERIODS SEPARATE

Chris
IT Director in US
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 100 Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been able to grow our company and the suite has been able to support this with enough customization and scalability.

Pros:

We have been using the Sage ERP Suite for over 10 years and it has been very reliable with only a few issues along the way. In there new releases they have mitigated the issues we have run into. We have been able to customize quite a bit to make it more streamlined for our users.

Cons:

Payroll we had some issues with and moved to another solution.

Kristina
Office manager in US
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 100cloud Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Way better than peachtree older version. Have not had any issues other than it's kinda slow

Pros:

I like how everything is linied together kinda of like quickbooks. It's pretty simple to use and has step by step guidance

Cons:

Its kinda slow at times. We upgraded from peachtree so it's way better than that. Honestly nothing I can say bad other than its slow

Derek
IT Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sage 100 ERP Standard

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: Please consider a different ERP system before implementing Sage 100 ERP. It's not very good.

Pros:

This software is OK for accounting. And that is about it. Any additional modules or functionality (you are buying this as an ERP, not just Quickbooks software) has an additional cost.

Cons:

Very difficult to administrate. Online help is next to nothing. Proprietary database (ProvideX). Sage Support is very expensive and more often than not they will tell you that they can't help with your problem and you need to talk to your Sage consultant.. Upgrading software can be quite complex if you have any customizations. Next to no innovation in the software. I recently did a version 2014 to version 2017 upgrade (they have new versions every year). The biggest feature upgrade in those 3 years? You can now resize the window and have the text "somewhat" scale. Wow, just wow.

Nichole
Settlements Administrator/Billing in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent Accounting Software

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I’ve been using this program for 7 years in my current position. I process driver payroll and billing in a trucking and warehousing company. We use it daily in my department. Everyone seems to like it okay.

Pros:

I like that you can save your favorites in one spot so you can easily get to the reports and functions you use frequently. Everything is straight forward so it’s fairly easy to train new people on this program.

Cons:

I’ve had a lot of issues with if someone else is using the same area/module as you it doesn’t warn you it just tries to do what you want and then just force closes yours and tells you after the fact. And then you’re like what the heck where was I at in the process? So beware of that. Also connecting printers to this has been a total PITA on more than numerous occasions.

Ross
Owner in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAGE 100C - robust solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Stable, well-built product with good interface and functionality. Good 3rd party customer support. Recent better pricing.

Pros:

Complete end to end ERP solution with robust modules scaled for massive implementations - now fairly priced for smaller companies without the loss of functionality.

Cons:

It is a full featured product that is clearly designed for large organizations with dozens of users. In a small company it is a bit burdensome as there are no quick transactions or shortcuts. The Crystal reporting suite is also full function - but it takes a true Crystal expert to easily create reports. There is no ability to quickly create an ad hoc report, and unless Crystal is your second language, it often takes too long to build a report for a single use.

Renee
Finance Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Proper training required

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The transfer to Sage 100 was very frustrating. Part of the issue that made it so frustrating was caused by the company hired to help us with the transfer.

Pros:

The ability to quickly change between companies is a plus for me. The inventory valuation is a big upgrade.

Cons:

This software is not intuitive. You have to know exactly what you are looking for in order to find things. We upgraded from Sage 50 to Sage 100 so I was surprised at the learning curve. In truth, the only things that are similar between Sage 50 and Sage 100 was that Sage was in the name of both.

Don
Software Consultant
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Affodable step up from Quickbooks

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: i have used a variety of ERP software packages in my career, including Quickbooks and Microft Dynmaics' Navision, and Sage 100 provides a full feaured ERP package at an affordable price. Cost's per user for a month's subscription for the Essentials core accounting package (GL, AP, AR, Bank Reconciliation) and a little more for the Advanced Bundle (Essentials plus Inventory, Purchasing, and Sales Order), and more for the Complete Bundle (Essentials plus Bar Code, Return Materials Authorization, and Bill of Materials). For manufacturing, you can add the Complete Plus Bundle (Work Order, MRP, Job Cost, and Time Card). There are additional add-on modules such as Paryoll with Direct Deposit, 100c Manufacturing (formerly JobOps), CRM, Sage Intelligence Reporting, and eBusiness Web Services. Each package includes Library Master, Business Insights (Drill Down Inquiry, Reporting, and Dashboard), Paperless Office, Custom Office (to create User Defined Fields and customized screens), Visual Integrator (to Export and Import data to/from Excel and Sage), and Crystal Reports.
The Windows Explorer type menus make navigation easy, and the workflow follows the menus. Sage 100 is designed for 1 to 50 users, and supported the creation of multiple business entities or companies. The software has many configuration options, and can be tailored to the company's use, so because it is flexible there is also a learning curve due to its sophistication. Sage has been the number one accounting software recommended by CPA's for many years.

Pros:

Affordable, flexible, stable data base, excellent module integration.

Cons:

Does not have a Point of Sale option, or a full featured Web Store, or user friendly API tool.

KIMBERLEY
Contoller in Canada
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage - Tacking your Companies costs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage is easy to install and can be used for all types of industries from small to medium sized. Easy to train and configure to your companies needs. Highly recommend this product

Pros:

Sage is easy to setup. The ability to customize your invoices to include Logos and what is required to be shown on your invoices is essential. The ability to setup your fonts and how you want reports to print and look makes it very personable.

Cons:

I would like the ability to copy a Journal entry to reuse as opposed to saving as a stored entry. Coping entries on the fly is much faster. When a credit appears you cannot back out of this (no choice to exit) can make a mess of your gl

Brett
IT Director in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10+ Years of Sage in a mid-size manufacturing / distro environment

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage has worked well for us for almost 10 years however as the company grows we find that we are "outgrowing" Sage and it can't keep up with our workload.

Pros:

Sage is old and the core functionality is solid. It "just works" for most smaller companies

Cons:

Sage really isn't intended for large / complicated environments. Once you've gone above 50 simultaneous users and add third party integrations for taxing, credit cards, warehouse management, etc... you'll notice lag in the system regardless of the hardware resources assigned to it.

Brett
IT MANAGER in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 Cloud

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it's a solid product and works as it should. We are a small-medium business and came from MAS 90 to the Sage Cloud 100. Most users find it pretty easy to learn their day to day functions with very little training. Although its probably not the most popular ERP, but for most businesses you should see that it handles your accounting with ease

Pros:

The accounting functionality of the software is very user-friendly. The screens are modern and easy to read. We love the reporting side of the software as well. With employees working from home more now than ever before being on the cloud is huge.

Cons:

Wish it did more manufacturing types of transactions for work orders.

Bernard
CPA in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Wholesale consumer products distributor

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: A Sage Business Partner who knows exactly how the company's processes function is the best option for support if multiple add-in modules are used.

Pros:

Sage 100 Advanced ERP is fully functional for all steps in a wholesale consumer products process. The Reports Explorer allows custom detailed report writing to support general ledger balances. MAS Intelligence reporting uses an Excel BI add-in for financial reporting.

Cons:

Standard reports require knowledge of Crystal Reports for customizing. Adding multiple third party modules such as Scanforce, Multi-Bin, etc. greatly complicates upgrades to new releases.

Kathy
Consultant in US
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Director of Finance

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Master programmers and software support is available across the US. If you don't like your support group, you can easily hire another. No need to convert software solutions.

Pros:

This software is easily customizable at install AND it is reliable. The software updates are rarely a problem; no need to wait for other users to test and work out the bugs found in some software updates.

Cons:

Module pricing is a little more costly than other software, but then again how much is data integrity worth? I like to sleep at night, so it's a good investment.