15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Galileo

The ultimate enterprise-level monitoring solution that helps IT teams answer their most critical infrastructure questions.

Learn more about Galileo

Pros:

It did not take us long to activate the features which we needed most, and it has been very reliable and robust, requiring very little maintenance.

Cons:

I have no real cons related to the Galileo product.

Galileo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.7/10

Galileo has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 21 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Galileo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (21)

Moise
Moise
Teacher in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and implement in classroom

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

It is easy to implement in classroom, very spectacular.

Cons:

Nothing to complain, it is wonderful to use.

Michael
Analyst / Programmer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great tool with capabilities far beyond our ability to understand and exploit them

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall, Galileo has been very useful to us, relatively easy to use at the basic level at which we use it, and the vendor support has been outstanding.

Pros:

Great vendor support - very knowledgeable and extremely willing to explain and assist.Great graphing and charting; flexible enough to do almost anything if you take the time to learn how. It did not take us long to activate the features which we needed most, and it has been very reliable and robust, requiring very little maintenance.

Cons:

It is frustrating that for real-time monitoring, very few metrics are available for which we can view current data which would help with problem diagnosis like a performance problem. (many exist which are of little use to us) . Compared to non-realtime data, almost nothing important is immediately available. We should be able to choose which metrics to collect in order to trade off usefulness (to us) against collection time.It is perceived that to make use of any more functionality would require a large investment of time. We are probably doing it wrong, but we find it very hard to add new systems and configure them into our existing notifications - we have to do them one by one and feature by feature rather than being able to add a list of hosts to an existing object or capability.All systems send data to the cloud at the same time and that can result in some performance issues.We would like to be able to send alerts to distribution lists defined and controlled at our site so that the Galileo configuration does not have to change (e.g. the on-call paging), but with the monitoring hosted at AWS, email alerts take so many hops in AWS to our site and back out to MS365 ( hosted elsewhere) and through those mail hosts, that email alerts are rejected by cloud mail servers (over which we have no control) because they have been forwarded too many times ; we cannot leverage our on-site DLs and have to manually update the addresses in the Galileo GUI, which is tedious

Andrew
Lead Infrastructure Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Galileo Review

4.0 last month New

Comments: I like the product and have been using it for several years, back to about 2016. It has a ton of real time data and can help you manage your enterprise better. It just takes time to learn how to use.

Pros:

Real time data helps us troubleshoot with current data. Its ability to work with all of our storage device types makes integration easy. Its reporting trends helps us be proactive with our storage capacity planning.

Cons:

It sometimes takes a while to figure out how to find what you are looking for. This is good and bad. Its all there, its just a matter of finding out where to look for what you need. It takes time to dig around and figure out how it works.

John
Cloud Capacity Manager in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Performance Data Analytics as it should be SIMPLE!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Analysis of a total customer environment could have taken weeks before Galileo, now it take a couple of days to present data encompassing years years.

Pros:

What is most impressive with this product is it's intuitive nature and it's simple deployment paradigm.

Cons:

The product need to allow the user community to define its own reporting based on all the data collected.

Derek
Technical Program Director in US
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Galileo Review 10-26-23

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I was the initial PM on the Galileo POC. Working with [sensitive content hidden] and others at Galileo has been great from the start. I've been in the IT infrastructure filed for 35+ years and they aren't a typical technology company. They are just as engaged post sale as pre-sale. Once purchased and deployed we had numerous Galileo led technical sessions on how to get the most out of the product. When we need a report Galileo showed us where we could gather the info or they created and customized a report just for us. We find their pricing very reasonable and we've not seen any large increases in license fees since we purchased. We're currently looking into a Galileo site license to expand our trouble shooting, capacity planning, reporting and governance capablilties.

Pros:

Galileo provides our company numerous benefits. We have the Galileo AIX agents installed on all of our AIX machines. We use Galileo to do real-time troubleshooting, performance management and reporting. The tool is also used by our governance teams to ensure our service provider is meeting our SLA and KPIs. Our service provider uses Galileo to gather data they can't get from the native in house tools. Reporting on the environment is critical in my role and the Galileo staff has been more than willing to create and customize reports for myself and numerous other areas.

Cons:

I have no real cons related to the Galileo product.

William
CTO in US
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Early Adopter of Galileo, Troy University

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

As early adopters of the Galileo Suite, Troy University has significantly benefited from its robust IT infrastructure monitoring capabilities. The tool's predictive analytics and custom dashboards have been instrumental in proactively identifying system performance issues, preventing potential downtime. Its secure, agentless architecture and insightful exploratory analytics have streamlined our IT operations, enhancing efficiency and reliability across our campus networks.

Cons:

Exceptionally pleased with the tool, no complaints.

John
Sr. Unix Systems Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Galileo User Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've used this to determine the impacts of application upgrades and for troubleshooting issues. We've also been able to identify anomalies and get them resolved before they became larger issues.

Pros:

It's comprehensive - it captures things many competing products don't. It's fairly intuitive once you've started using it a bit.

Cons:

Due to the vast functionality available, it can be tricky to find/configure things exactly the way you want.

Scott
Network Analyst in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Galileo delivers analytics for my enterprise

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are able to see statistics and trends which VMware does not provide out of the box. This help determine performance baselines and give us historical views on our environment. We can plan for improvements and upgrades and determine how our needs have changed.

Pros:

Galileo is an essential tool in my day to day work. I can quickly troubleshoot any storage issues from the array all the way to VMware in one place. I can see response times, utilization and if needed I can download the inventory and records which has helped me create my own storage reports as well. We have identified bottlenecks we did not know existed. I like being able to show trends to determine when we will need to upgrade based on statistics rather than subjective opinions.

Cons:

Galileo's always working on improvements to the application. They could do a better job informing their customers of the changes, with emails and classes.

Ron
Systems Analyst/Programmer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Galileo Performance Explorer

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Automation of monitoring and notification. Timely reporting on issues.

Cons:

Have not reported any Cons to anyone on the team.

Brian
Unix Hosting Services Team Leader in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Galileo Review

5.0 last year

Comments: My experience with Galileo has been fantastic. I don't recall ever having an issue with usage and availability.

Pros:

The few times I needed assistance from support it was a good experience allowing private one on one time with support to work thru the issue to resolution.Having the history of the data available has been extremely beneficial.

Cons:

There are other features that I haven't tapped into yet such as reporting aspects or customized reports which I am unsure how to get started and what is offered.A heatmap is a feature that I would like to see implemented.

Mark
Manager, Compute and Storage in US
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Galileo review

5.0 last year

Comments: I am able to review performance information and use it to troubleshoot issues. i like that the data remains in Galileo for as long as it's collected and you can revert back to old data for comparison.

Pros:

I like that Galileo supports multiple platforms, including cloud. I use it for problem determination, scoping growth, troubleshooting, report generation. I have it installed on my IBM iSeries partitions as well as my AIX/VIO/Linux machines as well.

Cons:

If anything, I think there should be a centralized page describing what each feature of Galileo does- Explorer, Cloud Compass, Observatory, etc. For users that are new to the product, understanding what each of these can show you is important.

sandy
Sr. Manager, IBM i and Storage in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Single Pane of Glass

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: its is a great product with amazing sales, support, and development teams' backing it

Pros:

its ease of use, and details of performance and you can see your infrastructure in one location

Cons:

wish we were able to alert on Storage. ie.. when one or a few metrics spiked - i.e Host Cluster Service time spiked over 2milliseconds.. But we have started working with support and development to get this implemented

Nathan
SAN Admin in US
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From a SAN Admin Perspective

5.0 last year

Comments: Galileo has found bottle necks in our network environment and help resolve issues with our customers by the numerus and excellent charts provided by Galileo.

Pros:

I like that I can see from end to end via storage arrays to core switch's, to the hosts. I also like that Galileo can see into multiple vendors and provide the detailed data with very fast response time.

Cons:

Not FED ramped. We were not able to leverage galileo in the federal cloud as a service.

Earl
Systems Engineer in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A product that works as expected for Monitoring

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Exceptional we use daily exec reporting to identify potential issues

Pros:

It monitors a variety of OSes and is comprehensive with details and summary

Cons:

I have no dislikes at all - products just work

Paul
Network Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lewisville ISD

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Support is top-notch , quick response on questions or problems.
I like that data is never deleted always available to compare.
We had a reports that payroll was running slow after upgrade. I was able to run reports that proved it was program and not the network, storage, virtual environment down to the VM's (payroll vm's)

Pros:

The ability to quickly troubleshoot problems and prove that the environment is healthy. Easy to look end to end view of you network and virtual environment.

Cons:

Updating clients software. Sometime solution enablers vm's need rebooting.

Steven
Infrastructure Svc Engineer Sr. Advisor in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power Infrastructure value

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Very useful from a governance view.

Pros:

View of all aspects of server performance and resource usage as governance of Power systems.

Cons:

Not features but maintenance of agent health.

Michael
Egineering Supervisor in US
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Really well, support rocks

Pros:

Overall Views into our Datacenter, supports many OS

Cons:

Always having to resync Azure Vms and send in emails to correct duplicate issues

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of deployment and depth of system insight

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Beyond having insight to discover and resolve performance issue, Galileo helps with utilization tracking, sizing and anticipating future needs. Analytics helps find issues you might not have been looking for.

Pros:

How easy it is to deploy and how quickly I get access to relevant and useful data.

Cons:

That from the interactive charts view, there isn't a link, for an individual device or VM, to take me to the core Galileo view of that host or VM.

Stephen
VP of Technical Resources in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Must Have Data Center Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Galileo Performance Explorer is very intuitive, easy to get started with and easy to navigate. What we also like about this product is how it keeps evolving and adding new hardware to help you manage and now even allowing you to look at your EPIC environment. As they continue to grow their product, it will be a one stop shop for a great tool.

Cons:

Nothing to add here because it keeps evolving and everything they add is relevant to the data center.

Connor
Owner in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool for capacity planning

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The on-going support is great; I use this for capacity planning and it’s a gamechanger.

Pros:

Easy to use, no training required. Like that I can dig deep into historical data for planning initiatives.

Cons:

I would like more dashboard customization options for my specific infrastructure.

Matthew
Project Manager in US
Building Materials, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Multiple dashboards and easy to set up

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great support, end to end data, trending and forcasting, visibility, and the UI is clean.

Pros:

It goes deep and supports almost everything.

Cons:

There is no mainframe support unless it's Linux on Z.