GigaTrak Asset Tracking System Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

GigaTrak Asset Tracking Software, a powerful easy to use solution to manage all of your stuff. Call us today!

Learn more about GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

Showing 50 reviews

Drew R.
Administrative Assistant
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Very Useful Product"

Comments: For the most part it has been a really good experience. The more I use it the more I realize as to what it does. I really like all the different reports you can generate also.

Pros: I like how you can assign an asset to an individual and then keep track of the history of that asset as to who used it last. I also like how you can look each individual asses up by the asset number assigned to it.

Cons: I wish there was a mobile app I could use to scan the asset bar code so I didn't have to run back and forth to the computer to enter an asset's number. We bought a scanner but hardly ever use it. I typically open the note app on my iphone and keep track of what asset numbers need to be assigned to different users. It would save so much time if there was an app I could use to scan the bar codes of the assets.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Hey Drew! We now have a mobile app available for our Asset Tracking System that can accomplish just what you are looking for! Feel free to reach out to [email protected] to learn more about it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Jeanie F.
Administrative Assistant
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"GigaTrak Review"

Comments: I am greatly pleased with GigaTrak. Not only the program itself but with the support and customer service. They are continually updating and growing which keeps the program matching our needs as we grow.

Pros: This program is one of the easiest programs to use that I have had experience with. It has helped our school district tremendously in maintaining better inventory records.

Cons: My only dislike is that the program seems to be more " GigaTrak barcode" driven and we inventory using our own asset tags/numbers. So when trying to search for a device in some reports our asset number will not flow through, only the GigaTrak barcode number will show. So it requires more work on our end.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Appreciate the feedback Jeanie! We do rely heavlily on barcode as the unique identifier for an asset. We do allow customers to check out/in an asset with either barcode or asset number! We can also create custom reports for you that can include the information you are looking for. Feel free to reach out to [email protected] for a quote!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Maria R.
Utility Clerk/Property Control Manager
Utilities, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"My Experience with GigaTrak"

Pros: What I like the most about this software is that it is very easy to understand, and to follow thru. The assets are easy to find with all the many search criteria that it has. I like the reports, and the ability to add more than one picture or document to each asset.

Cons: What I like the least about this software, is that every time that I search a bar code list for a location the order of the assets is different every time. It would be better if the order would always pull up by the smallest number to biggest number. Another thing would be good to have is the picture of the asset printed on the "print bar code list."

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for the feedback Maria! We provide many different fields that allow you to track very detailed information about an asset and search by that criteria. When searching for an asset using filters on the F1 tab, you can easily sort by barcode by clicking on the Barcode column header. This setting will save for your next search. Also, we are always adding feature requests to the system so I will be sure to put down adding a picture to the barcode list! Thanks for being a GigaTrak user!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Joe M.
Operations Supervisor
Broadcast Media, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019

"GigaTrak Overview"

Comments: Our media library houses thousands and thousands of broadcast tapes and drives. The older library system was archaic and GigaTrak helped resolve the challenges we encountered and is still working fine after 9-years of usage.

Pros: Easy use and quick to comprehend for newer users.

Cons: The earlier versions of the software were not as user friendly but changes were made that catered more to our type of business (see below)

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for being a valued customer! We are always working to better our product and add feature updates as our customers needs change. We appreciate your feedback!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Chris M.
leaderman
Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Easy to use software"

Comments: I like the fact that with little training i was able to get around to the information that i use on a daily basis. ease of operation.

Pros: Being able to navigate thru the user interface.

Cons: i have no issues or complaints with this software. Once the program is loaded the process for navigating is straight forward

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for the feedback Chris! We truly appreciate it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
John B.
Technical Specialist / Parts Specialist
Utilities, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"A Whole Different Experience"

Comments: We are --finally-- getting a grip on the inner workings of our Tool Repair Shop. Business metrics were previously difficult to acquire and to work with. Prioritizing work was a difficult manual process, and communicating with our customers was problematic at best. Now, with the new system, and the GigaTrak Team behind it, our Tool Repair Shop, and company as a whole, is sure to benefit.

Pros: Simply put, the software is everything that we need it to be, and will likely perform beyond expectations. The company's personnel and customer focus is by far, the best I've experienced, bar none. Working with the folks at GigaTrak made me feel that we were colleagues working for the same company and on the same project. Their positive, friendly attitudes made it a pleasure to work with their personnel and their product. Well done, GigaTrak!

Cons: Minor aspects of the program could be refined to suit our application a little better. This being said, I am confident that working together with GigaTrak will surely lead to future enhancements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Greg B.
Tool Crib / Lab Technician
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"School Edition"

Comments: No more lost or misplaced tools! I have it set-up so the tools are signed out to a certain instructor, this puts the responsibility on to them to make sure that their students return the borrowed tools at the end of each day.

Pros: I have a much easier time keeping track of the tools that leave my tool room. The system gives you different options to check the tools out too. you can check out with the scanner or manually enter the number you have created for that tool, I find this especially handy to keep the students working quickly.

Cons: There is no where in the software to input a location within your tool room location.(shelf location). However I was still able to put it under "notes" and this seems to work well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Calvin G.
Shop Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018

"Great program"

Pros: We are very happy with our Gigatools program, it has been a great asset to this business

Cons: Really there is not much to say, everything is great

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Mark G.
Construction MAintenance Administrator
Government Relations, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Tool Control and Inventory"

Comments: We are in the process of expanding the Giga Trak system into other areas of this agency

Pros: A great way to track my tools and inventory, when it was checked in or out and who to

Cons: importing all our files into the system

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Appreciate the review Mark! Feel free to reach out to [email protected] if you need any help with your import!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Shawn B.
IT Manager
Information Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/05/2019

"GigaTrak Works"

Pros: Gigatrak does what it's meant to do. We've never had an issue.

Cons: The built-in reports are good but it would be nice to have more customizable reports.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks Shawn! We are working to provide more customizable reports in the near future! Stay tuned!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/05/2019
Christian P.
IT
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021

"gigatrack"

Comments: we are happy in the company with it

Pros: That I can se it up on my server and i can manage locally

Cons: seems to work good, but it can be tricky to user with no experience

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 16/04/2021

Christian, thanks for your feedback. Ease of use and helping companies get up and running is most important. We would like any feedback you may have on how we could help mobile users get up and running faster and often make changes to our solutions based on hearing from customer like you. Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021
Mark F.
SR. Maintenance Eng
Automotive, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Not use Yet"

Comments: Have not used yet

Pros: We are still getting the software updated

Cons: Have not used yet to have a good or bad statement

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Hey Mark! We are here to help! Whenever you are ready to get started, please reach out to [email protected] to set something up!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Michael E.
IT Manager
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Does just what we wanted"

Comments: The search for a program to use as a lending library was exhaustive and felt like it would never end, until I found Giga Track. The install was easy, adding and tracking items was a piece of cake, and getting a custom form was as simple as asking for it. We like the program very much.

Pros: I like the ease of use. It made our transition from paper to electronic track of our hand held radios flawless.

Cons: Licensing. We will have to buy a very expensive upgrade just to be able to remove items from our database.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Hi Michael! Feel free to contact [email protected] regarding removing items from your database. This feature is available with all editions of our software and does not require any additional licensing, upgrade or support!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Greg B.
Tool Crib/Lab Technician
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Gigatrak"

Comments: The sales team and support services are amazing to deal with. I am new to software like this so it was a lot to get used to and to set up.

Pros: The Gigatrak software allows me to keep inventory of all the tools/consumables in our tool room. It has placed not only the students but also the instructors accountable for all tools checked out that day.
Before Gigatrak we used a "pen to paper" method of checking tools out. While this method worked, it was quite tedious was often forgot about by staff. Gigatrak has made staff more aware that an inventory control system is in place, and not only that it must be used, but that it is easy to use!

Cons: It is quite hard within the Gigatrak software to give an exact location to an item with a room.
We also purchased the Dolphin 60s scanner. I feel that this scanner is very hard to use and is not worth the money spent. A cordless scanner and using the software directly on the computer is much easier.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thank you for your input Greg! Keeping people accountable for their assets is essential in any business. You can also track down an asset to a specific location within a room by getting more specific in your location structuring throughout the system. With unlimited locations, you can add in as many as you would like. We also now offer a downloadable mobile app for your Asset Tracking System. This way, you can use your own device such as a phone or tablet to do transactions eliminating the need to buy a handheld scanner. Feel free to reach out to [email protected] for a free trial!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Jennifer A.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2016

"Great, efficient and simple system!!"

Comments: The overall experience has been great, it was designed to take inventory of all of the PC's within the organization and we expanded the use to tools at the main shop and all of our locations, and then we began to use it to track tools on job sites. Everyone was able to use it, it was so easy. The software was incredibly user friendly. You could import and export inventory to excel. It saved time and was very effective.

Pros: The sensibility of it. For anyone who may be technically challenged this is so easy, simple and not confusing.

Cons: Nothing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2016
Joshua C.
Metrology Specialist
Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Giga Trak is a very useful tool"

Comments: we have a rotatable pool for instruments utilized in research

Pros: The ability to process check outs and check ins quickly and reliably.

Cons: Portability onto modern electronic devices is very limited

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for the input Joshua! We have recently released a downloadable app for your self-hosted system that turns your smart device into a scanner. Feel free to contact [email protected] to learn more about it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
I.T. Project Manager
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"User Friendly, Accurate and Cost Effective"

Comments: This software has enabled real time tracking of Firearms and Law enforcement equipment with a quick checking in and out of assets and allows sworn personnel to be deployed rapidly and efficiently.

Pros: User Friendly goes a long way for Police Officers checking equipment In and Out .

Cons: Reports. I feel there should be a better adhoc reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Jonathan T.
IT Consultant
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Great support"

Pros: Excellent hands-on support from the reps in setting us up and migrating our software between platforms.

Cons: Historically when we use to have the version which used Windows CE it was harder. Not because of Gigatrak per se but having to use Windows CE and the joys of non persistent memory.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for the feedback Jonathan! Unfortunately with Windows Mobile being discontinued by Microsoft and everything switching to Android the legacy units are becoming harder to support. Please let us know if you would like information on switching over to Android by contacting [email protected]

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Tim M.
Director of IT
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2016

"Gigatrak worked for us...."

Comments: Product has all the functionality that most will need. Customer services and sales are very easy to work with and knowledgeable about the product and options. Between costs and functionality it hit our sweet spot for auditing our electronic hardware as will soon include all furniture and facility assets as well.

Pros: Compared to other tools relatively inexpensive and 1 time expense vs. recurring annual cost with most others.

Cons: Its a little visual clunky and old school as compared to others but it works well for what its designed to do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2016
Lauren H.
Buyer
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Great Product for Basic Inventory Management"

Comments: I have a database for all my inventory with a history. Previously we were using Excel to track and manage over 4000 pieces of equipment and it was not a realistic tool for that. Gigatrak has streamlined our property management process and provided us with much more reliable data.

Pros: This software is very user friendly. There is the ability to easily customize a few fields which is nice. I can export reports into a CSV easily and modify them in Excel.

Cons: We have the Asset Tracker tool and the "inventory" feature on the tool needs lot of work. I need to inventory all of my items once a year and the way it is currently set up makes that task very difficult. You also cannot change much of the item's information from the handheld during an inventory which is a problem. You also can not enter a new item using the handheld, which other software products allow you to do.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for your input Lauren! We truly appreciate hearing from our customers on ways to better our product! Right now, our Tool Tracking system does allow you to add in brand new assets on the mobile app. If you are interested in learning more about it, please feel free to reach out to [email protected]

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Ken B.
IT
Environmental Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"Gigatrak review"

Pros: It provides a robust platform for inventory and equipment management.

Cons: The limit of scalability and customization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Tammy L.
Technology Procurement/Admin Asst
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Great Value with Intuitive Framework"

Comments: We are a one to one district with thousands of devices in the hands of students and staff. GigaTrak has allowed us to document the movement of devices between individuals and any required maintenance that may necessary. It has created accountability with the end user as well. GigaTrak is used at the beginning and end of the year for device roll-out and intake. With the use of GigaTrak, we have refined this process so that it is accurate and expedient. Love the software!!

Pros: This software has been so easy to use and intuitive. There are so many options for customizing to fit your organizations needs and when we did need custom programming, it was affordable and finished in a timely fashion. We researched several options and this one definitely stood out and was the most affordable. We also love the ability to run customized reports, upload large groups of data, and the many ways you can search for information. Because there are Categories, we not only track technology, but some of our other departments items such as uniforms and tools. Also love the "bin item" feature for the consumables that won't be assigned individual asset tags.

Cons: We are tracking inventory based on Asset Tag numbers. It would be nice if all search result screens included the asset tag. Often we see the system assigned barcode and then have to enter that in the asset search field to identify the asset tag. Since these items are already linked, it would be nice to have the search result screen populate the asset tag number.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks for the review Tammy! We love that you love the software and we love having you as a customer!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Nick A.
Facilities Manager
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021

"So Simple"

Comments: Tracking my tools for my employee's have accountable to use and return tools back to tool room.

Pros: Easy to use and train my employee's to use system

Cons: There isn't and cons to software. Nothing to say badly to write.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 16/04/2021

Nick, thanks for your feedback. Helping companies get up and running is most important to us. If you ever have any suggestions on how we can make our product an even better fit for you, please let me know. Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021
Lola C.
Purchasing and Inventory Coordinator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2019

"Gigatrak for Charter Schools"

Comments: Gigatrak has been a super helpful tool in tracking and inventory of all the valuable assets we as a charter school purchase as resources for our daily success.

Pros: This program is super user friendly and the customer service is prompt and effective.

Cons: The only thing I do not like is the fact that once an asset is marked as consumable it can not be change back to non-consumable.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks Lola! The ease of use for our customers is our number one priority. Unfortunately, because of how consumables are tracked in the system and "consumed" once checked out, we cannot easily switch them to an individually barcoded asset. However, the copy function can be used to quickly create a new asset when needed!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2019
Lisa P.
IT/Operations Supervisor
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Easy to use system, great value!"

Comments: GigaTrak is an exceptional company to work with. Their employees are very knowledgeable and they have a resolution to any kind of problem you may experience within 24 hours.

Pros: The software is easy to use, easy to customize, and does everything we wanted it to do. The reports are easy to read and with 8,000+ items, it has not slowed down.

Cons: The setup process was tedious, but this was not the software's fault. It's typical to spend a lot of time setting up a brand new inventory system.

Vendor Response

by GigaTrak on 27/08/2019

Thanks so much Lisa! Implementing a new system can be a daunting task and we strive to make this process as easy as possible for our customers by providing exceptional customer service when needed. Please let us know if we can assist with anything moving forward!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019