15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Ansible Tower

Automation platform that helps businesses deploy applications, control IT infrastructure, and collaborate with various network devices.

Learn more about Ansible Tower

Pros:

The tool is really light weight, easy to use and inexpensive software which integrated and runs well in almost any type of servers.

Cons:

Ansbile Tower job scheduling need more modules like viewing all jobs scheduled and failed report in a single panel with more customization.

Ansible Tower ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Ansible Tower has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 46 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ansible Tower before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (46)

Abhinav
Abhinav
Sr Software Integrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A premium solution for managing the configuration

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Ansible Tower enhancing our software development process as it is the part of DevOps methodology. The Dashboard provide the detail view of our complete environment which help in to scrutinize the errors. User can also customize the notifications as per need with integration with slack and emails. Ansbile Tower can be scale-able at any time. In portal mode we can simplify the dashboard view.

Pros:

Red Hat Ansible Tower is the best configuration tool in the market with the largest number of community. It helps in to boost up the software development cycle with DevOps methodology. Playbook can be running in universal yaml language. Ansbile provides the power to manage the remote servers. Job can be configured for schedule run on specific numbers of times. Role-Based access simplify the user management and help in to administrate the inventory. The Enterprise edition support is best option when we are implementing it to new project as 8x5 support always ready for help in your working hours.

Cons:

Ansible Tower should work on customization of user view dashboard, unnecessary notification as on by default and you have to disable it. Audit Trail feature should be also more organized and as it holds the sensitive data also.

Marcin
Marcin
Senior DevOps Engineer in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

RedHat supported automation center tool

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: For small projects or without a tight RedHat stack integration the free AWX might be better, but for bigger ones, with more complexity, when you are required to contractually guarantee support in all cases you want a tried and tested platform components with manufacturer support and that is where Tower comes in. A key tool to manage your nodes and their tool stack and deployments.

Pros:

Ease of use and great integration with the rest of RedHat stack upon which a lot of open source products and offerings are using.

Cons:

Price of enterprise support for the features it offers over open-source AWX.

María Laura
María Laura
IT Project Manager in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Stable IaaS platform with a STEEP learning curve.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: System configuration automation is now done in a jiff.

Pros:

It does not need client-side processes or configuration (just ssh access). Command line interface is fast and comprehensive. Support is fast and everywhere.

Cons:

The learning curve is steep (I mean it). Reports are not as powerful or customizable as other tools in the market. SSH, while easy to use, lacks security.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Automation, Configuration Management, and Auditing/Reporting

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are trying to manage our NetApp Storage cluster configurations for both automated provisioning and security audit configuration management. We're still POC'ing the software but so far it's simple and easy to setup. Once we do more complicated playbooks it'll be interesting to see how it turns out.

Pros:

Really like the Automation over other competing products like Puppet (you really need to know how to code in Ruby.) Love the concepts of Playbooks and Plays and the NetApp-specific (https://netapp.io) modules for ONTAP. Really simple to use! The configuration management and Auditing/Reporting are also really good.

Cons:

The ONTAP 9.5 to 9.6 has some REST API differences. Also you really need the Tower to do full audit configuration reporting and auditing. The free versions or non-Ansible versions don't have sufficient reporting functionality which is really important. Especially the configuration conformance reports.

Gurleen
Gurleen
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ansible - The configuration management tool with the large community.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It’s helping us in deploying the hundreds of server with no time and no human error as it make it fully automatic after the configuration. Best feature is surely it’s dashboard by which we get the notification once the things are not according to our plan. With the help of Red Hat Ansible Tower we are jumping to pure DevOps environment.

Pros:

The Red hat Ansible Tower is a complete one stop tool that can manage your code. Best thing in it provide the large number of template to choice of Configuration management deployment. Scalability of hundreds nodes is also easy. It have master that run on the server. The secure ssh is used to remotely login to client systems. As clients machine does not need any specific setup on the system which make it easy and simple to manage. The uses push configuration technology in which we need can push the setting to the specific system on which we need that setting. For configuration script writing we can use yaml. As it’s easy to learn,setup & manage so it’s every organisation first choice as configuration management tool,which help in devOps practice.

Cons:

As the Ansible Tower is now Red Hat Ansible Tower. It’s growing fast and learning curves are more sharp with each updates, I always looking for the new fix and addition features added in updates as I have to check my compatibility of each time the company jumping to the new version. It's sure for Linux users but not very needy for windows users.

Priyanka
Priyanka
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Redhat Ansible Tower: Configuration Management tool to deploy & manage the complex system.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Redhat Ansible Tower increases the productivity of product. Monitoring of multiple system is easy on the centerlized dashboard. Push notifications and email help us to keep attention on high priority task. The community is incredible and increasing rapidly.

Pros:

The Redhat Ansible tower is best configuration management tool in market as it provides scalable features and orchestration tool for deploying the configuring the system. Continuous integration and deployment enable the centerlized pipeline. The tool manages and helps us to deploy the complex system with no down time. Redhat Ansible Tower architecture comes with the push architecture which is different from pull. Push configuration method cut the unnecessary load from the client server as they don’t have to keep looking for the updates from the master node. Best thing in it is that it supports yaml language for scripting the jobs.

Cons:

Deploying and configuration of Ansible into your software life cycle is not a job of one day. In this both developers and operations team have to work together and make it work but the good thing once it embedded with your product lifecycle and DevOps lifecycle keep helping to boost the productivity. Configuration of Master node should come with more simple wizard.

Animesh
Animesh
System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The most effective automation tool on the market.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: A highly capable IT configuration automation tool with a number of enterprise-level features. Several use cases are supported, including application deployment automation, new server provisioning, and network placement. RedHat provided excellent help throughout the project.

Pros:

The product comes pre-integrated with major suppliers like VMWare, F5, and others. This cuts down on the time it takes to learn and integrate (code) with vendor APIs and interfaces. The program allows you to reuse functionality across numerous projects (for example, creating a virtual host, opening a Firewall port, and so on). Individual functional teams (for example, Infrastructure-VMWare, Infrastructure-OS, Network-Security, and so on) might establish their own specialties as a result of this. Content from Ansible that may be reused by several teams with minimal customization.

Cons:

The RBAC method is difficult to understand, and the v3.0 documentation is inadequate Otherwise, I couldn't think of anything negative to say about this product.

Nidhi
Nidhi
Co-Founder & CTO in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A DevOps Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Ansbile Tower helps in deploying and monitoring the system. The Enterprise support is really the best thing about the Ansbile Tower. The scale capacity helps in clustering and manging the redundancy with capacity. Remote command execution provide the access to the system in case of quick access.

Pros:

Red Hat Ansbile Tower is a great tool for automation and enhancing release quality. Ansible dashboard provide the one stop for summarized view. Push config method help to deploy the configuration to the remote systems at once. Scripting jobs & build-in notification is easy and help to manage the production line. The advance audit trail module help to track the events with their time and action with difference feature. Role-Based access help to manage the delegate inventory system. We can scale-up the Ansbile Tower anytime using the clusters.

Cons:

Ansbile Tower job scheduling need more modules like viewing all jobs scheduled and failed report in a single panel with more customization. Integration of network account is limited with few application only.

vikas
vikas
SAP BASIS HANA Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best web based solution for automation and available as an open source platform.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall this tool is a must use for all the IT related stuffs. Anyone can easily operate, troubleshoot the issue and can modify the changes easily in Ansible Tower. The easy modification and deployment makes it best suited and enables Ansible to be the best among all the existing automation tools in the market.

Pros:

The tool is really light weight, easy to use and inexpensive software which integrated and runs well in almost any type of servers. Operation and Controlling is really convenient for all IT employees and of course it makes our life easier.

Cons:

I almost see no cons about Ansible but this software can be optimized more for always in the list of techies.

Sanchita
Sanchita
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Best Configuration Management Tool for Automation of IT & Services

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Red Hat Ansible Tower is helping us to deploy on the cloud platform also. The best feature in it of-course the Dashboard. As the dashboard centralize all the features at one screen. Push notification and graphical statistics help in to monitor and prioritizes the jobs.

Pros:

Ansible Tower is one of the best CM tool for the automation of the complex deployment of the production and test systems. It also helps in speeding the process with zero human interference after configuring it. It is also easy to setup on master and client systems. To implement the DevOps methodology, The Red Hat Ansible Tower is the best tool to invest in for the Enterprise level infrastructure. Script is also easy in it. Tool is also easy to learn and implement. PUSH method makes it different from other tools as it helps to make the master system free from unnecessary load.

Cons:

Ansible Tower is enhancing the features of its product day by day. To move from one version to other higher is also not simple as it needs a proper strategy and planning. Release Management should come with more templates to make the release easy. Master node should be configurable on Windows platform also.

Hans
Data Engineer in Guatemala
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Complementary Ansible Software

5.0 last year

Comments: Ansible Tower is a great product that can be used both by pro Ansible users and newcomers alike. Initial configuration can be a bit complicated in certain cases but once you get it up and running there is rarely an issue encountered on the software side. Though your playbooks might encounter what seems an unsolvable error every now and then.

Pros:

For those that have the knowledge using Ansible in the cli, this will prove as a complementary tool that helps the user have a visual guidance of their projects. This product is also aimed to those who have a general knowledge of Ansible and refer to doing simple execute tasks or configurations. Its a powerful tool that can be combined with other products such as Red Hat Satellite. Ansible Tower enables graphic metrics of your playbook/workflow runs and has different options when configuring access credentials to cloud providers, github repositories, etc.

Cons:

The error output messages can be at times ambiguous, which don't advise as to where the problem is happening. It gets confusing identifying the issue because your playbooks might run just fine through the CLI, but once you start using Ansible Tower there are breaking points in which the playbook/workflow fails. Since every project is different and there are various packages and modules being used, usually the user is left over examining python libraries and modules to see how the behavior might differ that from the CLI. The documentation is lacking (Ansible CLI documentation is more robust) and even though you can manage to get to Stackoverflow or blogs that have comments to a similar problem you encountered, usually these provide little to no help at all. If you have a person with experience with the software, I would greatly recommend advocating to them.

Samuel
Software in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerhouse of IT Automation

5.0 last year

Comments: Once I got the hang of it, it made managing computer tasks much easier.

Pros:

Ansible Tower is great at automating computer tasks, helping work get done faster and easier. It's really good for managing networks and making everything run smoother.

Cons:

The setup can be confusing, and sometimes the program can be slow. Also, the way it controls who has access to what can be hard to understand, and creating a special access code (auth token) can be tricky.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A powerful addition to any IT Team

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I like that tower not only helps IT teams automate most tasks but I am impressed about its ability to help teams that are used to working with manual tasks. The GUI / Manuals helps understand the concepts behind Ansible and I like that with the RBAC you can allow different tiers of administrators to allow / restrict access to different objects like inventories, secrets, etc. The reports are great and value add you don't get by running playbooks.

Cons:

I find that a lot of playbooks can run from other CI/CD tools, specially the ones with Ansible plugins.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great agentless devops/network automation software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: very positive experience through out the implementation and post implementation process - vendor very involved in helping to achieve a positive experience in the usage of the product.

Pros:

The fact that it is agentless means that the overhead resources would be almost eliminated and hence would be much more efficient. The product provides 2 benefits - helps automate devops cycle in CI/CD area as well as the network and can be called as perhaps an end to end automation tool.

Cons:

As with any other software, there is a learning curve and in this particular case, the tool uses YAML and hence one need to come up to speed with YAML especially if one is very used to powershell scripting.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansible Tower Best Automation for Networking

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: previously, we remote to each server to update the Linux, and run update Github, etc. let imagine we have a production server, UAT server, Dev Server, imagine we have 3 development servers become 10 units, and we need to remote to each server every week to update the git, upgrade security patch, sometimes we confuse.
but since we start using ansible tower, we can manage it well, For just the first time we work a lot on designing playbook and pre-test running and later on, we just run one command it deploy and do the same job on the hundred server.
my recommendation, if you have more than 5 servers of Linux, cisco switch, and cisco routers, you should start using ansible tower, you are busy at the first time but free onward.

Pros:

The feature I like the most is pre-running and then we can roll back before we run the production. very small software but powerful, with the playbook can update 50 Linux servers/cisco switch at the same time. ansible tower over ssh protocol is the best and well supported with various devices, just need ssh only.

Cons:

its pretty cool already, but require peoples to understand a lot of commands because not plenty of UI yet.

Sachin
Sachin
DevOps Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Outstanding tool for Configuration Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are offering Ansible Tower to different kinds of teams with in the organization. So that teams don't need to worry about the environment they require. We have integration Ansible with CI/CD tool like Jenkins, Pipelines feature offered Azure DevOps.

Pros:

We as a DevOps team using Ansible Tower to provide solution to user manage their hardware configuration based on the requirement. It helps us to provide IaaC service to our end users. We develop various playbooks based upon the requirement which are fulfilling the requirements without worrying about infrastructure. So that development teams can focus on their application/software developments.

Cons:

Initially I struggled a bit because it comes with steep learning curve but over the period of time I get along pretty well. It will good if Knowledge articles are there I think this will help the beginners to start using Ansible referring those KBA's.

Matheus
Matheus
Analista de Infraestrutura in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very good, but the interface could be better.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very good! It perfectly solved the problem we were having.

Pros:

Easy to implement; Very good documentation; It has all the necessary features; Provides a great API;

Cons:

User interface is confusing. Generating auth token is complicated.

Rajesh
System Administrator in India
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review of Ansible Tower

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The Ansible Tower is easily configure and maintain the both on-premises and cloud environment. Better than others install , Configure and Maintaining.

Pros:

The Ansible Tower product of redhat corp exclusive for Devops tool. better tool for DevOps.

Cons:

There is no big drawback of Ansible tower.

Gaurav
Assistant consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansible tower for all your deployment solutions

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are able to deploy 1000s of components using andi ke tower very efficiently and it was really helpful in our journey of Continous Deployment

Pros:

Performing parallel deployments in a jiff. It’s really fast and provides lots of advanced feature and various level of logging to troubleshoot any deployment failure

Cons:

Could have better integration of templates so that same template can be utilized for deployment of component with similar tech stack

Gajendra
Gajendra
IT Specialist in Luxembourg
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansible Tower Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It’s good when it’s come security , user control and Crenshaw controlling.

Pros:

For security and ease of management it’s very good tool. this support RBAc which makes it very using and secure. Saving credentials and integration with GitHub is really awesome

Cons:

This is bit expensive and when it comes to support not very good. Similar thing can be achieved using ansible.

prathibha
sys admin in US
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

usage

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's been really helpful to manage installing/ patching /configuration various systems using tower

Pros:

Easy to use. Once you have job template created, you can call the job from anywhere using tower cli

Cons:

The output log window loads slow or doesn't refresh at times. You have to scroll down a lot especially if the output is long

Abhishek
Portfolio manager in Canada
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansible tower- Best tool to manage playbooks

5.0 last year

Comments: It’s amazing to use and manage tha playbooks.I have used it expensively for playbooks for Kafka , maven etc.

Pros:

It is very easy to understand and manage all the playbooks.

Cons:

Online support and documentation is not too good.

Maahir
Maahir
Network Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Can do without it also but good to have

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- This is a tool which is essential when you have 100's of devices you need to handle - Ansible tower is well packaged into a commercial product which allows you to execute rules and playbooks right from a UI hence making it easier for non-coders to run Ansible playbooks - A free license is available for 10 devices - Updates you on dashboards almost in real-time

Cons:

- Expensive - Freeware available: AWX - Cant write playbooks or create roles from the UI. Mainly used only to execute or run playbooks - UI can be improved to match Industry standards

xiaoyu
production support in US
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Recommended

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I like to use it.

Pros:

Configuration is not hard, easy for the deployer to practice CD.

Cons:

when it deploys EAR file, it takes long time.

Eitan
DevOps in Israel
Broadcast Media, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good solution for some DevOps needs

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Enabled us to handoff some common sysadmin tasks to less technical people. Since Ansible got bought by RedHat - the project is improving rapidly

Pros:

Good dashboards, access controls, scheduling - helps to bring Ansible into the Enterprise

Cons:

Some features take time to understand in order to work with them properly. Some of the workflows are cumbersome.