15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About CityReporter

CityReporter makes it effortless to meet local and national regulatory requirements with their powerful software solutions.

Learn more about CityReporter

Pros:

Security of the data that is saved. Your support is quick and responsive.

Cons:

A hard copy is saved to iCity but it is buried deep so that user needs to navigate through several windows to find the report. No way to generate a summary list of today's scheduled inspections.

CityReporter ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

CityReporter has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (17)

Sort by

Have you used CityReporter before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Glenn
Dooly County Building Official & Zoning Administrator in US
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Inspection Software that's affordable and accurate

5.0 last year

Comments: Customer service always available quick to respond and the software works great

Pros:

The willingness of the City Reporter to listen and add what is needed to meet our specific needs

Cons:

A way to merge tax accessors q-public information into database

Noratek Solutions Response

last year

Hello Glenn, Thank you for your review and support. We're happy to have you as our client over these years. We enjoy hearing about your success with the software and how it's made your permitting process and communications more efficient. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, Cheers!

Rod
Manager of Building & Chief Building Official in Canada
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Follow Up Review after 6 years of Use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Instant receipt of inspection reports by builders and owners is welcome by permit holders.
Easy tracking of failed inspections.

Pros:

We use CityReporter only for inspection scheduling and inspection tracking. Noratek welcomes ideas and suggestions. At times, ideas are implemented immediately. Other ideas go into their future development basket and I have found often those ideas get added in future updates. Noratek simply provides the best support of any software that I have ever used. Most support requests are acknowledged within a couple of hours (standard working hours) with answers offered at the time or quickly thereafter. Unfortunately, we are required to use the corporate ERP solution, iCity. We use the iCity Building Permits module to track permit application and billing processes and CityReporter is used to track the inspections once the permit is issued. Lots of problems with iCity, nothing but praise for CityReporter. I wish I could abandon iCity and focus solely on CityReporter for all things permits.

Cons:

The only improvement idea that I have suggested but has not been implemented is the need to define inspection checklists by permit type and not only by inspection. For example, a framing inspection for a new house permit is very different and more complex than framing for a deck permit. This requires two framing checklists to pair with the respective permit types. But this is a minor con that should not dissuade a decision to go with CityReporter.

Paul
Park Inspector in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

reporter

2.0 10 years ago

Comments: It seems to be a good idea but the setup that is done for my application does not work for me

Patrick
Park Operations Manager in US
Management Consulting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product and Support

4.0 last year

Comments: Being able to track staff real time on their inspections and turning around faults for repair or maintenance was important.

Pros:

“We were facing a significant challenge with managing all of the different types of inspections required in our parks, playgrounds and trails. This was having a negative effect on our operations by not getting enough inspections done which resulted in problems not being resolved in a timely manner.When we discovered City Reporter, the staff were very knowledgeable and immediately helpful with our situation. We saw significant improvements right away and, after three years as a customer, we have seen continuous improvements in our overall workflow efficiency.”

Cons:

I know you can assign areas to certain staff members, I just was never able to figure it out correctly.

Noratek Solutions Response

last year

Hi Patrick, Thank you for your positive feedback, it means a lot! We're glad to have you as our customer and to see that you're enjoying CityReporter for your park operations. It makes us incredibly happy to know that we were able to help you improve your efficiency and workflow. Your Account Executive will be happy to help you with assigning your areas and has been notified to reach out to you. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, Cheers!

Bill
Development Services Manager in Canada
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cost Effective Digital Inspection Platform

4.0 last year

Comments: Top shelf customer service and support as Noratek staff get back to us right away.

Pros:

City Reporter is cost effective compared to other digital inspection platforms. The transition from physical inspection forms, filing etc. to the digital format saves un-needed steps and paper with every report. Contractors receive inspection reports right away via email which helps keep all reports organized.

Cons:

An easier, more streamlined way of setting up the customer portal would save staff time.

Noratek Solutions Response

last year

Hi Bill, Thank you for your positive feedback and support. We're glad to have you as our client and to see that you're enjoying CityReporter for your inspections. It makes us incredibly happy to know that we were able to help you improve your workflow and communication. Your Account Executive will be happy to help you with setting up your customer portal to be more efficient for your staff. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, Cheers!

Kimberley
Planning and Building Assistant in Canada
Government Administration, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Building/Planning Assistant Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

City Reporter is easy to learn, I like that I don't have to change my password every 30 days. I like that I click a few buttons and have monthly summary reports for MPAC, Stats Canada and our Fire Chief. I also use City Reporter as one of my check points when completing a tax certificate to see the status of a building permit.

Cons:

In my time using City Reporter I have not found anything negative to report on.

Noratek Solutions Response

last year

Dear Kimberley, We wanted to reach out and express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful review you left for our Building and Construction Module. It brings us immense joy to know that you have found our reporting system efficient and user-friendly. We are thrilled to have the opportunity to continue serving you in the future and providing the best possible experience. Thank you once again for your kind words and for choosing our services. Warm regards, CityReporter Team

Rangel
supervisor in US
Public Safety, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simpler product

5.0 last year

Comments: Cityreporter has made it easy for staff and faster to report and keep track of.

Pros:

how its paperless and easy to go back and look up information.

Cons:

Have not found any dislikes yet. No difficulty using and navigating through.

Noratek Solutions Response

last year

Hello Rangel, Thank you for your positive feedback and support. We're glad to have you as our client and to see that you're enjoying CityReporter for your documentation and tracking. Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Keith
Fire Chief in Canada
Public Safety, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Niverville Fire & Emergency Services loves CityReporter!

5.0 last year

Comments: The system allows for remote access if a form needs to be reviewed. No more going through a filing cabinet. Keeps records and dates for upcoming inspections and re-inspections. Very user friendly. Also customer support has been great! Very positive experience so far!

Pros:

We liked the program because of the paperless record keeping. Also the ability to insert photos and be able to email our customers the completed form.

Cons:

Can't seem to think of one. City reporter has met our goals of what we wanted and then some.

Noratek Solutions Response

last year

Hello Keith, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. These are the success stories that keep us so motivated to continue doing what we're doing, and we're so happy to hear that you and your team are enjoying the software. Thank you!

Bill
Director of Community Services in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Very Useful Application

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: This application has allowed our city to compose checklists and maintain records for the safety inspections of playground equipment in our parks. The checklists are easy to use and include pre-prepared general documents, which are customizable to suit our needs. The documents are easy to read and manipulate as needed, and the application works easily from both the office, as well as in the field with handheld devices. The product is reasonably priced and the customer support is excellent. We have been using the product for several years now, and we are very satisfied!

Albert
Facilities Foreman in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Park Inspection Software

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: If your tired of filling out papers while performing park inspections, then this is the program for you. It's much easier (and a time saver) to complete your inspections with the phone app. The questions can be customized to fit your particular need and you can attach photos if needed. The learning curve is very easy with A! customer support. Make sure you upload data only when connected to a WIFI . The program works well on my small smart phone screen but a larger screen or tablet would cut down on scrolling. I've used the program for over a year and love it.

Shaun
Parks and Facilities Superintendent in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

More than Inspection Software

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: City Reporter has been a huge asset to our small Facilities department. It has forced us to do inspections on sites that have been over looked in the past. The ease of use by the inspector and ability to track deficiencies is great. The customer service has been great always there when we have had any issues. Being able to customize the inspections is one of the best features. It took us a while to be able to dedicate the time to set up initially but after that its been great.

Natalie
Superintendent of Parks and Rec in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

CityReporter

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: My department has been using CityReporter for several months now. Customer service has always been prompt and helpful, and when we did the free trial they made sure that we got the most out of it. The program has totally streamlined how we do our parks inspections, and has made it much easier for the parks coordinator to communicate any issues to me so we can respond quickly and efficiently.

Mike
Regional Manager in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Review of City Reporter

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: Everything is working great since the last update. I find the system very user friendly. Changing forms to make them fit my needs was very simple you don't have to be a computer geek it use City Reporter. All our foreman use the system and took less than 15 minutes to train and since most of them still have trouble with cell phones that was very impressive.

Blaise
Park Warden in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Solid Reporting app and great service

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: We use the Cityreporter app to do our playgroud inspections and have found it to be a valuable tool. It is very easy to use and has quickly been mastered by those staff who have limited experience when it comes to technology. The customer service we have received right from training to ongoing support has also been fantastic.

Ben
Director of Parks and Planning in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Park Inspection Software

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: City Reporter park inspection software has streamlined our playground inspections. Staff no longer used paper inspections, and because it's so easy to use it has made it a lot easier for staff to stay organized and keep up with the inspections. Thank you City Reporter for a great product!

Dave
Parks & recreation in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

parks an sports feilds

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: This is a very fast an easy way to keep track of ur day to day tasks as well as any problems u have along the way! Great for monthly checks an reports for any type of job. From large scale to small towns its a handy tool for supervisors an directors in any municapality.

Monte
Quality Control Manager in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

City Reporter

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: Very easy to use and excellent support!