15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Camayak

#1 rated approval hub for editors that work smarter.

Learn more about Camayak

Pros:

The workflow that is set up is one of the easiest to use and makes training students on this software a breeze. Really love its capability with wordpress and communications in the workflow process.

Cons:

The fact that only editors can post to our Townnews website and the process it's difficult. Adding and taking out reporters from assignments is difficult at times.

Camayak ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.9
Features
3.8
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Camayak has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 13 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (13)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Camayak before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (13)

Walter
Publications Adviser in US
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camayak enables a seamless workflow among my high school newspaper staff and our various platforms.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

While Camayak is tailored to provide an authentic newsroom experience with seamless pitching, collaborating, assigning, tracking, editing and publishing capability, it is conceptually similar to other more general-purpose products that students have likely used. This means that students can sit down and begin using it productively without wasting hours on training. It seems familiar to them from the start.

Cons:

I think the product support could be beefed up, although I have to admit I haven't needed to use it recently. Connecting Camayak and a WordPress site, for example, is not an intuitive process, and it seems Camayak might provide more DIY support. features.

Alicia
Instructional Lab Tech in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes the process of writing, editing and publishing a breeze

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The workflow that is set up is one of the easiest to use and makes training students on this software a breeze. Really love its capability with wordpress and communications in the workflow process.

Cons:

Would love the ability to connect facebook and Twitter to be able to publish on platforms and send out to our followers.

Jozsef
Editor-in-Chief - The George-Anne in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good and helpful for our newspaper

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The ability to see what everyone is working on and keep reporters in-check. Being able to provide feedback.

Cons:

The fact that only editors can post to our Townnews website and the process it's difficult. Adding and taking out reporters from assignments is difficult at times.

Anna
Deputy Editor in UK
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camayak has been an instrumental part of Lusso magazine's organisational and management operations

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I work for a high-end men's digital publication. Our team is made up of 4 permanent staff and around 30 freelance contributors. Camayak has not only ensured that everyone in the management team can see at a glance which assignments are outstanding, but it also tracks the progress of each submitted article through the proofing and design stages. Often we need to distribute our luxury travel assignments on a first come first served basis and Camayak has simplified and streamlined the process for us. I found the customer support and response time to be second to none.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Camayak CMS is a great tool to organize many collaborators on lots of platforms.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A stable and always available platform for creating and publishing all kinds of content into any website.

Pros:

The management system is quite good for managing lots of collaborators that publish in many platforms. Multiple collaborations and publishing to more than one site is very easy with Camayak.

Cons:

The text editor for creating the entries into the publishing platform could use a little bit of updating and easier highlighting to change text features or to add links. The upload system for files and images sometime hiccups.

Ron
Managing Editor in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

A global team-building tool for editorial workflow

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We publish a magazine focused on wildland fire for fire scientists and professional fire managers. Many of our writers are unaccustomed to editorial workflow. Camayak allows us to connect a range of writers and editors from around the world to create a publication in ways that are for more creative and easy to manage than the traditional track-changes mechanism that is the fallback. Another key element of Camayak is the ability to export the completed articles to a variety of print and online publications. And the support staff are quick to respond and offer expertise and insights gained from a wide range of publications. This is a tool that makes our magazine far more successful; for me it makes the work of editor far faster and yields a far more engaging magazine.

Roman
Faculty Adviser in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy to use; well organized; great communications tools

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Camayak has been an ideal application for our college newsroom operations. It's a professional editing and management system that allows student journalists not only to submit, edit and track assignments, it provides great communications tools for the journalists to know who has what story, notes for revision, etc. Camayak is also a solid interface with our website service, with stories and photos launching straight to the site through Camayak. While I have used Camayak in a college environment, it's a system I would consider for a professional publication, as well.

Jay
Executive Director in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Camayak's an essential element in our 24/7 student media digital newsroom

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Roman Heindorff and his team at Camayak have been tremendous partners in helping to transform our student media at Southern Methodist University (Dallas, TX) from a print-centric model to a digital-first approach! Whereas our workflow was previously a chaotic one involving emails, attachments and a series of stop-gap measures to get content from writers to editors to the publishing editors, Camayak provides all of the tools, tracking and features we need keep the content in one place and moving it quickly from conception to consumption by our readers.

Jay
Executive Director in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Turns editorial chaos into fast, streamlined approval flows

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: The team at Camayak have been tremendous partners in helping to transform our student media at Southern Methodist University (Dallas, TX) from a print-centric model to a digital-first approach! Whereas our workflow was previously a chaotic one involving emails, attachments and a series of stop-gap measures to get content from writers to editors to the publishing editors, Camayak provides all of the tools, tracking and features we need keep the content in one place and keep moving it quickly from conception to consumption by our readers.

Ali
Chief Copy Editor in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

An excellent tool for far-flung colleagues

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Camayak has been an excellent tool for our remote news team. Working on different continents and in different time zones can be challenging, but we have established smooth workflows that work for everyone. It's easy to set up, and the support team have been very responsive when we've raised any queries. It's also incredibly simple to track what stage an article is at.

Andrea
Editor-at-Large in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent for managing writers and publishing to our CMS

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We've been able to increase our number of contributors without having to give them access to our WordPress site. Camayak publishes our approved content directly to any number of sites and makes it clear what everyone is working on (or should be) at all times. Great for speeding up communication, too.

Reggie
Adviser in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

We use Camayak to organize our workflow at the student newspaper.

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Camayak has been a great tool for us at the student newspaper, where we have dozens of writers, all filing stories on different schedules. It couldn't be easier to use, and it's allowed for everyone to have a seat at the editorial table, knowing what others are doing and when they're doing it.

Carrie
Student Media Advisor in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

The content management system every newsroom should have!

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We needed a content management system our student journalists would embrace and put through the paces. Camayak succceeded our expectations! Ease of use and customer service are outstanding.