15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Qlik Sense

Qlik Sense is a business intelligence (BI) and visual analytics platform that helps global enterprises move faster and work smarter.

Learn more about Qlik Sense

Pros:

In itself the efficiency gains of this has offset the adoption costs by a considerable amount.

Cons:

Qlik provide no real split between what features are available in each of the deployment options.

Qlik Sense ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Qlik Sense has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 255 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Qlik Sense before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (255)

Nicolae
Nicolae
IT Manager in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Probably the most powerful BI software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Qlik Sense is probably the most advanced and powerful BI software on the market. Creating advanced data visualisation dashboards is easy and critical in a big and dynamic organisation such as ours. The decision making process is faster and it enables you to react quickly to the market.

Pros:

Being able to connect to very diverse data sources, the ease of creating new dashboards and reports.

Cons:

The only con I can identify is that we don't have enough time to keep up with all the features that Qlik Sense brings, and further develop the data analysis capabilities. But in time we will manage :)

Christian
News Editor/Journalist in Denmark
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Look at Qlik's Data Visualization Software

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Qlik Sense is a great data visualization tool. It is highly customizable and provides a wide range of data sources and connectors. The software is quite expensive and the learning curve can be steep, but once users get the hang of it, they can create beautiful interactive visualizations with ease.

Pros:

Qlik Sense is an incredibly powerful data visualization tool. It allows users to quickly create interactive dashboards, charts, and graphs that are easy to understand. The software is highly customizable, giving users the ability to tailor the visuals to their preferences. It also has a wide range of data sources and connectors available, making it easy to access and integrate data from multiple sources.

Cons:

One potential downside of Qlik Sense is its pricing structure, which can be quite expensive. Additionally, the learning curve can be steep for those who are unfamiliar with the software, making it difficult for users to get up and running quickly.

Kawa
Project Management Specialist in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Magnificent platform for unlocking actionable visualizations

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The collection of interactive dashboards, graphs, and charts detailed in Qlik Sense makes it easy to demonstrate otherwise complex data in a straightforward manner. The platform offers a distinctive approach to associative data exploration, which equips the users with the ability to ask further questions and go deeper into their data.

Cons:

Adding capabilities such as making full custom visualizations or integrating outside libraries could be enhanced to fulfill specific storytelling requirements.

Martin
Consultant in UK
Financial Services Software
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Top notch scalable self-service BI tool with cutting-edge visuals

3.5 9 years ago

Pros:

Qlik Sense is a self-service analytical tool based on the same in-memory technology as QlikView. It's associative engine allows for snappy selections, filtering and prompt re-calculation of all charts and aggregations on the fly as the user navigates throughout the dashboard, even on datasets of over 100 million rows. Qlik Sense focuses more on the self-service aspects of BI, where users are encouraged to build their own Adhoc visualisations without the use of keyboards simply by drag & dropping various elements, making the technology utmost business friendly. Also, as the whole technology is fully web-based, it embeds the latest visualisation libraries (D3, Raphael etc.) and allows for a seamless integration of customised extended JS charts (so-called extensions). The latter enables for unlimited possibilities when it comes to visualisations (http://d3js.org/) and further integration with web-services (R servers, real-time analytics, Hadoop etc.). Also, the Qlik Sense Server deployment is tailored to facilitate a multi-node deployment, allowing for a very scalable enterprise solution, even cloud-based. The data security technology (Section Access) is the same one as in QlikView and is customisable, secure and robust. All in all, when it comes to deploying a scalable and business-friendly BI solution, which has very presentable dashboards, a fast and robust aggregation engine with extended self-service capabilities, Qlik Sense is currently the best product of its kind on the market.

Cons:

Qlik Sense is still a new product and not very mature yet, as it has only been released a year and a half ago. The review is based on Qlik Sens version 2.1 which is important to emphasise, because QlikTech is constantly updating the software and publishing releases with enhancements and bugfixes. Qlik Sense is not the right tool, if you requirement is: 1. To have a guided analytics dashboard, where the user is constraint in the way he views his data. -> This can be overcome by creating mashup websites, however you will need a web developer to do this. 2. Standardised reporting via Qlik Sense and production of pdf files is not possible (yet). -> An integration with nPrinting, QlikTech's latest acquisition, could change this and it's on Qlik's roadmap for the next year. 3. Your BI solution needs to accommodate flexible data extraction capabilities (e.g. to Excel). General current disadvantages: 1. The story telling functionality is not mature yet - users have more benefit using PowerPoint directly. In my opinion it's missing a live connection of the snapshots used in the story to the underlying chart objects. 2. Security settings (NOT on data level) are governed centrally via the management console and are complicated to comprehend. 3. No guided analytics aspects, even navigation between sheets can't be controlled. 4. No supported data extraction capabilities. It's almost impossible to get comprehensive extract of it's underlying data, something that was possible with QlikView (Export functionality e.g.) 5. The vendor has little practical knowledge on how Qlik Sense is deployed enterprise wide within a business and is not really able to support. 6. The vendor is focusing more on the data story telling and collaboration aspects of the Qlik technologies and almost imposes those on the business. Personally, I would prefer if QlikTech listened to its customers a little bit more.

Barasa
Research and development analyst in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A dynamic platform for data analysis and data visualisations

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I like its advanced data exploration capabilities whereby we can easily extract the data that we need through the smart search function.

Cons:

Working with complex data visualisations can affect the overall performance but we have noticed improvements on this.

Rob
CTO in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Still a market leading Data & Analytics end-to-end solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: QlikView was the best in market and with Qlik Sense, Qlik continue to be the best in market from data import, transformation, visualisation and now into alerting and machine learning

Pros:

The amount of features that come out of the box within the cloud offering which is far over and above the nearest competitors which rely on third party tools and services

Cons:

The price is higher than competitors like Power BI but the total cost of ownership is lower in the medium term as you do not require additional data transformation tools or extensive development time

lee
BIConsultant in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best BI Tool available

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Qlik is great, i love using this daily, it has become my number 1 used app at work, and even for things at home. i now track my spending in an app, my shopping and my exercise. all using different apps. the exercise app i have integrated with the maps function and can now even track distances and plot the out on a map.

Pros:

Qlik sense is an epic platform for any level of developer / user requiring insights from data. the platform is aimed at everyone. for advanced users this platform is incredibly powerful, the speed to insights is amazing. i can take data from any source and generate insights in a matter of minutes. which in the past would have taken me a long time. i am a skilled developer so this comes naturally to me, but for other users this is a tool that comes with ease.

Cons:

the lack of alerting within the console to alert me to failed tasks is the part i find the most frustrating, if it had a way of alerting to these failed tasks, then this would be even better. the other thing i find a struggle with is the Security ruloes, these ca be very frustrating, and limited online resources makes it a tough job.

Bilal
Sr. Manager Strategy, Analytics and Financial Planning in Canada
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decent BI tool - A good package for quick and easy reporting

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's being used across the whole organization, and it helps change data from multiple sources to information for better decision making. This has also given us better access to transnational level data. Which has improved our scope and insights as well as improved our decision making.

Pros:

Qlik Sense is very well suited for companies without a proper data warehouse. - It is fairing very well in sales analysis and KPI management. - Mini QVDs can act like a mini data warehouse. - It builds mini data warehouses. - It's good for the merging of data. - It connects well with other systems.

Cons:

Qlik Sense is good for simple analytics. However, it is not that easy to set up "what if" scenarios, more advanced statistical analysis, and custom stuff. - The coding of equations is quite complicated. - Better customer service from sales. - Better customer service help with solving problems with the tool and upgrades. - Better user-friendliness for writing equations by the end-user.

Chirag
CITO in US
Insurance Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Analyze data fast and make decisions quickly with Qlik Sense

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our goal was to have everyone reviewing business analytics in one spot and making decisions based on explainable data. We were Excel users for analytics at first. It was OK but we couldn't scale. We dabbled with Tableau. It was dreadfully slow and awkward. We demo'ed a couple more software and chose Qlik Sense due its speed, scalability and performance on mobile devices. Within days of using Qlik, our staff was able to convert 10 most used Excel dashboards into excellent dashboards that gave a much clearer perspective into business operations and finance. On modest server, we have been running Qlik Sense to provide enterprise-wide data analytics and our ability of decisioning has improved significantly due to Qlik.

Pros:

Speed. Qlik Sense loads data quickly into memory and analysis is stunningly fast. It is very easy to get the information you need quickly and begin to make decisions. Slicing and dicing the data is very fast as well. Having used competing software like Tableau, Qlik Sense is a breath of fresh air. There's no waiting time during analysis and that keeps a person focused on the application and gets the person curious about information being presented.

Cons:

The software's support model is horrific. Qlik uses value added resellers (aka VAR) for the most part. Most VARs I have talked to aren't exceptional and provide absolutely no valuable support after selling the software. They basically add zero value. Qlik has no idea what VARs are doing and VARs have no idea what Qlik is trying to tell them. Getting a license key correctly can take a few tries. Great software, horrific delivery. If I were the CEO of Qlik, I'd change the business model and remove VARs altogether and bring sales, marketing and support right into Qlik.

Janardhan
Consultant in India
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Qliksense For Retail

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Response times are good while analyzing the data.

Cons:

Downloads report data only into excel. Unable to download report formats like colors, fonts etc. Not supports presenting our product images as part of analytics. Not at all, mobile firendly.

Henri
Financial Controller & Data Analytics Manager in France
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Best in class ETL capabilties combined with great visualizations and ergonomics

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Qlik Sense is problably one of the quickest if not the quickest BI solution to implement. With Qlik Sense we were able to design and implement advanced business apps within days. The ability to go back and forth between data sources, data modeling and dashboard within the same interface enables a seamless production of even the most complex KPIs.

Pros:

Qlik Sense is a powerful solution with best in class ETL capabilities, which simplifies and speeds up developments and enables a collaborative approach to data. Qlik Sense not only delivers great data visualization features but also offers a comprehensive set of tools which helps to collect data from various sources and deliver insightful dashboards. When it comes to interactivity Qlik Sense set the standard while the competition truly lies behind. I recommand any company on the market for a BI / data viz solution to consider Qlik Sense no matter what their size or industry.

Cons:

I hope in the future Qlik will embed Nprinting features in order to generate pixel perfect documents from the Qlik Sense platform. Automated alerts also would be nice as well as a centralized data management for common dimensions and kpis between apps.

Diego
Freelancer in Germany
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Solid application with a good balance between features, performance and usability.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: An easy and intuitive way to create storyboards for everyone to understand, parting from relative large and difficult to understand and analyze data. The main benefit was a simple way to create quick charts which served as main discussion point with co-workers to make better decisions. So basically a great way to display business information.

Pros:

First its usability and design. Regarding the User Interface: the application is well designed and I felt like every button and function was where I would expect it to be. The program is responsive and fluid, you always know where you are and what you should do. Having said that, there is some learning curve to the many features, which are a good thing. The program is easy enough to create a histogram with a simple spreadsheet while also allowing for much more complicated statistics and good looking charts, e.g. plotting geo-data, heat-maps, box-plots and so on. I specially like the ability to write your own aggregation functions and even more the dashboard where you can put different charts and statstics and build an interactive and dynamic kind of storyboard. The interaction works seamless. If you select (in a bar chart) a specific bar or group of bars, the other charts will automatically adjust to show just the relevant/selected data. The program does not hesitate and performs really well, even with large quantities of data. Support is also pretty solid and there is a lot of information and questions already answered on the online forums. It supports many of the standard data sources.

Cons:

The aforementioned ability to write your own functions has a somewhat steep learning curve. You do have to search online for the primary functions you need (though these are well documented). Unfortunately if your data has to much variables or data points, the charts prioritize the specific variable instead of the whole diagram. What I mean by that is that you can end up with a very large horizontal chart in which you have to scroll horizontally to find the other data instead of 'cramming' all variables into the visible space. This depends on taste, but I did not find any way to change that, which brings me to the next point. The charts are somewhat 'customizable' regarding color and design. However, I've used comparable software which allows for much more flexibility in the structure and formatting of charts. A few times it can get frustrating to use the program, mainly for two reasons. 1. The aforementioned displaying of information in a non-customizable way and 2. the lack of knowledge of how the program really works that hinders you from doing exactly what you want. But of these aspects become less of a problem, the more you use the program.

Michael
Senior Data Analyst in UK
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Highly flexible and powerful analytics tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The first thing you'll notice with Qlik is how easy and quick it is to load some data and get insights. That's down to 3 aspects of the tool. The first is the data manager which allows you to drag and drop data to extract and transform data. The second is augmented intelligence (the cognitive engine) which can build a data model for you if you wish, or simply make recommendations on how to set up relationships in our data. The last is AI in the front end of the product which generates insight at the click of a button; suggesting charts and alternative ways of presenting your data. Within seconds you can load some data, build a model and present some insight. When you want to go further you've got the data load editor which allows you to write an ETL script and take advantage of compressed storage in the form of QVDs. In the front end, end users can see the whole story in their data because Qlik never leaves data behind, unlike linear ETL tools like SQL. End users can navigate data intuitively using green, white and grey colour coding. Qlik Sense makes makes data intuitive and available to everyone.

Cons:

There is a steeper learning curve than some other tools if you want to use the script editor to write code. This is worth doing though as it gives you greater control over your data. The legends on the map objects do not always correctly describe the maps.

M.D.
Data Consultant in Netherlands
Civic & Social Organization, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A work in progress, though it will get you there!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Though it really has its place in the market for simpler deployments, do take care when planning bigger or complex deployments as the servicability of such a deployment is difficult and tricky (but doable).

Pros:

-Qlik code is easy, Qlikview-code is easy reusable -InMemory works! -Lots of help online -In the end it will get you allmost there...

Cons:

-Visualisation not on par with 'the other big-ones'. No proper customisation, and a lot of basic visualisations are not available (Band chart, Radar chart, Combi-plot). -No analitics/statistiscs toolkit. -Presenting data/apps takes forever in a citrix-environment. -Developing a set of dashboards/apps in Sense feels clumsy and messy. There is no hierarchy, keeping track of sequential apps.(Extract/Translate/Presentation) is quite a thing. Think debugging... -No check-in/check-out tooling, no folderstructures for unpublished apps but a cluttered personal workspace so a lot of discipline and creative thinking is needed. -Building a corporate environment in Sense feels actually quite 'dirty'.

Nahum
IT Lead
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Rapid development and strong supportive community

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: From my experience, most of the though/completed how-to's I solved with the help of the community.
Hence I strongly recommended, in any tool that you are checking validate how large and cooperative is the community.

Pros:

- Rapid development and strong supportive community. - You can build a very nice dashboard and/or reports very fast. Simple reports can be built in matter of minutes! even if your data is scattered between different files or even different platforms (excels, DB, etc.). - You can extend the basic (out of the box) platform with Widgets and Extensions - 'QIik Branch' - open source community sharing Widgets and Extensions that you can embed into your installation.

Cons:

- Running in memory DB is fine on the server but on the desktop edition might be a problem for large DB. - While "Associative Model" is what give Qlik the ease of rapid building dashboards and reports it might cause some odd results if you are not truly understand this and pay attention while building the data model. - While there is great training for how to use the basic features, there are not a lot for how to build Widgets and extensions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The prime Dataviz application

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love qliksense because i have been using it during my studies and i am using it in my company now. a very amazing dataviz tool

Pros:

Qlik Sense has a very different approch when its come to collect and analyse data. I really like the features to collect data like using ArcSQL, you don't need to be an expert to get started. the interface is really amazing and it's very easy to explore and analyse data.

Cons:

you need to use N'printing for you to generate report but it is still okay.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User-friendly

5.0 last year

Pros:

I like that it supports the drag-and-drop functionality besides it being able to handle large volumes of data and perform complex calculations.

Cons:

It can be expensive to license and maintain, so if you want to use it, use it fully.

Abdelrahman
Business Consultant in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best BI tool on the market

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent, the best BI tool on the market

Pros:

Handles any Complex ETL possible Can connect to any data source Easy to use

Cons:

Interoperability can be better and improved by added more data sources specially Microsoft products

Austin
Instrumentation Team Leader in US
Automotive, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Central Location for Evaluation of Performance Metrics

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Data is very clear and clean and easily accessible. The ability to customize the dash board and pull various reports from virtually any time period is clutch. You are able to easily see how the business is performing compared to the target performance indicators.

Cons:

There is a lot of manual entry that needs to occur in order for the data to be properly displayed. Often times when checking metrics for 1 day, there will be more hours recorded than actual hours within the day (i.e. 24 hours in the day, but 30 hours have been input). Not too much of an issue if you have 1 person dedicated to maintaining the system -- but if several people are inputting data, this can become a head ache.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Qlik Sense makes is easy for business analysts to answer questions of their data

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Qlik Sense is a lot easier to pick up and get going with than QlikView, but has most of the same underlying capabilities and benefits. It is also more of a self-service tool for business analysts as there's less technical skill required to build charts/graphs in Qlik Sense.

Cons:

Qlik Sense is great, but to get the real power from it, you still need to learn Qlik's scripting language. It doesn't have quite the same level of functionality that QlikView has, but is catching up quickly. If you're dealing with large volumes of data, the hardware requirements can be quite large.

Manisha
Senior Qlik Developer in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Qlik Sense

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I like this tool. I have worked on both QlikView which is a guided analytic tool and Qlik Sense which is a self service tool. Both has pros and cons.

Pros:

1. It is self service BI tool, ease to use. 2. It has both ETL and Data Viz layer 3. Business user with structure data can quickly create dashboards out of it and share with others 4.It supports sending static reports through NPrinitng and embedding to another web application through Mash up.

Cons:

1. It needs to add more visualization capability. 2. NPrinting development needs to be easy and less time consuming.

Jakub
BI DV Architect in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good Business Intelligence Self-Service tool

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Searching. Associations and filtering. Easy navigation and user friendly user interface. Great options to alter data while loading into Qlik Many complementary extensions working with Qlik Sense

Cons:

Insufficient best practices workflow with shared development not best/ neither versioning / impact analysis missing administrative features - sessions monitoring/ability to terminate sessions many important enterprise features available through community extensions only or you are to build it on your own

Mike
Director of Business Intelligence in US
Farming, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful and user friendly

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I would highly recommend Qlik Sense to any company, regardless of size, because it is so easy to install, deploy, and use, and it's very affordable.

Pros:

Easy to install, easy to learn, easy to train users. Deployment of Qlik Sense is very straightforward.

Cons:

There's a bit of a learning curve for developers, most noticeably with Set Analysis expressions and data load scripting. This is not a huge hurdle, but it can be frustrating for some people. Luckily, there is a strong user community that is very responsive and willing to teach.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Data simplification tool available in the market nowadays

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Qlick sense is the best data analytics tool provides a smart solution for the big data technologies.

Pros:

Qlick sense provides a centralized management for the big data organizations. Smart search is the most usable feature available in the Qlick Sense. The app is pretty responsive which can work on any resolution.

Cons:

Sometimes Qlick sense performance is not up to mark while working on the enormous data. It also does not provides automatic reporting feature.

Stanly
Business Intelligence Developer
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Qlik Sense: Simple and Powerful

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Qlik Sense is in its early stage of industry exposure. It's an advanced BI tool which makes everyone capable of becoming a data intelligence developer. This tool is getting better in each of its updates. This is the future of Business Intelligence.

Pros:

* Simple and elegant interface, does not require much technical knowledge. * Enhanced visualisation objects. * Allows integration with all types of data sources. * Ability to migrate applications from QlikView. * Design and Security features. * Qlik sense become more and more powerful after each update.

Cons:

* Visualisation objects needs to be upgraded so it can match with the predecessor's performance. * So many functionalities are not available in Qlik sense which was available in Qlik View. * Customization of visual objects are limited.