15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

SAP Crystal Reports Reviews

About SAP Crystal Reports

With SAP Crystal Reports 2020, you can create powerful, richly formatted, dynamic reports from virtually any data source. Buy for $495.

Learn more about SAP Crystal Reports

Pros:

The best thing about the software is the variety that it offers in terms of report writing. You can link many different databases together and pull them all into one report.

Cons:

There was a lot of work required for integration of data. Lack of training was another hindrance.

SAP Crystal Reports ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

SAP Crystal Reports has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 169 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SAP Crystal Reports before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (169)

Luca
Luca
Senior Betting & Online DB Administrator in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A perfect and particular reporting system

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Knowledge on reporting systems and different point of view on several platforms.

Pros:

Excellent reporting system, highly functional especially when combined with the use of SAP Universities (which are in practice a kind of DWH). I particularly like for his different conception of reporting with the areas subdivided into sections as "groups" that comes out a bit from the concept of a paged sheet but different reasons must be made keeping in mind how the group behaves. Surely one of the best reporting systems. Excellent pixel perfect.

Cons:

Just its peculiarity of having the sections divided and divisible by "groups", makes the drafting of the report a little more complicated, but it is something that is understood and you can easily manage it by working day after day. For the rest I think he has no particular points to the detriment of his duty and does it well.

John
John
DBA in Costa Rica
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Reporting made easy

4.0 last year

Comments: It is very useful to create custom reports, KPIs, and visualizations that will fit your needs and the company needs. You can create powerful presentations and send them in various formats, to Management or whoever you need.

Pros:

It is easy to use. Easy to set up. Allows a lot of datasources, and you can play with the information once you get it

Cons:

Sometimes, it can be dificult to define the sections on te report, based on metrics and single fields.

Deepali
Deepali
Software Development Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

it makes easy to make reports as its features are very user friendly and easy to understand

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I used crystal report with Peoplesoft ERP and with Java also .When I compare crystal report with another report application I found it is much batter because of user friendly features for example there is no need to write manual sql just need to give table mapping it creates sql from itself.It gives option to open report in pdf and excel or in which form client want reports.No need to spend time to write so much code as many logic and feature is already present you just need to drag on your report.For me crystal report is fun with code where you design as per your require but no need take tension behind design.

Cons:

in crystal report it is little bit difficult to do mapping between two different different database's table.if you do also many time it will not give correct data.

Gordon
Senior SAP Consultant in Canada
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAP Crystal Reports is Very Important tool in the SAP Ecosytem

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall, this is complete and robust application that is going to be in the market for a very long time because of the value it brings to the table.

Pros:

- My Journey in SAP Crystal Reports started when my career in SAP also started. It has been a crawl, to a walk kind of journey where initially, I could only do some basic things in Crystal Reports but now I can do some pretty amazing staff with the application like Drill downs, create layouts from scratch, reports with sub reports,charting, report optimization etc.- SAP Crystal report is a very important tool in the SAP ecosystem and very crucial to a successful career in SAP. You literally cannot call yourself a senior SAP Consultant if you have not attained a certain level of expertise in Crystal reports. - With SAP Crystal reports you can create interactive reports from various data sources both SAP and Non- SAP data sources which can be customized to the very specific client needs.- It goes without saying that SAP Crystal Reports integrates seamlessly with applications in the SAP Ecosytem. - One of the most awesome things about SAP Crystal Reports is the fact that reports and layouts can be exported and shared in various formats including excel, pdf, and more.

Cons:

- There is definitely a learning curve involved in crystal reports. If you want to be able to do respectable things in Crystal reports, then you might want to invest in acquiring the knowledge. For example, I have had to buy like 2 courses from Udemy on the same. The courses have been a huge help. I wouldn't be where I am today without the courses.

Austin
Austin
Software Analyst in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Crystal Reports from SAP, your access tool to Data Visualization

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: We're using SAP Crystal Reports to analyze databases and visualize data, scheduling automatic weekly/monthly/daily reports for managerial roles and even for operators.

Pros:

What I like the most about SAP Crystal Reports is the fine tuning when doing data visualization, it gives you excellent tools to make the task easy and accessible for the end user.I also like the ease of use whenever you're filtering and making use of the reporting tools.The integration with the product was not complex but it had a lot of configuration to be done.

Cons:

I think there are some features that could be improved, like for example database connection and responses, sometimes whenever you're using old databases that have a good response, the tool works flawlessly, but when a connection is refused or problems arise, you do not have a good logging tool to keep track and follow the issue.The integration was not difficult but it was really configuration heavy, I think that works well in favour.

Michael
Michael
Senior Project Management/Business Analysis Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Revolutionized my daily tasks

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Crystal Reports allowed me to streamline my inventory refresh ordering and my custom ordering process into a single automated report. After setting reorder points in for all of my stock items I was able to get instant reports that tell me when I need to order and avoid stock outtages. At the same time each day, I run my report, save it as an excel file and forward to my production facility!

Cons:

Steep learning curve, but it is worth it. There is also a dependency on having good clean source data. Crystal Reports may actually point out some shortcomings in your source data and create more work short term.

Abdelati
Abdelati
Treasury in Morocco
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great product to use for business and moving forward.!

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: This product has been working for many years in our company. And as an accounting manager, It is the best in measures and reports.!

Pros:

This current program that needs no introduction is the most accurate and systematic product for all reports and statistics, as well as the development in our Bussines

Cons:

It is a very advanced and well-known program..!

Travis
Manager in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Data Reports

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Good - very minimal issues. Mainly reaching out for help with complex formulas.

Pros:

Ease of use - ability to link up multiple data sources. Customizations are user friendly and quick to learn.

Cons:

SAP Crystal Reports fulfils all the aspects we needed for our custom database reports.

Caroline
Caroline
SAP B1 Consultant in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the Best Business Intelligent Reporting Tools for SME's

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Crystal Reports helps us have a more detailed look of our company and helps us make informed decisions on what we need to do to improve various components of our business.

Pros:

I like that Crystal reports have a very strong capabilities like sorting of data. You are also able to retrieve most of your company' data for analysis using the tool. Crystal reports helps us create highly formatted and detailed reports - much more that what we are able to get from the SAP Business One software itself. Another awesome thing about Crystal reports is that it is that the process of creating reports is easy once you get used to the mechanisms of the tool. For example, once you pull a certain aspect of a specific set of data, yo can reuse it and only change a variable according to your new needs. Crystal Reports are also pretty affordable for small and medium sized companies.

Cons:

Though the initial purchase of crystal reports can be quite affordable, the tool gets expensive when you need to buy the server which is quite costly but essential for scheduled notifications and other benefits.

Angie
Angie
Accounts Receivable/Payable and Operations Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great reporting system!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Crystal reports are a great way to see your data in many different ways. Customization is fairly easy with some training.

Cons:

We have always had an issue with our reports reconciling to our system. They take some training to get them set up correctly.

David
Report Developer in US
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Crystal Reports Helps Companies See Through To Their Business Info

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

Learning Crystal Reports is only part of the educational process for learning Business Intelligence Reporting. You need to have the fundamental ability to become familiar with how a business operates, how it uses information. You need to be able to translate a company's requirements for managing and and acting on information to the technical organization and structure of its data systems. To be a successful report developer you need to be able to speak both languages. There are some great resources out there for Crystal Reports professionals, such my own Crystal Reports group on LinkedIn, where developers meet and share ideas as well as where employers and recruiters come to find them. There is also the Crystal Reports Users Group Crystal Users group, both hosted by Yahoo Groups, which have been serving and supporting Crystal Reports professionals for over a decade. Plus many web sites, online tutorials, video tutorials, skills training and more. Just don't forget that there are two sides to Business Intelligence Reporting - and Crystal Reports is only one of them. Crystal Reports is a highly featured and flexible business intelligence tool that has been around for over 2 decades. It is database independent, meaning you can develop reports against just about any database or structured file format, from Microsoft SQL and Oracle, to flat file to text file to spreadsheets to anything for which you can access via ODBC, DAO, XML, OLE DB, JDBC and many more protocols. Crystal Reports integrates seamlessly into SAP BusinessObjects Enterprise products as well as other SAP data management products. Reports can link tables internally within the design template, or developers can build their own external SQL Queries, views, stored procedures or universes and build their reports off those data sources. Crystal also allows developers to script their custom own SQL-based query in the Database Editor. And if your data source changes, Crystal provides tools for mapping your existing report over to the new similarly structured data source. Record selection formulas can help filter out unwanted data to improve the efficiency of report performance. Crystal Reports has a highly flexible report design editor that features multi-pass linear data processing, allowing analysis to be performed while reading records as while printing records. Data may be grouped or sorted based on raw data or on formulas that can analyze and manipulate record data for customized processing. Crystal Reports allows developers to create virtually any kind of data-based report, from tabular column listings to data-driven letters to charts, cross-tabs, free-form and (pre-printed) form-fitting solutions. Extensive summary functions, running totals, and a rich formula programming language (Crystal also supports Basic syntax) provide unlimited opportunity to manage and manipulate raw data for analysis and presentation to the customer, be it a management report, operations report or customer-facing report. With sub-reports, it is possible to link together tangentially Connected Data sources, expanding the opportunities of publishing relevant information onto a single page or report. Individually formattable multi-section detail, page and group headers and footer sections allow the developer to play with suppression, paging and other formatting options and formulas. Crystal Reports is a WSIWYG design tool, allowing you to see what you are doing as you do it. Whether you use the the grid or guidelines with the Design Tool, or the size and alignment tools with the Preview Tool, Crystal lets you create the report as you want to see it. You can integrate external images, files, or even BI products, such as Crystal Dashboards (Xelcius). Through the use of parameters, reports can be designed to include user input in the record selection, formatting and operation of the report. Reports can be generated for printing, export to Adobe Acrobat, to Microsoft Excel or many other formats. Crystal can also be easily linked into 3rd party applications through XML, Java, Visual Studio or other APIs. Crystal Reports can also be easily delivered through the Crystal Reports Server or the Business Objects Enterprise Server, providing a hosting platform for both scheduled automation and on-demand report generation.

Cons:

For someone experienced in business intelligence, databases or programming, Crystal Reports is relatively intuitive, though it will take time and experience to learn how to fully leverage every feature. There are included tutorials that teach the basics, but real world situations often defy the simplicity of the provided solutions. There are plenty of third-party resources from Yahoo and LinkedIn groups to user support web sites and video, instructional and printed training materials. Crystal is not something that the home user can jump into. The license is relatively expensive and does not include a database server, database or other data source. Licensing for enterprise environments can get pricey quickly. While many employers hire report developers directly, there is a large community of professional report developers who work contracts, either independently or through contract employment agencies. In most cases, the employer provides the licensed Crystal Reports tool, but if a company has only infrequent report development needs, they may expect the consultant to provide their own copy of the software. SAP is really not set up for supporting the individual, however, preferring to engage the company in business-licensed products. Crystal Reports has incredible flexibility but their are limitations, mostly in formatting. Working with lines and boxes is not as flexible as, say, Microsoft Word. Charts and graphs have many features and options but they can be difficult to try and force your data to conform to the usage requirements. Graphics cannot be edited in-template, and some image formats are not supported (though you can easily convert an image to a supported format). The design tool can have issues with orphaned text at the bottom or the top of a page. While you can include comments in formulas, there is no ability to provide comments to the actual data, static, calculated value or other objects within the report design. Rules applied to the selection and manipulation of data can have unexpected results, leading to manual troubleshooting of report design and database queries. Like any piece of template design software, there are bound to be situations where you want to do something a certain way that is not supported by Crystal Reports, which can lead to frustration. But there are usually ways to think outside of the box to accomplish what you want. Crystal Reports is getting a little long in the tooth. While still one of the worlds' most popular reporting tools, It hasn't received a major update in many years, while Microsoft's SQL Server Reporting Services as well as open-source and other business intelligence competition products have grown in popularity, and it shows. The user interface and feature set hasn't significantly changed in quite a while. Of course, it was already pretty rich and complete, but it lacks the feel and finish of many current generation software products. There is also no version available for the Apple Mac, which means no support for iOS devices. Some feel that SAP doesn't see the Crystal product line as the best place for its R&D investments, pushing more data analytic based products such as Web Intelligence. I think there is room and demand for both and wish SAP would wow me with an upgrade that would transform Crystal Reports into a new generation of business intelligence reporting that sets the bar for everyone else.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Fund-Raising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful and easy to use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love working with it and when I retire, I am going to come back as a Crystal Reports programmer. :)

Pros:

I love how I can take data from our database and present it in a pleasing way for our users. I have been using Crystal Reports for almost 20 years and find it very powerful. I can build a report very quickly and a few simple format changes and make it look professional. I developed a program to run a series of reports with parameters passed from the program. I can do our month end process in minutes instead of running 100 reports one at a time. So it is great for creating a report and easy to add to a .NET program to be run automagically. Pretty cool!

Cons:

It can be time consuming to build a complex report with lots of formulas. Not a fault of the software. Just the process is long at times when you have over 100 formulas. It would be nice if there was a feature where you could easily clone a formula and then change it quickly for each situation. Although, maybe in a newer version of CR this might be possible.

Mike
Project Manager in US
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A bit of a learning curve, but a life saver!

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: My job involves working with similar data that is housed in different databases, both internal and external. Before Crystal Reports, I would pull several reports out of several databases, bring the data into Excel and run pivot tables, vlookups, etc... to be able to see the relations in the data. With Crystal Reports, as long as I have a common data field, (such as a part number) I can combine data from several different sources and run reports based on the related data. This is a much easier method. For example, I am now able to run a single report that shows our current orders, the current inventory available to fill those orders and based on that, make a single order to our vendor for re-stocking. This used to take at least 2 hours out of my day... now it is quick enough that I run the report twice a day and very rarely have stock outtages.

Pros:

The ability to pull and parse data from several different data sources and report on the related data sets

Cons:

The learning curve is a bit steep, but once you set up a report, it can be re-run easily any time and as often as you need, quickly and cleanly.

Umar
Software Engineer in Pakistan
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Business Reporting Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience has been just excellent with this.
Its a complete business solution in market at the time.

Pros:

Almost every business application requires reports of their data on daily/monthly basis. They require reports not only in tabular form but also they need visual digrams to analyze performance of their business. As a developer i always use crystal reports to develop complex reports that require charts and grouped data for readability and correct and ultimate analysis. Its easy to develop and connect with underlying datatables. Any kind of complex colored, tabular and visual report can be generated from this.i really love it.

Cons:

Its my favourite reporting engine and there is nothing to be liked least about it. I used it from beginning and got fan of it.

Keith
VP, IT in US
Warehousing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Crystal Reports - Solid Reporting

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've used Crystal Reports in business since 1994. Each version has improved while maintaining ease and approachability. I highly recommend this software to anyone in need of an ad-hoc or print-ready formatted reporting solution.

Pros:

Crystal Reports can connect to a great number of data sources. Data Export functionality is feature rich allowing for exporting to most major file formats. Learning and understanding report creation and layout is very easy.

Cons:

Sometimes software updates can break functionality so take care in applying them. Crystal Reports is now owned by SAP, so beware of the horrible contractual and licensing agreements that may apply.

Glenn
Senior HRIS in US
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

You can connect to any data source: ODBC, Access, Excel, etc Price is relatively inexpensive compared to other tools on the market Create complicated reports with the ability to adjust display and format to the level of detail I’ve never seen in a report writer The ability to schedule reports

Cons:

Not intuitive – takes a skilled developer to write a complex report Sharing reports with others Exporting to excel takes a lot of trial and error sometimes to format correctly

Victoria
IT Manager in US
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Integral business tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've used Crystal reports for 14 years, and I've really been able to adapt it's capabilities to fit our company's needs.

Pros:

The flexibility of what I can do with my data is invaluable. I am able to create custom reports to extract necessary information from our databases.

Cons:

The newer version of this software does not allow me to open a new report while another report is generating, but it does so more quickly than the old software, so it's a give and take.

Carl
Business Process Analyst
Utilities, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Crystal Reports - Enterprise version

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Having been a user of Crystal Reports 2008 through 2011, I am a big fan of Crystal Reports. We have now migrated to Crystal Enterprise version and there are some big gains and a few misses with this version. The ease of use for beginners is much greater in the Enterprise version. If you are just starting out, the Enterprise version is a nice package. It features drag and drop capability, easy navigation, and plenty of customization for your visualization. There are still some nagging spots that have not been cleaned up, primarily in the formatting areas. Small things like drawing borders or creating grids are more hassle than they are worth. And if you make a small change in the report it could easily throw off your formatting and you will need to touch all those pieces again. However, the power of Crystal Reports makes it well worth the minor annoyances. It delivers a powerful tool for delivering standard visualizations. It packs plenty of power that can satisfy almost any requirement.

Pros:

1) Ease of use. 2) Clean and standard reporting. 3) Multitude of ways to deliver your reports. Email, ftp, on demand, etc.

Cons:

1) Minor annoyances that can crop up out of nowhere; typically involving formatting. 2) For as mature as the product is, it still tends to crash more often than I would like.

Brett
ESM Manager in US
Civic & Social Organization, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent Reports

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: A great tool when your solution requires the use of crystal reports or report development tool.

Pros:

The software is very robust and has a lot of tools that make creating detailed reports very easy. The ability to attach to data sources make it a great tool.

Cons:

The interface can be a little daunting for new users and expanded functionality can require more detailed programming knowledge.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reporting system is comprehensive, but difficult to use.

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ability to customize reports is helpful. Comprehensive. The system has the ability to report on many aspects of business.

Cons:

Difficult to learn report writing requirements. Trial and error yields unproductive data reporting. Once parameters are established for requests, downloading data fields is sometimes slow.

Steve
Sales Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful query tool for just about any need

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I had to use a consultant to help me write the queries I use. We use them everyday to run our business and the work perfectly.

Cons:

Very difficult to learn the structure and commands. I felt a lot like I needed to understand coding. I resorted to hiring a professional to write our queries.

Oleg
Financial Analyst in US
Banking, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool to build customized reports from Databases

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've been using Crystal Reports in my different roles, on and off for many years, and it is the best application of its kind out there. If you want simple no frills reporting, you can link your database to MS Access, and use built in reports there; but for advanced, professional reports you want to present to important clients or senior management, Crystal Reports is your tool.

Pros:

If you are familiar with MS Access, and it's built in Reports - Crystal Reports is similar feature, but much fancier, and a lot more flexible. You can built any kind of reports from your SQL Server Database. You can either do filtering in the report, or use custom view from SQL Server. Unlike MS Access where reports are simply nice - these look professional. (I mainly used it with SQL Server, but it also works with MySQL, Oracle, MS Excel, etc)

Cons:

I haven't had any issues, but I heard people say that their support is not very responsive. I was able to built some very sophisticated reports, and never needed any support.

Mehdi
Self Employed in Canada
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Honest Opinion

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been using it for many years and really happy with it.

Pros:

I like it's ease of use and specially its use with any data base.

Cons:

It's gradual development and ease of use and Integration with other Apps.

Ailyn Mae
Finance Associate in Philippines
Accounting Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SAP Crystal reports for business

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is very helpful for business to have this app because it has features to make very efficient reports.

Cons:

This app is very useful and also the customer service is very accomodating to every issues and it gives support to the customer.

karen
AP Specialist in US
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software for printing checks

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Our company prints our checks with SAP Crystal Reports. The checks look very professional and it is very easy to use. We have four companies that we use SAP Crystal for printing checks and it is very easy to jump from one company to the next and the checks look so good. This software is used with our Spectrum accounting software.

Cons:

I don't know how I would contact support if I needed it for this software. If we have issues, we have to get help from an IT person at our work.