Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.9 /5

About Device42

ITAM Software: Track complete hardware & software asset life-cycles, licenses, contracts, certificates, renewal reminders, and more!

Learn more about Device42

Showing 49 reviews

Ernest W.
Sr Infrastructure engineer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"Best Find in a while!"

Comments: Great experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.

Pros: Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!

Cons: Had to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2017

"Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date."

Comments: The software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.

Pros: Having information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.

Cons: We are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2017
John B.
Systems Engineer/Architect
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money."

Comments: We are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.

Pros: Ease of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API

Cons: Documentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Wallace L.
Network Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/12/2019

"Device42 Review"

Comments: Overall, this is a good product. It does need a lot of attention to get it setup

Pros: It allows you to keep trace of all the device, hardware, using SNMP. We could save all the circuit and vendor information all as well as racks information.

Cons: IP address could get a bit messy. Device information could get a bit overwhelming. So setting it up and get it up and going does require quite a bit of work. Circuit LAG doesn't really work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/12/2019
Alvin P.
System Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"A learning experience and rewarding once I was able to maneuver through the portal."

Comments: Asset management features.

Pros: The software allowed me to easily import our Excel data into the software. This saved me a lot of time and allowed me more time to focus on my other daily duties.

Cons: What I dislike about the software is that there are so many steps to complete a task. For example, if we have a device to install, cable and place in production. There are different windows or separate Excel (if it's a bulk) spreadsheet to complete the task.
Another dislike is when I used the SNMP auto-discovery. It discovered even all of the non-pertinent VLANs. It showed over 600 VLANs, we have less than 50 VLANs. It basically counted for every switch port that had a VLAN label.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Keith C.
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2017

"Device42 has given us a great feature set, fantastic support and was overall easy to implement."

Comments: Ease of use, great support, full use of features, great site documentation.

Pros: After trialing many different asset solutions, Device42 was by far superior. It came with a lot unique functionality we were looking for such as SAML, Jira Integration, workflows etc. What really made my life easier though was their thorough documentation on everything and their very timely and knowledgeable support. Their support was fantastic throughout the implementation process and always addressed issues expediently. I deal with many organizations support for various solutions we have and D42 definitely stands out for quality. I would definitely recommend their solution based on the above.

Cons: This isn't really a con but currently they only have an On-prem option. Overall though hosting it hasn't been much work involved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2017
Dirk B.
Network Architect
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"Great and versatile DCIM tool!"

Comments: This software helps us streamlining processes and getting our documentation up to date.

Pros: Lots of functionalities are well packed together in a single tool. Buildings, rooms, racks, devices are nicely linked together and can give a visualization of all the components (Room overview, rack layout, ...)
We're using the datacenter inventory module and the centralized password database. It takes a while to get all information in the tool, but once it's in there, it can easily be retrieved or changed if ncessary.

Cons: RBAC could be improved
The update process could be simplified with automatic downloads and scheduled installations

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Sr. System Lead
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"CMDB that works"

Comments: Suppot has been top noch

Pros: IT was fast to deploy and run discoveries. Very Fast to be up and running

Cons: Scans can be an issue based on the size of the org. Might take some time to dial in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Mark P.
Manager, IT Infrastructure
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017

"Good Product, Excellent Support!"

Comments: Device42 is a solid contender in the DCIM market, and will gain more ground as their reputation spreads. Most DCIM’s require extensive training, professional services, and lots of ongoing help. Not Device42 – it is intuitive and easy enough to use – if you take time to listen and learn. When we were stumped, a quick support request on their portal was answered quickly.

Pros: It is easy to use, and the support folks will work with you to find a root cause – and stick with it. Great Support!

Cons: We were told that most APC UPS's were supported, but we had problems with a few of their devices. In the end, Device42 did a program rewrite and corrected everything. Well Done!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017
Yasin S.
Senior Systems Developer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017

"Superb product, allowed us to view/manage our infrastructure from a desk properly!"

Comments: Complete DCIM Management, the ability to easily capacity plan, manage assets, carry out impact assessments etc is invaluable, together with value for money.

Pros: Very easy to setup, excellent discovery options, good integration with other products and good support. They will find the root cause to issues, even if it takes time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017
Maurice K.
System Engineer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018

"A one-stop-shop DCIM"

Comments: It made our datacenter preparations quite easy.

Pros: The ease of use of the tool. It has a great API where you can program against. We used rack view a lot during the migration of our datacenter.

Cons: The IPAM part could use some rework, make it more easy to look at. As far as I know this is already on the roadmap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Operations
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"Device42 review"

Comments: The support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is
appreciated by our change manager.

Pros: Great tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.

Cons: The autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Discovery Lead
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019

"A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !"

Comments: D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

Pros: D42 support is very quick and to the point.
Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily.
This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase.
This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies.
It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

Cons: Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports.
No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite.
sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning.
No CLI option

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Systems administrator
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2017

"Great product and excellent support"

Pros: We use Device42 to implement our customer environments. It gives us a great overview of the customers IT estate and enables us to track inventory and server layout connections. Their Support is really responsive and helpful and when an issue or feature request is put in support works with development and the customer until the issue is fully resolved and tested

Cons: This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Data Center Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"Very good software"

Comments: We are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.

Pros: Very easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.

Cons: The auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Mark M.
Lead Systems Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"Device42 Review"

Comments: We use Device42 for literally everything: servers, switches, PDUs, secrets, etc. I couldn’t imagine not having it.

Pros: Device42 has a very comprehensive set of features. All aspects of your inventory can be tracked, most things are first-class citizens, and can be related to one another. I like the fact that it’s an appliance. Their support is excellent — you can tell that they put customers first.

Cons: I have a few feature requests that I’d like to see some movement on. One of the most important ones, for us, is API tokens (instead of username/password).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
John C.
Tools Engineer
10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018

"Great customer support"

Comments: We were able to get our CMDB up-to-date very quickly. The asset management team is very happy.

Pros: Extremely quick responses and resolutions from support team. Auto-discovery features have proven to be very useful for us to quickly gather lots of information regarding our environment. Very granular reporting features keep our users happy.

Cons: Although I understand why it's this way, it is annoying not having the ability to drop to a command prompt on the main system or the remote collectors. However, I believe they may attempt to engineer a solution for this soon.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Ezra O.
Dir. of Infrastructure
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2018

"D42 Review"

Comments: We have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.

Pros: It is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.

Cons: It does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2018
Dustin B.
IS Engineer
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018

"Great product and service."

Pros: This product is awesome, and is available to be viewed from anywhere internal information/db can be updated. Absolutely love this product. And it's fast to access. Support team is top-notch!

Cons: There are no cons on this product other than going to version 15 requires another virtual machine. But that's minor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018
Paul P.
IT Help Desk
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018

"Great software, amazing support"

Comments: It's great for keeping track of all inventory. This is exceptionally helpful with the number of leased devices we have as we have custom reporting alerting us when they are about to expire.

Pros: Very comprehensive software. Easy to run custom reporting that suits our environment. Able to attach documentation to assets. It does it's job exceptionally well. The support for any questions or issues we encounter is exceptionally good. I submitted a simple ticket via email and it was resolved within 10mins. Any ticket I've submitted for assistance was updated very quickly, and if the issue was more substantial, their techs would follow up consistently.

Cons: Backup options are a bit limited to use what is pre-configured. Would be great to be able to use a backup system like Datto, but we were able to work with the pre-configured solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Service Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2019

"Value for money"

Comments: It's a very good software for device discovery. Value for money.

Pros: The functionality of the software and the various options for discovery

Cons: Assessment option is not available to migrate the workload on cloud

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Hindi - J.
It country head
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"Device 42"

Pros: Easy to use and have multiple choices for scanning all platforms

Cons: Application mapping and impact it’s a little complicated tree

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Andreas Z.
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018

"Very Good IPAM solution with lots of future potential"

Pros: - Easy to use
- Tool aligned to current customer and Business Needs
- Open for new customer and Business Needs with quick release cycles (Feature request processing)

Cons: - Licensing
- Full and direct application HA failover missings

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Rajesh S.
Network Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"Device42 Review"

Comments: excellent

Pros: Autodiscovery of devices and simple and intutive user interface

Cons: No support to auto discover ucs servers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Zack G.
CTO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2016

"Easiest Data Center Management Software I've Seen"

Comments: I've used BMC before and I've tested Nlyte, and they are great, but from start to finish this was the easiest one I've seen so far, and from the looks of it, the most comprehensive one. I've yet to discover all of the features, but it looks like it has more to offer than BMC for sure. Loving it so far...

Pros: Ease of installation and functionality

Cons: Price

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2016