ConnectWise Automate Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.7 /5

About ConnectWise Automate

Automate Backup and Storage solutions can provide data protection and recovery from physical and virtual machines. Get your free tour!

Learn more about ConnectWise Automate

Showing 101 reviews

Benjamin B.
IT
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020

"Should be call "Connectwise Autodraft""

Comments: The business is a con. They tell you they have a "guarantee" which they make impossible to obtain. will continue to bill you regardless fo whether the product works or not.

Pros: The software has its pros (connectwise screenconnect is the only good thing). The automation will automatically restart services or auto-approve and apply windows update on a schedule. When it isn't crashing or causing servers to crash that is.

Cons: It CONSTANTLY crashes. It will cause servers to crash. Only some automation features work. No support is ever avaaible to resolve issues. The ones that do respond don't know their own product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/04/2020
Verified Reviewer
Ingeniero de Implementación y Soporte
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019

"ConnectWise Automate, a great software"

Comments: Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage. Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros: It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons: CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019
Ahmed A.
Information Systems Technician
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2019

"The BEST tool for an IT Army of One"

Comments: Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros: You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons: Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Rachel H.
Adminitrative Assistant
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020

"The most powerful automation tool."

Comments: I really enjoy using the tool and the vast amount of solutions it allows us to assist our clients in solving. The automation genuinely saves time for all of our team with the functionality it offers.

Pros: I really like the remote control portion of the program. The ability to remotely patch servers and client devices is excellent.

Cons: The customer support for connectwise is their largest downfall. The software is excellent but the support is not always what it should be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020
Tom A.
CTO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018

"CW Automate"

Comments: I would recommend this product to anyone managing more then 100 computers especially if they are not on a domain.

Pros: Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine.

Cons: Most of the rich automation is done in a fat client that is heavy and slow to launch. Once in the product everything performs well it's the startup that can take some time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Managing Partner
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"ConnectWise Automate"

Comments: It's been positive, but I would recommend shopping around to get the best tool for your firm.

Pros: It packs a bunch of features and it's integration with ConnectWise manage is nice. The scripting is powerful.

Cons: Tool is very complex and even simple tasks can be tricky. Support for Automate is not nearly as good as with Manage. The product is expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Jim M.
Systems Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019

"The solution for any size MSP"

Comments: Awesome piece of software that allows to take your MSP to the next level

Pros: Provides you the tools that you need in order to streamline your systems and automate a lot of your processes as a MSP

Cons: Overwhelming for new users, need to introduce them slowly to all the features that it includes

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019
Daniel G.
Support Technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"Easy to understand, difficult to master"

Pros: The ability to connect via web portal or application. I can see my items on the fly even when I'm out of the office

Cons: The application crashes quite a bit when not a very steady connection which makes it difficult to open items

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Helpdesk Escalation Technician
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/07/2018

"This product makes my work life better."

Comments: It has allowed me to accomplish more during a work day.

Pros: How it is able to connect so well regardless of bandwidth constraints, Able to manage updates, antivirus with ease. Scripting is extremely easy.

Cons: The software removal process often will not work as it sometimes requires accessing the PC. Sometimes registering new machines can be a trying experience without admin level access.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/07/2018
Dillion S.
Marketing Analyst
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2019

"The best in the market"

Comments: Automates dashboard lists all of your PCs which have agents installed on them and you can do just about anything with it. You can tell everything from usernames that are logged in to what update just ran on the PC.

Pros: The best part you have the ability to get so much information without remoting into a users PC. You can even use a remote PCs command prompt and registry without remoting into them.

Cons: I wish their patch management could get a little more TYC. They have some issues there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Shon O.
Network Administrator
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"Rock solid RMM"

Pros: Very stable unattended remote access client. Works very well especially when doing remote upgrades to Windows 10.

Cons: Definitely full featured, but a little too pricey to be used for stand alone in house Corporate use, really designed more for MSP's.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Network Supervisor
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2020

"A must for MSPs look for a monitoring & management tool"

Comments: We have been satisfied with ConnetWise Automate. It brings value by saving time and decrease the chances of outages.

Pros: I like that Connectwise Automate can monitor our clients system alert us of problems by emailing alerts and auto create tickets for my team to work on. It saves time.

Cons: The learning curve is the only thing we had issues with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2020
Colton W.
Network Engineer
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2019

"Perfect Remote Tool"

Comments: I would describe it as an extremely positive outlook.

Pros: Easy use. Great interface. Makes managing a lot of equipment easy.

Cons: Can be clunky and scripting can be difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Project Delivery Manager
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018

"A program that truly understands that automation is important to IT support"

Pros: Compared to our last platform we used, this has allowed our company to be much more proactive in regards to support requests. The automation of mundane tasks has freed up our engineers to be more hands on in other areas of the business such as project work now that things like patching are off their plate.

Cons: The newer UI has been a bit more cumbersome than before and has taken some trial and error for everyone to figure out things that were more intuitive previously.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Kyle S.
Systems Admin
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017

""LabTech" is a great tool which allows you do anything you want. "Anything custom" is not supported"

Comments: Its a powerful tool, in the hands of someone who has spent years building and tweaking the software, generally without supports help, it can do anything you want unless a bug gets in your way that won't be fixed for a few weeks/months.

Pros: Community (LabTechGeek) assistance,
The ability to do anything you want with powershell, internal scripting and plugin access

Cons: Horrible support. Bad UI Design, Bad Releases, horrible support staff willing to assist with issues, constant support problems as they always send a KB article that has nothing to do with your issue

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017
David H.
Senior Accountant
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Exceptionally capable and reliable!"

Pros: Once properly configured, it has allowed for quick and easy monitoring, updating, troubleshooting, and management of the computers, servers, and networks at our many office locations.

Cons: With advanced capability comes advanced configuration. The initial set-up and roll-out of the software was a demanding process. However, the customer support and resources available were both excellent and, once set up, we were running smoothly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Michael K.
IT
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"Powerful and robust remote management software"

Pros: Very powerful and can perform just about any function needed given that you know how. Techs must take caution that learning this is a beast and your job could end up being managing this software full time since there is so much to it.

Cons: It can be very time consuming to get your feet on the ground with Connectwise Automate which can suck up most of your free time and transform your job.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Michael P.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2017

"Customer support"

Comments: Lab tech values their customer service. They are responsive and quick to action.Their email resonance and efficient.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2017
Jill P.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019
Dave B.
CFO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018
Christopher J.
IT Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"Manage multiple environments with ease"

Comments: Companies I have been working for have been leveraging this application for machine management for years.

Pros: This software provides multiple connectivity options.
It can show a lot of information (see least favorite list below)
Great organization!
Easy integration with Connectwise Control and Manage
Lots of option for Scripting and API connectivity to outside applications

Cons: The interface was changed to a much less intuitive environment about a year ago. I use it and have started to get used to it somewhat, but it still is not what I would call good.
There's problems if you don't run the Control Center as an Admin, but it doesn't want to run as admin by default
The uninstaller for the client can sometimes not uninstall.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Luke K.
Server Administrator/ RMM Technician
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2018

"Automate ( formerly Labtech) is a great RMM tool for MSP customers."

Pros: The ease of setup and installation for customers is substantial when considering this tool for MSP. New customers can be setup with ease, configured and once agents are installed Automate can significantly reduce information gathering for system resources, and discovery of behind the scenes issues. Scripting and Automating are easy to do with the built in examples and wizards, which makes customizing alerts and monitors a breeze.

Cons: The monitoring will come with lots of defaults right out of the box, so there will be a lot of "noise" to sort through and remove/adjust after initial installation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Arthur H.
Systems Engineer
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2018

"I used this product all the time"

Comments: It makes managing thousands of machines easy.

Pros: It is a very powerful tool to manage our clients machines. It can run custom scripts and do a lot of proactive maintenance. It is very fast when remote controlling other computers The scripting engine is very powerful It pulls a huge amount of data It is very customizable

Cons: It can be a little complex for new users The integration with Connectwise: Manage can cause some issues with ticket entries Customizing it for your needs can be time consuming I

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2018
Mike H.
VP of Sales and Marketing
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"Automate - IT automation software for IT Service Providers"

Comments: I work for an MSP, and we have the luxury of having a full time guy that is our Automate administrator. He's amazing, and has made this software do some really incredible stuff for us. It had good functionality out of the box, but we've been adding scripts and automation to it for 5 years at this point. The sky is the limit on what you can do, but you will need to invest the time and energy into doing it.

Pros: We love Automate. We use it to manage patches and updates across thousands of computers. We also use it for customized monitoring and alerting on workstations and servers. Monitoring is really robust and granular. It does a great job of gathering a TON of data about the network, and that data is searchable. There are a bunch of different reports built in. Integrates with Manage, Control, and other applications. It does a ton of stuff out of the box, and has endless customization options.

Cons: It may not do quite as much as you want right out of the box, and it will take some work to set it up. You'll need someone on your team willing to invest the time and energy into making this software do everything you want.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Jamenn V.
System Technician
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2018

"Connectwise Automate, formerly Labtech, works well for the most part."

Pros: Before Automate/Labtech 12 the best thing about this software was being able to see, at a glance, all the information you needed about a particular managed computer. They are moving back in this direction it appears. The scripting and monitoring systems are robust and allow you to do pretty much anything you can think of.

Cons: The GUI update that came with version 12 is not good. It uses a bunch of giant squares to present information and you have to drill into each one to find the specific info you are looking for rather than the at-a-glance experience I had before. Support leaves something to be desired. Just starting to chat with someone there can take 45+ minutes, then the person you are chatting with does not have the knowledge to fix the problem so you have to open a ticket anyway. Lots of time wasted there. Furthermore sometimes the inexperienced technician will offer suggestions to resolve the problem that have nothing to do with the problem which underlines the fact that they do not understand the problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2018