15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Phocas Software Reviews

About Phocas Software

Phocas' business intelligence (BI) solution makes it easy to analyze data to stimulate better business decisions.

Learn more about Phocas Software

Pros:

The ease of use of Phocas is what puts it at the top of our list for BI software.

Cons:

So much at once is hard to take in and learn all Phocas can give you. Too much data can be overwhelming.

Phocas Software ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Phocas Software has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 118 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Phocas Software before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (118)

Khallyl
Khallyl
Data Specialist in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful Business Intelligence Tool - Phocas Software

5.0 last year

Comments: It's important to note that the cons of Phocas software will depend on your specific needs and circumstances. It's recommended that you evaluate each software's (exam. Tableau, Microsoft PowerBI, etc.) features, pricing, and customer reviews to determine which one will work best for your business.

Pros:

I highly recommend Phocas software for any business looking for a user-friendly, real-time analytics solution. The customizable dashboards and robust data modeling capabilities make it easy to create a single source of truth for your organization. Plus, the seamless integration with other business applications and mobile access means you can access critical information from anywhere. And with dedicated customer support, you can be sure you're getting the most out of the software. Overall, I'm very impressed with Phocas software and would definitely recommend it to others.

Cons:

While Phocas software has many advantages, there are also some potential drawbacks to consider. Users may find that some customization options are limited, and the software can have a steep learning curve for those who are not familiar with business intelligence solutions. Additionally, Phocas software may have fewer data visualization options and may not integrate with all the data sources that your organization uses. Finally, It can be relatively expensive, which could be a barrier for some businesses, especially small businesses.

Phocas Software Response

12 months ago

Hi Khallyl, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a thorough review! To help get you familiar with the customization options available, please be sure to check out online library of how-to videos that cover various aspects of Phocas products: https://www.phocassoftware.com/academy And if you're missing a data source in your solution that is critical to your organization, please let us know ([email protected]), we'd love to help keep you feeling great about your data! Warm regards, Mike Hills Global Head of Customer

Noam
Founder in US
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful Business Intelligence Tool - Phocas Software

5.0 last year

Comments: I have had a great experience with Phocas Software. The user interface is intuitive and user-friendly, making it easy to access and understand the various data points. Additionally, the powerful and comprehensive capabilities of the software enable businesses to gain valuable insights into their operations and performance. The only downside I have experienced is the cost, as the software can be quite expensive.

Pros:

Phocas Software is an incredibly powerful and comprehensive business intelligence tool that can help businesses gain valuable insights into their operations and performance. With Phocas Software, users can quickly and easily access real-time data and analytics to help them make better decisions and optimize their operations. The user interface is intuitive and user-friendly, making it easy to understand the various data points and use them to inform decisions.

Cons:

While Phocas Software is an incredibly powerful and comprehensive business intelligence tool, it can be difficult to set up and configure. Additionally, the cost of the software can be quite expensive, depending on the features and functionality you need.

Phocas Software Response

12 months ago

Hi Noam, thanks for leaving us a review, it's awesome to hear that you're having a great experience with Phocas. We like to make our pricing as all-inclusive as possible, by including all our implementation costs and data warehousing costs up-front. And as part of our process we want to make sure that an investment in Phocas really pays off for you, leaving you feeling great about your data. If you require assistance or have any suggestions, please send us an email at [email protected] Warm regards, Mike Hills Global Head of Customer

Mark
Group IT Director in UK
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Phocas - Great Tool, Great customer service

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Phocas provide great customer service and are easy to do business with

Pros:

Phocas is easy to use providing self service to users. This reduces the workload on IT

Cons:

Data integration can get complicated over time. This is really down to how we have added data rather than an issue with Phocas

Clare
CE in UK
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I feel like it can be a useful tool, if you are in the know!

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would suggest a simple user guide to come up the first time you log in, so you are aware of the real potential of this software.

Pros:

Once you have been shown how to use this software, it can be a very useful tool, especially for us as CEs who aren't directly involved with the Sales side of the business.

Cons:

Unless someone is a pro on Phocas, it is difficult to navigate your way around it and completely understand how to use it.

Adrian
Director in UK
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for BI and KPI management

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

We use Phocas for all our reporting across the business. The ability to make any dashboard visible on an external link has allowed us to use it for our wall board reporting throughout the business - making the numbers visual has helped to make them understandable. Using Phocas for reporting on spend breakdown couldn't be easier, and beats using alternatives like excel or similar!

Cons:

I guess if there's one thing Phocas could do better, that is modernise the dashboard graphics - the options feel quite restrictive.

Jim
Sales & Marketing Manager in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Phocas has helped us keep our salespeople on task

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Phocas software is great! We are just scratching the surface with what it can do and look forward to using this more.

Pros:

We have used Phocas since 2008 and have always liked how fast we can generate reports. The reports that I have setup to e-mail keep me informed on key indicators in our business. We started using CRM a couple of years ago and like how easy it is for our salespeople to enter calls on their mobile device.

Cons:

I would like to see a better way to track and run reports on leads in CRM. Sometimes upgrades and support take a little longer the we would like.

Benoy
Group IT Manager in Botswana
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Phocas Software will definitely change the traditional way of reporting.

5.0 last year

Comments: I love Phocas reporting and this has helped our branches and our operations in a big way, and we can see our company performance as a whole at once. No need to check different reports to analyse data - Use Phocas -all under one umbrella.

Pros:

Phocas software is highly User firendly than compared to Microsoft Power BI. We were using PBI and attracted to buy Phocas immediately after first demo. The software is fantastic but not necessary for small organisations.

Cons:

Phoca software is good in all aspecrts but the pricing needs to be revised to accommodate small organisations with minimum modules.

Phocas Software Response

12 months ago

Hi Benoy, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and great to hear that you're finding Phocas a lot easier to use than Power BI! A big part of our process is conducting a comprehensive needs assessment to ensure Phocas is the right fit for your business. We strive to provide pricing that is all all-inclusive and avoids hidden costs like consultants and data warehousing. If you require assistance or have any further suggestions, please send us an email at [email protected] Warm regards, Mike Hills Global Head of Customer

Rhys
Purchasing/IT in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Phocas Changed Everything for US.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As I said in my Pros section, we are making data driven decisions now and our sales reflect that. Also, their customer service team is top notch and more on the ball than any other software company I have dealt with in recent years.

Pros:

Before we migrated over to Phocas we were using MITS which was very clunky and very slow. Because of these reasons most of us never really touched it. That meant that we weren't utilizing data when making decisions and more using our gut. Since implementing Phocas our decision making has been data driven and we are making smart choices and it shows in our sales.

Cons:

The only con I can think of had really nothing to do with Phocas. We had a rough time when we switched ERP systems. But the issue was with the ERP company and not Phocas.

Jorge
IT in US
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best BI Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love it, since we really started using phocas(last pug conference) I have decreased the amount of crystal reports by at least 75% or more.

Pros:

This software allows me to gather databases from all over the organization and present the, to our users via dashboard/report or let them drive their own reporting.

Cons:

It was a bit difficult to understand the Sync/dbdesigner part since documentation on this was a bit vague

Chris
CFO in US
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Phocas Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is the primary tool for our management reporting.

Pros:

It's intuitive and easy to navigate. Gets to the answers quickly.

Cons:

The dashboard graphics/colors do not have as much visual pop as other apps.

muzaffar
Customer Service in India
Import & Export, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Phocas is the simplest dashboard and BI tool

5.0 last year

Comments: happy and satisfied with the onboarding process and data presentation

Pros:

User freindly and easy to understand reports and dashboard. In depth analysis with detailing of each parameter

Cons:

not encountered anything that is not as per requirement

alan
Business Improvement Manager in UK
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cost effective Management Information

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This replaced "hand crafted" Excel and VBA sheets over a 10 day period to the consumer , we then developed Phocas to suit our needs and one drop of data updates all users with all views in 1 day.

Pros:

Ease of use , ability to develop our own customised views , one change updates all consumers of the views , scalable - we can add more data and create relationships to enrich existing views to the consumer , Enable better decision making data in dashboard views allowing the consumer to pic and choose what is important today . We have never looked back - we chose Phocas in 2013 to feed our front end business with tailor made views of data to enable swift decision making - we developed our support team to self create views from data feed through to data visualisation - this replaced our Excel and VBA sheets that were people hungry to produce - now we simply load our data periodically and the consumer can a see "all they want to see when they want to see it "

Cons:

Understanding how the background of the product , as we decided from day one that we would be self sufficient in all our development needs and not many businesses had taken this approach with Phocas at that time.

Amber
IT Support in UK
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic bit of kit

5.0 last year

Pros:

I love from an IT admin point of you how it allows users to build their own reports. Previously we had to write sql queries to get users the custom reports they required. Now users are confident to go in and have a go themselves. The software training academy and weekly live training sessions has allowed users to pick up the software easily.User friendly, very powerful tool. Always new features being added.

Cons:

I believe their appears to be a bit of a backlog with the dev team currently so a few bugs aren't being resolved as quickly as they used to be.

Phocas Software Response

12 months ago

Hi Amber, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we love that managed to we've free you up from writing SQL queries every time a custom report was required! Our team works hard to quickly resolve issues and fix any bugs that our users find, so please let us know if you have anything in particular that isn't quite looking right: [email protected] Warm regards, Mike Hills Global Head of Customer

peter
Senior Business Line Manager in UK
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quick data analysis that creates easy talking points and business opportunities

4.0 last year

Comments: My experience is that the software is a major tool in my working day that allows me to tackle many business questions and come up with a solution or talking point via the data.

Pros:

The Product is easy to use, clear and concise with a good simple view of the data.

Cons:

Maybe some more different style's of graphs would be good.

Phocas Software Response

12 months ago

Hi Peter, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we love that you're able to quickly get to actionable data with Phocas. If you have any graphs or gauges that you are really missing from your dashboards we would like to know more - you can always email us at [email protected] Warm regards, Mike Hills Global Head of Customer

JJ
Sales Analyst in US
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Analytics in today's business environment

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Phocas has been good from the start. They are prompt in with a response when you have an issue and will help you get the results you are looking for when utilizing custom searches and in-depth calculations.

Pros:

Phocas is incredibly easy to use and helps you dig into an type of business analytics you can think of for your business.

Cons:

There are not many of CONS that I have with Phocas, but the biggest issue I have is the lack of graphics for dashboards and the ability to truly customize those graphics. Also, the graphics can be a little quirky at times.

Shirley
Financial Controller in Australia
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Game Changer!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: the data from using Phocas has driven many key marketing and sales decisions with only positive results. We are now moving forwards in obtaining more data from our stock and purchasing databases to assist our Operations teams.

Pros:

the ease of obtaining information in a usable way, and the speed at which we can get analysis of the data has been a game changer for our business! The dashboards are key for our teams and the alerts take the day to day thinking out of my hands!

Cons:

There is nothing negative about this software from my perspective!

Donna
Pricing Specialist in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful tool for all level of users!! Simple, Intuitive, and Flexible!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very user friendly, lots of learning opportunities, great customer support, very intuitive.

Pros:

I love the ability to customize your data. I can run a high level report to summarize data another employee may need and with a few clicks can drill down to the details needed to create a more in-depth analysis of the data. I also love the flexibility of changing views, measures, dates, etc. with ease without starting from scratch.

Cons:

I honestly can't think of anything I don't like. Customer Service in very customer-centric and work to use feedback to always make improvements.

Gene
Salesman in US
Packaging & Containers, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Use it everyday, helps service customers quickly.

Pros:

Find out extended history on a customer; get transactional data over any specified time period; review usage by product category, vendor, customer, grade, order type, etc.

Cons:

Can view on iPad, but not real clean: limiting fields in some of the functions tend to overlap making it impossible to do. Would like to abbreviate column headings, but can’t.

Bo
Business Intelligence Analyst in US
Wholesale, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Phocas - Best Data Investigation Tool I've Seen

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love Phocas and would recommend it to businesses. Especially if you're a small or mid-sized business without a fully fleshed out data department.

Pros:

Phocas makes it very easy to get data out in front of people. Users don't have to be super smart with data, however if they are at least mildly smart with data then it isn't just an easy solution to get data in front of them but then becomes incredibly powerful. Users will feel empowered to be able to dig into anything from high level sales to individual transactions.

Cons:

The visualizations on Dashboards is lacking and could be improved. Also if you have some incredibly complex calculations then sometimes the way to implement that in Phocas isn't super straightforward.

Cyndi
Pricing Manager in US
Building Materials, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Phocas BI

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are an Electrical Distributor. We use Phocas in every facet of our business to pull data about sales, inventory, products.

Pros:

Easy to use and understand. Logical thought processes to pull your data.

Cons:

When using the Nesting feature you have to be right on the "Drag here" in order to have your other dimension stick. Sometimes you must try three or four times before it holds.

Derek
Sales Technician in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Its been nicer to have all the information shown in 1 spot in a easy to read format, still has some areas that could be developed more and make it clearer to navigate through all the information available.

Pros:

The charts and graphs are easy to read and understand

Cons:

Its hard to navigate drilling down into the sub category's to sort information.

Jerry
Director of Operations in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and learn. Powerful, but not intimidating.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

This software deals with large amounts of data with exceptional speed and simplicity putting relevant data at your finger tips. Easy to convince people to use

Cons:

Limited in complex searches. CRM is Limited. Whenever you get a software that offers simplcity, there is some sacrifice on flexibility, but it is worth the sacrifice

David
Director in Australia
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Phocas review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have improved margin, customer retention, staff output and much more.

Pros:

Data is very powerful when used properly. Easy to use once leaned and it's extremely quick to extract important data.

Cons:

Some bugs still sit in the software. Not a lot but they are annoying when they do pop up.

Joseph
Systems Programmer/Analyst
Construction Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to get to the data that we need. We have used this product for about 5 years now and it works great.

Cons:

It takes a little bit of setup but most of that was just trying to decide what data we wanted to get to. Other than that no real problems.

Mitch
Director - Lighting and Gear in US
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Phocas Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very pleased with the product and the Phocas team.

Pros:

Phocas quickly converts data from Job Management and Eclipse into simple, easy to use, customizable dashboards to help monitor all aspects of our business.

Cons:

The Phocas team has been very helpful with listening to our needs and training, facilitating change requests, and assisting us with problems.