15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Mailchimp Transactional Email Reviews

About Mailchimp Transactional Email

Mailchimp Transactional Email allows developers to send personalized system notifications in seconds with confidence and reliably.

Learn more about Mailchimp Transactional Email

Pros:

AB testing support (although we have not used it.) Integration with CRM system (currently using NEON), although unsubscribes and bounces are not returned to CRM. Freemium plan was well worth it.

Cons:

While the drag and drop email builder is very convenient, I sometimes wish there were more options/ the options were less rigid.

Mailchimp Transactional Email ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Mailchimp Transactional Email has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 288 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Mailchimp Transactional Email before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (288)

Guido
Guido
Digital Media Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good value for money, the perfect tool for small-medium size companies

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I manage several accounts for clients of my agency. Mailchimp is mainly used to send periodic newsletters.

Pros:

Animated gifs and the tone of voice of the interface: they may seem silly things, but when you're stressing because you have to push a button and send thousands of emails to your contacts, the picture of the chimpanze clicking the button for you helps to relax. The platform has all basic features needed to manage small-medium size databases. Marketing automation features let you manage transactional deliveries and automate many tasks and communications (this is especially useful when you have an e-commerce). Web hooks and especially the direct integration with Facebook lead forms are of course a big plus.

Cons:

It is a basi tool, suitable to manage small-medium size databases. Bulk operations on the database and advanced data manipulation tools are mostly missing. I like the graphical UI but you need some time and training before you really feel comfortable with it (especially, knowing where to look for the info you need)

Orianne
Orianne
Specialist Marketing in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

With well-organized features and display is easy to use.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: There are several different delivery services we could have used for our campaign. However, we decided on using the campaign creation screen because it's the most familiar and simple option. Creating a campaign on this screen requires no testing; its contents won't fail unless you remove critical parts such as the recipient and subject line. Additionally, you can create HTML emails on this screen— which allows for visually striking emails — easily. Currently, only plain text emails can be created with this service.

Pros:

Sending newsletters via email is easy; there aren’t many options for editing HTML emails. Since their customer base primarily uses Twitter, it's beneficial to be able to link to other services used for email distribution. This makes it possible to send linked campaigns through emails and tweets from the service as an actor in the campaign. Recommended for first-time newsletter senders. This service can be tried for free; it's also the only service in its price range that automatically gathers subscribers from other systems and regularly sends out emails. By automating the tweets, the process eliminated the possibility of tweets being deleted. Plus, it reduced the amount of time people spent working manually.

Cons:

Emailing members valuable information for free is possible through the analysis of multiple emails. Consequently, this allowed for effective email distribution.

Carlos
Carlos
Mobile IT Strrategist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Intuit you ruined a good system.

3.0 6 months ago

Comments: As a small business owner of multiple companies AND also Mobile IT Strategist for the SMB channel, I have been using and referring MailChimp since 2008. That being said, after the buyout by Intuit, it has been downhill ever since. So many charges and multiple systems that don't work. Intuit should have stayed in their lane, all they did was break a system that WAS great. 14 years of data will need to be migrated to another system. Good thing I know what I'm doing, but i feel bad for so many small companies who have a tough time migrating data to new systems and get stuck with MailChimp.

Pros:

Easy access to a simplified email system

Cons:

Pricing has shot through the roof and way too many features that most people wont use or even understand.

Pedro
Pedro
CEO in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good, but prefer Amazon SES

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to use (easier than Amazon SES service) and therefore we can quickly implement this.

Cons:

Pricing is not as good as with Amazon SES and although the later is a little bit more complex to implement, once we get used to it, it's fairly quick to setup an account and prices are very competitive.

Beckie
Manager, Marketing & Communications in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

E-Mail Marketing Made Easy

5.0 last year

Comments: Mailchimp allows us to affectively target the audiences we are trying to get in front of.

Pros:

I really appreciate the analytics provided through mailchimp, the ability to tag audiences and the analysis of e-mails readability before they are sent.

Cons:

Some large corps continue to block Mailchimp in their spam filters.

Steve
IT Manager in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good service to send blast email to current customers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: When we have had to make business announcement, such as price increases, this software made it easy to get that message out to all our customers.

Pros:

Once everything is set up the ability to send out business announcements to all our current customers.

Cons:

The ability to use custom templates. Also the cost when you have more than 5000 customers to contact.

Joe
Joe
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Solid Tool for Nurturing an Audience

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: 9/10. Gotta have it if you want to grow a community or business. You don't know what you don't know until you see how your audience engages with you. Very revealing and help to see what type of subject line gets opened, who in your audience reads every email or doesn't read any of your emails.

Pros:

Professional templates and layouts for simple plain-text messages or super feature-rich emails analytics are excellent. Segmenting your audience is great for re-targeting specific member of your audience. Even the most basic paid option gives you a ton of growth potential and value. Email building tool has a TON of features to make a kick ass email Surveys ( a new feature) is a simple way to keep your audience involved Compliance with 'unsubscribe' feature is essential business practice

Cons:

Slight learning curve for importing contact and getting your database setup

Nima
Partner in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mail chimp is essential for brand management

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It's been great as we've gotten old clients coming back to us for new business, which was set in motion by an email campaign.

Pros:

It's an easy way to keep in communication with prior clients

Cons:

All templates really look alike. Nothing really different, but it may not be easy to have a different design

Thomas
Senior IT Developer in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sending Adhoc Email Campaigns With MailChimp

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall we would recommend MailChimp for what we use it for: sending one-off marketing campaigns which need to look good and be designed and sent fairly quickly, with minimal skill. I'm sure it also has many other uses and benefits but this is all we have used it for currently.

Pros:

MailChimp was very easy to setup for our marketing team and give them a quick and easy way to design, build and send one-off marketing emails if we needed to send them fairly quickly.

Cons:

When looking at how many people 'opened' our emails it always looked to be very low. We weren't sure whether this was due to MailChimp using Servers and IP Addresses which are easy to spot and therefore send their emails to Junk Folders or - more likely - possibilities like users were just deleting our emails before opening them or Apple's new iCloud+ feature which blocks the code that lets us know when a user has opened an email etc.

Leah
Research Specialist and Program Manager in US
Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Game Changer for Email Outreach

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It is straightforward to navigate and integrate into the organization. It is also cool that a free plan is available, and contacts can be imported from different systems without manually inputting bulk email addresses.

Cons:

The limited emails (depending on any plan) are a little pricy for more extensive contact lists compared to other email management systems, and they cannot schedule emails on the free plan.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Email marketing solution that can handle all your demands in one go

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Sending emails as part of our company's marketing initiatives is easy thanks to Mailchimp. The customers of each of our clients will be able to access unique deals and information. More clients are drawn to the website as a result of this. Having an email platform that allows us to send emails that are specifically customized to our customer’s needs is a huge asset. People who have no marketing knowledge can use Mailchimp to create high-quality material that looks attractive. When people use templates, they may "drag and drop" information, and distribution lists allow them to select the recipients. In the end, Mailchimp is a terrific solution that does exactly what it is supposed to: send emails.

Pros:

Marketing and HR use Mailchimp frequently. They frequently exchange emails to solicit opinions on various initiatives and agendas. Because it doesn't require any coding skills to create campaigns, and because there are enough templates for different types of campaigns, Mailchimp is simple to set up and use. It is possible to track down recipients who have opened and read emails sent by this program. It can also provide you with a record of all correspondence. Online invitations are given to us for training and group session seminars. We'll see if we can make it, and we'll mark it down in our calendar. Mailchimp's ability to provide customized content and automate workflows usually results in more efficient and speedier marketing campaigns.

Cons:

When you start uploading photographs to your account, you'll immediately run into a situation where it's difficult to locate the files you need. To keep your images organized, you'll have to spend an awful amount of time removing or reorganizing them. Because there are so many variables in design and formatting, it's easy to overlook something while creating an email or a template. As a result, you may find that your output takes on a distinct appearance.

Dhanwanth
Dhanwanth
Reviewer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Mailchimp: A Popular Email Marketing Solution Worth Consideration

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Mailchimp is a popular and widely used email marketing solution that offers a range of features for creating and managing email campaigns. Mailchimp can be a useful tool for businesses and individuals looking for an email marketing solution, but it may not be the best fit for everyone.

Pros:

Mailchimp is a popular email marketing solution that is widely used by businesses and individuals. It offers a range of features, including email templates, automation, and analytics, which can be useful for creating and managing email campaigns. Mailchimp has a user-friendly interface and is easy to use, with clear instructions and helpful resources for beginners. The software offers a free plan that allows users to send up to 10,000 emails per month to up to 2,000 subscribers.Cons:Mailchimp's paid plans can be expensive, especially for larger businesses or organizations with a large email list.Some users have reported issues with the deliverability of emails sent through Mailchimp, which can impact the effectiveness of email campaigns.Some users may find the customization options limited or not as advanced as other email marketing tools.Some users have reported experiencing technical issues with Mailchimp, including bugs or glitches in the software.

Cons:

Mailchimp's paid plans can be expensive, especially for larger businesses or organizations with a large email list. There were some issues with the deliverability of emails sent through Mailchimp, which can impact the effectiveness of email campaigns. I found the customization options limited or not as advanced as other email marketing tools. I've also experienced technical issues with Mailchimp, including bugs or glitches in the software.

rendy
Project Manager in Indonesia
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Reliable Transactional email Provider

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I'm really satisfied using mandrill as my provider

Pros:

Mandrill is a reliable transactional email provider, I've been using this provider for over 1 year and so far I don't have any problem with that. They also provide complete API documentation so we can easily connect to our project

Cons:

The cost for email is quite high compared to their competitor. But I choose Mandrill because I think they are more reliable than the competitor

Paula
Director in UK
Hospitality, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Boost Guest Engagement and Drive Repeat Bookings

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Mailchimp has been an indispensable tool in my guest engagement strategy. From collecting guest data to running successful email campaigns and creating captivating landing pages, Mailchimp offers a comprehensive suite of features once you learn how to use these effectively and mange to understand how to navigate the tool. The analytics insights and the option to resend emails to non-openers have been particularly valuable in boosting the effectiveness of my email marketing efforts. I would recommend Mailchimp to businesses seeking to streamline their email marketing and enhance guest engagement.

Pros:

One of the standout features of Mailchimp is its robust analytics. It provides valuable insights into email campaign performance, including detailed data on who opened the emails. This information allows me to gauge the effectiveness of my campaigns and tailor my communication strategies accordingly.The ability to resend emails to recipients who didn't open them on the first send has been a game-changer. It offers a second chance to capture the attention of those who may have missed or overlooked the initial email. This feature has significantly improved my email reach and engagement, ensuring that my messages reach the intended audience.

Cons:

One aspect that I found less favorable is the learning curve associated with using and navigating Mailchimp's features. It doesn't appear to be as intuitive as I had hoped, which can be a bit overwhelming, especially for my small business new to email marketing. The platform feels slightly over-complicated, requiring some extra effort to become familiar with its functionalities.

Joe
Marketing Manager in US
Business Supplies & Equipment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Rolled out a ton of new tools recently

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, Mailchimp has been a fantastic tool for our email marketing. The platform is sleek, easy to use, and can be learned very quickly. We are excited to explore the new tools Mailchimp is rolling out.

Pros:

We've used Mailchimp for the past 4 years to communicate with our audience. Mailchimp is one of the best email providers around. Their platform, support, and reliability are top-notch. We rarely ever have issues when using Mailchimp.

Cons:

Honestly, they've rolled out so many new tools recently we haven't been able to keep up. Our team is small, so we don't always have the time and resources to keep up with all of the updates.

John Marc
Pastor in Canada
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mailchimp for Churches

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, we have enjoyed Mailchimp. It fits our purpose and has allowed us to send out weekly emails to our congregation with events and sign up forms attached. I know there is much more we could do with automated emails etc... but we haven't yet figured out how to use those features.

Pros:

We got into Mailchimp early on so we are still on a free plan. We are able to sync with our church management software and put different lists into the system. It makes it easy to get specific emails out to specific groups of people. The design part of the emails is sometimes a little hard to figure out but we have created a few basic templates that we like to use that look nice.

Cons:

The one thing that I think is difficult is the email design. It's not overly hard but it is not super intuitive. It's sometimes hard to find the options you are looking for when designing and it is sometimes hard to figure out what to do to get the result that we want.

Brandon
President in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mr

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Mandrill is a powerful application that has proven useful for transactional email. They offer an API, decent reporting and storage of track/click data for 30 days.

Cons:

As part of Mailchimp they now require both a Mailchimp and Mandrill subscription. I have no problem paying for Mandrill but I'm not a fan of this billing requirement as I don't need Mailchimp. Secondly, in the 2-3 years that I have been using Mandrill I have not seen a single feature release. I find this unusual. True, it works great as-is, but there are definitely areas that can be improved or features that can be added.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Great for small businesses

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I was able to manage and track all email marketing activities in one place but was disappointed in the landing pages

Pros:

The software is very affordable and great for email marketing for small businesses. Dashboards and automation are very helpful.

Cons:

I found that there weren’t a lot of out-of-the-box landing page templates to choose from. The ones that were available were specific to e-commerce and b2c businesses.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good price and it is easy to use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I think it worth it for the price, if you are a beginner sending email campaigns this is the right tool for you

Pros:

I like that it is really easy to use, creating an email is very intuitive. I really like that you can know who unsuscribed everytime you send an email, I also like that you can visualize the email in a browser in case it doesn't work in the email inbox of the user.

Cons:

The transactional emails are still improving. It took me a while to learn how to set up this option but in the end I learned.

Xavier
CEO of Alquimia Coaching in Ecuador
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My favorite tool of email marketing

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use mailchimp for years, and to me is the best option. Good statistics, good delivery and easy to use in the most of times.

Pros:

I send mails everyday. I love the option to write in "text-plane" and schedule the email for later. I love the mail test, because I can send to my team and have feedback previous to deliver to suscribers.

Cons:

Maybe the price. Is little expensive versus other options. And the automation is not intuitive. Is complicated create a funnel.

Karen
Karen
Senior Director of Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perzonalization and performance control.

5.0 last year

Comments: It is a necessary tool for template design as it can be created from scratch and add parts of preset templates.It helps to reach our customers for multiple campaigns and achieve high number of interactions.Allows you to segment emails according to the objective to be achieved.

Pros:

I like the ability to domain customizing and quality analysis of the IPs we work with.It allows us to follow the performance of the campaigns we work with.It allows to avoid spam control.It helps to obtain specific data of each campaign launched and its performance.

Cons:

So far it has no negative points to highlight in my opinion.

Mory
Mory
Business Analyst in Guinea
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Marketing well

5.0 last year

Comments: Good software really, and I recommend it to everyone in marketing

Pros:

The tool allows me to do my marketing with ease and also allows me to adapt it in my own way

Cons:

Without lying the tool is really great so no problems

Nina
Owner in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use. Good basic email solution.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall a good experience. Easy to use and easy to set up. Easy to add on users.

Pros:

Easy to import contacts. Easy to schedule emails to send out. Can customize emails easily and add buttons, photos, videos, very seamlessly. Easy to see stats after sending out emails and heat map of where people clicked.

Cons:

Was unable to add sign up form directly from mailchimp onto my website. Had to use hubspot as a work around to get new email sign ups. Initially challenging to find everything but once you are familiar its very easy to navigate, copy emails, edit, and send out quickly.

Guido
Digital Marketing Manager & E-commerce Manager in Italy
Furniture, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

E-mail marketing easy as pie

4.0 last year

Comments: We use it weekly to shoot newsletter blasts to our database.It doesn't require too much training, so it's a good trade off.

Pros:

It's very easy to use and set-up.It provides a lot of great templates that you can immediately use and personalize/customize.It's great for mid-size business companies.

Cons:

Probably just the contacts management: let's clarify, it's not a CRM and it's not meant to be one.It's a great e-mail marketing platform, but it's not yet a contact management tool.

Apechhaya
Project Management in Nepal
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Email Marketing

4.0 last year

Comments: It's easy to-use-tool. The reports are excellent. There are plenty of advanced features to make use of, like landing pages, appointment scheduling, and online stores. Though Mailchimp does have some really nice features and is mostly easy to use, the price of the service could be a bit off-putting for small businesses on a budget.

Pros:

Mailchimp is killing it in the email marketing world, you could say that Mailchimp basically owns emails. Mailchimp offers a wide range of automation templates, which are detailed and easy to edit. The drag-and-drop builder is user-friendly and has all the content blocks you'll need.

Cons:

Whereas, the dashboard is pretty clean and easy to read. However, I find it a little difficult to find certain features in the navigation menu. For example, landing pages and the form builder are hidden under campaigns and audience, respectively.