15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

IBM SPSS Statistics Reviews

About IBM SPSS Statistics

Predictive Analytics can uncover unexpected patterns and associations and develop models to guide front-line interaction

Learn more about IBM SPSS Statistics

Pros:

I can interpret the result in figures, graphs or tables. Calculations are very precious and calculations done by this software are accepted by the global scientific community.

Cons:

SPSS is a bit costly compared to similar software.

IBM SPSS Statistics ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

IBM SPSS Statistics has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 636 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used IBM SPSS Statistics before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (636)

Dana M
Dana M
Marketing Management in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Timeless IBM

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: IBM's predictive analytics and data SPSS statistics are among the most advanced statistical tools available on the market. With its powerful algorithms and intuitive user interface, it allows businesses to make informed decisions based on predictive analysis, trend forecasting and statistical modeling. IBM's software offers a comprehensive approach to data analysis that includes descriptive, predictive and prescriptive analytics, which can help businesses streamline their operations, reduce costs and gain insights into customer behavior. Overall, IBM's predictive analytics and data SPSS statistics is a powerful platform that can help businesses gain a deeper understanding of their data and make better decisions based on fact-driven insights.

Pros:

IBM's Predictive Analytics and Data SPAS Statistics Pro are powerful tools for businesses to harness the power of data and make informed decisions. With predictive analytics, companies can analyze historical data to identify trends and generate forecasts, allowing them to anticipate future market conditions and make appropriate strategic adjustments. Meanwhile, SPAS Statistics Pro provides powerful tools for data analysis, allowing users to rapidly uncover insights and generate actionable recommendations. By leveraging these solutions, businesses can gain a significant competitive advantage, enhancing their ability to make data-driven decisions and achieve their strategic objectives.

Cons:

IBM’s predictive analytics and data SPSS statistics flaw has recently come to light as concerns have been raised about the tool's ability to produce inaccurate results. This has caused businesses and organizations to doubt the usefulness of the technology, as it may lead to incorrect decisions being made based on the data produced by the software. IBM is working to address the issue and improve the accuracy of its predictive analytics and data SPSS statistics, but in the meantime, it is important for users to be aware of this potential flaw and approach their data analysis with caution.

Luca
CEO in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The history of statistics

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is the software that I use the most for my work and, even if at times I have to struggle a little to perform "new things", I always find a way. I managed to automate many many tasks and I have reached a very high level of productivity, meaning that I can click a button, let the computer run all nights, and the morning after I find all the jobs done.

Pros:

The ability to perform almost all easy and complex statistical analysys without writing code AND the possibility to automate simple and complex tasks by actually writing code. This software is huge and it supports a very large set of feautures.

Cons:

This software is a milestone for statisticians of all over the world. I've been using it for more than 30 years. This means that this software is aging more and more, and perhaps it needs a faster modernization cycle than the current.

Grisell
Grisell
Sociologa in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Being in the field of Social Sciences is almost a requirement to get a complet analysis.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: With SPSS it is possible to collect data, create statistics, analyze management decisions and much more. Gives the opportunity of doing complex analysis and take on prediction models.
The capacity of solving problems of applied statistics by brute force or by trying thousands of combinations to finally stay with what is believed to be the best for use.

Pros:

The importance of capture and analyze data to create tables and graphs with complex data. Its ability to manage large volumes of data and carrying out text analysis amog other formats. Being able to use the statistical software, with descriptive statistics such as tabulation and crossover frequencies, and correlation tests. The program allows you to take your data and easily create a wide variety of visual effects such as radial boxplots and density graphs.

Cons:

In more complex programs you need to have programming knowledge, as well as to make the most laborious calculations. In statistics, often contradictory results can be obtained between different tests. It does not provide the expected results in the expected time. It sometimes leads to unnecessary sophistication by allowing the use of complex techniques to answer simple questions. If the user does not have previous experience using SPSS or if their statistical knowledge is not up to date, it is difficult to understand which options to select. The results reports contain an excessive level of information.

Ngha
Ngha
Data Analyst in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use Statistical analysis software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, using SPSS with other statistical software like SAS JMP and Excel provides great value. The software is great but surely there is room for improvement

Pros:

I Return to mostly because of its data cleaning capability and the ability to save chart templates and reuse. It is flexible for basic statistical analysis though requires an good statistical background to perform sophisticated statistical analysis with it.

Cons:

The fact that the software has no algorithms that can help you decide on the right statistical test seems problematic to novices in statistical data analysis. You must know the exact test to perform, the software cannot help you decide

Olive
Olive
Quality analyst in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Spss statistics software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The first contact with the software as at the level of the University. Collecting data 'to draft the report, I've been introduced to a person handling SPSS stat. I there for took contact with the software to do some minimum Data introduction, Data cleaning end grafting some results.

Pros:

Used in both academic and professional purpose Good quality of data monitoring and cleaning. The ceriousness of the tool mekes it usage very cellective and precoded

Cons:

The ease of use: to handle the software we should follow a minimum hours of training cession

Nyasha
Payroll Admin in Zimbabwe
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Data Analysis Product

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: IBM has helped our organization analyze data from our engagement surveys and this has produced readable data that has helped us plan our future

Pros:

Its ability to offer different types analysis, which caters for everyone's capabilities

Cons:

It can be complex if you do not get enough training

Akshay
Akshay
Social Media Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Gets You Results with a Reasonable Learning Curve

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used this software for Market Research related applications and this helped me quickly complete the tests and save them as per how I wanted it.
In the projects I used it for, it gave out some interesting results and takeaways which helped in business planning.

Pros:

1. It literally covers just so many options of tests, from regression to anova and much more. 2. It's like a one stop destination for all queries related to data 3. Can handle massive amounts of data and inputs

Cons:

1. A manual/tips section within the software could have eased my learning curve to an extent. 2. UI/UX can be improved 3. High cost

Slash Marky
Slash Marky
Economist in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Business Supplies & Equipment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good program to educate.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is a very powerful software, which is very good to use it in educational centers for students. It has a good price, so it is a good option for independent statistical studies.

Pros:

It has a simple and uncomplicated platform when learning to use it. It handles terms that were handled at my university and data can be exported from Excel.

Cons:

Visually it leaves a lot to be desired, as in its graphics and its graphics edits are very slow. It should be more compatible with Micrsoft programs.

Diego
Diego
Psychologist in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great tool for statistical analysis of large datasets

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

After learning the basics of the software it becomes intuitive to use, if you use their guide you can make it through the steps to perform any basic task. It had multiple functions that were very useful for most sorts of statistical analysis that are required in quantitative research.

Cons:

There should be a quicker way to change the types of variables of multiple variables in use, and the graphs should be easier to customize.

Saurav
Saurav
Research Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful for statistical analyses

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I was trying to run a set of statistical analyses on climatic variables that include temperature and precipitation on a monthly time scale

Pros:

I have used quite a few statistical softwares that include SPSS, SAS, R. SPSS was very useful for the climate data that I was working with. I felt it was easier than SAS as SAS involved a lot of coding

Cons:

It did take some time to get accustomed with SPSS but that would be true for most softwares out there

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Review of IBM SPSS Logistic Regression

5.0 last year

Comments: BM SPSS Logistic Regression is a powerful software tool for data analysis and modeling, offering a range of benefits to users. While it may have some limitations, its user-friendly interface, modeling options, diagnostic tools, and reporting options make it a popular choice for researchers and analysts who are interested in exploring and modeling binary and ordinal logistic regression. However, it's essential to consider its limitations, including its cost, limited customization, steep learning curve, and lack of flexibility, when deciding whether it is the right tool for a particular research project

Pros:

1. User-Friendly Interface: One of the most significant advantages of IBM SPSS Logistic Regression is its user-friendly interface. Users can easily navigate and analyze their data without requiring advanced technical skills.2. Robust Modeling Options: The software offers various modeling options, including binary, multinomial, and ordinal logistic regression models. This allows researchers to choose the model that best fits their research question and data.3. Effective Handling of Missing Data: IBM SPSS Logistic Regression offers various methods to deal with missing data, including multiple imputation and maximum likelihood estimation. This ensures that researchers can handle missing data effectively, which is particularly important when dealing with complex datasets.4. Diagnostic Tools: The software provides various diagnostic tools to assess model fit, including the Hosmer-Lemeshow goodness-of-fit test and the classification table. These tools help researchers to evaluate the quality of their models and make necessary adjustments.5. Output and Reporting Options: IBM SPSS Logistic Regression produces tables and charts that summarize the results of the logistic regression models. This makes it easy for researchers to interpret and communicate their findings effectively.

Cons:

1. Cost: IBM SPSS Logistic Regression is a commercial software tool and can be expensive, especially for individual researchers or small organizations.2. Limited Customization: While the software provides various modeling options, it may not allow for the level of customization required for some research questions or datasets.3. Steep Learning Curve: Although the interface is user-friendly, there is still a learning curve involved in using IBM SPSS Logistic Regression effectively. This may require additional training or support.4. Lack of Flexibility: The software may not be as flexible as some open-source statistical software tools, which can limit its usefulness in certain research contexts.

Thomas
Data analyst in Cameroon
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The ultimate tool for data entry and analysis of large databases!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: For more than 6 years now, in our missions of baseline studies, market and impact assessments of projects; after some missions of large-scale information collection via paper and/or digital media, we have always opted for the use of IBM SPSS software as a tool for data entry and/or analysis. It is an excellent tool for data entry because it is easy to use when setting up a data entry mask and it is also easy to use by the data entry agents. We also use it regularly for statistical analysis (PCA, AFM, Student's t test, etc.) and sometimes econometric analysis (OLS, Oprobit, Probit, Logit, etc.). Therefore, it is a very useful software for statistical, graphical and sometimes econometric analyses of large databases.

Pros:

Excellent software for entering questionnaires, coding variables and analyzing primary data. Easy to use and available in several languages (including English and French). Its interface is very attractive and designed.

Cons:

The software is much more suited to the analysis of survey data and performs poorly in the specification of econometric models of panel data.

Ingrid
Public Health consultant in Cameroon
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The life saving software for data entry and analysis

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As an epidemiologist, I work with data in the form of numbers on the daily. SPSS is very reliable and the export feature to excel is absolutely great. It generates graphs and that makes the presentation and interpretation of results easier. I was recently working on blood donation at the level of a central blood bank and SPSS was a life saver, working on a population of 2000 blood donors and being able to provide answers on the epidemiological characteristics of these blood donors in order to develop subsequent strategies for donor retention and recruitement was urgent and in the short deadline i had, SPSS was the only software which helped me reach the given ojectives. This is one out of many cases where SPSS was on point.

Pros:

First of all the interface is amazing and you can easily switch from variable view to data view. This makes it easy to keep track of your work and progress and make sure the data you are entering is correct. It is incredibly easy to create a data base and insert your collected data. It is simple and user friendly. In the healthcare domain, we work with so many variables and have very large sample sizes most of the time, and being able to sort cases as well as variables makes this app a game changer compared to previous ones I have come across and used. With basic statistical knowledge it is possible for anyone to carry out statistical operations and as an epidemiologist this is perfect for me as I can analyze my data by myself and move on to interpreting the results.

Cons:

I believe this software is heavy and it is always slow to start when opened, it takes quite a while and since it is one I use all the time, I have it installed on all my laptops and it always tends to be slow which can be tiresome especially when you are in a rush to carry out an operation to see the results and quickly interprete. Apart from that the software itself once opened is quick and prompt in its responses.

Ryan
Ryan
Assistant Professor of Instruction in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The industry leader for ages (...and it shows)

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Once I learned how to use SPSS to do what I needed it to do, it became an invaluable tool and a critical part of my workflow--indeed, trying to learn other statistical software packages after figuring out SPSS felt a bit like trying to "unlearn" how to ride a bike. It does have its quirks and flaws, mainly surrounding its UI, but these are literally cosmetic.

Pros:

The range of statistical tests and techniques available from the get-go in SPSS is unmatched, and there are additional modules that can be added to expand the software's abilities. It becomes relatively intuitive the more you use it, and its export options for the results it calculates are quite robust.

Cons:

SPSS is quite intimidating if you've never used it before, and without guidance, it may feel almost impossible to get started with it. Perhaps its biggest problem is its ongoing legacy support for previous versions--in other words, IBM periodically seems to slap a new front end on the software, but with just a click or two, you immediately encounter dialog boxes and windows that look like they belong on a machine running Windows XP (...or earlier!). The overreliance on pop-up windows makes the interface even more dated and clunky. Honestly, IBM should completely gut the software and start over from scratch, but presumably that's too big of a task, which leaves us with this black box that has been coated with dozens of layers of proverbial paint.

zahra
Marketing Researcher/ UX Researcher in Iran
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is user friendly, professional and perfect for those people who need to analyze quantitative data

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Working with this software in one of the most important section of my job.

Pros:

As a market researcher I should work with SPSS daily. It is a software for analyzing quantitative data.it is easy to import data from other software like Microsoft Excel and analyze them. Also some online survey platforms have SPSS output and you can import data from them to SPSS directly. If you just want to have some descriptive statistics, it is easy to learn, but if you want to analyze data with parametric and non-parametric exams, it is a bit difficult so it is better to take a class about 1 week and learn SPSS fast. Then you will enjoy analyzing data.

Cons:

For drawing charts from data, SPSS is not suitable because it doesn't have a beautiful data visualization. Visualization tools for drawing charts in SPSS are few; so every time that I want to draw a chart, I should copy the table of analyzed data on SPSS to Excel and draw the chart.

Corey
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with SPSS has been nothing short of amazing. I rely on it daily, and am never let down

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

SPSS is incredibly user-friendly, which is obviously important when it comes to statistical analyses. More specifically, rather than having to learn a certain coding language in order to run analyses, one can just navigate through the menus while also collecting the syntax from these operations in order to replicate in the future. Compared to other statistical analysis softwares, SPSS is as familiar as can be, and is as approachable as possible. It is easy to teach to others, and it also makes professional and publishable graphs.

Cons:

Though a tiny quip, SPSS has a few limitations when it comes to making graphs - for example, if one were to make a stacked bar graph of their data, they are unable to add error bars to it, which, as any researchers knows is incredibly important. Other than that, I cannot say that I have any major dislikes about SPSS.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Industry standard for psychological research

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Definitely the standard statistical package in my field (psychology research), and for good reason. SPSS is a data workhorse.

Pros:

SPSS is powerful yet straightforward to use. It covers a wide array of statistical analyses and data transformations - functions like automatic recoding of variables or restructuring of datasets can be great time savers. The SPSS syntax is also fairly intuitive, with a low barrier to entry for anyone with basic coding experience. The fact that syntax is automatically generated when using the point-and-click interface is extremely helpful for getting started with creating your own scripts, making future analyses even more efficient.

Cons:

The graphing function is serviceable, but not pretty. Tweaking graphs to look decent can be time-consuming and frustrating, and some options are simply not available (for example, showing all data points overlaid on a bar graph of means). There are also some statistical tests not available via the point-and-click interface; you have to know the proper syntax to run them. Lastly, there is of course the price tag - I am able to get access through my university, but I'm not sure it would be worth the cost if I were paying out of pocket.

chelsey
Research Associate in US
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

THE data analysis master

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: SPSS has become a necessary time-saver for us. It has also given us options with creative reporting and data displays allowing us to be really competitive in our market with offering high quality and visually appealing data analysis.

Pros:

SPSS has become a analysis tool that is vital to our work. The ability to use and reuse files and create templates has greatly increased our efficiencies. The quality of the analyses we're able to do make it a very effective tool for our data analysis and our ability to clearly, accurately and creatively report our findings.

Cons:

It's a tough software to learn and remember where everything is located in the toolbar, and how each function applies, but once you master the language of it, possibilities are endless regarding quick creation and analyses of your data files.

Pedro
Pedro
Investigador/Docente in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best Statistical Software for Social Sciences

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Without this software, writing articles would be more time-consuming. Data analysis is much easier with SPSS, even if you don't organize your database earlier.

Pros:

After a quick cleanup of data with other software, SPSS can import data from multiple file types, and create any variables we desire. It's easy to make quick analysis, deep correlations, rescale variables, create regressions, everything you need to analyze data a create impact research.

Cons:

A little information about the software is needed. It's very intuitive, but because it offers many tools (correlation, regression, ...), if you just need a quick analysis (median, mode, and average kind of things) it's not the simplest software. But for those who really need data analysis, it simplifies and accelerates analysis.

Dominik
Kirchenverwaltungsvorstand in Germany
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SPSS - the standard tool for statistics

5.0 last year

Pros:

Anyone who deals with statistics and data analysis cannot get around SPSS. Even newcomers can quickly get to grips with SPSS after a short familiarization period thanks to the graphical and guided interface. Data sets are quickly read in. The scope of SPSS really leaves hardly anything to be desired. A program for "home use", but also for professional and complex data analysis.

Cons:

Unfortunately, SPSS can only be purchased through a monthly or annual payment plan. A single user license is unfortunately not available. For a non-profit organization or student needs it is very expensive. If the university does not have a license, one will have to resort to cheaper, opensource alternatives (like R).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SPSS still the one after all these years

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Academic computing in the social sciences - SPSS is particularly strong in data management.

Pros:

I have been using SPSS since 1981 and it is still my go to statistical software as I have progresses from a graduate student to a full professor. Ease of use. Verified and reliable calculations. The SPSS paste function allows users to work in a GUI environment but also permits users to write syntax that can then be reused and modified providing a record of data transformations and statistical procedures.

Cons:

The wide range of packages and difficulty in telling what procedures are available in specific packages. Merging files has become unduly complicated.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Somewhat good for it is intended for

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is very good at organizational skills. Never mind the lack of added features, when it come to . just extrapolating or interpolating data or just finding a good system to put into, I usually like this one. The functions are very easy to understand and the storage is very nice!

Cons:

This is nothing compared to Excel. You can't use funtions at the simple tying of an equals sign and there are no extra platform calculations you can do to visualize and analize your data. Pretty much garbage at his point for data analysis. Plus you have to go on a hunt to find the feature you are looking for. Doesn't come at your disposal.

Ashley
Ashley
Human Resources Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's pricey, but it's SO worth it! I could not have gotten through my thesis without it.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ease of running statistical analyses. Comfort of knowing my data was safe. Comfort of knowing my results were reliable.

Pros:

This software is fast, reliable, and flexible. I used it for my Master's thesis and I actually wound up using it for my first HR job at a drug company. I built surveys for them for patient satisfaction and, eventually, employee satisfaction. Using this software I was able to keep our data safe, gather stats over time, and control for certain variables that might have affected our results had I used something more trivial like Excel. Definitely recommend this!

Cons:

The only con I can think of is the price. It can get pricey, especially if you cannot purchase a student copy. My license has expired and I have not yet renewed simply because my thesis is finished and my current employer does not have a desire to see employee stats -- not for that price, anyway! Hopefully I will be able to convince the execs that this is a necessary tool. Perhaps a more extensive trial period (or maybe a discount for the first 3-6 months?) would be helpful. That would allow for plenty of time to gather data and run stats so that my executive team might be able to see the benefits.

George Rex
George Rex
Co-Founder in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Most Advanced and Sophisticated Statistical Package

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I started using SPSS back in 2008 to analyse data samples for my friend's first degree project. The version 15 back then that I used was not compatible with my windows vista operating system, but because of the hype and how the product was talked about, I had to find a way around to make that version work on my system. We used a hotfix by the way, so it worked. But I was able to get a good data analysis from a software product which I never thought was possible; something my professor only taught me how to do by hand.

Pros:

IBM SPSS is a very popular tool, for that there are loads of available tutorials (both free and paid) to get you started and also pull you out of a usage problem whenever you get stuck. So, its a very strong product with a useful array of learning tools online. I also love the cloud solution (SPSS app on fly) such that you can do your analysis while on the go.

Cons:

The software really requires a lot of time to learn and understand its features. It is also very resource consuming and it is somewhat expensive to purchase, even with the available student offer.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Data analysis tool for professionals

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I learnt SPSS as a part of a university course on time series analysis. The interface is easy to use while the coding required some computing knowledge. However, I have been using SPSS in the workplace to carry out inferential and descriptive analysis without any major glitches. It is more powerful than Excel in handling large and multiple data sources but a bit limited in functionality when compared to SAS or R.

Pros:

SPSS is a versatile data analysis tool with a wide range of statistical analysis tools. One can carry out simple descriptive analysis as well as pre-process/clean, visualise and model data using GUI as well as code. The interface of SPSS makes it easier to learn as compared to SAS. Data management capabilities of SPSS are a big plus.

Cons:

SPSS does not have any major drawbacks other than its price tag. R as a competitor is free and open source. I also found SPSS coding to be less intuitive and graphs/plots rendered to be less 'attractive' than some other analysis packages available.