15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

JIRA Service Management Reviews

About JIRA Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about JIRA Service Management

Pros:

Offers a wide variety of customization options making it easy to tailor to multiple business needs. Dashboard shows you what cases you have open and the stages the cases are in.

Cons:

Custom domains, multiple email handing, enhanced portal customization, the basics... all missing.

JIRA Service Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

JIRA Service Management has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 648 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used JIRA Service Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (648)

Dawit
Dawit
IT Administrator in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effortless Collaboration and Task Management: A Closer Look at JIRA Service Management

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with JIRA Service Management has been exceptional. The platform has revolutionized our incident management process and significantly improved collaboration among team members

Pros:

One of the aspects I liked most about Jira Service Management was its exceptional incident resolution efficiency. The platform truly excels in streamlining the incident management process, enabling our team to respond swiftly and effectively to any issues that ariseWith Jira Service Management, we were able to create a centralized incident ticketing system that provided complete visibility into ongoing incidentsThe automation capabilities of Jira Service Management were a game-changer. We were able to set up predefined workflows and triggers, ensuring that incidents were routed to the appropriate teams and escalated as needed

Cons:

While Jira Service Management offers a plethora of robust features, one area that I felt could benefit from improvement was its reporting capabilities. Although the platform provides basic reporting functionalities, there are certain areas where additional enhancements would be valuable

Tora
Tora
IT Service Desk Lead in Japan
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Expert service management system

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: I mainly use it for task management on small projects, but I plan to gradually expand the scope of use as I get used to the operation and screen environment. Since it can be used in a wide range, it is recommended that I use it for task management and workflow for small-scale projects with a small number of people to get a feel for its operation. Sharing issues with project members in other companies or remote locations is possible. You can discuss and work on a common visualized platform, such as managing work progress and solving problems.

Pros:

It is a slightly different tool from the so-called general ITSM system (or service). Operation and maintenance (though not limited to) tend to be individualized. Still, JIRA caters to tasks and support on a "role" basis, so sharing knowledge using OJT is possible, depending on ingenuity.

Cons:

It may be a problem due to the multifunction, but I think the problem is that the screen is a bit hard to see. (The problem may be solved by changing the layout of frequently used functions, but I haven't used it much yet, so I think it will be a problem that will be solved as I use it).

Pierre-Marc
Technology analyst level in Canada
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jira made our work easier

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It is easy to follow up on ongoing projects

Cons:

The only thing that could be better is that the job filter has to be reapplied every time you move in or out from a ticket but it's not that much of a big deal.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

On Prem Jira

2.0 last month New

Comments: Gets the job done, but often frustrating

Pros:

Tracking tickets is pretty good. Email updates are reliable and configurable

Cons:

Poor search functionality Most pages will not update when someone else changes something

Shreya
Shreya
Product Manager in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best tool for Helpdesk which works seamlessly with Jira

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: My team enjoys this tool a lot and we surely feel this is the most suited tool for the workflow we have. Highly recommend for helpdesk in IT

Pros:

Works so well with a support email ID to collect client helpdesk issues, and even link them to development (IT project) tickets

Cons:

Perhaps the dashboards can be easier and more insightful, for checking workload, number of issues managed per staff member etc

Ander
Operation Specialist in Estonia
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira for Fintech

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I would recommend it for anyone where cross-team collaboration is important.

Pros:

I like the most that the cross-team collaboration works really good and everyone can stay updated and everyone relevant can request an update whenever needed. And it is helpful for multiple teams (support, finance, engineering and etc), since it can be modified whatever the need is.

Cons:

In some cases the product of JSM is not the most flexible and convenient. Still has issues.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is your ally for scrum management!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The flexibility, all the things you can setup for a project to be tracked here, the board management, workflows, assignments, roles and that fits so great for Scrum teams.

Cons:

We are lacking to have a free test cases management in Jira.

Mohd Akmal
IT Support Technician in Malaysia
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jira is the heartbeat of our company

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall, Jira has made our lives more manageable in terms of tickets/issues/projects management.

Pros:

Organises unlike any other management tools for all our needs. A very flexible tool and the ease of integrations with other apps via API is much appreciated.

Cons:

A little bit steep learning curve, but definitely doable after a bit of Jira training/course.

Sandeep
QA Analyst in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great test management tool

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall iits a great tool than other industry tools

Pros:

Effective Resource management Effort tracking Dashboard Resource Assignment

Cons:

more visual analytics would help in easy assessmement

Evgeni
ServiceNow Developer in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice platform

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

User interface and the possibility of customizations

Cons:

Dependency on plugins for specific features

Jack
Software Support Specialist in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros:

- Lots of tools in one place - Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products) - UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent) - Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from - Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons:

- Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?) - Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency) - Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app) - Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned) - Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost. - Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Justin Alex
Technology Consultant in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros:

Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem. The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer). SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process. Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers. Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons:

Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well. The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cumbersome and slow, but no challenger

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: We're using Jira to manage our tickets and it works well. There are solid alternatives and competitors in the field, so I'm not sure for how long we'll keep using jira.

Pros:

The feature set of Jira is very wide, it is possible to achieve a lot. The ticket management system works, and it is possible to customize it a lot. Custom fields, custom status, sceens shown in transitions, automation rules based on triggers, ...Jira being extremely famous, it has the advantage of being easy to connect to virtually anything: sentry, aws, circle ci, slack, notion, figma, github, ...

Cons:

The UI is confusing, slow, and sometime very painful. For instance, for the longest time they did not support the markdown syntax in the text boxes. I consider myself very experienced with Jira and yet, I still get lost. Especially when it comes to managing boards or project or admin settings.

Lucas
Senior Software Engineer in Austria
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Powerful Software for Efficient Software Development Management

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: JIRA is a highly powerful software that excels in managing software development projects. With its robust features and functionalities, it offers a comprehensive solution for teams to track and organize their work. However, it can be overwhelming for users due to the extensive customization options available, which may lead to a learning curve and occasional complexity

Pros:

- Powerful project tracking: it provides an extensive range of tools and features to effectively manage software development projects, including issue tracking, task assignment, and progress monitoring.- Customizability: The software allows for extensive customization, enabling teams to adapt it to their specific workflows and requirements.- Integration capabilities: it seamlessly integrates with various development tools and platforms, facilitating collaboration and enhancing productivity.- Reporting and analytics: it offers robust reporting and analytics features, providing valuable insights into team performance, project progress, and issue resolution.

Cons:

- Steep learning curve: Due to its vast customization options, JIRA can be initially overwhelming for new users, requiring time and effort to fully grasp its functionalities.- Complexity: The extensive features and configurations available in JIRA can sometimes make the software feel cumbersome, especially for smaller, less complex projects.

Mike
Mike
IT Especialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Innovating IT Workflows

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: JIRA Service Management is an exceptional platform for IT project management and customer support. Its customization capabilities and the efficiency it offers in problem resolution and cross-team collaboration make it well worth the investment.

Pros:

The platform offers a wealth of issue tracking features, reports and metrics that make it easy to monitor productivity and identify areas for improvement. In addition, the self-service portal and integrated knowledge base provide end users with useful resources to resolve issues on their own, reducing the support team's workload. Support for process automation is also impressive, enabling the implementation of automated rules and actions to streamline and optimize workflows.

Cons:

Despite its many advantages, JIRA Service Management can be complex and difficult for new users to learn. Initial setup and customization takes time and effort.

Andrea
ICT Solutions in Italy
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best on premise

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros:

- High Control - Wide choices of features - Confluence Integration - Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons:

- ...which requires extra costs - Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons - Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Niall
Head of Information Systems in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A good option for Service Desks but check your requirements carefully

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A stable, performant platform for customer support is critical and JIRA Service Management has delivered that.

Pros:

Easy to set up and deploy, configuration is relatively easy, the platform is stable and performant. There is a good 3rd party marketplace for additional apps that can be installed. Security options like SSO are available. Customer Support is responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons:

Reporting on SLAs is poor, overall reporting is ok but could be better. Costs ramp up significantly as Atlassian Access is required if you want SSO, this is an addtional charge per user. The pricing is done on a per user tier level e.g. 101-200 users is a price so you have to pay for 200 user accounts even if you only have 101 actual users.

Mai
Product Manager in Germany
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Famous tool, yet can still be better

4.0 last year

Comments: Reasonable experience

Pros:

It has a very high adoption rate and big user base, therefore there are a lot of tutorials on how to do some certain things with Jira Service Management. That's a big advantage.

Cons:

Nevertheless, quite a few features JIRA Service Management can enhance. For instance, the search engine of the whole JIRA is not yet powerful, although it is expected to be powerful because it's a system that administrates a large number of tickets. Searching using text often results in poor results. Additionally, it is currently not possible for searching for some phrases that belong to a hyperlink that is hidden inside a text. Additionally, it is not yet possible to create a new type of relationship that links an issue with another issue. Currently one can only choose from a dropdown of relationship types that are already available there.

Elen
Elen
Product Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable ticketing system

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: JIRA Service Management offers a robust service desk and ITSM solution with powerful ticketing capabilities, integration with JIRA, knowledge base features, and reporting capabilities. However, organizations should consider the complexity for non-technical users, the learning curve, limited customer experience features, and the pricing structure when evaluating JIRA Service Management for their support and ITSM needs.

Pros:

JIRA Service Management offers robust reporting and analytics capabilities, providing insights into support team performance, ticket trends, and customer satisfaction levels. These metrics help organizations identify areas for improvement and make data-driven decisions to enhance their support processes.

Cons:

Due to its extensive functionality and customizable nature, there can be a learning curve associated with mastering JIRA Service Management. Administrators and users may need time to understand the platform's features and optimize its use for their specific requirements.

Marta
Head of Delivery in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A truly powerful help desk management tool

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Once past the cumbersome process of agreeing on workflows and setting everything up, the journey with Jira Service Desk has been pretty smooth. I recommend it for teams looking to deal with multiple sources of tickets. Streamlining the process buys more problem-solving time, which users of our application always appreciate!

Pros:

Easy use for the agents (help desk consultants) is why we decided on this tool. The ability to connect tasks to our regular projects in Jira Software is another winner feature because it saves a lot of time and allows better communication between teams.

Cons:

The major downside to Jira Service Desk is customizing it. I don't know if anyone uses it straight out of the box, but for us, it was necessary to spend a couple of days customizing workflows, screens, and general settings.Another rather annoying thing is the vagueness of the agents' assignments which determines how much we pay for licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best Service Management tools in the market!

4.0 last year

Comments: This is a great service desk software. It has some great features, and the overall experience with it has been really good even though it was used for a very critical and big project. Tickets can be transferred to other users seamlessly. Documents can be assigned to tasks and incidents which can help other users understand what is in front of them easily. Overall, it is very important in handling support based tasks that run 24*7.

Pros:

Jira service management is one of the best service desk softwares in the market. The ease of use is great, even for users new to the software. It helps the users keep a proper and clean track of the incidents/tasks/etc they have. One of the best things about Jira Service Management is that multiple teams can easily collaborate and work on it. This enables big projects involving various teams to work seamlessly.

Cons:

There are not many major disadvantages with using this Jira Service Management software. But a user must be careful while deciding to delete a ticket, because once deleted it is goodbye for ever. It cannot be retrieved. This option can be modified to allow retrieval of deleted tickets to ease the process for users who might delete important tickets unintentionally.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unlike others, doesn't need complex configuration

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: With the help of Service Desk we get feedback from users about the bugs they find in the product. As the result, we fix them really fast. By adding fields that users need to add while submitting bug, we decrease time that is needed to reproduce bug or clarify the issue. Also, we can communicate with user directly if needed.
At the same time user can always get back and see status of ticket they submitted.
Also, it says a lot when you see Atlassian using its own product and using it really well.

Pros:

When you use this application as an addition to JIRA, it is a great tandem. I adviced my company to use Service Desk when we were discussing how to receive bugs and ad-hoc requests. We are using this application fro several years and we do not think about changing it.

Cons:

The only bad point that I can mention about Service Desk is its price. A lot of clients I worked with complained about it. They manage really carefully the number of users that are Agents (users you actually pay for), and get really upset if they were not carefull enough and their bill was higher then they expected.

Anoop
Anoop
Senior Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent & Agile Task Management Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall my experience with Jira service management has been really good. It is known for its flexibility, customization options, and integration capabilities.

Pros:

Jira Service Management is highly customizable, with a wide range of configuration options, add-ons, and integrations available. We create tickets on daily basis and also link it with confluence documents to track our workflow and tasks. Since its cloud based tool collaboration features, including real-time chat, comments, and status updates, making it easy for teams to work together. We also use to track performance and identify areas for improvement.It helps our team to automate routine tasks, such as ticket routing and notification, which can save time and improve efficiency.

Cons:

Sometimes integration becomes difficult and also the company can solve this issue by providing video guides which can help the user to understand easily.

Shubham Vasantrao
Officer in US
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best Ticket/Bug Tracking Tool

5.0 last year

Pros:

1) We mainly used this tool to plan our tasks for the projects we were working on.2) Creating Sprint Cycles and assigning tickets for each issue is very convenient using JIRA3) We can see the progress made by the ticket owner in the ticket description.4) There is a very brief and concise Audit history which we can track to see how the ticket status has changed5) I like the customization feature for each team and each product. We can choose what statuses and workflow our ticket should go through and select and arrange them very quickly.6) We can even link the BitBucket repo link and confluence link with our JIRA ticket, which is very handy for developers.

Cons:

It can be sometimes overwhelming for newcomers, especially when one is not that familiar with JIRA and its terminologies, and it does have its learning curve.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

JIRA - Can't live without it

5.0 last year

Pros:

Jira allows us to track individual issues across the organization accurately by assigning unique identifiers. It allows us to effectively manage our issues using groupings(epics), Releases, and sprints.

Cons:

Starting new projects on the SAAS is a bit tricky to get it to match older configs you are interested in as it is geared towards kickstarting new users.