15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

JIRA Service Management Reviews

About JIRA Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about JIRA Service Management

Pros:

Offers a wide variety of customization options making it easy to tailor to multiple business needs. Dashboard shows you what cases you have open and the stages the cases are in.

Cons:

Custom domains, multiple email handing, enhanced portal customization, the basics... all missing.

JIRA Service Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

JIRA Service Management has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 668 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used JIRA Service Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (668)

Dawit
Dawit
IT Administrator in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effortless Collaboration and Task Management: A Closer Look at JIRA Service Management

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with JIRA Service Management has been exceptional. The platform has revolutionized our incident management process and significantly improved collaboration among team members

Pros:

One of the aspects I liked most about Jira Service Management was its exceptional incident resolution efficiency. The platform truly excels in streamlining the incident management process, enabling our team to respond swiftly and effectively to any issues that ariseWith Jira Service Management, we were able to create a centralized incident ticketing system that provided complete visibility into ongoing incidentsThe automation capabilities of Jira Service Management were a game-changer. We were able to set up predefined workflows and triggers, ensuring that incidents were routed to the appropriate teams and escalated as needed

Cons:

While Jira Service Management offers a plethora of robust features, one area that I felt could benefit from improvement was its reporting capabilities. Although the platform provides basic reporting functionalities, there are certain areas where additional enhancements would be valuable

Muhammad Suffian
System engineer in Italy
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Jira used by a system engineer

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, JIRA Service Management is powerful and customizable, but has a complex setup, steep learning curve, and can be costly.

Pros:

Seamless JIRA integration, customizable workflows, advanced automation, user-friendly interface, robust reporting, scalable, SLA management, and extensive third-party integrations.

Cons:

Complex setup, expensive for small teams, slower with large data, steep learning curve, and overwhelming customization for non-tech users.

Nick
Nick
Senior Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for Smaller Businesses, not for the Large Enterprise

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Service Management is very easy to get going "out of the box" for small organizations. We stood this up apart from our enterprise's main service management tool because we had special needs for our intake forms and this allowed us to do the customization needed without going through rigorous development through the enterprise level tool.

Cons:

Form design for your main portal can sometimes be wonky, as navigating through the options takes a bit of getting used to and aren't the most intuitive at first. Workflows are also very simple and complex decision-making based on external data is not readily available.

Mohammed
IT Specialist in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira Service Desk Management

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall I have been using Jira Service Mangement for 6 years and I love finding about new features and integrations.

Pros:

I like the analytics and incident management part of the Jira service desk management and of course the ease of locating tickets and updating them.

Cons:

I feel like JQL is necessary for important searches which not everyone has experience with.

Laura
Laura
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and effective task management software

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: It's useful for monitoring progress and coordinating the many tasks that have been delegated. In fact, the tool's progress track can be used to make estimates for the deadlines themselves.

Pros:

We utilize Jira to proactively guard against issues, notify clients when they are discovered, and monitor their progress and enhancements. Having the assignor's identity and that of the assigned person clearly shown also helps establish trust.

Cons:

I had trouble finding older tickets or finding out who else had been assigned to the key I was working on; an internal chat function could greatly benefit those of us waiting for clients to respond to comments.

Boris
CEO in Czechia
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Top of the market

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, Jira has many integrations and way tu automate in-house processes. Second to none.

Pros:

Jira is standard of IT industry for managing effective development and connecting it to other teams in the company.

Cons:

Jira can be sometimes complicated which is expected considering the amount of feature it needs to handle complex business processes.

Shreya
Shreya
Product Manager in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best tool for Helpdesk which works seamlessly with Jira

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: My team enjoys this tool a lot and we surely feel this is the most suited tool for the workflow we have. Highly recommend for helpdesk in IT

Pros:

Works so well with a support email ID to collect client helpdesk issues, and even link them to development (IT project) tickets

Cons:

Perhaps the dashboards can be easier and more insightful, for checking workload, number of issues managed per staff member etc

Anonymous reviewer
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best choices for a customer service desk

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Highly customisable service desk portal, from the fields to the UI. We can set up a new portal in minutes for every new project and easily tie the tickets to our internal Jira Software projects keeping internal and external discussions separate.

Cons:

SLA management should be made easier as well as the reporting options. Naturally the easy integration between the service desk and the software issue tracking system occurs if you are using Atlassian, good luck with other tools.

Mark Joseph
Customer Support in Singapore
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JIRA Service Management Review

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall, usage of this tool helps a lot for task managment.

Pros:

What I like the most about Jira is the management of tasks. You can monitor real-time the tasks assigned to you and work on them.

Cons:

When you have lots of tasks it can be overwhelming to look but priority system can help manage and organize the tasks that was created.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

good to manage task and project

4.0 last month New

Pros:

It's convenient for managers to track and assign tasks to different persons.

Cons:

Just a new user to JIRA so it's not that familiar with all the functions and tips.

Ashish
Senior Architect in Canada
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Life Savior tool for Agile Projects

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: JIRA is becoming one shop all for all project management needs.
It also act as a tracking warehouse for all project management and IT management activities in current agile world.
Scrum meeting actions and stories are easy to browse compared to other existing tools on premise.
JIRA is also efficient to manage code control versioning easily by rapidly varying requirements.
It saves a huge cost for placeholder for our IT Asset management when migrated from traditional software

Pros:

JIRA service management is very use friendly software in day to day project activities. JIRA has been excellent tracking tool for testing bugs, defects easily during entire project cycle. It is very effective place holder for IT asset management and project management phases. JIRA has capabilities to integrate with multiple ITSM management tools and reporting tools for effective reports and dashboarding.

Cons:

New changes for html pages take little more time for loading when moved to production. Version controlling sometimes create hiccups during rollback period.

Inayat
Sr Systems Engineer in US
Entertainment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great value

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Great experience overall and integrates well with the Atlassian stack.

Pros:

Jira Service Management is a great value for ITSM. It provides a portal for an unlimited customer base, and agent access based on Jira core. It's also very affordable compared to other similar products.

Cons:

The customer portal is great, but offers little out of box customization. To build an elaborate portal, you need to purchase some marketplace add-ons.

Craig
DevOps Engineer in UK
Pharmaceuticals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira Service Management Make Life Easy, But At A Cost

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Jira has made everything easy and integrates with almost everything.

Pros:

JSM really doe make things very easy to do from ticket management to full blow products with customisable screens and input. It's worth the money but can get expensive when the whole company decides they want it.

Cons:

Really only the price is the con here, it's expensive but worth it. They offer fixed subscriptions which save money but cap users or pay as you go which costs more, but users can be added and removed ad-hoc.

Jack
Software Support Specialist in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros:

- Lots of tools in one place - Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products) - UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent) - Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from - Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons:

- Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?) - Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency) - Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app) - Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned) - Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost. - Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jira Service Management: Optimice sus operaciones de servicio con la potente solución de Atlassian

4.0 last year

Comments: Jira Service Management is a powerful and versatile tool developed by Atlassian, a leading software development company that specializes in creating products for collaboration, project management, and software development. Atlassian has a proven track record of producing high-quality and innovative software that is widely used by organizations of all sizes around the world.One of Atlassian's most popular products is Confluence, a content collaboration tool that is often used in conjunction with Jira Service Management. Confluence is designed to help teams collaborate and share information more efficiently by providing a central location for storing and sharing documents, meeting notes, and other important information. It integrates seamlessly with Jira Service Management, allowing users to easily access information from both platforms.Overall, Jira Service Management is an excellent service management tool with many powerful features and capabilities. While there may be a learning curve involved in getting started with it, most users find that the benefits of using the platform far outweigh any potential drawbacks. With its integration with Confluence and other Atlassian products, Jira Service Management is a great choice for organizations looking to streamline their service operations and improve collaboration and productivity.

Pros:

Jira Service Management itself, is a robust service management tool that offers a wide range of features and capabilities. Some of its key strengths include its flexibility and scalability, which make it an ideal choice for businesses of all sizes. It also offers powerful automation capabilities, allowing users to streamline their workflows and improve productivity. In addition, Jira Service Management provides detailed analytics and reporting tools, giving users valuable insights into their service operations.

Cons:

Of course, like any software tool, Jira Service Management has some potential downsides. For example, some users have reported that it can be difficult to set up and configure initially, especially for organizations with complex workflows or service structures. Additionally, some users have found the interface to be somewhat complex and overwhelming at first, although with time and experience, most users find it becomes more intuitive.

Lucas
Senior Software Engineer in Austria
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Powerful Software for Efficient Software Development Management

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: JIRA is a highly powerful software that excels in managing software development projects. With its robust features and functionalities, it offers a comprehensive solution for teams to track and organize their work. However, it can be overwhelming for users due to the extensive customization options available, which may lead to a learning curve and occasional complexity

Pros:

- Powerful project tracking: it provides an extensive range of tools and features to effectively manage software development projects, including issue tracking, task assignment, and progress monitoring.- Customizability: The software allows for extensive customization, enabling teams to adapt it to their specific workflows and requirements.- Integration capabilities: it seamlessly integrates with various development tools and platforms, facilitating collaboration and enhancing productivity.- Reporting and analytics: it offers robust reporting and analytics features, providing valuable insights into team performance, project progress, and issue resolution.

Cons:

- Steep learning curve: Due to its vast customization options, JIRA can be initially overwhelming for new users, requiring time and effort to fully grasp its functionalities.- Complexity: The extensive features and configurations available in JIRA can sometimes make the software feel cumbersome, especially for smaller, less complex projects.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good Tool for driving ITSM processes

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall we are very pleased with Jira Service Management and have implemented incident management processes using it.

Pros:

User friendly, easy to learn, integrates well with Atlassian eco system, roles based access control, licensed based on service agents

Cons:

Dashboard and reporting gadgets can be improved further to provide better trend reports for the incidents, marketplace plugins can become overwhelming.

Andrea
ICT Solutions in Italy
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best on premise

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros:

- High Control - Wide choices of features - Confluence Integration - Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons:

- ...which requires extra costs - Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons - Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Niall
Head of Information Systems in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A good option for Service Desks but check your requirements carefully

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A stable, performant platform for customer support is critical and JIRA Service Management has delivered that.

Pros:

Easy to set up and deploy, configuration is relatively easy, the platform is stable and performant. There is a good 3rd party marketplace for additional apps that can be installed. Security options like SSO are available. Customer Support is responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons:

Reporting on SLAs is poor, overall reporting is ok but could be better. Costs ramp up significantly as Atlassian Access is required if you want SSO, this is an addtional charge per user. The pricing is done on a per user tier level e.g. 101-200 users is a price so you have to pay for 200 user accounts even if you only have 101 actual users.

Eva
Customer Experience in Kenya
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

About Jira - Project Planning

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The initial setup was quite a challenge but, here we are. It's an awesome system for tracking project issues, especially for new clients during onboarding.

Pros:

It's a good platform to track issues that are being handled by each individual in a project. It also has the option for notification being sent out when an item has been resolved, closed, or has gone overdue. If it's configured correctly to have a backup, the team members involved can always learn from the past incidences reported. This will ensure that the team leader will be able to identify recurring items, timelines it took for resolution, and the team member assigned to resolve such items. This ensures that such items are priority issues that need in-depth understanding for them to be resolved permanently.

Cons:

As an organization, we have not been able to integrate Jira with osTicket, which our customer Experience team uses. This means we have two Systems, and at times this can be overwhelming to track issues on both Jira and osTicket.

Viveka
Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JIRA Service Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Jira Service Management offers several advantages for business and organizations, including IT service management, customization, collaboration, reporting analytics, customer support and agile project management.

Pros:

JIRA Service Management is fantastic tool as it provides IT service management capabilities, allows businesses to manage IT incidents, problems, and changes. It helps to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of IT operations, reducing downtime and improving service quality. It offers customer support features, to track and manage customer requests and issues which reduces the workload on customer support teams. The amazing feature is, it also includes Agile project management capabilities, which allows businesses to manage projects using agile methodologies, as it increases project visibility, collaboration, and delivery speed.

Cons:

Jira Service Management can be slow to load and can sometimes experience performance issues.

Erik
VP, Product Development and Engineering in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Dig Deep Before Buying

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It has solved some of our immediate business needs out-of-the-box or with moderate configuration effort. But as a full solution it is missing a handful of simple, but crucial, features. It definitely "feels" like a second version. It needs a third.

Pros:

JSD is relatively intuitive and easy to learn without needing tons of documentation. Initial pricing is attractive. A decent plugin community fills some gaps, but be expected to pay on top of the initial JSD pricing.

Cons:

Many "obvious" features are either missing or do not work as expected. For example: in many cases, once an internal user is added to an issue, they no longer receive notification about internal comments. This is completely unintuitive, unexpected, and has caused many people frustration: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDSERVER-3410 Another example: Email traffic about an issue is *always* public. Do not allow your staff to reply to JSD's emails as customers will also get emailed a copy! https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-3499 The worst part is, despite there being a few years' of discussion, and new comments added monthly by newly-affected JSD customers, Atlassian has no comments on the issues. In some cases a plugin (more $) can help, but in some cases even the plugin manufacturers can't help as JSD doesn't expose enough info in their plugin API.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keeps me organized and on task

5.0 last year

Comments: I use JIRA to track all the work that I do as an engineer on my team. It helps me track of anything I pick up, organize upcoming work according to epics and prioritize work as needed. We also share this informaiton with our stakeholders so they can keep track of what's happening with each project.

Pros:

I like that JIRA can be as simple or as complicated as you want it to be. I like that I can customize my dashboard and menus to my own personal liking and needs. It also helps engineers to sync on ticket requirements pretty easily.

Cons:

JIRA can be complicated, but it doesn't have to be. I think there is a learning curve if you want to go beyond doing the basics, but I personally like to keep my workflow with JIRA pretty simple.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

JIRA - Can't live without it

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Jira allows us to track individual issues across the organization accurately by assigning unique identifiers. It allows us to effectively manage our issues using groupings(epics), Releases, and sprints.

Cons:

Starting new projects on the SAAS is a bit tricky to get it to match older configs you are interested in as it is geared towards kickstarting new users.

Alexandra
Alexandra
Developer in Togo
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira my best project management tool

5.0 last year

Comments: Jira is a wonderful project management tool that has allowed us to interact directly with clients and collaborators who can see the progress of the project for themselves.

Pros:

JIRA gives us the possibility to integrate other tools like github. This feature has helped our team of developers to centralize all our processes in JIRA and in particular to create tickets (User stories) in JIRA that we can use as a branch with Github

Cons:

Jira can be perceived as complex, particularly for users who are new to the tool or have limited experience with project management software. The abundance of features and customization options can make it overwhelming for some users.