15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Marketman

Restaurant food costing and inventory management made easy. Get your costs under control and streamline operations.

Learn more about Marketman

Pros:

The POS and quickbooks integrations make keeping track of sales stats as they relate to inventory very easy.

Cons:

Minor technical difficulties. But nothing that customer support couldn't fix.

Marketman ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Marketman has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 109 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Marketman before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (109)

Melissa
Melissa
Purchasing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One platform, so many functions

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have finally found a platform that meets all our needs, and the recipe costing feature syncing with our POS system is really worth it. So happy we chose MarketMan!

Pros:

I am most happy that the price of an ingredient carries through all functions from ordering, receiving invoices and payment, recipe costing, and inventory. The accuracy of this data has been a huge time-saver for the restaurant group, and we have a better idea of how profitable we are day-to day.

Cons:

Getting all the items and sub-recipes loaded into the system can be a bit time-consuming up front. Worth it in the end though.

Alternatives Considered: Avero Slingshot and reciProfity

Reasons for Choosing Marketman: Orderly did not have recipe costing or reliable inventory processes, and also did a poor job of handling the number of ingredients we have in house.

Nicola
Purchasing & Inventory Control Manager in Barbados
Food & Beverages, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top of the line, Restaurant Management Software.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have begun using MM, in 2017, at its earliest days. It has paid for itself, in every single project I have applied MM to. From Costing Analysis, Stock Tracking, Online Ordering, and Price Checks, I was able to reduce overall COGS by 8-12%, and in one particular case, almost 15%! Using MarketMana at its fullest has helped me achieve COGS targets, minimize pilferage, negotiate better pricing with suppliers, and through their numerous and highly customizable reports, I was able to tackle all problems at a granular level! It's your best tool in the box!

Pros:

What I do love most about MM, is the fact that it keeps improving itself year by year. The guys at MM, have one mission alone, and that is to become the leaders in Restaurant Management software. I must add that I have implemented MarketMan, not only in Restaurants but also in Manufacturing kitchens, Distribution Centers, Multi-outlet Fast Casuals, and Concession Restaurants. Not one has regretted investing in MarketMan. It does what it says on the box!

Cons:

1) Missing Nutritional Facts for menu items - very important!

Alternatives Considered: Recipe Costing and Fishbowl

Reasons for Switching to Marketman: Ease of use Granular Reporting Quick On-boarding Amazing customer service Speed of Response Value for Money

Erik
DOO in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Attentive but flawed technology

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Accurate food costs. Ability to reconcile invoices. Ability to order through the software. Works throughout my company.

Cons:

Software doesnt always import to quickbooks. It took forever to get our Sysco account to work properly. COGS report should have snapshot view.

Joseph
Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Marketman for Pizza Restaurant

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It’s been a ride. Once I get it fully setup it will be awesome! However the setup has been a process

Pros:

I like most is marketmans capabilities. It is very detailed. My major vendors invoices can be sent straight to the software without lifting a finger. Orders have capabilities to be directly automated and sent into our vendors online ordering platform. Constantly tracks inventory

Cons:

The setup is very tedious and takes a LOT of work. They help you through the startup and provide with training videos but it would’ve been nicer if they would have worked hand and hand until setup (a lot to ask for I realize and they do offer recipe building at a cost). In a user friendly scale 1-5 I give it a 3

Alternatives Considered: xtraCHEF

Reasons for Choosing Marketman: Seemed to have have more tools and better functions. It also seemed to integrate easier. Customer service was better

Switched From: xtraCHEF

Maxwell
Consultant in US
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Food Costing & Analysis

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been very pleased with MarketMan since the beginning. And even though this has been a really strange year, we have worked to implement the software at a location while trying to navigate the "new normal" with COVID, but we have been very well supported by MarketMan during this time.

Pros:

This product is instrumental in ensuring your food costs are on a budget. I have used several Food Costing software packages, and MarketMan is really great at getting those costs under control and monitoring changes.

Cons:

The only thing that I would really like to have added would be a push into Square from Marketman. Such as price and inventory changes could be set in MarketMan, and they would push into Square, but this is really a minor want.

Alternatives Considered: Galley

Reasons for Choosing Marketman: We really couldn't get Restaurant365 to work the way we had intended. The customer service was about the worst I have ever had in any industry, and the onboarding process was botched from the beginning.

Reasons for Switching to Marketman: MarketMan seemed to offer better integration with the POS and had a robust way to create and track menu items from inventory, to prep, to sales. Once the onboarding had begun, we were pretty sure this would do what we were looking to have done

Frank
Chief Operating Officer in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Marketman helps drive efficiencies

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Marketman is a great business partner and provides the best customer service. Attentive to the needs of our business. Great software that drove efficiency across multiple lawyers of the business, from inventory control, recipe costing and accounts payable.

Pros:

The software is great on mobile platform. Invoice scanning with line item receiving is huge for us.

Cons:

Wish it had the ability to calculate nutritional values for our recipes.

Azizur
Operations Manager in UK
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Super Easy and Accurate

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Easy Implementation.
Easily accessible.
Easy to train team.
Export and Importing options are great.

Pros:

Marketman captures all the information and the user-friendliness someone can expect. It feels very personalized. Changes can be easily implemented. User requires minimum experience to familiar themself. I have used several software, I can say marketman is certainly the best!

Cons:

Phone support needs to be more prompt! The team could attempt to solve problems over the phone rather than taking messages only.

Fernando
Cost Controller in UK
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptional customer service

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Excellent, we already add 2 more locations.
Great support from customer service.

Pros:

Functionality , and customer service. Alec Grove has been an star since the beginning.

Cons:

Updates on the system, and adding new functionalities.

Alternatives Considered: TeamViewer Remote , Salesforce Sales Cloud , Xero and Adaco

Reasons for Switching to Marketman: Better integration with Square , and reviews. Better price and easy to deploy.

Brandon
Owner in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Wow! Saves me a ton of time!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Automated invoice capturing, automated inventory price updates, vendor integrations, shelf to sheet order guides and inventoring, restaurant essential reporting features, Quickbooks integration, customer service is excellent.

Cons:

It takes awhile to set up, but all software in this category does.

Nickis
Marketing Director in US
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficient Payment Option for Online Business

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Marketman makes payment processing swift and easy, and there are credible security affirmation from the tool.

Cons:

Marketman creates a suitable payment option, and there are no challenges.

Rodney
Executive chef in US
Food & Beverages, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to organize daily operation, all orders are sent through Marketman. Easy to upload invoices. Cost food out as well able to keep up with price increase

Cons:

Sometimes it freezes but had to do with our location

Alternatives Considered: CompeteIQ

Reasons for Switching to Marketman: User friendly

Joy
Chef and Managing Director in Kenya
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review for Nabo bistro

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: no major complaints. the only major issue would be the closed API which makes it hard to integrate local currencies and banks. this does come as a challenge when doing sale reconciliations

Pros:

all the features are great, the software makes daily operations very easy

Cons:

would have preferred the onboarding process to be slightly faster so i can use the system asap

Will
Bars Manager in UK
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Marketman - Intuitive, Helpful and Affordable

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, functionality and interface.

Cons:

So far so good! I haven't run into any issues that haven't been very quickly solved by the help team.

Sebastian
Bookkeeper in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Software for Restaurant Management, Top Notch Customer Service Team

4.0 last year

Pros:

I love the ease of navigating through the software and how many helpful reports I can view to review my business' operations for every store and as a whole. It's extremely helpful to have the ability to track costs of not only inventory items, but also menu items by building recipes to see the exact breakdown of costs and profit margins.

Cons:

There are little inconveniences in the software that I would like to be fixed/improved. The development team is incredibly slow with implementing any of these requests, no matter how big or small. After 5 months we have yet to have anything fixed.

Don
Purchasing Director in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Marketman Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This software has helped me a ton with figuring out my food cost, ordering needs, recipe keeping and so one. I love it.

Pros:

This software is very very easy to use and has a ton of options. I have been using it for a little while but am still learning ways that it can help to simplify my life and make me more organized. It is very user friendly and the software support team is by far the best I have used. Very responsive and helpful.

Cons:

Gotta be honest haven't found anything bad yet. If anything it almost offers to much. So many options and uses.

Caleb
Purchasing Manager in Kenya
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

After using SAP for 4yrs, I came to use Marketman with a lean, effective & efficient functionality

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Flexibility and accessibility being powered by online resources, actual vs theoretical is also very crucial in analyzing stocks. invoice scanning to receive, cookbook is also vibrant to use.

Cons:

mobile App not having full functions, combining two or more items that are attached as menu items is not possible. I need the incoming orders printable with order numbers also,

Maria
Manager in Romania
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Solved my Inventory Issues and easy to use

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It's saving me a lot of time and I don't have to use the excel sheet in order to make the Inventory, user friendly and no cost for extra users, I can place the orders form the system and that's saving me time when I actually have to insert the Invoices in the system, price change notification and credit notification.

Cons:

I don 't like the fact that when I change something in my POS system, for example if I modify only the name of an item in Revel, MarketMan is creating me a new Item.

Ben
Cost Controller in UK
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MarketMan Review- very useful

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very very good. Will recommend to any new jobs I get and to other in the industry

Pros:

The simplicity of use and the customer service is brilliant. Never had a issue with them not being available

Cons:

Some of the reporting can be merged into single products

Edgar Allan
Store manager in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Loading process

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall satisfied user

Pros:

Its very convinient and structural. Always updated and accurate

Cons:

Loading process kinda slow and sometimes lag.

Juan Pablo
Juan Pablo
CEO in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It solved the problems I was having with stock control

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Stock and recipe control

Pros:

I liked that it is WebBased and I can access it where ever I am at. The ease of use is great and I have been recommending it. I am exited to see the new Menu feature.

Cons:

I wish I could calculate the value of my stock at any given point in time. I also would like for the costs of goods sold would take into consideration the value of stock. The app functionalities should also be more broad.

Raza
DIRECTOR in Canada
Restaurants, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: excellent. Very happy

Pros:

Easy To use and simple to navigate. Easy to train as well

Cons:

Dashboard can be confusing. But I see improvements were made.

Rahul
Owner in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool that needs more refining for ease of use

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Customer service is fantastic.

Pros:

It works once it’s all setup. However, setup isn’t for the non-technical. I’m an IT guy and it took me weeks to fully set it up. And I feel like it could be better with just a few more small tweaks.

Cons:

Setup and the iOS app. The app is cumbersome and almost remedial.

Filippo
Purchasing director in US
Restaurants, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software for daily operations

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience is great. It needs strong daily maintenance.

Pros:

The overview it gives you on the daily operation of ordering, receiving and inventory management.

Cons:

it should be even more customizable. The app is still not working smoothly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good for Bar Inventory

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: 7.5 out of 10

Pros:

After you set up your products and storage areas, the ease of use for tracking inventory is awesome.

Cons:

The actual setting up and adding new items is a little time consuming. Wish they was a “copy” element of a current in stock item

Henry
Henry
Operations Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Works Exactly As Advertised + Plus Excellent Support

5.0 last year

Pros:

MarketMan can seem complex to begin with, but after a well organised and extensive onboarding process with Asaf and others we quickly found ourselves being able to utilise the system effectively and started making real world business decisions

Cons:

A fairly steep learning curve to begin with