15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About MongoDB

From startups to enterprises, for the modern and the mission-critical, MongoDB is the database for giant ideas.

Learn more about MongoDB

Pros:

MongoDB is free, performs really well, and it is easy to deploy and configure. There is a big support community, but the documentation is most of the time enough.

Cons:

The initial setup of MongoDB and specifically the Mongod can be quite confusing.

MongoDB ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

MongoDB has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 458 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MongoDB before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (458)

Muthazhagan
Muthazhagan
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with MongoDB

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I recommend mongodb for all the beginners whoever trying to learn new database. It not only beginner friendly also provide large number of build in function that makes easy to learn everyone. Unlike others nosql databases it store the data as bson format. So, it makes naturally faster the most of common databases.

Pros:

Best part that i like in mongodb was It's speed and large number of build in functions. So i don't need to add each and every time custom function for searching or filter. Also they store the database best cloud platfoms(AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure). that makes my data were are safe. It beginner friendly also.

Cons:

There are not that much i don't dislike about the mongodb.

Michael
Michael
Senior Software Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fast, fast, fast, and agile

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very positive. I will likely use MongoDB on every future project of moderate to extreme complexity.

Pros:

One of the most difficult parts of software development, especially with complex projects, is keeping the software maintained. As business requirement change, the effort required to make those changes grows over time. MongoDB opened up a whole new world for me. I can make structural changes to my underlying data with ease without too much modification the data access layer. It reduces initial development significantly, and allows my team to pivot to new requirements with unprecedented ease. Because related data is encapsulated, queries are much faster, and our software is extremely performant. Highly recommended.

Cons:

The tooling isn't great. Compass is a decent tool for accessing and lookup, but it lacks polish. It's slow to start up and sometimes difficult to pull up the data I'm seeking

Rob
Backend Developer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mongo allows you to take off easily, but makes it harder to do more advanced analysis.

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

-Easy Setup -Getting simple data in/out is painless & straightforward -Basic analytics are easy, as is managing multi-server clusters

Cons:

-Working with complex data is a difficult. -Many original features or design choices were incorrect and slow to be corrected. For example, timezone support is minimal and days/dates/months use a custom numbering rather than ISO. Mongo is only now adding ISO versions of aggregation commands

Preet
Senior Software Engineer in India
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Leading NoSQL database provider

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: It has been a great experience to learn and implement mongoDB as a NoSQL database. The bulk operations and aggregations are quite useful features at times.

Pros:

provides a good scalability and flexibility to application development with NoSQL while still offering the efficiency.

Cons:

It needs a fair amount to learning before you start with the implementation.

Juan Manuel
Juan Manuel
Web Developer in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best no-sql database

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My experience is very good, it works very fast, it is configured quickly, you can view and make queries from your software to see the data of your database. Making backups is very simple and integrates perfectly with our javascript development.

Pros:

Very fast installation and use. It has very complete tools to manage you, such as the Mongo Compass or the possibility of having everything in your cloud with Mongo Atlas. The installation is very simple and the power of the tool is incredible and integrates perfectly with our system built in NodeJS. It has a very detailed documentation which facilitates its integration.

Cons:

The main cons is that it does not have the possibility of making queries with JOINS but this is a limitation of NO-SQL databases

Andres Ernesto
Andres Ernesto
CTO in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: its backend integration with Moongose ​​is simple, easy to use, it seems like a good product to me

Pros:

easy to use, with a few steps you can integrate it into a backend and it's very reliable

Cons:

at the moment I have no complaints about the product

Victor Ignacio Jesus
Victor Ignacio Jesus
Database Administrator in Chile
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best option to administer high volume data

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My firs time when i started to use MongoDB i was really worried about the difficult to configurate the connections with the platform where i was working but when it was done, all the problems just dissapear.
And if you use MongoDB Compass, the way in how you visualise and operate your data its very more easy, with just a few clicks to make all that you wanna to do, from a simple query to a migration of database.

Pros:

That i really like about this its the high quality documentation for everything that you wanna do, it has tutorials for a lot of platforms and programming languages, with detailed explanations and a lot of forums where people can help you.

Cons:

That i like least its the difficult to make the first configurations with the platform where you are working, you need to use very large connections strings with a lot of parameters where its easy make a typing error like add one space more or confuse between lowercase and capital letter in some parameters

Jason
Jason
Planning Development Officer in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MongoDB review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Awsome, ease to learn

Pros:

the data embankment is secure and manageable

Cons:

currently no cons for me, overall good software features

Álvaro
Álvaro
FullStack Developer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moldable schemes. Facility of accessing and creating data. Unsopported operation.

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

It is ideal for environments with few computing resources Any server or any personal computer can be used to set up MongoDB and have a server for your projects. It has very good documentation, very extensive and detailed compared to other NoSQL databases.

Cons:

Not a suitable database for applications with complex transactions. Despite being widely used today, it is still a young technology. It does not allow Joins for queries, that is, queries in which different tables are combined or related.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Database management with MongoDB

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

MongoDB provides several useful features, the search/filter feature is really fast and optimized, it's good for small and big databases.

Cons:

The interface of MongoDB is quite confusing when set up.

Aniket
Student in India
Higher Education Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MongoDB - The Best No-SQL Database!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used MongoDB in a laboratory environment, adding access levels for users to access the data remotely. I also interacted with the database a lot and it was way easier to create and manage it. Furthermore, I never experienced a server-crash whilst accessing the data, which is fairly common for most other no-sql databases. Even-so, it just proves that it manages the memory well.

Pros:

MongoDB has integrations with almost all computer languages used today, with even having an integration with Erlang (a very rarely used language). The drivers are easily available from open source contributors and works amazingly well. For a No-SQL database, it is amazingly well managed and easier to use in almost all other languages.

Cons:

Its sort of confusing to manage the access control levels of the users, as it is all stored in json file. If there was a way to sort of make this process graphical or interactive, it would have reduced many access threats in a database.

Piotr
QA Automation Engineer in Ireland
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Interesting alternative for relational DBs

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: To be honest, I wasn't too convinced about non-relational databases. Before I encountered MongoDB in one of my jobs, I was working only with MySQL and PostgreSQL and treated MongoDB as a curiosity. I was sorely mistaken. It is fast, reliable, and intuitive. A lot of clear documentation and helpful customer support made learning easy. However, in the beginning, I felt a little lost about queries or the creation of a reliable and efficient structure. The main disadvantage I noticed is some redundancy in documents to maintain dependencies (or maybe it is my lack of knowledge). Good structure creation was also a challenge, but as I mentioned, documentation was extremally helpful. Also, data migration, exports, and imports are user-friendly and I didn't really have any problems with them. I am also using MongoDB in my private projects, and to be honest, I really don't want to come back to standard SQL databases. All in all, if you haven't tried it yet - it is definitely worth it. The entry threshold may be a little higher than for SQL (especially if you are used to it), but it's useful to have more skills.

Pros:

Ease of use. Customer support and documentation. Speed and functionalities. Flexibility.

Cons:

May be hard to maintain if the structure is created in the wrong way. Beginners may get lost in more complicated queries

Vinicius
Software Engineer in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review for MongoDB

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: MongoDB is great for document-based storage on cloud environments.

Pros:

Easy to use, learn and find support documentation. Fully cloud-based database.

Cons:

Limit size for document and no transaction support.

Anil
Marketing Executive in Türkiye
Marketing & Advertising, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Database Platform MongoDB

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used MongoDB for my customers website to cover all the databases and working with developers to implement them.

Pros:

Virtualization is perfect feature for MongoDB to understand your dataset and performings.

Cons:

MongoDb is quite expensive when you compare other kind of database platforms.

Ajay kumar
Full Stack Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best database for full stack development

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: With the large amount of built-in functions, I don't need to write some complicated queries in my project. I can also easily integrate with any of my projects. I won't need to extraneously install packages or tools needed to use the MongoDB Atlas. They also provide a custom role option for the CRUD option. This makes it more practical to use. Unlike other MySQL databases, MongoDB uses the BSON type to store data. that makes the database more fast and robust. And they also provide tools like MogoDB Compass for easier management. I can easily shift my data from one database to another using tools like Mongodump and Mongorestore. also one of the main reasons for me using MongoDB for its security. because they use popular platforms like AWS, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Azure to store data.

Pros:

One of the fastest MySQL databases with a user-friendly database. You don't have to put that much stress into learning the MongoDB. The enormity of the built-in options makes this user easy to implement on their project. and easy to integrate with any framework (such as Node.js,Djanco, etc.). The detailed documentation with examples makes this even easier to use (in my opinion, most tools fail on complicated documentation with a lot of examples). The documentation provided by them was easy for even a beginner to understand. They also provide custom integration with top cloud-based platforms like AWS, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Azure. With the free storage space of 500 MP, everyone can use their database with a low amount of limitation.

Cons:

From my point of view, I don't see any things I dislike about the MongoDB. They provided all the necessary things that I wanted.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mongo DB

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: According to my experience with MongoDB it is good NoSQL database. It has good query capacity, Also when we going to solve some business problems some requirements are change when we build the system. At that time we have to change same database collections. MongoDB support it.

Pros:

Mongo DB is non relational database (NoSQL). It is a document database. it has good query capacity. Very easy to install and setup Mongo DB. Also Mongo DB is schema-free, there fore our software (code) defines the schema. It support BSON data format, there fore no complex to write code with mongo db (most of programming languages support BSON data format. We can index the mongo collections and increase the query performance

Cons:

When we need to query using two mongo collections (join two collection), we can use lookup feature. but the problem is Mongo DB lookup feature is slow. Also we have no option to run query among two or three collections like as Elastic Search. When we using Elastic Search we can run query among two or three indexes(collections). There for in Elastic Search we can move historical data to separate collections and improve query performance. if we need query with historical, Elastic Search support it. But using Mongo DB we have to handle it in programming side.

Jean
Blockchain developer in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MongoDB Opensource Easy and Powerful

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Because the data storage is in JSON-like documents, it is very easy to understand and visualize. Used in class, and currently implementing an app for a physical therapist that tracks clients exercises and progress. I like the fact that the storage is encrypted.

Pros:

I was introduced to MongoDB in a bootcamp. It is free and opensource. I wondered how good free could be. In my opinion it beat firebase. Objects can be defined graphically or via your code. It is easy to interface with Postman. Commercial upgrades are available. Currently using Mongo for an app. Supports Node.js. there is a lot of documentation available for beginners.

Cons:

Not suitable for complex transactions. An occasional backup is recommended. After a crash, you need to check your logs. In fact, you may not know it crashed until you check your logs. With a crash or reset documents may fall into an "unconfirmed" category and are lost. This may have bee corrected in more current versions. I don't know.

Wei Chun
Data Engineer in Malaysia
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easiest NoSQL DB for production app

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's straightforward to set up and offers multiple SDKs for use in application projects. The documentation is also readily updated and quickly followed.

Cons:

Document size and nesting is limited in MongoDB, so if you have a requirement of document size more than 16MB or needing to have document with more than 100 levels, then this may not be a good choice.

Sayam
Sayam
Technical Architect in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MongoDB- Simply NoSql

4.0 last year

Pros:

MongoDB is a NoSql DB which helped us to store the non relational data. Searching and storing capacity of this tool is really good as compared to other databases

Cons:

If you are moving on it from RDBMS than you may face some issues in the starting else it is really good to go.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MongoDB is a powerful and dependable database that will lure you into the world of NoSQL

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: MongoDB is at the core of our programme, which needs pace and accuracy. It's mainly used by the tech runtime team, with other teams using aspects of the software using it implicitly. For all online and mobile applications created for our customers, I use MongoDB as a database. It satisfies all of our requirements. The service is of high quality, being dependable, convenient, and durable. It's the most up-to-date and successful platform for software development.

Pros:

Change streams and graph queries are two common database principles that MongoDB has quickly embraced. For popular programming languages, there is excellent library support. Developers will find it easy to set up and configure. It's also simple to write a query. Good scalability so data can be efficiently shared and is available quickly . There are a lot of tools and help online. Since there are so many ready-made options available, it's pretty simple to set up in some conditions. If you know JSON then it going to be easy for you to use.

Cons:

The user interface is a bit difficult to understand at first. They could make it easier to integrate with other NoSQL databases. When opposed to a SQL-based database, extensive aggregation queries in MongoDB can be challenging.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A tool that fits very certain needs

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Certain common operations are very very easy to spin up a one-off query for and utilize the data right then and there. In that sense, there is a very lightweight feel to developing with MongoDB at the start of most projects.

Cons:

The design paradigms around MongoDB make it so that you will eventually want to add some sort of schema-type check somewhere in your stack. This will make development much simpler over time as the data begins to evolve. In general, there's a lot of other scaffolding you will want to do in order to sane-ly use a NoSQL as most people seem to want to (a quick start data store for a project that would otherwise benefit from a relational database). Not saying this is the "correct way" to use MongoDB, but just our experience within a system/framework like Meteor for example.

Osman
Sr. Software Engineer in Türkiye
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MongoDB_02-07-2022

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use it to store files to search text.

Pros:

it is good to store document and unstructured data and it support transactions.

Cons:

It is hard to use drivers because it serve async features because many developers have trouble understanding async functions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A database revolution

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: For non-relational data storage, you really cannot beat MongoDB.

Pros:

It's incredibly flexible and performant. With rich documents you can keep data in just about any way that makes sense to you. When your data doesn't nicely fit into the relational database format you'll want to use MongoDB. They're constantly developing the database and each version brings more features and better ways of doing things. The aggregation features allow for complex heavy queries to be run very quickly.

Cons:

It can be a bit complicated to start with and writing aggregations without a great tool to help can be pretty tricky. Some of the features in the earlier versions are slightly limited and miss core requirements like 'join' style queries.

Bogdan
Tech Lead in Romania
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Documents with ease

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It works out of the box, it scales well for mid-sized projects

Pros:

Easy to set up, easy to configure, works as intended

Cons:

Had some issues with prior versions, it's all good now.

Matthew
Matthew
Project Manager in Jamaica
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Convenient data store

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is my database of choice because of speed and non-blocking read and writes when used in conjunction with Node.js.

Pros:

I enjoy using this data store because of how quick I can create models and begin using them within my code. The speed of development of applications is dramatically reduced because data can be consumed as soon as it is retrieved without writing much translation code.

Cons:

I don't like the complexity of the setup. If you need to do advanced clustering it is challenging to setup and configure.