15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About When I Work

The easy way to schedule, track time, attendance, and communicate with workers. Save time. Improve accountability. 14-day free trial.

Learn more about When I Work

Pros:

The biggest attraction to this platform was the low price point.

Cons:

Sometimes on the android app its signs you out or completely fails to load. Re-opening the app usually fixes it but it can be frusterating.

When I Work ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

When I Work has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 1,085 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used When I Work before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,085)

Trish
Trish
Senior Receptionist and Lead Trainer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Veterinary Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software for teams of all sizes

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've been using this software for 5 years, first as an employee then as an employer. Ease of use for both parties is fantastic and it's well worth paying for to save the time. When I change places of business, if I have a choice, I will choose When I Work again and again.

Pros:

- Shift templates, makes scheduling a lot easier - The ability to copy and paste any shift, even faster than clicking and choosing - Simple to add and remove employees - App is fairly easy to use - Time clock is awesome, easy to use

Cons:

- Looking at the full staff schedule on a particular day can be tedious. - For those making schedules, it's so much easier to do on a computer - In order to have a printed schedule, it downloads the PDF which you then have to print. I wish this printed right off the website.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Trish, Thank you for taking the time to review When I Work, and your feedback is appreciated! We are always looking for ways to make improvements and appreciate users like you that provide feedback so we can enhance and improve When I Work! Best, Amanda

Kristin
Leasing manager in US
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

When I work is brilliant!

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We love when I work! It's user friendly has everything your business needs and worth every penny!

Pros:

Everything is easy to use and schedule, everything being on one app and on the go is what we need in todays time being fast paced!

Cons:

Making sure I copy schedules and publishing instead of it doing that immediate.

When I Work Response

last month

Hello Kristin, Sarah here from the Care Team at When I Work. Thank you for taking the time to review the When I Work app and provide your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying the app and appreciate its ease of use. Please don't hesitate to submit a ticket to our Care Team by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ or by emailing [email protected] if we can ever assist with anything else. Take care! Best, Sarah

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Deceptive & misleading pricing practices, little integration, but certainly quite slick.

1.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Looks slick, appears to offer a lot (which it does, at a cost, see below...) Customer support is very responsive - live chat, email, etc. I may not like their answers (see below) but I can't fault their timely attention, their patience, their attentiveness.

Cons:

1. Pricing Practices The page at wheniwork.com/pricing says nothing, just that schedulling is free for less than 75 employees (and anything over is a "contact us for enterprise" price, which is fine). Great, I think, I'll sign up, start working with it. Glad I didn't invest much time. I set up a few employees, downloaded the apps, started working out the wrinkles. And after a few hours of looking, and testing, and reading, it looks good, but... ...then I discover that basic features like scheduling more than 10 days ahead (!) are paid-for. So is time tracking. Etc. That's ok to charge, but not ok to deceive - and there's *no* simple way right now to see a comparison of features and costs before getting signed-up. And this is not a small bump. You can't bolt-on a little extra. To get a proper working app, the minimum number of users they offer 20 minimum and the time attendance module adds something like 50% on top. But really it is transparency and deceptive practices that have *really* turned me against this product in a *very* short period of time - and that is *very* sad. If they'd allowed me to choose up front to devote my time, great; but they didn't. I had to ask support what "long-term scheduling" meant (that being something not included in the free plan). That means more than 10 days... No other warning of that, that I could see. I feel deceived. 2. App Reliability Others have mentioned glitches. I started working with the iPhone app - it stopped working for some tasks. I contacted support who said it was restricted to my account only, and they would get their developers to look at it. So I stopped using the iPhone app. My wife's Android phone wouldn't recognise her (valid) phone number when accepting a request to log in. So 2 strikes there. Your mileage may vary. 3. Limited Integrations A few years ago, WIW posted on their Facebook page that they used Xero. Some commented then - why no integration? No answer. Years later, still no integration with Xero. No Zapier integration, either. The cynic might think that WIW gets kick-backs / referral fees / bonusnes from Quick Books, Gusto, etc. which is why they're the (very limited) integration "partners". There's an API of course, if I had time. Again, I'd forgive that for a free / cheap deal. But it isn't a free / cheap deal *for a working scheduling solution* - a schedule that doesn't reach into next week is *not* a working schedule. So, yes, I'm annoyed. I feel like I've wasted my time. I feel like I've been deceived. I feel like I signed-up and invested time based upon what is almost a lie. And that sucks - not least because it was so needless. The product isn't awful, the pricing (whilst I may not like it) isn't the worst out there. The limitations are limitations, but every product has some. And that, really, is sad. The silver lining is that the free plan only launched yesterday. So perhaps they'll think again about the offering. And my experience is unlikely to be the same as that people had before me. But it is what it is today - so much so that I've signed-up for GetApp just to leave this review.

When I Work Response

7 years ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry this is not a more personalized response but it appears you have not listed your name, title or company in your GetApp review. As you said, we did just launch our free plan. We hope that many small businesses, including those like you in the apparel and fashion industry, will find value in being able to schedule their employees 10 days in advance and notify them electronically rather than printing out Excel spreadsheets that require their employees to come into a physical location to see their schedule or call a coworker who is currently working to find out when their next shifts will be. As with any new launch, we will continue to try to improve and appreciate your honest and thoughtful feedback about the pricing and how it was displayed to you. Our intention is certainly not to deceive or mislead our customers or potential customers. We are glad to know that despite your perception of the product and its pricing, our Customer Support did what they do best and answered your questions in a timely and attentive manner. Have a nice day, Customer Success @ When I Work

Marilee
Owner in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Game Changer

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It's been a huge change in scheduling each week. I used to dread it but no it's so much more manageable. The more I use it the more I learn how to be more efficient with the process. Our team loves it as well. Overall, just a great experience.

Pros:

I love the ability to make changes right from the app on my phone. Also, to have the functionality to make adjustments as needed. The scheduler views and auto-assign feature has been a huge help to our organization. Also, the ability to put a begin and end date on availability requests. We tried 2 other scheduling systems and this one by far has been the most effective and easy to use for administrators and employees.

Cons:

The cost is a little high and by paying on a yearly basis the discount isn't enough to really make a difference for paying in advance.

When I Work Response

3 months ago

Hi Marilee, Shab here from When I Work. We are so delighted that you decided to join us and even more delighted to hear that you are enjoying using When I Work! If you run into any issues or have any questions along the way, we'd love to help! Please submit a ticket with our team at: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ and we'd be happy to assist you. Thank you for choosing When I Work! Warmly, Shab

Sharonda
Administrative Coordinator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Satisfied Customer

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Over all my experience was great, no complaints.

Pros:

Extremely easy to use. Our team had no issues with it.

Cons:

Didn’t really have any issues with the software.

When I Work Response

4 weeks ago

Hi Sharonda, Farrah here from the Care Team at When I Work! Thank you for taking the time to review the When I Work app and providing your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying the app and appreciate its ease of use. Please don't hesitate to submit a ticket to our Care Team by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ or by emailing [email protected] if we can ever assist with anything else. Take care! Best, Farrah

Sara
Associate Veterinarian in US
Veterinary Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Your Typical Scheduling Software

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: When I Work has all the basic features we need for schedule management in small animal hospital.

Pros:

As an employee, it is easy to submit time off requests and check the status of requests, view other employees schedule, and see where additional coverage is needed on the calendar.

Cons:

The messaging platform was a little confusing to learn at first.

When I Work Response

2 weeks ago

Hello Sara, Thanks for the detailed review! It’s wonderful to see that our product is helpful to you!

Jasmine
Assistant in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I love the perks

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: I really like this app and I will use it again. on my nect job that offers it.

Pros:

What is there not to like about the app, you get to see everything and all the days that you work and the days that you dont work.

Cons:

I wish that therer w ++++ I wish that there was an part where you could request the time to take off from the job or the day that you have up there.

When I Work Response

3 weeks ago

Hi Jasmine, Shab here from When I Work. Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to see that you are enjoying the app and it's many features. Regarding Time Off requests, our team would be happy to walk you through how they work! Please submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can provide more assistance. Thank you again for your wonderful review and have a great week! Warmly, Shab

Michael
Pwner in US
Veterinary Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best scheduling program

5.0 last week New

Comments: I’ve been using When I Work for the past 15 years. It is a great scheduling program with ease of use.

Pros:

When I work is very easy to use an implement and helps me with my daily labor management

Cons:

There is nothing I do not like about When I Work

When I Work Response

4 days ago

Hi Michael, Shab here from When I Work. Thank you for your wonderful review of our app! We love to see that you have been with us for a long time and are still enjoying the app! Thank you for being a valued customer! Warmly, Shab

Katie
Administrative Assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall I have had a great experience with When I Work.

Pros:

I love how you can request time off and switch shifts on this program and that I receive all of the notifications. I also love the ability to run reports to tell me who worked which shift and it puts it right onto an excel spreadsheet.

Cons:

It's not really with When I Work but the way that our shifts are named and the times, it makes it a little confusing but that's on our end. Everything about the program is really easy.

When I Work Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Katie! We appreciate your nice feedback and love hearing from you!

Smriti
Treasurer in Nepal
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Scheduling Made Simple

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I appreciate how straightforward it is to schedule and access it making it very easy to work around.

Cons:

I haven't had much issues yet because we don't extensively use this app.

When I Work Response

2 months ago

Hello Smriti, Sarah here from the Care Team at When I Work. Thank you for taking the time to review the When I Work app and provide your honest feedback. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying it so far. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Care Team should you ever have any questions or concerns. You can submit a ticket to them by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ or by emailing [email protected]. Take care, Sarah

Gregory
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

When I Work

4.0 last year

Comments: Good bad simple to use

Pros:

Notifies employees of upcoming schedule, published schedules.

Cons:

Unable to approve time cards if you schedule a manager that is not required to clock in and out

When I Work Response

last year

Hi Gregory, Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. It's great to hear that When I Work is helping to make your teams' and your work lives easier. It may be helpful to note that a timesheet can only be approved if there are existing time entries. If there are persistent issues with approving user timesheets, please reach out at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can further assist. Thanks again for your time! Kindly, Chelo

Allison
Office Manager in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Scheduling Made Easy and Quick

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The site is very easy to understand especially for a software that is so robust. I can't tell you the value there, but it is so much appreciated. We have saved a lot of time and miscommunications while using When I work. The attendance notifications help me to keep track of where our team is hour-wise on an individual basis and as a whole. It's nice that I am alerted, one less thing I need to remember to check on. In conjunction with the Forcast reporting, I have a very clear view of the week ahead. The apps are handy, especially from the administration side. I am able to update time clocked hours on the fly, check everyone's schedule and separate out my own, I can even handle time off requests. I haven't ever attempted to schedule through the app, although knowing how intuitive everything is through their online site, I would venture to guess it would be a piece of cake. I know our team members enjoy having their schedules and hours readily available in their pocket as well.

Cons:

We have had a couple issues with clock-ins through the apps. There have been times when it isn't recognizing the location or the punch doesn't make it all the way through. But that's it! I would love if this software could manage our PTO as well, but we haven't found a way to make it work with how our times are calculated.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hello Allison, Jaime here from the Customer Care Team at When I Work. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad to hear that you find When I Work to be easy to understand and that it has helped your team save time, assist with communication, and help you keep track of when your employees are clocking in/out. I am sorry to hear that your team has been experiencing a few issues clocking in from time to time. Feel free to reach out to us [email protected] at any time and we can dig into this further as to why this is occurring. We'd also like to hear how PTO works for your company to see how we can assist. Thanks again for the review! Take care, Jaime

Amy
Director in US
Libraries, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I've Reviewed Them Before But They Stay Current And Deserve To Be Commended

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: When I Work has really been great. Gone are the days of me trying to create weekly and monthly calendars and juggle handwritten requests for sick and vacation time. Staff can request through When I Work and I can easily update our schedule. I've saved hours and hours a month being able to utilize the templates as well.

Pros:

When I Work has saved me daily headaches. Public Libraries don't have the funding to implement expensive employee scheduling software. When I Work even offers a free version which we started out with awhile ago but as our staff grew we moved into the paid format. Our library and employee pool has grown and changed, When I Work grows and changes alongside it. They continuously offer new resources and seek to keep ahead of us and just "know" what issues we may have as our staff is in flux.

Cons:

The only issue I've seen thus far is a slight problem with the remote ap. Let me first say that having the ability to have an ap at all is great. My staff often is out of the library for programs and if they have an event prior to actual library hours they can clock in from their own phone. The issue that I speak of was mostly in calculating the distance that clocking in was allowed. It took a few tries to make sure that staff can check in, with a decent range, but not be so far from the library that it could be abused by someone wanting to beat the clock when they're late to work.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Amy! Thank you so much for the kind words! We're glad the app has been a good solution for you and your team. If you ever have any questions, please reach out to us here: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/, and we'll be happy to help!

Deborah
Owner in US
Veterinary Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The software has made the impossible, possible for scheduling employees

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I think scheduling would not be managed as well without this software.

Pros:

I love that employees can indicate when they are available and when they are not available. I love that they can put in requests for time off which helps me not rely on myself for remembering. I love that there are additional features for rate of wage. I like the attendance and I can see if employees are showing up late or getting into overtime. There is a budget feature which I have not used but think would be very helpful in the future.

Cons:

I wish that I could have the option of excluding some employees when sending a general email through WIW. I also wish that open shifts were always a different color especially when looking at the schedule by position. This would bring my attention to the open shift and alert me that someone is needed. I wish I could publish an employees schedule out for more than 1 week.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi Deborah, Thanks for taking the time to review When I Work. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know When I Work is helping to make your teams¿ and your work lives easier! When sending custom email messages to your employee's you can select which employees you would like to send the email messages to, by clicking on the "To" field and selecting their names from the list. There is not a way to automatically change the colors of the OpenShifts. Instead managers would have to manually edit the OpenShifts and change the colors on the Scheduler page. When it comes to publishing the schedule, you can use the advanced publishing feature to publish the schedule for any desired date range: https://help.wheniwork.com/articles/publishing-the-schedule-computer/#advanced-publishing If you have any questions about When I Work, please check out our help center at https://help.wheniwork.com/ or email our Customer Care team at [email protected]! Thanks, Adrian

earl
President/CEO in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Biggby Coffee franchisee with two locations with some employees work at both locations

5.0 last year

Comments: over all we are happy and will be staying with the system. we would much rather help them develop there product the switch to another system. while we went there at the very beginning I think it was close an it has been useful and stable all along.

Pros:

used on phones. multiple site capability. we started with one location with the knowledge that as we gained locations this system could grow with us with out having to buy into a large expensive system before we were ready.

Cons:

the workchat function is still in need of some attention. deleting old chats isn't obvious. Sometimes when writing longer texts the system will stop displaying the text being written after about 200 characters, then the whole text will be displayed when sent. can't edit or delete a posted text. posting pictures can be confusing although they do post. the chat is about 75% there just needs a little buffing up, this is a pretty big part of our administration as to a great degree we manage from offsite.

When I Work Response

last year

Hi there, Raagavy here from the Care Team at When I Work. Thank you for this review and feedback. Please feel free to reach out to us at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ to troubleshoot your Workcht functions if you are still experiencing this. Take care, Raagavy

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deceptive billing practices

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: The software is okay. The program usually does what it should when it is not glitching. After 3+ years of using this product, it came to my attention that we were being overcharged every month. When I contacted customer service, they were unwilling to offer any solution, rather than explaining their confusing billing style. Not even a credit of any sort. The software sells you "user spots" in increments of ten. For a smaller business, there is a big difference between 10 and 20. So, if you have 11 employees, you need to pay for 20. How does that make sense? Even when we had less than 10 employees, we were being charged for 20. Please explain to me how that is not stealing? Their whole system is very confusing. I will be moving on to a new system because I am not satisfied with the customer service I received.

Pros:

It does what it is supposed to - enables us to schedule employees, notify them of their shifts, sends us a text when someone did not clock in or out.

Cons:

Their billing practices are very deceptive and not user friendly. They sell you "user spots" in increments of 10. It is very confusing how to downgrade but very easy to upgrade. I urge every customer who uses this program to check their billing to see what they are being charged for. Customer service is not helpful and seems like they are not interested in providing good customer service.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hello - Thanks for taking a moment to share some feedback with us. I'm glad to hear that the software was meeting your needs for your workplace. I'm sorry for any confusion around our billing processes. Billing is based on spots purchased, not necessarily spots in use. I can see how that may have been confusing, I'm sorry about that. User spots are offered in increments of 10. Allowing the option to select a quantity of 10 is a way to fit many different businesses needs. We've found that offering increments of 10 spots ensures plenty of room for growth before needing to make any billing changes again. I can see how having a lower increment may be helpful and really appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. If you have any additional questions or would like to discuss this further, feel free to submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ Kindly, Adrianne

Pam
Store Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

When I Work made scheduling and communicating to all employees a breeze!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of the program. It was very user-friendly. Scheduling used to take 2 hours, but it was cut down to 30 minutes with WhenIWork. I love that I could customize the shifts. I especially loved that employees had to acknowledge their shifts. There was no more miscommunication that an employee didn't see their schedule. It's also been a great tool to get staff on the same page. The ability to message everyone at once was awesome. Plus the program tells you which employees have viewed the messages. It also has the option for employees to clock in via the app and you can link it with payroll. Employees are able to submit requests for time-off or vacations. Everything you need is in one place. The customer support team is available immediately through their live chat. They have always been very helpful and friendly. Absolutely a wonderful program!

Cons:

The only thing I would modify is to have the ability to block off certain dates for requests. That way an employee wouldn't be able to request off Black Friday for example.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Pam! Thanks for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you find so much value in When I Work! In addition, we do have a way to block off days that you don't want your users to request off. You can create a Schedule Annotation in 'Week View' by clicking the 'Chat Bubble' icon next to the date. You will just need to fill in the details of the annotation and select the box for 'Don't Allow Time Off'. Here is a guide that walks you through that: http://bit.ly/2nzroHJ Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any questions :) Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Joey
Owner in US
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes my life SO much easier!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Scheduling is a BREEZE!! You just have to try it yourself. There are way too many features that simplify my work load to list. All I know is that my business runs smooth as heck because of WhenIWork.

Pros:

the software is great, but the customer service is OFF THE CHARTS! I wasn't a very tech savvy guy when I first started using WhenIWork, so I was constantly chatting with customer service and they were always extremely helpful, found answers if they didnt know the answers, and sent a handwritten personalized thank you card when I first joined. This is an example of a company that does things RIGHT! I love the scheduler, but also the hire feature, auto-assign, and the work chat allows me to email my entire team (as much as the employees change) without having to update a contact list email.

Cons:

My business is strangely specific, so my needs are very specific. WhenIWork covers all the bases for me except being able to load saved shift templates from the mobile app. I can publish them from the mobile app, but I can't load them unless I'm on a computer. Which I am most of the time, so it's not that big of deal. I don't use a few of the features besides the scheduler, but having the options to use HIRE, TIME CLOCK, and other features are very helpful to other business mangers as well.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Joey, Thanks for such a fantastic review! Your reputation precedes you as a great customer to chat with, I have heard about the balloon pirate ship! We're so glad you're continuing to enjoy When I Work and that it has made running your business smooth! Best, Terra

Stephanie
Office Manager in US
Insurance Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very Satisfied User

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I enjoy that the employees can verify their hours themselves and also put in their time requests. It's also convenient for the employees to be able to add notes regarding why they need an adjustment on their time sheet. I find that When I Work is very user friendly and that really helps my employees and I.

Pros:

I enjoy the ease of being able to track employee time sheets. When I Work is very user friendly for both the administrator and users. I also am very impressed with the customer service department when I reached out to them regarding upgrading ny services and they were very helpful with recommending what would best suit the needs of both the employer and staff.

Cons:

It was a little difficult for the employees to get used to the change of software that was being used for payroll, however, that is no fault of When I Work. Change can be difficult and hard to remember at times.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Stephanie - Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful review with us! I'm thrilled to hear that our Timesheets and features have been so helpful for you and your team! It's awesome to hear that our Customer Care team has been able to assist and be so helpful as well, thank you so much for letting us know! If you, or your team have questions at anytime, we're here to help! Again, thanks for this awesome 10/10 review! Kindly, Adrianne

Ashley
HR & Training Specialist in US
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

When I Work Tells Me When I Work

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Our employees enjoy being able to see the schedule for the entire organization, as well as breaking down the view into their specific location when needed. They are also notified in real time of any changes that are made, and have the ability to trade shifts with other employees through the app.

Pros:

When I Work allows us to schedule for all of our locations in one place. We love that we can color code each location and positio, making it easy to break the schedule down into various views.

Cons:

We once attempted to integrate When I Work's time tracking feature, but there were several issues that could not be corrected for our needs.

When I Work Response

9 months ago

Hi there Ashley, Sarah here from the team at When I Work. Thank you for taking the time to review the When I Work app. We are thrilled to hear that you love it as much as we do! I appreciate your feedback regarding the Time & Attendance features not quite meeting your business needs. We are always looking for ways to improve the app and features, and user feedback is the most important factor in those improvements. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Care Team, or direct your team to, by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We are always happy to help! Again, thank you for this review and feedback. Have a lovely day! Best, Sarah

Liz
Youth Development Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Tool!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I will never go back to the old way. When I Work has revolutionized my work day.

Pros:

I have numerous staff working different jobs at different locations. Previously I was using Excel to schedule them all. Keeping track of days off and their class schedules was next to impossible. Letting the staff request time off and set their availability streamlined the process drastically. Since switching to When I Work my time spent scheduling has been greatly reduced. The mobile app is very helpful for my employees. The ability to designate positions is also very valuable. A large portion of my staff work in a child care setting so there are rules about qualifications necessary for each shift. I can designate which staff have which qualifications so that only eligible staff can be scheduled for a specific shift.

Cons:

I don't believe I have any cons. Occasionally when they change or update something it will cause an issue. I contact their customer service and it is corrected immediately.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Liz - Thank you for this amazing 5 star review! I'm so happy to hear that the features and options we offer meet many of your business needs and make your job easier! Availability is one of my favorite features we offer since it helps managers get more time back and empowers employees to manage their time! Thank you again for this great review! Kindly, Adrianne

Timothy
General Manager in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for managers and employees!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of navigating the app. Being able to put the scheduling software directly on the phone of the employees is outstanding. We also really enjoy utilizing the messenger tool. Its a great way to speak to everyone in an efficient manner.

Cons:

We dont like the add drop portion of shift scheduling and changes. As a management staff we would like to use this but it has been difficult to create a process do to implement this do to it not requiring a manager approval.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Timothy, Thanks for taking the time out of your day to review our app! I am happy to hear that When I Work has made communicating with your team a little easier. I will certainly pass along your feedback about the Swap and Drop feature to our team so we can look into improvements that would make the feature more user-friendly. In the meantime, we do have a way to turn on 'Manager Approval' for Swap and Drop requests. This means that when the Swap and Drop request is made, the request will first be sent to a Manager to approve before the request is sent to other users to pick up. The Account Holder or a Manager can turn on the Manager Approval setting for Swaps and Drops from their 'App Settings' section via the web. They will then need to navigate to the 'Scheduling' section of the App Settings to enable Manager Approval. If you have any questions, you can reach out to our Customer Care Team at [email protected]. Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for hourly staff

4.0 last year

Pros:

Employees find it easy to use. Admin uses it daily

Cons:

Workchat is often faulty. Our manager (Android user) is so frustrated and has contacted support over 10 times.

When I Work Response

last year

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review the When I Work app. We are pleased to hear that your employees and Admin find the app easy to use. Regarding the WorkChat feature, we appreciate your feedback and continue to work on refining this feature, as well as others. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Care Team each time you are noticing issues so that we can continue to document and troubleshoot with you. Please submit a ticket to our Care Team by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ if there are any other questions or concerns we can address for you. Thank you, Sarah

Kelsey
Campus Experience Coordinator in US
Events Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Makes scheduling a breeze!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I love it! Have I said that enough? Give this software a try if you're in charge of scheduling any number of employees. They can have it as an app on their phones, too, so it's super easy for everyone to use.

Pros:

I love this software! I manage 50 student employees, and until I discovered When I Work, scheduling them was the biggest headache! This makes it so easy. I have each of them input their weekly availability, and then when I go through each week to create our schedule, I can quickly see if someone is available for a certain shift. They can request time off, request to drop shifts and offer it to another student, and confirm shifts. I can't say enough good things about When I Work. It's easy to figure out and has made a world of difference in keeping our ambassadors accountable for their shifts.

Cons:

I don't have any complaints about this software. We've been able to manage just using the free version that allows me to schedule shifts 10 days out, and it's been great. In the future I would love for our office leadership to approve using the purchased monthly subscription, but I'm so grateful When I Work has the free version because we've been able to give it a try and have found that it's an amazing scheduling tool.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Kelsey, Marie here with the Customer Care team. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We love hearing that When I Work has made scheduling so much easier for you! I am glad you are using the availability feature and swap/drop feature to help schedule as well. If any questions come up please reach out to us at [email protected]. Cheers, Marie

Karen
Practice Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of use that thus a great solution for us as a company to use.

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It's a simple and easy solution for scheduling. The managers Like being able to view on a computer , staff use the app to see their schedules.

Cons:

The is no where for managers to make notes on employees regarding that schedules. - example while an employee did not show up to work - if you use the shift notes every is notified . Haven't yet been able to see if you can create a small group chat - example only managers.

When I Work Response

7 years ago

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you are continuing to find When I Work to be easy to use and overall a great solution for your company. When I Work does offer the internal "Shift Notes" on an employee's particular shift. If you add these notes, only the employee will see and be alerted with these notes/changes. Furthermore, you may be able to use "WorkChat" to communicate with staff and/or other managers when staff do no-show. This would be a great tool for a small-group chat, here's more info: https://help.wheniwork.com/articles/using-workchat-computer/ If these ideas/tools above would be helpful and solve your concerns, would you be willing to increase your rating for When I Work? We'd love to help improve your experience and would be thrilled if you would consider this a 5-star app :) If there are any questions and/or feedback, please email [email protected] and we'd be happy to consult further. Thanks! Sasha