15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About OpenLM

Monitor,manage,automate license usagestat Facilitates maintenance of license inventory License compliance, availability Reduce IT spend

Learn more about OpenLM

Pros:

All the required information located in one dashboard. Easy access to information.

Cons:

It was a bit hard to understand the full scope of what OpenLM offers from the website, as they have many extensions and solutions to each problem.

OpenLM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

OpenLM has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 15 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used OpenLM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (15)

Damon
Systems Architect Assoc in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great license management product

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

OpenLM is compatible with nearly all network licensing utilities (FlexLM, DSLS, RLM, etc...) On top of this, this their development team is very good about adding requested functionality for customers. Just a quality product at a very reasonable price.

Cons:

While the information supplied is invaluable, we do experience hiccups in monitoring especially when upgrading a license server to a newer version. OpenLM customer support is very good at handling these issues if you provide them with full logging of both the server and broker.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product in an easy to use package

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Negotiations with 3rd party vendors have gone very easy knowing exactly where and how often their tools are used in our organization. I can honestly say we have saved millions of dollars knowing which licenses were needed in which locations.

Pros:

openLM gives great insight into license usage across any size network. Without this tool, we would have no idea how many users are running engineering applications, for how long or which locations need which software the most. In the past few years, they have added a great number of features. If you provide any budget for CAD, FEA, or any other critical software, this is an indispensable tool that will pay for itself in the first year.

Cons:

OpenLM is based in Israel so support times used to take a few days. While support is responsive, the typical request is for log files which can be quite large and contain a great deal of sensitive information. We have several support requests where we determined the problem was a database issue and could not be resolved.

Rajesh
IT Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

OpenLM License manager

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good. OpenLM team explained the various license management features available succinctly.

Pros:

Integration to Active directory, close and release the license in FlexLM licenses. Useful dashboard, integration of multiple license vendors.

Cons:

No support for LUM or DSLS for CATIA licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good value for money

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: OpenLM are very helpful and their support staff are wonderful.
I had an issue with one of my license servers in OpenLM and a support engineer went live with me right away to fix the issue!

Pros:

The software is very flexible, with a solution to almost any licensing issue I have. They cover a wide range of license managers, making our company's license consolidation much easier and cheaper.

Cons:

It was a bit hard to understand the full scope of what OpenLM offers from the website, as they have many extensions and solutions to each problem.

Jatin
System Admin and O365/Azure Professional in New Zealand
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Support from Support Team

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Highly Recommended :)

Pros:

Awesome Reports and UI with good Support Team

Cons:

No Cons - Everything that we need is covered in the Software.

Mohamed
Network Administrator in Canada
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Neat product with a userfriendly interface

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

all the required information located in one dashboard. easy access to information. The free version gives you a better understanding of the software before you make the purchase decision. Easy installation of the service. Not to forget about the Excellent customer support!!!

Cons:

Would like to see a popup notification function which will help the admins to lookout for service interruptions

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great at Capturing Usage

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: A great tool that has allowed us to make informed decisions about our licensing needs and allowed us to save money in licensing costs.

Pros:

Enables conversation with the business on licensing needs based on real usage.

Cons:

Some limitations on being able to look at specific locations (workstation selection has a limit) which hinders our ability to isolate usage to our business categories.

Kenny
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great functionality and support

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: This is perfect for keeping track of my group's ArcGIS license usage. Though the web interface for the SaaS offering could use some improvement, the pricing is very reasonable, the monitoring capabilities are extensive, and the support team is super responsive. I originally had some trouble with using the software, but the OpenLM team was willing to have multiple calls with me to guide me through my issues - not many companies do this. It should also be noted that the SaaS option lacks some key features that the On-Premise version offers, so be aware that there are downsides to the convenience of SaaS. Even then, I believe their SaaS offering is still pretty new and they are constantly making improvements to it.

Claude
BIM Manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

OpenLM

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: As a BIM Manager of a firm of over 250 staff, it is very important for me to know how our Autodesk software is being used. We have a mix of AutoCAD\Revit users and have no efficient way of knowing what our actual software usage is. With OpenLM, I can get real numbers based on actual use of our software licenses. This is critical information for us when making decisions on purchasing licenses. Our initial reporting from OpenLM indicates we have the potential to reduce our licenses by 25%.

Pros:

The variety and detail of the licensing reports and features. And getting actual license usage information.

Cons:

Getting to know the interface and understanding which reports and features were most important to us.

Ashin
BDM in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Software Asset Management using OpenLM

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

managing software usage based on total usage

Cons:

more technical sheets & user manuals, more case studies on satisfied customers

Chris
Denmark
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

OpenLM is constantly improving.

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Price - costs considerably less than the "top of the range" competitor.
OpenLM is constantly improving.
Good range of monitored license types.
Has become more robust and tolerant of target server availability. The broker should not be considered an optional component, it is a must. A server could be unavailable for data collection for several months, the broker will store the usage data and transmit it when contact is renewed.
As it is a web app response time when reporting can take some time.

Mark
UK Information Manager in UK
Oil & Energy, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent support, easy to use software and value for money

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: OpenLM makes the reporting and management of our technical licenses much easier. We now have overall visibility of our license estate and can report this to the business very accurately.

Pros:

How intuitive it is to use. No messing about with days and days of configuration and if you do get stuck, support bend over backwards to help you.

Cons:

That we didn't discover it sooner.......

Mateo
Israel
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Software, Affordable Prices

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Very efficient system that helps us manage our software licenses on a daily basis. We use their active agent tools which offer a great way to actively save and release idle licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

OpenLM

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easy to use & setup, provides the neat usage analysis details

Pros:

It monitors the application idle usage, which is lagging in most other software.

Cons:

The interface for business people who doesn't have knowledge about Software jargon could have been better.

SANDIP
IT Manager in India
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool to monitor the Rational usage of Software .

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

Excellent tool to monitor the Rational usage of Software .

Cons:

Not seen any thing negative to talk about .