15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About BlackLine

BlackLine is the worlds most trusted technology for modernizing finance and accounting.

Learn more about BlackLine

Pros:

It is a web-based application for performing account balances reconciliation which can be easily integrated with other financial software such as SAP.

Cons:

It's not intuitive to click on cancel if you want to exit after making a change.

BlackLine ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.2
Value for Money
3.6

Likelihood to recommend

7.4/10

BlackLine has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used BlackLine before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Balázs
Balázs
Project Manager, RPA Service Owner in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool for account reconciliation in a GBS center

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We started using it to replace our old client-server based software to support the month-end GL reconciliation process for various entities in our global company.

Pros:

Due to the cloud technology it is available from anywhere. It could be really useful if you should manage GL reconciliation for many entities with different ERPs (it was our case) Easy to use interfaces, very good support. Can support the internal or external audit procedure and can reduce its cost. Auto-certification is sophisticated with several customization possibilities.

Cons:

The implementation was a bit longer than expected (it was also because of our internal resources). With our current setup line level info cannot be loaded, so Excel sheets - as attachments - are remained after go live.

KEELY
Controller in US
Package/Freight Delivery, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Once you have it, you won't want to be without it

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I don't have a single bad thing to say about this software. The company I work for now doesn't have it, and I really wish we did. I miss it every day!
It is a great month end tool. Nothing better in my opinion.
For corporations looking to get a better understanding of your account balances - this was wonderful. Asking and waiting for information was a thing of the past, when all you had to do is log in and pull up an account to see it's balance and supporting detail.

Pros:

I LOVE this software. As an accountant, there is no better tool at month end to get your accounts reconciled. Account Reconciliation becomes a breeze, and It makes those dreaded audits not so horrible. Everything is neatly tucked into a software, where the auditors can be set free (in their own approved audit login of course). From Account reconciliation, to matching, and bank reconciliation...I loved this software the more I used it. I even tried to find an open position to work for them!

Cons:

When you get started, its like anything, you learn how it all works. In the beginning the only con for me was the level of help (this was back when this software started). But now there are so many online tools to help you with any questions you may have. And their customer service is great and helpful. Super easy to submit a ticket for an issue, and response time was great.

Cansu
Senior Finance Manager in UK
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I tried but it is not suitable for me

2.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It doesn't quite fit my work process. I am someone who can work with a more customizable and flexible product. Its functionality didn't appeal to me, but its customer support won my heart.

Cons:

Integration is poor. And the billing process was not very professional.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

blackline is a very handy tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Based on my extensive experience, I will recommend Blackline.

Pros:

Blackline has an easy to use interface. We also have the possibility to have different transaction data with very useful features

Cons:

I haven't found any drawbacks since I started using it

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Blackline Integration with Data Management Software such as SAP

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Since SAP has been integrated with BlackLine, reconciliations every day+5 of the month end processes are a lot easier. Variances and discrepancies are easily dealt with. Blackline has only been limited to its functions as well as the real-time processing of data.

Pros:

It is a web-based application for performing account balances reconciliation which can be easily integrated with other financial software such as SAP.

Cons:

The software is limited to reconciliations and intercompany transactions wherein the vast majority of software are investing on in-memory capacity and cloud for more flexible transactions.

Anne
Accounts Manager in Uganda
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software for automating accounting processes.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: If you don't need to use a software for your day to day activities but you need to keep your weekly or monthly expenses, BlackLine handles that perfectly.

Pros:

We used Backline for two and half years and mainly for weekly and monthly task management. The user-friendly dashboard came in handy in helping us with our accounting tasks.

Cons:

BlackLine misses out on so many features, the "to-do list" needed improvements and compared to other software in the Accounting field, BlackLine has few features.

Kelly
Joint Venture Accountant in US
Accounting Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Honestly, not a fan

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It seems like a great idea on paper, but I wasn't impressed once I dove in. I think it would be a great software if they fixed the frequency of updates and the overall ease of use.

Cons:

Blackline is connected to our main accounting software, but there's a serious lag. Imagine you are reconciling an account in Blackline and notice you are missing an entry. You post the entry in your main software then go back to Blackline to reconcile. It doesn't update immediately - It doesn't update for an entire day, sometimes more. When deadlines are looming, a lag of that magnitude is serious.

Debby
Consultant in US
Accounting Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great tool for balance sheet recs!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It provides visibility and consistency to balance sheet recs. Fairly easy to use. Several different templates available pre-built.

Cons:

Some of the different screens have the Save button in different places which can be a bit frustrating.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Recommend to accounting departments going paperless

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Going paperless.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to see unidentified balances for each account from the main page, giving you a screenshot of where to spend your time. I used it mostly for insurance amortizations, and the schedules make it easy to do once entered, and the balances closes on the day indicated.

Cons:

Not a big deal but small functional things such as having to save a schedule and then clicking cancel in order to exit out. It's not intuitive to click on cancel if you want to exit after making a change.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome software direct and to the point

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

At a glance, all the gl account balance is there. You can also upload the report from SAP into blackline so that reconciliation can be done easier. And the approval can just easily approve the ledger at least me go. Allows you to store excel sheet inside so that approval can review it easily.

Cons:

It might get be better if the blackline team is able to get back shortly after we upload the ledger balance maybe within an hour or so. This will surely reduce the time we need to take to complete the reconciliation within the timeframe.

Kelsi
Accounting Project Manager in US
Veterinary Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I hope there is a better reconciliation software out there

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We had an awful implementation, so i'm sure I'm a bit biased. The Blackline team was not responsive and it took much longer than it should have to implement. There is also not very good customer service options, so any issues that we have are not fixed in sufficient time.

Pros:

It allows for uploadable data and syncs with our bank and Intacct.

Cons:

This is the clunkiest software I've ever used. It's not really intuitive and seems like it's dated back from the 90s. It does the job, but I feel like they should really focus on their user interface.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Records for Closing All In One Place

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Having all the financial and accounting work/evidence kept at one place for auditing

Pros:

The audit trail functionality that is system certified and option to allow auditors to review closing activities like monthly bank reconciliation, monthly payroll registers, monthly meeting minutes, etc.

Cons:

The useful interface's design isn't as fluid as one would like but you get use to it after a using it as your day to day work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Has some good functionality but implementation is harder than expected

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Great place to centralize reconciliations and journalling etc as opposed to spreadsheets and google docs

Cons:

Connectivity with ERP, in our case Netsuite, is a lot more complicated than how it is sold with a loyt of additional development and expense required

Renata
RTR Accountant in UK
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Much to improve

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I use this in monthly accounts reconciliations. Great tool for store data and for making the summary of balances in accounts.

Cons:

There is too many fields to fill, many not needed options. When users have many accounts assigned Blackline is realy slowly.

Hank
ACCOUNTANT in US
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An awesome tool for monthly recons

5.0 last year

Pros:

It was nice to be able to see all of monthly recons in one spot.

Cons:

Sometimes its difficult to assign tasks at what not. At least I've had those issues.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Blackline

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I recently starting using Blackline. I am set up to be using it as an administrator. I am learning more about the program, and so far, it has been a good experience. There are lots of functionality to help with things like Journal Entries, and reconciliations and lots of automation processes.

Cons:

Nothing bad to say about Blackline so far. With that being said, I am pretty new to the program and still getting adapted to it.

Thomas
Senior Accountant in US
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Reconciliation software

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I was an admin that implemented this reconciliation software at a previous company to prepare reconciliations. It really helped organize our closing process. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Great way to organize monthly reconciliations

Cons:

There is a learning curve, like everything.

Hui
Senior Consultant in Canada
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product with a lot of features

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Great product overall with a lot of features and available room for customization. Offers great workflow management on top of the automation features.

Cons:

No cons to mention. Not sure how many other products are out there that offer the same type of financial solution that Blackline offers, but Blackline is a solid product.