15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Israel Local product

groundcover Reviews

4.8 (18) Write a Review! Israel Local product

About groundcover

Cloud-based observability solution that helps businesses track and manage workload and performance on a unified dashboard.

Learn more about groundcover

Pros:

We also liked the ability to have fully managed observability service as such a low cost.

Cons:

This limitation can be a significant drawback for complex systems where pinpointing issues at the node level is crucial.

groundcover ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

groundcover has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (18)

Sort by

Have you used groundcover before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Julius
Julius
CTO in Faroe Islands
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very easy setup and fully customizable retention without affecting cost as it runs on your own infrastructure

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Very good, we have been with them since the beginning of 2023 and after experiencing the likes of DataDog, Dynatrace and Instana they have been a breath of fresh air with VERY predictable and reasonable pricing and a support team that is very eager to help out when you need them. Even going above and beyond and advising on how to use the data that is gathered by them inside your infrastructure and notifying you on how future changes might affect the usage of that raw data from the deployed databases.

Pros:

Easy setup, simple pricing model no hidden fees. Full control over retention without affecting cost. Mostly used eBPF integrations out of the box. Simple UI that gets directly to the point.

Cons:

Some eBPF integrations not yet available

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to review groundcover Julius, we're super happy to learn about the positive impact that groundcover has had on you. We will continue to develop more capabilities into the platform, including additional integrations that will expand our impact even further! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Shimon
DevOps Lead in Israel
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing observability platform!

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Groundcover is so simple to implement and use! we built our obsevability around it and are very happy with it! logs ,metrics, dashboard - everything! the pricing is great and simple and their slack community and tech team is very responsive and helpful! we use it on a daily basis and it has proved itself as the best solution for a startup in our size!

Cons:

more slice and dices option will be great and maybe additional dashboards and templates , but the product keeps improving and those features are already showing up.

Groundcover Response

4 weeks ago

Hi Shimon, thank you for your review and feedback! It's always great to read that our platform is able to provide such positive experiences and we will continue to develop many more features to keep enhancing our capabilities, including slice and dice capabilities - which are also coming up soon. Keep using our Slack community to let us know about things you want to see next! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Yair
Software Engineer in Israel
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Product has long onboarding time

3.0 4 months ago

Pros:

A lot of important data is exposed, this helps a lot to debug our production

Cons:

As a new user i find it hard to get into all of the abilities i have in groundcover

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Hi Yair, thank you for submitting your review of groundcover! I am sorry to learn that your experience was not optimal. The vast majority of our users report that quick onboarding and ease of use are part of the highlights of their experience with groundcover, and I would love for it to be the same for you. As I can't see your full details, please contact our support via our Slack community (https://www.groundcover.com/join-slack) or via email (hello at groundcover dot com) so our experts can help you through the process? I am certain we can turn your experience around in no time and would love to have the opportunity to do so. All the best, Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Groundcover: zero effort observability

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: We utilize Groundcover for our infrastructure's observability. The cost-benefit tradeoff has been remarkable. With minimal effort, we've gained a comprehensive understanding of our infrastructure's inner workings, significantly enhancing our knowledge of the cluster's activities. Additionally, we've configured security-related alerts using NGINX logs as the data source, further bolstering our monitoring capabilities.

Pros:

Groundcover has significantly impacted our small team, offering immediate insights into our EKS cluster within just 10 minutes. Its GitOps-compatible configuration seamlessly integrates into our workflow. The support via the Slack channel is outstanding, with the team being highly responsive and patient, consistently providing replies in under an hour.

Cons:

The current dashboards and alerts in Groundcover, which utilize an embedded Grafana, certainly deliver impressive functionalities. However, exploring a unique approach developed by Groundcover itself could potentially improve the product. Review collected by and hosted on G2.com.

Dudy
Dudy
AM in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing Product

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Amazing experience from the UI to the UX, very recommended

Pros:

Liked how native groundcover is with EKS, can be installed in a couple of minutes and provides a full observability platform. It’s also low on resources and take an a minimal additional footprint on the infrastructure.

Cons:

groundcover’s bread and butter is still K8s. for outside K8s they support a lot of intergrations but the experience is not as immediate as inside out EKS environment

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you Dudy for taking the time to share your positive experience with groundcover. We are thrilled to learn of all the ways you were impressed with groundcover and look forward to continue delivering value to you and your organization. Your comment regarding groundcover's strengths in Kubernetes environments is appreciated. While our core focus has been on delivering exceptional Kubernetes observability, we are already working towards expanding our offerings beyond Kubernetes, and the results of that work will be felt soon. If you have any further suggestions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out. Gilles Perez Product Marketing Lead

Arie
SRE Lead in Israel
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Groundcover - A Premier Observability Solution

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Groundcover has been extremely positive. It has revolutionized the way I approach system monitoring and analytics. The depth of insights and the ease of uncovering critical data points have significantly improved the efficiency of our operations.

Pros:

My experience with Groundcover has been overwhelmingly positive, primarily due to its exceptional efficiency and clarity in observability. The user interface stands out with its intuitive design, making navigation and data interpretation seamless. The real-time data monitoring and analytics capabilities are top-notch, providing valuable insights into system performance with remarkable accuracy.

Cons:

One area where Groundcover falls short is in its provision of node-specific views. While it excels in overall system observability, the solution lacks the granularity needed for detailed analysis of individual nodes. This limitation can be a significant drawback for complex systems where pinpointing issues at the node level is crucial.

Groundcover Response

2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for sharing your review Arie! Regarding your comment about the node-specific view, we coincidentally released nodes-level insights 10 days after the original submission of this review back in January :) We hope you keep getting the most out of groundcover!

Ron
Ron
DevRel in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive and Efficient Monitoring with groundcover

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: groundcover offers an impressive experience from the user interface to the user experience. It stands out for its eBPF-powered technology, allowing comprehensive observability in modern production environments without compromising cost, granularity, or scale. The platform's ease of use and customer support are highly rated, adding to its overall appeal as a reliable monitoring solution

Pros:

The most standout aspect of groundcover is its compatibility and native integration with EKS (Elastic Kubernetes Service), which enables rapid installation and provides a complete observability platform. It's particularly efficient in terms of resource usage, maintaining a minimal footprint on the infrastructure.

Cons:

Groundcover thrives in Kubernetes (K8s) environments, delivering top-notch performance. While it may not be as immediate in non-EKS settings, it still supports various integrations.

Arman
Principal Engineer in Netherlands
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Groundcover is one of the kind

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

We liked the idea of hosting data in our cloud account and at the same time having the ability to use the service as SaaS. We also liked the ability to have fully managed observability service as such a low cost.

Cons:

groundcover services are still maturing. We had to request couple of features that do not exist yet.

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for submitting your review of groundcover Arman! It's great to see that you were impressed by our inCloud architecture and the control and flexibility it enables. Our team is constantly looking for ways to enhance our platform and our users' feedback and feature requests are super valuable for that process, please always feel free to share your ideas with us! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Marek
Marek
Senior Software Developer in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best APM solution that just works

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: It was very refreshing experience to setup such tool so quickly and get value out of it even quicker. Free plan is perfect for evaluation, even month-long, as the only limitation is a number of seats.

Pros:

It is super easy to install (installer is clever enough to ask about kubernetes node taints required to be able to provision all nodes), just few steps in small cli tool. All the data is aggregated and displayed in meaningful way right at the front page, no need to spend hours learning documentation on how setup and use the tool. Very intuitive tool, focused on providing insight into health / state of k8s cluster and services and it does it really well. Historical data (events, logs, traces, metrics) allows you to quickly figure out issues that happened last night leaving no room for guess-work.

Cons:

At this point it is missing eBPF support for MSSQL, navigating through distributed traces could be improved (group them by transaction type and aggregate based on that).

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for submitting your detailed review of groundcover Marek! It's wonderful to know that you were impressed with the easy installation and granular visibility out-of-the-box! We're constantly working on adding new features and your feedback is super valuable to us, I can tell you we're already working on developing these additional capabilities. Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Artur
SRE in Poland
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tool for observability

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Very good - I doesn't have to care about things like grafana or prometheus

Pros:

* easy to setup * monitor all HTTP traffic * nice dashboard

Cons:

* missing filtering on http traces * network traces should have view where one column shot "Host" header

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

We're truly thankful for your review Artur and are delighted to hear about your positive experience with groundcover, especially regarding its ease of setup, HTTP traffic monitoring capabilities, and our intuitive dashboard. We will look into your suggestions to enhance HTTP trace filtering and add a 'Host' header column in network trace views. It's great to know that groundcover has streamlined your observability needs, freeing you from the complexities of managing tools like Grafana or Prometheus. If you have any more insights to share or require assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out. Gilles Perez Product Marketing Lead

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Groundcover review

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Easy to navigate and search logs. Shows good metrics pods-wise

Cons:

Hard to find the details of a specific log

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for your review! We're glad to know that you found the ease of use and metrics granularity the be valuable to you. In regards to the log details, we provide full context for logs with correlated metrics and traces, s well as searchable attributes. Many of our users use groundcover as a centralized management hub, as limitless logging is possible with no effect on pricing. It's possible there's more to the platform than you had the opportunity to explore and we would love to walk you through it. Please reach out to us via our Slack community. Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead.

Vinoth
DevOps in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Observability made easy

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

The ease of deployment, the platform, availability of majority of the features. And constant feature releases.

Cons:

Nothing as such. The team is constantly improving and bringing in new features.

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to review groundcover Vinoth! It's fantastic to know that your experience using the platform has been so positive and we look forward to continue bringing you and your organization value in the future! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Yair
Software Development Team Leader in Israel
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing visibility across all of our cluster

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

I liked the visibility I have as a developer to investigate real-life issues across all of our customers' deployments. With GroundCover we're able to proactively find issues in our customers' environments, and fix them before they affect them.

Cons:

Our customers are divided into multiple different clusters, and the view in GroundCover is per cluster - so we need to move between clusters to see the whole scope of the issue (although most of the time looking at one of the clusters is enough to identify issues). I hope they'll add the ability to aggregate all clusters in some view in the future.

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of groundcover Yair! We're delighted to hear about the positive impact on your development process, especially in proactive issue identification. Your suggestion for an aggregated multi-cluster view is definitely something we're exploring, thank you for sharing this input. Stay tuned for updates, and thank you again for your support and insights!

Benas
Devops Engineer in Lithuania
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tooling

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It is pretty easy and fast to setuo, and the UI is simple and understandable, but feature-rich.

Cons:

The default setup had some stability issues at first, but the groundcover team was very helpful to solve them.

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with groundcover Benas! It's great to know that the easy setup and intuitive UI were valuable to you. In most cases, installation is very straightforward but I'm sorry to know that the default option didn't offer that smooth-sailing experience for you. Our support team is made of superstars and I'm glad to know they were able to help you through the process. We look forward to continue bringing you value in the future! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Oshri
Data engineer in Israel
Insurance Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to debug , great UI

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Very easy to see complicated data. See log trace with great filter feature.

Cons:

In first look it look cheap product, but after digging in it very compact and powerfull.

Guy
SW engineer in Israel
Security & Investigations, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very good observability on your network assets

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Run fast in high scale . gives you a very good and deep insights for your apps and network / resources

Cons:

don't have any yet I really like your product - I came from Nokia and we implement something similar but this is by far better

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you for sending in your review groundcover Guy! It's so nice to read about your positive experience using our platform and we look forward to continue bringing you and your organization value! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Moshe
Software Developer in Israel
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Really nice product

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Simple easy to understand UX which gives quick insights

Cons:

I haven't experienced any issues yet on groundcover

Groundcover Response

4 months ago

Thank you very much for your positive review Moshe, we're super excited to know how happy you are with groundcover and look forward to continue providing you value! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead.

Ben
Software developer in Israel
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Makes work much easier. For example, finding logs.

Cons:

Takes some time getting used to it but after a while its fine.