15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Open DevOps

Atlassian Open DevOps is mission control, providing the flexibility of a custom toolchain with the coordination of an all-in-one.

Learn more about Open DevOps

Pros:

We saw the feature set and wanted to use Jira for devs and customer support.

Cons:

Sometime it can be very slow when a lot of users using this portal. Or when there is a bug in a new version of jira when we cannot save or update tickets can be very annoying in a production project.

Open DevOps ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Open DevOps has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 272 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Open DevOps before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (272)

Richy
Richy
Founder & CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Bang For Your Buck

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's the best software out there to manage a team so overall I am very happy and so are all of my developers.

Pros:

Jira makes it super easy to manage a team and helps each developer stay on top of their tasks, keep track of everything they are doing, and easily communicate with other team members.

Cons:

Maybe a bit of help with integration would be amazing for anyone that has no idea what they are doing but otherwise it is AMAZING.

Dilip
Dilip
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Review of JIRA

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a software developer, I have used life cycle software for many software developments. For more than two years I have been using JIRA in software development. I found it really helpful to address daily developments using this Agile software development model. I have used JIRA software to develop multiple software while using the Agile approach to work for faster software development with continuous development and bug fixes. I found it really helpful to work with JIRA.

Pros:

JIRA is one of the best known software used to develop and track software using the Agile method. Using JIRA is easy to track application usage and easy to assign to developers tasks. I have been working with JIRA in software development for over 2 years. At JIRA we used to develop software on the basis of continuous integration and continuous development.

Cons:

Honestly, I haven't found a feature or functionality of JIRA that I dislike because it comes with multiple features that are really useful when communicating on a project with team members on the stories.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Functional for specific purpose but confusing

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Jira is a great tool to track progress of a Product Team with Developers and Engineers. Seems like it was built with the intention to help a Dev/Engineer team really thrive on tasks within an Agile workflow. Because of that, there are no bells or whistles. The Design is pretty vanilla and doesn't really wow. In fact, I find that the design actually makes too much of the functionality blend with each other that nothing really sticks out as a Go-To feature in this market. There are so many updates that come with Jira that with the steep learning curve, you're almost always wondering what you can/can't do. Atlassian also makes Asana which is essentially the same tool but geared towards Product/Design. Seems like it doesn't make sense to split half your team here and half your team there. There should be just one tool.

Pros:

Once you get passed the learning curve, it's fairly simple. Ability to keep in sync with a Dev team is probably the best overall Pro. Devs seem to be able to understand the features and flows here more than anyone. Integrations with other software make it a consideration. Ability to track in kanban style.

Cons:

It's not Aesthetically pleasing at all. There are a lot of features and capabilities that are in-line or buried that aren't evident. There is a pretty big learning curve with Jira and it's purpose. There are SO many capabilities, integrations and functions that are constantly being changed or updated that by the time you catch up to the curve, something changes and you're behind again. Support team also is not super clear on communication.

Sourabh
Sourabh
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

JIRA enables business to add velocity to their service management tasks and workflows

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: JIRA is a modern take on a ITSM solution. It is feature loaded yet has a very intuitive User Experience. It has good User Interface as well. JIRA acts as the common interface between Developers, IT ops and business teams and helps different parts of the business colloborate better. It acts as the source of truth for all involves parties and does its basic tasks quite well. It adds velocity to the overall process of task management irrespective of the industry it is used in.

Pros:

1. Great User Interface and User Experience. 2. The ability to create custom queues and automatically re-direct issues to these queues saves a lot of time. 3. The inbuilt SLA management and the option of integrating it to third party alert and notification software is impressive. 4. Adding attachment, links and other resources to JIRA ticket is easy and straightforward. 5. It has great audit trail tracking and can act as a source of truth for all parties involved.

Cons:

1. The issue search feature could have been a little more customizable and faster. 2. The options available to format the comments on an issue are limited and not very intuitive.

Achal
Achal
Sr. Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

JIRA

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Jira is itself a technology I will say. I have been using this software for more than 5 years now. With both as a user and JIRA developer. With almost more than 5 years of my career, JIRA helped me in each and every project no matter what process you follow KANBAN, Agile all the tasks, projects,users, tickets can be managed by using JIRA.

Pros:

JIRA provides a solution for almost all project management issues. A lot of companies are migrating from Service now to JIRA software due to its pricing and features. Jira has a lot of subsidiaries and compatible with third-party plugins and apps. Easy to use, customizable to list a few.

Cons:

No cons as such but yes with the complex features provided by JIRA software will require good knowledge or hands-on to go with.

Waqas A
Waqas A
Product Owner in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Jira, the best technical task management tool!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it was a great experience using Jira. We're still using it, exploring it and learning that how to improve our development processes and make ease for both management and the developers.

Pros:

- Easy for devs to understand - Easy to integrate with bitbucket - Easy to integrate third party apps like slack, zephyr and many more - Help employees to manage their tasks and track their production time - Help management to keep track of progress of the project and also to get an idea of employee's performance.

Cons:

A bit lengthy tool, for new users, one should be able to use it once s/he will spend 1 month on it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Very helpful software in business

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am working as software developer, therefore I use Jira on daily basis for 3+ years. This is a great help to see the bigger picture.

Pros:

After trying quite a lot of progress tracking apps for teams this is the one I like the most. The design is really intuitive. And there's a lot of customizing options and ways to automate management processes.

Cons:

Not that easy to set up and quite expensive even on standalone version.

Mohit
Mohit
Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best ticketing system out there

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Broad range of functionality, and the amount of customization you can do with your instance of JIRA.

Cons:

Adding features also adds to feature bloat and complexity.

Rijo
Rijo
QA Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Test Management Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Capability to store Epic, User Story, Task, Sub Task, Test Cases, Defects

Cons:

Navigation and UI is little confusing, Administration is little confused

Syed Amir
Syed Amir
Associate Manager - RPA in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA - Project Tracking tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We manage the Robotic Process Automation lifecyle with this tool, overall project tracking, managing the tollgates, code deployments and so on.

Pros:

It is very user friendly, ease of tracking multiple task in a project such as timeline, hug tracking and so on.

Cons:

Sometimes customisation is not that easy as compared to Azure Dev Ops, otherwise it is an amazing tool

Prince
Senior Consultant in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Tool that is ESSENTIAL for Agile

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Since Jira has been introduced, it has allowed the company coming closer together and break down the previous silos that were prevalent for quite some time. This assisted the architects, UI/UX engineers, developers, testers, and all of management/leadership to take a peek at different parts of the entire overall lifecycle of development. Automated scripts took this a step further which allowed reports to be generated and key points to be communicated across. I believe this tool or any other tool will suffice for your Agile needs however Jira is considered one of the more widely used and best tools available.

Pros:

Jira is an essential tool that will greatly improve traceability, task management, and planning for any organization. It is incredibly intuitive when it comes to the reports that may be generated for any user. Giving the business greater control and vision into the finer details of each day (if process is followed by users), a company or organization can drill down into details of what teams and resources are working on. You can step back a level and see overall features and implementations to be delivered by any set of teams/individuals. It truly is a well thought out tool with lots of available customization.

Cons:

One thing I've always disliked about Jira is the lack of UI customization such as applying themes or having certain sections stand out more than others. You will see much of the UI is plain and ambiguious. I am not sure if this is customizable from a different permissioned user however, I have never seen the ability to have a nicer looking interface from my accounts within my organizations. Yes it is much more powerful but lacks creativity in UI design.

Mohd
Technical Support in Canada
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Jira Software for Agile Team to Track and improve

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using Jira for the past 3 years both as an administrator where I manage and optimize its performance and on the other hand I have also creating projects, workflows, screens and users. Jira is very helpful for those organizations also who wants to track their releases whether its small or big, or short term or long term. Jira provides facilities through which users can log in the timeline of their work and invites other developers in the team to provide their inputs. This will make your project to be connected at one place and moreover this connection in now not only limited to companies site Atlassian also offers cloud based solutions too. The best part of Atlassian Jira is they always ahead in the race which gives you more options to expand your creation, I have implmented few projects in Jira where I have implemented full automation of logging the task and reporting it through Jira, and then assigning to right person. This whole process works very easily in the JIRA

Pros:

Supports integration to most of the developer's tools Complete freedom to design your own workflow and screens An automated ticketing system can also be generated with its Command line interface and workflow Customer Support is one of the best in the corporate industry Multiple tools have given at user end to make admin changes easily like, Restarting tomcat, re-indexing or integration with SVN, git.

Cons:

Expensive for businesses who are medium size Upgradation of the software from one version to another requires real IT skills If you want to keep Jira running smoothly it has the indexing feature to make it faster but sometimes those index gets corrupted and no one can help in restoring those data.

Petr
IT senior technician in Czechia
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

feedback

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: every company processes, vacation, home office, code revision, bug system, approve processes etc.

Pros:

Completely business integration, the only one system which we use to every processes in the company

Cons:

archive of project without indexing in the basic server version not only in the datacenter, it is very, very expensive

Martín
Martín
DevOps Engineer | Deviget LLC in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

De-facto issues tracker for enterprise development

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've been using JIRA since I got my first corporate job, and while I saw it improve in many areas there are some other ones that seems to be totally neglected, but worst, looks like management is decided to push down your throat stuff to force you use the app in the way they want you to use it. By far the worst thing I see is the need to learn its query language in order to fully leverage the awesome functionality that the search feature has. Second, it's absolutely developer oriented so using it for Ops has a lot of friction. All in all, while I'm very used to it since I've been learning its ways - and quirks - through the years, I'd like to have the opportunity in the future to work with something different as JIRA, with all its goodness, never really cut it for me.

Pros:

- Everything-and-the-kitchen-sink approach that caters almost all enterprise users. - Fully extensible through plugins - Allows deeply integrations within different teams - Without doubt, helps boost productivity

Cons:

- Some of the best features are hard to find - This is the worst one: there's no way to leverage the fully potential of the Search functionality without learning it's own querying language -- which is totally nuts because this should be dead simple to use - The iOS companion could have some love by extending the application functionality. In it's current state, besides some light editing, it is mostly a view-only app, which makes it unusable when you're away from your computer

Suraj
Front End Web Development Lead in India
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Master of Scrums

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Jira is the Soul of a Agile Project wether it comes to
* Planning your sprints
* Tracking your sprint activity
* Tracking Bugs
* Tracking Epics
* Developer Time management
So there are numerous benefits that it provides as a platform which make the project management task a lot easier

Pros:

Have been using Jira for more than 5 years, One thing that I liked about this is that evolved with the changing demands of the IT industry, today it's the cleanest way to Plan and Track a Project, Now when we are in the phase of Agile Development and Scrum is a day to day activity, it gives a clear indication of whether the team is on track or not, secondly, we can plan to create backlogs ahead of time that makes it effective for planning the project ahead.

Cons:

There should be a lite version where it loads on slow internet connections, Atlassian should look into making it lightweight and make it faster to load specially on VPN as we have moved to WFH culture and internet speed is a issue at remote places

Mandira
ITA in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have used Jira as CICD tool. It's easy to integrate. Easy to track project goals.

Pros:

Jira is a great product for not only CICD but also tracking of project

Cons:

Looks complex to use sometimes. Menus are not always user friendly

Parth
Web Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customizable Platform To Speed Up The Develop And Deploy The Application

5.0 last year

Comments: The complete development process can be managed with a variety of features and tools, from source code management to deployment and monitoring. Interaction with a variety of external tools and services to increase its flexibility and capabilities. It is a strong and customizable platform that provides a number of tools and services to support DevOps procedures.

Pros:

It has a customizable architecture that supports a variety of procedures for development and deployment. The software development lifecycle is automated at various phases, enhancing teamwork between the development and operations teams. It provides a useful and effective technique for developing, delivering, and overseeing cloud-based applications.

Cons:

When there are many users using this portal, it could be very slow. For some more complicated tasks, it can be challenging to use. It can be necessary for team members to take pricey training courses and learn new abilities.

Pankaj
Software Engineer in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A tool to manage workflow

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I personally like it when it comes to deliveries. I am currently working on 7 different projects and everything is configured in one tool. I needn't switch when working on multiple project at same time. Assignments, next level code move and print screen in comments. :) Awesome.

Pros:

A great tool for Agile development. We are using it for production deliveries and I personally like it. Tracking ongoing developing, deliveries and going back to previous release, really awesome. Inbuilt feature to export items in excel so you can filter out and send to team membres. The one I really like is assignment. When a bug is assigned, all the parties are notified with all the udpates. this makes everyone to be on same page without any chain email and meetings.

Cons:

The search feature in JIRA itself is not good. I personally have to type something in search field to bring search window and then I modify it. i was expecting dropdown based filtering on search but it doesn't have. Many configuration can lead to ovewhelming. Navigating around UI is something tricky and you need to know where exactly it is.

Omar
Deveopler in Sweden
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Tracking issues that allow us to tracking bugs between developer and tester.

Cons:

It is generally a good app, but it lacks the most basic feature, requiring me to use a laptop instead. The app would function for me if there were a copy issue URL button like the one next to the ticket number on the web version. Due to my habit of sending and referencing tickets across Slack, the lack of the ability to copy the URL to the clipboard makes this app nearly useless for about 90% of my needs.

Phil
Phil
PHP & MySQL Developer in UK
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent management software.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its a great tool, has increased our productivity, development speed, reduced bugs and most importantly, given visibility on our developers time.
The negatives are minor nuisances compared to the benefits it gives.

Pros:

Gives a real granular approach and accountability to your work. It allows for everything you do to be tasked up, with time frames associated. Helps with project planning, and giving time estimates for deadlines. It also allows us to early on see if a project is going to slip, if any early tasks slip. It has given our company a much better agile approach to development.

Cons:

The software isnt intuitive, and relatively feature rich, making it complex to understand how to use it to its full potential. We have some issues, which seem to create a lot of admin work, such as once a task is done, there is no easy way to put that task into review. The best way, is close the ticket, make a new ticket that is review and assign it to someone, which will need to go into the next week sprint to not affect sprint stats. Also no ability to assign multiple people to a ticket, such as a review for 3 people to look at. You need either 3 seperate tickets, or 1 master ticket and 3 sub tickets (not ideal if one person doesn't complete it within the sprint, as it pushes everyone into +1 week late).

Brett
Brett
Senior Software Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Think Tanks, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Streamline Development

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Once I started using JIRA, my productively gains were so noticeable that whenever I'd start a new freelance project I'd set it up for myself even if I was the only developer. It helps me easily scope out a project, line up a todo list and start knocking out items without trying to remember what next. Also greatly increases visibility for non-coding management/stakeholders into progress being made.

Pros:

Excellent feature set and extremely affordable for small development teams. Easily setup Kanban or SCRUM boards, sprints and tickets for task tracking. For power users, offers a custom query language and tons of customization options to build a workflow that matches what works best for your team.

Cons:

The only thing I disliked, was the inflexibility when it comes to attaching sub-tasks and bugs to existing tasks. AzureDev Ops supports an Epic->User Story->Task->Sub Task->Bug->Test Case. JIRA only supports 3 levels (Epic->User Story or Task or Bug->Sub Task).

Allison
Technical Project Manager in US
Insurance Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I work with JIRA daily as a Technical Project Manager of a Dev Team.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: JIRA allows me to run / monitor software development projects with a team of 6 developers. It helps keep everyone on-task as well as gives me the opportunity to plan into the future sprints. As a certified SCRUM Product Owner I also love the ability to output cards for each job / task. I also love that JIRA is linked with Confluence to help us document changes that are made as well as HipChat to keep our teams talking constantly.

Pros:

I love JIRAs ability to interact with both HipChat and Confluence. I also love the ability to run 2 week sprints with my team and easily see the progress of each of their tasks.

Cons:

"JIRA Spam" - I am an admin user at my current job and enter a lot of the tasks myself. Due to that I am a 'watcher' on most all of our tickets. I would prefer to receive less email communication regarding the status updates of each task. There are so many emails that they tend to be ignored due to over communication.

Ankush
Engineer in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA for project management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has been a great tool and made the lives of lots of developers, product managers super easy in order to track weekly/monthly, or quarterly progress and how many hours were spent on a project or task.

Pros:

- Tagging issues with epic names helps in tracking and better management of tasks. - Great integration with github so you can see commits and Pull requests. - can be integrated with apps like confluence, slack, confluence. - different stages to track issues like progress, review, production.

Cons:

- Every time clicking on a link opens up in the same tab, there should be an option to setup open links in new tab. - tracking History of an issue UI is a little weird and can be improved.

Steve
Programme Manager in New Zealand
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Jira on a daily basis

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been an incredibly powerful tool for task management across multiple teams in multiple organisations, including vendors

Pros:

It is visually impactful and makes task management very quick and easy at Daily Scrums

Cons:

It seems to be resource hungry and can be slow to refresh on some days

David
UX Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good for tracking bugs and features, but definitely not a project management tool

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It often feels clunky to use, but it is useful for collaborating with developers and tracking development efforts. However, there's still plenty of room for improvement.

Pros:

It has a good API, good integrations, is highly customizable, and is pretty good at tracking features, bugs, and backend tasks.

Cons:

Navigation is cumbersome and its often difficult to access various functionality. Their search is powerful, but geeky and difficult to use; a simple universal "search everything" box as the default would be better than their syntax-heavy search approach. However, the most frustrating aspect for me is the total lack of label management (labels are Jira's version of tags, but they are not editable as relational objects). Some development teams also try to use it as a project management tool and it just isn't great for that.