15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

Microsoft Forms Reviews

About Microsoft Forms

A cloud-based data collection application that helps organizations collect feedback information in real-time through forms and surveys.

Learn more about Microsoft Forms

Pros:

MS Forms is easy to pick up and use by any user and will suffice for most use-cases. Included in most MS 365 subscriptions.

Cons:

However apart from the tremendous efforts and features the software has limited integrations with other third-party applications, which may limit its functionality.

Microsoft Forms ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Microsoft Forms has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 131 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Forms before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (131)

Samantha
Samantha
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brilliant Way To Capture Data For Free

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It helps me to collect data really easily and quickly, and saves faffing around with paper forms and scanning documents.

Pros:

I love that it's free to use (up to 200 replies, but then I just create a duplicate one to gather more). I can customise it too to make it look really professional.

Cons:

The fact that there's a limit to the amount of responses, and limitations to the customisation of the fields.

Michaela
Office Manager in UK
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and creates forms fast!

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Excellent - efficient and professional service every time.

Pros:

Creates forms very quickly with useful features such as auto-fill and copy & paste. Excellent for feedback purposes as can anonymise data. Sharing features are just as quick and easy to use and gives an excellent and professional finish with customize options.

Cons:

Would be beneficial to have conditional logic options.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Walking in the light

5.0 last month New

Comments: Impressive and life changing experience.

Pros:

User-friendly and time saving tool for professionals.

Cons:

Inability to open a new window while opening the current one.

Dillon
Dillon
Database Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Barebones Form Creation

3.0 last year

Comments: Overall, MS Forms is a very easy to use program that offers a low barrier to entry due to it being included with many Office 365 subscriptions. The program lacks in more technical features but will be more than enough for most people.

Pros:

MS Forms is easy to pick up and use by any user and will suffice for most use-cases. Included in most MS 365 subscriptions.

Cons:

The more in-depth customization features offered by other programs are very lacking, especially in creating logic flows to allow for different paths based on user responses

Robert
Owner in Romania
Newspapers, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Helped me getting users opinions

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Easy, fast and powerful, already came with the package I used from Microsoft. It was like a bonus.

Pros:

It was very helpful to get my users opinions when needed. It was very easy to use and setup what I needed. It comes already with the package that I already used (Microsoft 360)

Cons:

None! I couldn`t find any cons for this app for the time I use it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Basic survey/forms tool, with good integration

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to create a form and store the results. The results can also easily be fed into an automatic flow using Microsoft Power Automate.

Cons:

Very limited ability to customize the look and feel of the form, and to create more advanced flows.

Ben
Ben
Instructor in Journalism in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Use Microsoft 365? You need to be using this instead of Google Forms

4.0 last year

Pros:

This is an absolute hidden gem of Microsoft 365 for me, and something I wish more people knew about. If your organization is a 365-based org, then Microsoft Forms is basically everything you would ever need Google Forms to me, with the added benefits of direct integration with 365 and the security that comes with it. It's not going to supplant Qualtrics or anything that needs to be extremely robust, but it is amazing for spinning up one-off forms that used to have to live outside your organization in Google.

Cons:

As mentioned, the forms you can make with this are currently not the most complex, and design options are likewise limited. I would prefer if there were more customization options for design, specifially.

Andrei
Branch Manager in UK
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Forms opinion.

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall Microsoft Forms is an excellent app, it comes packet in Microsoft Office 365.

Pros:

For a while I didn`t knew I had Microsoft Forms in the office 365 Package I used everyday. This is like a powerful add-on to a service I already use. The way you can customize makes Forms a powerful data collection on customers or even team. Getting the reports is very easy.

Cons:

No cons for Microsoft Forms, already using other apps from M365, I consider Forms as a free addon.

Liam
CMO in UK
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good forms

5.0 6 days ago New

Comments: Microsoft Forms is a great app if you want to make surveys or polls. Is is simple to use and get reports on.

Pros:

I am using Microsoft Forms mostly for surveying and pools inside the company. Beeing an addition to the Microsoft pack I can say I enjoy this app as is free to use. It is easy to use and intuitive, you can get the survey done wright from the first try.

Cons:

There are no cons for Microsoft Forms, it works as it should be.

Christie
Communications in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Google Forms alternative for M365 organizations

5.0 7 days ago New

Pros:

With Microsoft Forms, it is very simple to setup and get a form sent out quickly. You can limit which users can respond to your form and make QR-codes directly inside Microsoft Forms.

Cons:

It is even more basic than Google Forms, only allowing a few different question types. You also have to download the spreadsheet every time instead of just syncing it with a spreadsheet in most cases.

Amr
Instructional Designer. in Egypt
Higher Education Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Multi-purpose Communication Forms.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: As an Instructional Designer/Data analyst, I use Microsoft Forms in many situations, but mainly two common scenarios work well for me: 1) Creating formative assessment quizzes within learning modules and online courses. 2) Using forms as a data input source in a basic learning analysis workflow. I create quizzes, feedback forms, and surveys. Then I pass the forms' responses to Microsoft Excel Online and connect Excel online to Microsoft Power Bi.

Pros:

Microsoft forms application is easy to use and has many features that suit a wide range of use cases. It has various question types, design themes, sharing options, and response analytics. Also, it is accessible for users with visual disabilities as it has Microsoft Immersive reader built-in. The Forms settings allow admins to control who can access the form and specify when published ones are accepting responses. It's highly customizable and seamlessly integrates with Office 365 and the commonly used third-party applications/platforms. It is a reliable solution for surveys, polls, feedback, quizzes, and business communications.

Cons:

I can't see the downsides of Microsoft Forms. I think it's one of the most efficient applications of Microsoft 365.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy way to make surveys and build forms

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall great experience. Easy to use, has a lot of beneficial features which save time. 10/10 would recommend. If you are someone looking to make quick questionnaires or surveys, Microsoft Forms is the way to go!

Pros:

My favourite features of Microsoft Forms is the easy use, templates, and the various features function. Microsoft Forms is incredibly user friendly. When I first got my Microsoft account and learned to use Forms, everything was pretty much self explanatory. There were a couple of things that I needed to play around with but once I figured out, I really enjoyed using Microsoft Forms because of its simplicity. Secondly, Microsoft Forms has many templates a user can choose from depending on the occasion. This makes it convenient for me as I don't have to create a form from scratch, I can work off a pre-made template which is time saving. Lastly, you can add questions in various styles such as for the user to respond by uploading a picture file or through a ranking system or short/long answer text boxes. Every time I make forms I always use Microsoft Forms as it saves me time and is easy to make a well made form.

Cons:

I don't really have any negative to say. One suggestion could be for Microsoft to add more template options. I really enjoy using Microsoft Forms.

Suresh
HR Manager in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An Amazing Surveying Solution For Business

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

I like that it offers amazing survey features. This software makes polling easy and we can track results live Forms automation is easy and so is form building

Cons:

With Microsoft Forms, there hasn't been any major challenge

Simone
Teacher in Australia
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An easy and accessible survey and quiz creator

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It has been a great tool to use with both staff and students - its ease of use and accessibility has made it a regular in most teacher's Microsoft toolbag.

Pros:

It can be used to create surveys, as well as quizzes, which means I can use it to collect data on student feedback, but also use it to create tests and quizzes to use to check for learning. Also - it easily embeds in Microsoft Teams, OneNote and PowerPoint.

Cons:

Overall it is difficult to pinpoint something I like 'least' - however, the Likert scale is not as customizable as I would like.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quite impressed with my Microsoft Forms experience.

5.0 last year

Comments: I mainly use Microsoft Forms to design survey forms , which my company uses to get critical product feedback from our customers and sales prospects .

Pros:

Branching logic is an important part of any dynamic surveys and this is an area where Microsoft Forms really excels. With Microsoft Forms branching logic feature, we are able to send different survey respondents to different part of our survey forms, based on the responses they give to the previous survey question they answered. The ability to achieve the aforementioned ensures that our survey respondents get to respond to questions that are most relevant to them.

Cons:

Microsoft Forms does not currently support multiple people collaborating on a survey form. In a collaboration themed workplace like mine,we view this as the biggest drawback of the Microsoft Form platform.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Forms, surveys and quizzes all with ease

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Simple tool but with limited customization

Pros:

The platform is really helpful in creating and conducting various kinds of polls, surveys, forms and quizzes. Not much effort is required if using the templates.

Cons:

There are built-in templates but there is not much flexibility. Templates are limited. Customization is limited. Sharing is a problem even within the Microsoft products like teams. The UI is sometimes buggy. the UI needs to be simplistic

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Performance appraisal

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use it for doing performance appraisals and so far, it's the best tool I have used and also it's value for money as most business will be using Office 365

Pros:

The ease of use. No matter how complex your survey is, you can do branching and implement some logic without writing any line of code

Cons:

The report generated by the tool, should allow some edition where, company logo and other texts could be added to the report. Also allowing to update the report for comments and save it would make life much much easier.

Brittany
Quality Engineer in US
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

So easy to use

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

With no training, anyone can easily create and distribute surveys to those inside and outside of the organization. The automatic low level analysis is great for checking into how things are going at a glance.

Cons:

I have nothing negative to say about this product!

Rohan
Cybersecurity Officer in US
Education Management, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy and Good Integration

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

I love how easy it integrates with the existing Office Suite.

Cons:

Limited UI and customizability that solutions like Google Forms provides.

Elsa
Assistant Director in US
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MS Forms is good for new users

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It’s a great platform for new users and those who just need to ask basic questions. It also helps if you already use Microsoft products.

Cons:

Forms only had several types of questions and not very customizable.

Scarlet
Client Manager in UK
Market Research Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A versatile and user-friendly tool for creating surveys, quizzes, and forms

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

One of the standout features of Microsoft Forms is its intuitive interface, which makes creating and customizing forms a breeze A wide range of question types available, including multiple choice, text and rating scales Its integration with other Microsoft 365 applications

Cons:

Due to it being a cloud-based service, accessing forms and collecting responses cannot be done offline

Francois
Associate Director in South Africa
Biotechnology, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Forms and feedback mastering made easy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: No issues whatsoever.

Pros:

It integrates exceptionally with all the other Microsoft products. Makes it a joy to use!

Cons:

Pricing is a bit expensive if not taken along with the office suites.

Gabriel
staff accountant in Kenya
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Feedback for development

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The ease of use and the general functionality of the software is good as it does not require a person who is good in computer to perform some tasks.

Cons:

The only setback I can think of right now is the cost of accesssing the internet to conduct the survey.

Rabemananjara
Communication officer in France
Arts & Crafts, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Make simple forms

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to use, the software have all the essential tools to make simple forms.

Cons:

Not enough creative tools to page the forms and not enough tools to make in-depth investigation

Chris
Business Solutions Manager in UK
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Relatively simple and intuitive

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

MS Forms is a quality form builder tool. However, by far the biggest benefit is its integration into the wider Microsoft platform. We have had particular success in using MS Forms to trigger various other processes (such as approvals) through Power Automate which feeds into both Outlook and Teams. All without a single line a code.

Cons:

There is nothing about this product that is particularly week. Things can get more complex when wishing to go beyond creating a simple form but this is to be expected.