15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Roam

Roam is a cloud-based note-taking software solution that helps users keeping their documents and research organized.

Learn more about Roam

Pros:

It's one of the best note taking software I know, you can write anything you want, you can link notes from one page to another.

Cons:

There are bugs and some annoying issues that could easily be fixed.

Roam ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.4
Value for Money
3.4

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Roam has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Roam before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Harsh
Harsh
Senior Quant Researcher in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review for Roam

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The aspect of Roam that has delighted me the most is how having it open in a tab changes my perspective on research as a whole.

Cons:

The integration with our everyday used software was a little difficult.

Anders
Anders
Knowledge and Digital writing in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Roam, the good and bad about it

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: In the beginning, it was super fun and quite a good experience. But down the road, it lost me due to the need for maintenance.

Pros:

The networked linking made so much sense.

Cons:

It's too much maintenance to have a PKM in Roam, or as I put it 'Too much heavy lifting' meaning coding. Take time from my creative process

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The "first-mover" in associative knowledge management, but lacks innovation and is expensive

3.0 last year

Comments: Overall, it was not so bad of an experience at first. It taught me a new way to think about writing notes. But it has fallen behind many other alternatives and I don't see their developers making the effort to catch up and innovate. Time to move on.

Pros:

Roam was the first to open the eyes of the general user base to the idea of taking notes and associating them, creating an expansive networked knowledge base over time. Roam really changed my way of thinking on how to organize my scattered thoughts into a graph database. It's UI is relatively clean and writing individual notes is pretty simple.

Cons:

It lacks innovation and major feature updates. I need inline LaTeX equations and made numerous requests for this and other features, but was met with rude responses from support. It's handling of multiple graphs is rather clunky. And if your graphs are sufficiently large, you'll encounter performance issues (at least I did). And it is extremely expensive given its lack of features and feature development.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent note taking tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great experience with Roam

Pros:

Organization of thoughts, note taking abilities, being able to search through easily

Cons:

Very simplistic interface, sometimes the nectar becomes the poison

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best product for knowledge management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: 10/10. Love it, best note taking application I've used/

Pros:

The graph structure in which the information is stored is so amazing. It is very intuitive, linking notes from one page to other. Becomes so easy to do referencing, revisiting notes. Each note taken is not independent anymore.

Cons:

The product is very good but very expensive.

Christophe
knowledge curator in UK
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Roam has a distinct character for networked knowledge

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Roam has come to be a valuable link in my info-curation and add-ins such as Roam Portal and Roamjs Roam to Slack enhance this value

Pros:

The regular sidebar and shortcuts which are flexiblePleasing page format and fontSpeed of web-based versionUpload-Import function that is quick and dependableCommand variety

Cons:

Maybe I would critique the home screen - it could be less chunky with modern fonts and a more compact layout

Jan
Academic Scientist in Austria
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great foundations, lack of polish and development issues

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Roam was the first mainstream note-taking app to come with [[wiki-linking]], advanced embedding (transclusion), parity between hashtags and pages. Unfortunately, the development of this app has been quite slow over the last year and the advantage over the competition was mainly lost. There is also a very visible lack of polish in various features. I hope they will be able to speed up their development again and bring back the excitement. Meanwhile, there are many other apps providing a similar or even better experience for less money.

Pros:

Roam has amazing foundations - the ease with which individual notes and blocks can be linked and/or embedded is amazing. Roam also offers very advanced customization options: not only custom CSS but also custom JavaScript and Clojure (!).

Cons:

Roam is a relatively expensive tool. The price could easily be justified if Roam offered something diametrically different than cheaper competitors (RemNote, ObsidianMD, LogSeq and many others) - which, unfortunately, it currently does not.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good, but expensive

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I would say roam research does one thing and it does it well, I would like to see new features being added to it and also have a less disrupting pricing model for a note taking app.

Pros:

What I most loved about roam research is the linking between notes it has, it is a feature I have not seen in other softwares and really helps creating a mental map about your thoughts. Another thing I like is the way you can easily switch between notes and create new ones without losing your place, it makes it really easy to explore your thoughts and come up with new ideas.

Cons:

What I least liked about roam research is the pricing model. I think the pricing model is too expensive for what it offers. Making it almost unchoosable in my opinion having options like Notion with a much more accessible pricing model.

Ena
Sr. Business Analyst in India
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Great Note-Taking Tool

4.0 last year

Pros:

The easy to use interface and the ability to link notes is a gamechanger! It really helps to organize my thoughts

Cons:

The search option can be improved. It is also more expensive than competitive softwares.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Make note taking easier

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to use and easy to switch to when it comes to a note taking software!

Cons:

Not a lot of people are currently using it to collaborating becomes difficult

Nicholas
Director in UK
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A gamechanger for knowledge management

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It takes a bit of time to get used to the platform and it's not very useful until you've invested time in creating and linking notes. But once you've done that, it's fantastic. They say it works well by just writing in the daily notes section and letting connections form organically, but I think it's better to actually use some sort of system to keep your notes organised and find connections that way. I use a form of Zettelkasten system and it's working very well.

Pros:

Once you have invested enough time and developed a system for taking notes, this platform really starts to take off. I have been able to find connections between different notes from a wide range of fields and come up with unique insights that wouldn't have been possible otherwise.

Cons:

There are bugs and some annoying issues that could easily be fixed. For example, the pages that are created are case-sensitive, so if you refer to a tag as 'Note' because it's at the start of the sentence, it will reference a different page to 'note'. That's just one example, but it's very annoying and makes the platform frustrating at times.

Apoorve
Co-founder in India
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A great note taking tool!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Unlike Notion, I love that I don't have to create pages or sections or whatever, I just write in my daily journal with tags etc and everything sorts itself automatically

Cons:

The pricing is a little steep as an Indian user

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My first knowledge managment tool and one of the bests

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Roam introduced me to networked linking and this amazing way of taking notes. Everything is to the point and you don't loose time in random features. Simple and clean notetaking.

Pros:

Is easy to use and to the point. It makes note taking "the Roam way" enjoyable. All the features and interface are clean focused on the goal of the tool.

Cons:

I don't like the pricing model compared with other tools available on the market.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good product for PMs

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Organisation, management of notes, connections

Cons:

Onboarding, ease of use, bugs, writing code for processes

Stefano
dds in Italy
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

the first in its breed

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

it's the first commercial software using fully the Zettelkasten strategy for taking and connecting notes. it's really powerful.

Cons:

development seems to have slowed down now. the graph is way too basic and useless, the interface is not very friendly, and it's really expensive.

Brice
Strategic marketing officer in Burkina Faso
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Roam !!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Apart from the price, everything is fine with me

Pros:

It's one of the best note taking software I know, you can write anything you want, you can link notes from one page to another

Cons:

I find it a bit expensive for a note taking software

Cristina
Social Ads Manager in Spain
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Buena para organizarse

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Permite tener todo más organizado y tener en un mismo lugar todas las notas importantes. La experiencia es buena, pero tiene que mejorar en algunos aspectos funcionales.

Pros:

Es una buena herramienta para organizarse, tener todas las notas en un mismo lugar y hacer seguimiento de ellas.

Cons:

No es mi herramienta de Notas favorita, pero cumple sus funciones. Tiene algunos fallos en el programa y no tiene versión gratuita.