15 years helping Israeli businesses
choose better software

About Tor Browser

Private browsing software that blocks third-party trackers and ads and protects against surveillance.

Learn more about Tor Browser

Pros:

It does the job easily when an extra layer of transmission security is essential with minimal implementation costs.

Cons:

Relatively low connection speed. Takes time to load websites.

Tor Browser ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Tor Browser has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 69 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Tor Browser before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (69)

Nkululeko
Nkululeko
Creative Director / Senior Graphic Desinger in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tor Browser - The True Freedom of Internet Browsing.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I can get accurate results every time I browse using Tor Browser no matter where I am.

Pros:

Tor browser starts a fresh session every time you browser. You can refresh the browser session automatically every hour of browsing to switch profile and servers. I honestly love the way Tor Browser gives the user freedom to surf anything without censoring the results. Tor Browser also uses technology incorporates VPNs into the browser to ensure anonymous browsing and privacy.

Cons:

I cannot think of any problems with the browser because it uses its own servers and relays so it does not crash. The only con is that the browser is slower on standard devices like mobile devices.

Giau
Giau
manager in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tor Browser is an excellent tool for maintaining your online privacy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Tor Browser is an excellent tool for maintaining our online privacy. It has many features that make it safer than other browsers, including encryption and anti-tracking measures. In today's world, all data needs to be protected, and we feel that our business will benefit from using Tor.

Pros:

Tor Browser is entirely free and open source.The software is easy to install and use because it doesn't require any technical knowledge from users. It is just like installing Chrome.Tor is the only way to access onion sites, which are websites that use the Tor network. Onion sites are used by journalists, activists and others who need to protect their privacy. They are also used by governments, law enforcement agencies and intelligence agencies. (Criminals can also access them.)Tor Browser is more secure than regular browsers because it uses Tor, which makes its users' data harder to track. The Tor browser also includes privacy-focused extensions like NoScript and HTTPS Everywhere that make sure you're browsing on sites that support HTTPS encryption (the latest version of the protocol for encrypting web traffic).Tor's encryption works by concealing your IP address from the websites you visit and then bouncing your communications through at least three separate relays—that is, computers running Tor software. This process makes it difficult for anyone else to link the fact that you're visiting a certain site with any other activity on your computer or phone.Because these relays are run by volunteers all over the world, they don't have any sort of centralized control system; this means they can't be shut down easily either.

Cons:

Tor is slower than other browsers. This shouldn't come as a surprise, considering that it's a proxy browser that routes your traffic through multiple nodes before sending it out to the internet. Exit nodes are the last point of contact between Tor and the public internet; they decrypt and encrypt traffic between users on the Tor network and servers or websites on the regular web. This provides a layer of anonymity: no one can see what you’re doing online except for your ISP (and by extension, anyone who has access to their records). But if an exit node isn't secure itself, it may leave traces about what sites you visit—and even how frequently—that could compromise your privacy. The solution is to use a VPN.

Lawrent
Lawrent
owner in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

interesting app but is it really that secure

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I was looking for a combination of TOR and VPN and "TOR Browser Private Web + VPN" seemed to be a good shot. The more I learned about the intricacies of privacy, the less I started using the app, and relied on the PC-based Tor app + a VPN whose location was deemed safer. Not being able to choose from what country to connect from (trial version only) was also a bit offputting. I now don't use the app, and prefer using my computer with the original TOR browser + a VPN of my choice.

Pros:

it combines TOR and a VPN. You can set up your browser through a set of preferences (javascript, bookmarks, you can choose to keep your browsing history)...

Cons:

The app doesn't seem to be open source: it is always a concern for me, I tend to trust open-source apps more, especially when it comes to privacy. I also did not find where their VPN company is based, which is another concern for me as I don't rely too much on VPNs based in the 5, 9, or 14 'eyes' countries. In my trial version (the paid version is different), I could not choose the country I wanted to connect from. Sometimes the app would not connect at all or browsing was very slow. When checking on the check.torbrowser website, it reads: "This browser is configured to use TOR, however, it does not appear to be TOR browser". It doesn't reassure me much.

David
David
IT Technician in Zambia
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Davids Tor browser review

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Tor is light, easy to use and has a great search engine.

Pros:

Tor browser is free, easy to use and one of the safest browsers that will protect users online privacy without any third party antispyware or adblockers installed.

Cons:

Tor can be slow when it comes to downloads due to how it routes traffic and may be illegal to install in other countries.

Milenko
Technical Support in Bosnia
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TOR Browser is a modern must have Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am very satisfied with TOR and this is one of the must have Software on the PC, as it provides easy, stable, secure and fast way of browsing the WWW.

Pros:

I had a lot of the issues, sometimes on the work as we had to access different Sites ( which were for US based employees and had documentation required for general troubleshooting of some issues with Network, Windows and our main product in general ) and also as a normal user on my private laptop, when I was home and wanted to check some of the animes, which aired literally an hour ago. All of this, I was only able to fulfill thanks to the TOR Browser, which helped me to elevate my user experience and which satisfied all of my daily needs. I have tried some other Software before, but none were as good and fast as TOR Browser ( they tend to lose the connection a lot and they were not stable at all, which never did happen even for a second, while I was using TOR ).

Cons:

Don't have any negative thoughts about TOR and I do hope that makers will continue their super work, as everything so far, was way more than I expected to get at first place.

Vishvam
Information Security in India
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tor Browser for Anonymity

5.0 last year

Comments: The tor browser is best for users who are looking anonymity online and stop being tracked by the ISP's for Advertising Purposes and Tor browser is also available on the cross platform such as windows , mac & Linux operating systems.

Pros:

A TOR circuit is the combination of entry/guard relay, middle relay and the exit relay which masks the ISP provided IP address multiple times by the Tor network helps the user to be anonymous on the web and also works best and consumes very less amount of RAM, The data is encrypted over the transmission

Cons:

The exit relay can be a single point where the data sent over the network less secure but still the tor browser ensures the security for the end users. Tor browser lacks in the bandwidth speeds as it built hops in the network.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best browser for those who are concerned with the privacy.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is the best tool. At first I used it for not so much and later it made me use that browser as a default one. Now I only use TOR and I am quite satisfied with the tool

Pros:

Privacy function is super cool. It completely lets you get secure and sometimes you really need to have it. This makes it the best browser one can ever get

Cons:

They should develop extensions and be more flexible about it. Nowadays we all use browser extensions just to get our work done easier.

Eyüp
Industrial Engineer in Türkiye
Financial Services Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tor Browser EO

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I trust this software a lot. I do a lot of my private work in this browser

Cons:

I don't understand why such a good browser isn't on mobile. They are far behind other software in this regard.

Richard
Richard
Remote Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Truly Anonymous Browsing

4.0 last year

Comments: I have used Tor browser for the last few years and have become accustomed to it. While the slow load times preclude it from being a serious option for general, all-purpose internet browsing, it can be used to browse without being seen to great effect.

Pros:

Tor is one of the only ways that a user can access dot-onion web addresses, making it one of the best tools available for "incognito browsing." This has made Tor a godsend to people in countries with authoritarian regimes that heavily restrict internet access. While this may not be something that effects my life in a direct way, it is something that deserves a great deal of respect, in my opinion.

Cons:

Tor can be difficult to configure or troubleshoot at times. It is definitely intended for semi-advanced users (at least), but novice and beginner users can pick it up if needed. What Tor is infamous for, however, is its almost cartoonishly excessive slow load times. This is inherent to its functionality, because the users location is being pinged across the globe to mask the IP address, which takes more time.

Mas Idayu
Mas Idayu
Information Technology Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete confidentiality for web browsing

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The TOR Browser is an outstanding browser for confidentiality since it includes a wide range of options for both. Aside from that, I appreciate the ease with which I can eliminate advertisements when I'm online.

Cons:

Even though it is free and open source, the major drawback of adopting the TOR Browser is that it is not accessible for mobile devices such as tablets and smartphone.

Turan
IT Admin in Türkiye
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A barrier-free Web world

5.0 last year

Comments: Use and have a simple interface. It provides high performance and minimum resource consumption. You can adapt very quickly and start using it.

Pros:

You can enjoy browsing the deepest web sites freely and comfortably. Thanks to the end security points, you can enjoy safer surfing with safe and encrypted methods. All obstacles have been removed and you can unblock any site without blocking you.

Cons:

In addition to being completely free, you will need to be protected from harmful content that may arise due to the lack of certain limits. presenting the websites it scans to you without being blocked may cause some problems.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

King of security

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: very postive when I run out of choices I knew they are out there to support

Pros:

their powerful to keep people safe no matter where they are. a tool that you can rely on a rainy day.

Cons:

couple of years back they had tool called vidalia which was prefect but I don't why they killed it and switched to broweser model which is not best option given the amount of the ram it sucks out of your system

Revanth
Revanth
Application Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Browser for maintaining privacy while browsing

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My Experience is good, it's free and takes less storage. VPN connection is also fast and secure. it's one of the few browsers available for deep web searching.

Pros:

I use Tor a lot, it's safety and privacy features are really amazing. I have never experienced any sort of issues while browsing. It's the only web that we can get quickly for browsing deep web.

Cons:

History issues is there, it doesn't saves. I think the interface could be made more smooth. I would like it more if they improve its animations and interface

Kid
Music Producer in South Africa
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tor Browser for privacy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Super duper

Pros:

Product is very easy to use, privacy feature is a must & it will work with other apps well.

Cons:

App works as expected, no cons at all I give it an A+

Gbenga
Gbenga
construction manager in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Privacy Protection and Security with Tor Browser

5.0 last year

Comments: I'm extremely satisfied with Tor Browser and the level of protection it provides. I feel confident knowing that my online activities are private and secure, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a browser that prioritizes privacy and security.

Pros:

This browser has proven to be a valuable tool for protecting my online activities, and here's why:Anonymity: Tor Browser routes my internet traffic through a network of servers, ensuring that my online activities are untraceable. This gives me peace of mind when I'm browsing sensitive information or engaging in online transactions.Security: Tor Browser uses encryption to protect my data and blocks trackers, ads, and other malicious content, keeping my online activities secure. This is especially important when I'm accessing sensitive information or engaging in financial transactions online.

Cons:

Tor Browser is not compatible with certain websites and applications, also its slow browsing speed is a drawback, I have used faster browsers.

Fonki
Accountant in Cameroon
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

You need TOR if privacy is what is you seek

5.0 last year

Pros:

Tor Browser is a great search engine that permits you to work smoothly and privately on the dark web. Tor creates the possibility for anonymity on the dark web. I highly recommend this tool for anyone working on the dark web and even on the clear web.

Cons:

It reduces the bandwidth of the connection due to the number of bridges it uses to connect and this makes the connection slow.

Riccardo
Woodcrafter in Italy
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The #1 defender of my web browsing

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

When I'm talking about TOR Browser to someone, I find myself discussing the same thing over and over again: its suite of web browser security features. True, things like design, web page load speed, etc. matter... but not at the cost of putting our security and data in danger. Tracker blocking and multi-layer encryption are only a couple of the powerful assets TOR Browser puts at your disposal to make sure that, every time you surf the web, you don't need to be afraid of being tracked.

Cons:

The biggest con about using TOR Browser is that, while it's open source, it isn't available for mobile devices – so if you're an Iphone user, for example, you'll have to use it only from your laptop.

Aria
Design Consultant in Indonesia
Publishing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Break Any Barrier in Web Browsing Using Tor

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Different countries, different providers, different barriers of web browsing. Since I use this browser, I can say goodbye to those barriers and can browse freely. I just love it and absolutely recommended to the whole company network.

Pros:

Private browsing and zero tracking. When standard browsers are weaponized by many ads related caches, cookies, trackers, and so many history leftovers, Tor comes with an option to observe the web with almost zero footprints..

Cons:

Onion layers didn't gave a freedom of choices about in which country I would like to registered.

Nurullah
Accountant in Türkiye
Financial Services Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TB Nu

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: With the private browsing feature, I can do my work safely and have no problems.

Pros:

They are very successful in private browsing. I can do many things by relying on this software. I hope they continue like this.

Cons:

I don't think they are very good at general interface. A simpler interface will also increase usability.

Jelle
Software Engineer in Netherlands
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Secure browser

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with TOR Browser is simply great, the software is free to use so why could you dislike it.

Pros:

TOR Browser is a great browser that does well when it comes to privacy, as it has a lot of features when it comes to that and security. Besides that I also like the possibility to easily filter out advertisements while browsing.

Cons:

I can't really think of anything that I disliked about TOR. If I had to say something it would be that I experienced a few small bugs while using the software.

Romanio
Romanio
Customer Service Representative in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tor Browser Private web + VPN review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall this is a really nice addition to the world of browsers, it keeps you secure online and it's fast so I like it alot.

Pros:

Fast and secure when browsing the internet, with the added protection of a VPN which keeps you anonymous when browsing, so this means it keeps you away from those who would try to invade your valuable privacy.

Cons:

While it runs fast and smooth I feel that it takes up a bit of memory to carry out it's operations, and I know this is sometimes necessary for optimal performance but they could try to find a way to cut back on memory usage a bit.

Amina
Amina
Senior content writer in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent browser to protect your privacy and access geo-blocked content

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Tor is one of my favorite browsers on Laptop, it’s stable and secure, it allows me to protect my privacy by hiding my browsing activities. It has a built-in VPN that lets me access geo-blocked content easily.

Pros:

Easy to setup. Stable and secure. lets you hide your browsing activities.

Cons:

Tor’s interface is clunky and not customizable and there are some problems in its speed.

zmel
zmel
CEO in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

browser

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

the main advantage of this browser is that it's really secure, and it lets you access another form of Internet that's little known to the general public.

Cons:

it should secure this form of internet to allow the vast majority to access another type of content

Ramoiloa
Security in Lesotho
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Lesotho intelligence agency

4.0 last year

Pros:

It's the most private browser I have ever used. It provide exactly the information I'm concerned about. I am safe from virus all the time.

Cons:

The sub softwares required to be attached to this software to run smoothly are multiple and not easy to get

Jonathan
Photographer in Trinidad & Tobago
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

J.L. Tor Browser Review

4.0 last year

Comments: Tor Browser was the first ever privacy-focused browser that I've come across that offers the same features as any other browser with the exception of not using your data for malicious intentions (ads, etc.). So when it came to browsing for information that may seem criminal-related, this was the first browser that I turned to. However, I rarely use it because other browsers like Google and Safari are already installed on my devices since I got them. So going out of my way to install a replacement browser didn't make any sense for me at the point in time. To contrast that statement, with more research that I conduct these days I will definitely put Tor Browser in mind.

Pros:

Websites that are blocked in my region, since I live in the Caribbean, can be finally accessed with no issues whatsoever when using Tor Browser.

Cons:

Since most of my account information are connected to either iCloud, Google or Microsoft, Tor Browser isn't a priority for me as there aren't any other applications associated to it that I can use.